Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by THOMPSON (WO 2012/103531).
Regarding claim 1, THOMPSON et al. discloses a method of forming a
balloon for a surgical access device, the method comprising:
positioning a molding material such as ePTFE (504) into a channel (Fig.71a) defined in a first mold half (bottom 506-Fig.71a) of a mold;
mounting a second mold half (top 506-Fig.71b) onto the first mold half (bottom 506-Fig.71b) to cover the channel and form a cavity within the mold (Fig.71b), the first and second mold halves each including vent holes (apertures 507) extending therethrough that are in fluid communication with the cavity (Fig.71a); and
expanding the molding material ePTFE to conform to the shape of the cavity to form a balloon (Fig.72b) including protrusions (507) extending radially outwardly therefrom, the protrusions formed by engagement of the molding material with the vent holes (507 of 506 in Fig.71a).
Regarding claim 2, THOMPSON et al. discloses intermediate portion has a toroidal shape (Fig.71a&b), and discloses expanding the molding material including forming an inflatable anchor (539) of the balloon (Fig.81c).
Regarding claim 3, THOMPSON et al. discloses wherein the cavity of the mold includes first and third portions disposed on opposed sides of the intermediate portion and each having a tubular shape and expanding the molding material includes forming proximal and distal sleeves of the balloon (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, THOMPSON et al. discloses expanding the molding material includes subjecting the molding material to gas and pressure [0222].
Regarding claim 5, THOMPSON et al. discloses the molding material is a tube (504-Fig.71a).
Regarding claim 6, THOMPSON et al. discloses curing at elevated temperatures [0221].
Regarding claim 7, THOMPSON et al. discloses removing the balloon from the mold [0222]; Fig.72a-b.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) Mahoney et al. (6,863,856) discloses slotted mold for making a catheter balloon.
b) Noddin (2007/0106216) discloses a composite balloon.
c) Tokarz et al. (2011/0117630) discloses surgical access device including a universal fluid flow valve.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742