DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 02/13/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 07/29/2026.
Claims 13 and 17-26 are pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 07/29/2026, with respect to claim 13 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The rejection of claim 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 08/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 22 and 24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Weber (US 2012/0132473).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a hydraulic bushing is fully housed within the knuckle and integrated between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet of the fluid channel” (claim 13), and “the knuckle includes one or more accessories integrated with the fluid channel” (claim 18) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because a) reference character “200” has been used to designate the “knuckle”, “control arm”, and “suspension component”; and b) reference character “300” has been used to designate the “brake assembly”, “wheel assembly”, “component of the brake assembly”, and “brake caliper”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 20, lines 3 and 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the suspension component” should read, “the suspension assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23, line 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the component of the brake assembly” should read, “the brake caliper of the brake assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24, line 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the fluid” should read, “the hydraulic brake fluid”. Appropriate correction is required. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted this way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “positioning of the fluid channel within the knuckle is based on a shortest run length through the suspension component maintaining structural properties of the suspension component”. This limitation is unclear and indefinite, because it is unclear how adding a fluid channel to a knuckle would maintain structural properties of the knuckle. Second, the fluid channel shown in the figures is not along a shortest run length through the knuckle, but instead winds along the thickest, most sturdy, portions (presumably to maintain the structural properties as much as possible, but again it is unclear how this would be able to 100% maintain the structural properties). Third, it is unclear how much patentable weight is given to the shortest run length and how much weight is given to maintaining the structural properties (is it the shortest run length of all possible run lengths? Does creating the fluid channel actually maintain the knuckle’s structural properties? Even more so than creating no fluid channel?). Fourth, it is unclear what structural properties is referring to (all structural properties, a couple structural properties, etc); this creates confusion, because if it is maintaining just a couple structural properties, several other structural properties might not be maintained. For these four reasons, claim 20 is rejected for being unclear and indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the joint inventors regard as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weber (US 2012/0132473).
Regarding claim 22, Weber discloses a suspension assembly {10} of a vehicle {“corner assembly 10 for a vehicle (not shown)” [0043]}, the suspension assembly {10} comprising:
a fluid system {64+66+68+70+84a+84b+84c+105+159} operably coupled to the vehicle to hold hydraulic brake fluid {“the brake caliper 158 is hydraulically operated, a hydraulic fluid conduit 159 extends between the caliper 158 and a remotely positioned source of hydraulic fluid (not shown)” [0076]};
a brake assembly {18 (156+158)} operably coupled to a wheel assembly {20} to use the hydraulic brake fluid {“hydraulic fluid” [0076]} to slow the vehicle {“The brake caliper 158 may be operated hydraulically or in any other suitable way for engaging and stopping rotation of the brake rotor 156, which stops rotation of the wheel 20” [0076]};
a control arm {22} operably coupling the wheel assembly {20} to the vehicle {Fig. 6}, the control arm {22} further comprising:
a base portion {22 (170)} comprising a first end and a second end {Figs. 6-7}; and
a fluid channel {172: “The lower control arm 22 may include a channel portion 170 that defines a channel 172, shown more clearly in FIG. 7. The channel 172 may be sized to be sufficient to carry any conduits that extend from the wheel assembly 26, including… the hydraulic conduit 159 that carries hydraulic fluid to the brake 18” [0085]} configured to transfer the hydraulic brake fluid {that runs through 159} from a fluid inlet {where 159 enters 172 on a vehicle interior side (Figs. 1a-1b)} to a fluid outlet {where 159 exits 172 on a vehicle exterior (wheel/brake) side (Figs. 1b-2)},
wherein the fluid channel {172} is configured to transfer the hydraulic brake fluid directly from the fluid outlet {where 159 exits 172 on a vehicle exterior (wheel/brake) side} to a brake caliper {158} via secondary tubing {159 (Fig. 2)} for the brake caliper {158} to use to slow the vehicle [0076],
wherein the fluid channel {172} is disposed and enclosed between the first end and the second end {Figs. 6-7 [0085]}, and
wherein the fluid channel {172} is a secondary hydraulic fluid reservoir that holds the hydraulic brake fluid for use by the brake assembly {18: “The channel 172 may be sized to be sufficient to carry any conduits that extend from the wheel assembly 26, including… the hydraulic conduit 159 that carries hydraulic fluid to the brake 18” [0085]}.
Regarding claim 23, Weber discloses the fluid inlet {where 159 enters 172 on a vehicle interior side (Figs. 1a-1b)} of the fluid channel {172} fluidly operably couples the fluid system {64+66+68+70+84a+84b+84c+105+159} to the fluid channel {172},
wherein the fluid outlet {where 159 exits 172 on a vehicle exterior (wheel/brake) side (Figs. 1b-2)} of the fluid channel {172} fluidly operably couples the fluid channel {172} to the component {158} of the brake assembly {18 (via 159)},
wherein the fluid inlet {where 159 enters 172 on a vehicle interior side} is disposed on a first lateral side of the control arm {22} proximate to a longitudinal centerline of the vehicle {Figs. 1a-1b}, and
wherein the fluid outlet {where 159 exits 172 on a vehicle exterior (wheel/brake) side} is disposed on a second lateral side of the control arm {22} opposite the first lateral side {Figs. 1b-2}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber in view of Kirby (US 2010/0225157).
Regarding claim 19, Weber disclose all the aspects of claim 22. However, Weber does not explicitly disclose the fluid channel has a variable diameter between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet of the fluid channel, wherein the variable diameter is independent of a shape of a body of the control arm, and wherein the variable diameter allows for accumulation of additional fluid within the base portion.
Kirby teaches a fluid channel {82: “hydraulic passage 82 provides fluid communication between port 102a and port 96a” [0042]} has a variable diameter {96, 102 (smaller diameter portion 96, and larger diameter portion 102)} between the fluid inlet {102a} and the fluid outlet {96a} of the fluid channel {82}, wherein the variable diameter {96, 102} is independent of a shape of a body of the control arm {20}, and wherein the variable diameter {96, 102} allows for accumulation of additional fluid within the base portion {22+26}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suspension assembly, as disclosed by Weber, such that the fluid channel has a variable diameter between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet of the fluid channel, wherein the variable diameter is independent of a shape of a body of the control arm, and wherein the variable diameter allows for accumulation of additional fluid within the base portion, as taught by Kirby, in order to “[facilitate] the efficient manufacture of spindle body 20” [0041].
Regarding claim 24, Weber discloses a suspension assembly {10} of a vehicle {“corner assembly 10 for a vehicle (not shown)” [0043]}, the suspension assembly {10} comprising:
a fluid system {64+66+68+70+84a+84b+84c+105+159} operably coupled to the vehicle to hold hydraulic brake fluid {“the brake caliper 158 is hydraulically operated, a hydraulic fluid conduit 159 extends between the caliper 158 and a remotely positioned source of hydraulic fluid (not shown)” [0076]};
a brake assembly {18 (156+158)} operably coupled to a wheel assembly {20} to use the hydraulic brake fluid {“The brake caliper 158 may be operated hydraulically or in any other suitable way for engaging and stopping rotation of the brake rotor 156, which stops rotation of the wheel 20” [0076]};
a suspension component {22} operably coupling the wheel assembly {20} to the vehicle {Fig. 6}, the suspension component {22} further comprising:
a base portion {22 (170)} comprising a first end and a second end {Figs. 6-7}; and
a fluid channel {172: “The lower control arm 22 may include a channel portion 170 that defines a channel 172, shown more clearly in FIG. 7. The channel 172 may be sized to be sufficient to carry any conduits that extend from the wheel assembly 26, including… the hydraulic conduit 159 that carries hydraulic fluid to the brake 18” [0085]} configured to transfer the fluid {that runs through 159} from a fluid inlet {where 159 enters 172 on a vehicle interior side (Figs. 1a-1b)} to a fluid outlet {where 159 exits 172 on a vehicle exterior (wheel/brake) side (Figs. 1b-2)},
wherein the fluid channel {172} is disposed and enclosed between the first end and the second end {Figs. 6-7 [0085]},
wherein the fluid channel {172} is configured to transfer the hydraulic brake fluid directly from the fluid outlet {where 159 exits 172 on a vehicle exterior (wheel/brake) side} to a brake caliper {158} via secondary tubing {159 (Fig. 2)} for the brake caliper {158} to use to slow the vehicle [0076, 0085],
wherein the fluid channel {172} is a secondary hydraulic fluid reservoir that holds the hydraulic brake fluid for use by the brake assembly {18: “The channel 172 may be sized to be sufficient to carry any conduits that extend from the wheel assembly 26, including… the hydraulic conduit 159 that carries hydraulic fluid to the brake 18” [0085]},
wherein the suspension component {22} includes a constant width and a constant height {Figs. 1b, 7} between the fluid inlet {where 159 enters 172 on a vehicle interior side} and the fluid outlet {where 159 exits 172 on a vehicle exterior (wheel/brake) side}.
However, Weber does not explicitly disclose the fluid channel has a variable diameter between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to allow for accumulation of the hydraulic brake fluid within the base portion.
Kirby teaches a fluid channel {82} has a variable diameter {96, 102} between the fluid inlet {102a} and the fluid outlet {96a} to allow for accumulation of the hydraulic fluid within the base portion {22+26} of the suspension component {20}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suspension assembly, as disclosed by Weber, such that the fluid channel has a variable diameter between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to allow for accumulation of the hydraulic brake fluid within the base portion, as taught by Kirby, in order to “[facilitate] the efficient manufacture of spindle body 20” [0041].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 17-18, 20-21, and 25-26 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 13, none of the prior art of record filed before the effective filing date, either alone or in obvious combination, discloses a suspension assembly of a vehicle, the suspension assembly comprising:
a fluid system operably coupled to the vehicle to hold hydraulic brake fluid;
a brake assembly operably coupled to a wheel assembly to use the hydraulic brake fluid to slow the vehicle;
a knuckle operably coupling the wheel assembly to the vehicle, the knuckle further comprising:
a base portion comprising a first end and a second end; and
a fluid channel configured to transfer the hydraulic brake fluid from a fluid inlet to a fluid outlet,
wherein the fluid channel is disposed between the first end and the second end,
wherein the fluid channel is enclosed between the first end and the second end, and
wherein the fluid channel is a hydraulic fluid line that transfers the hydraulic brake fluid to a component of the brake assembly,
wherein a hydraulic bushing is fully housed within the knuckle and integrated between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet of the fluid channel, and
wherein a damping coefficient of the hydraulic bushing changes responsive to hydraulic fluid passing through the fluid channel (emphasis added).
Accordingly, claims 17-18, 20-21 and 25-26 are allowable by virtue of dependence from claim 13.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614