DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a first Office Action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 12, please amend “the resilient housing” to recite “the first resilient housing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 12, 13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pull" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner believes Applicant intended for “the pull” to actually be “the grip” and has interpreted the claim as such.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first end" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the “the first end” has been interpreted as “a first end of the spacer”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first end" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the “the first end” has been interpreted as “a first end of the spacer”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first end to the second end" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the “the first end” has been interpreted as “a first end of the spacer to a second end of the spacer”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the pull" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner believes Applicant intended for “the pull” to actually be “the grip” and has interpreted the claim as such.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first end" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the “the first end” has been interpreted as “a first end of the spacer”.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first end to the second end" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the “the first end” has been interpreted as “a first end of the spacer to a second end”.
Claims 2, 3, 5-8, and 20 are rejected by dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10, 13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by INNES, WO 2023/225614.
Re claim 9:
INNES teaches a system for protecting and organizing a set of golf clubs held in a golf bag during storage and transportation, wherein each golf club included in the set of golf clubs includes a club head coupled to a shaft, wherein the respective shafts of each of the golf clubs in the set of golf clubs is inserted within the golf bag so that the respective club heads of the set of golf clubs extend from the golf bag, the system comprising:
A first golf club connector (one of 100a, 100b, 200, 320a, 320b) including:
A first spacer comprising a first resilient housing, the first resilient housing having a first side (120) and a second side (130), the first spacer configured to be inserted between a first club head of a first golf club of the set of golf clubs, so that the first side abuts a face of the first club head and the second side abuts a back of a second club head of a second golf club [0019]-[0021] [0030] [Figures 1B-3], and
A first magnetic core (126) at least substantially encased in the resilient housing, the first magnetic core configured to secure the face of the first golf club to the first side and the back of the second golf club to the second side to prevent direct contact between the first golf club head and the second golf club head [0021] [0022] [0030] [0035] [Figures 1A and 3];
A second golf club connector (another one of 100a, 100b, 200, 320a, 320b) including:
A second spacer comprising a second resilient housing, the second resilient housing having a third side (120) and a fourth side (130), the second spacer configured to be inserted between the second club head of the second golf club and a third golf club head of a third golf club, so that the third side abuts a face of the second club head and the fourth side abuts a back of a third club head of a third golf club [0019]-[0022] [Figures 1B-3], and
A second magnetic core (126) at least substantially encased in the second resilient housing, the first magnetic core configured to secure the face of the first golf club to the first side and the back of the second golf club to the second side to prevent direct contact between the first golf club head, the second golf club head, and the third golf club head [0021] [0022] [0027] [0030] [0035] [Figures 1A and3].
Re claim 10:
INNES teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the first resilient housing and the second resilient housing comprise a first portion and a second portion, the first portion and the second portion defining a cavity configured to house the magnetic core (i.e., first side wall 120 and second side wall 130 define an internal pocket 122 for housing one or more magnets 126 [0020] [0021] [0022]).
Re claim 13:
INNES teaches the system of claim 9, wherein at least one of the first spacer or the second spacer defines a groove extending from a first end to a second end, the groove configured to receive an angular surface of at least one of the first golf club or the second golf club (i.e., one or more side walls 120, 130 of the separator may define a cutout, groove, or other feature that functions to better couple the separator to the club [0026]).
Re claim 15:
INNES teaches the system of claim 9, wherein at least one of the first magnetic core or the second magnetic core comprises a first magnetic core portion, a second magnetic core portion, and a divider, the divider configured to separate the first magnetic core portion from the second magnetic core portion (i.e., one or more magnets may be positioned in internal pocket 122. Alternatively, one or both of the first sidewall 120 or second side wall 130 may include an external pocket 124 in which one or more magnets are position. In some aspects, an internal pocket 122 may be used with one or more external pockets 124 to increase coupling between the separator 100a, 110b, and one or more club heads [0021]. When the internal pocket and external pocket are both used, a portion of the sidewall having the external pocket functions as a divider).
Re claim 16:
INNES teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the first resilient housing and the second resilient housing are composed of at least one of the following: a rubber, a carbon fiber, an organic polymer, a synthetic polymer, a ceramic, a leather, or a fabric [0020] [0023] [0028] [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INNES, WO 2023/225614 in view of BARRY, US 2015/0045133.
Re claims 1 and 17:
INNES teaches a golf club connector for removably coupling at least two golf clubs held in a golf bag adjacent to one another during storage and transportation, each of the at least two golf clubs including a club head (300, 310) coupled to a shaft, wherein the respective shafts of the at least two golf clubs are inserted within the golf bag so that the respective club heads of the at least two golf clubs extend from the golf bag, the golf club connector comprising:
A spacer (100a, 100b, 100c, 200, 320a, 320b) comprising a magnetic core (126) at least substantially encased in a resilient housing having a first side and a second side, the spacer configured to be inserted between the club heads of the at least two golf clubs so that the first side abuts a face of a first of the club heads and the second side abuts a back of a second of the club heads, wherein the magnetic core is configured to secure the face to the first side and the back to the second side to prevent direct contact between the first club head and the second club head [0019]-[0021] [0027] [0030] [Figures 1B-3].
INNES does not teach a grip coupled to the resilient housing, the grip configured to be grasped to remove the spacer from between the club heads by separating at least one of the first side from the face of the first club head or the second side from the back of the second club head.
BARRY teaches a golf club connector (128) for removably coupling a golf club held in a golf bag, the connector comprising: a spacer (64) comprising a magnetic core (62) at least substantially encased in a resilient housing having a first side and a second side, the spacer configured to be placed next to the golf club such that a face of a head of the golf club abuts one of the sides of the spacer [0061]-[0065] [Figures 7-8]; a grip (66) coupled to the resilient housing, the grip configured to be grasped to remove the spacer from the club head by separating the side from the face of the club head [0070] [0071] [Figures 7, 8, 11, 12].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of BARRY in the golf club connector of INNES such that the connector further comprises a grip coupled to the resilient housing for the purpose of aiding a user in removing an attached golf club (BARRY [0070]).
Re claim 2:
INNES, in view of BARRY, teaches the golf club connector of claim 1, wherein the resilient housing includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion and the second portion defining a cavity configured to house the magnetic core (i.e., first side wall 120 and second side wall 130 define an internal pocket 122 for housing one or more magnets 126 [0020] [0021] [0022]).
Re claims 5 and 19:
INNES, in view of BARRY, teaches the golf club connector of claims 1 and 17, wherein the spacer includes a groove extending from a first end to a second end, the groove configured to receive an angular surface of at least one of the first golf club or the second golf club (i.e., one or more side walls 120, 130 of the separator may define a cutout, groove, or other feature that functions to better couple the separator to the club [0026]).
Re claim 7:
INNES, in view of BARRY, teaches the gold club connector of claim 1, wherein the magnetic core comprises a first magnetic core portion, a second magnetic core portion, and a divider, the divider configured to separate the first magnetic core portion from the second magnetic core portion (i.e., one or more magnets may be positioned in internal pocket 122. Alternatively, one or both of the first sidewall 120 or second side wall 130 may include an external pocket 124 in which one or more magnets are position. In some aspects, an internal pocket 122 may be used with one or more external pockets 124 to increase coupling between the separator 100a, 110b, and one or more club heads [0021]. When the internal pocket and external pocket are both used, a portion of the sidewall having the external pocket functions as a divider).
Re claim 8:
INNES, in view of BARRY, teaches the golf club connector of claim 1, wherein the spacer housing is comprised of at least one of the following: a rubber, a carbon fiber, an organic polymer, a synthetic polymer, a ceramic, a leather, or a fabric [0020] [0023] [0028] [0049].
Re claim 20:
INNES, in view of BARRY, teaches the club connector of claim 17, wherein at least one of the first sport club or the second sport club comprises a golf club wedge, a golf club iron, a golf club hybrid, or a golf club wood [0029] [Figure 3].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INNES, WO 2023/225614 in view of BARRY, US 2015/0045133, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of MARCOON, US 2025/0242216.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INNES, WO 2023/225614 in view of MARCOON, US 2025/0242216.
Re claims 6 and 14:
INNES, in view of BARRY, teaches the golf club connector of claim 1, and INNES teaches the system of claim 9, but does not teach the spacer further includes a brush attachment disposed on a first end of the spacer, the brush attachment configured to clean debris from at least one golf club.
MARCOON teaches a golf towel assembly (10), the assembly including a towel (20) provided with at least one magnet (30) [abstract]. A brush (44) is attached to one end of assembly 10, stitched in or otherwise securely attached with layers 22, 24 of the towel [0016] [Figure 2]. The towel is configured to attach to golf club head 38 via the magnet and the brush is configured to clean debris from at least one golf club [0014] [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of MARCOON in the golf club connector of INNES, in view of BARRY, such that the spacer further includes a brush attachment disposed on a first end of the spacer for the purpose of consolidating multiple golf accessories into a single accessory.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INNES, WO 2023/225614 in view of BARRY, US 2015/0045133, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of PETKOVSEK et al, US 2020/0055637.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INNES, WO 2023/225614 in view of PETKOVSEK et al, US 2020/0055637.
Re claims 3 and 11:
INNES, in view of BARRY, teaches the golf club connector of claim 2, and INNES teaches the system of claim 9, but does not teach the first portion of the housing defines at least one indentation configured to engage with at least one protrusion defined in the second portion of the housing and secure the first portion and second portion from disengagement.
PETKOVSEK teaches a resilient housing (10) comprising a first portion and a second portion, the first portion and the second portion defining a cavity configured to house items (i.e., interior of bag 12 between opposite side panels 18 and 20); the first portion of the housing defines at least one indentation configured to engage with at least one protrusion define in the second portion of the housing and secure the first portion and the second portion from disengagement (i.e., indented sections 140, 142 engage with protrusions 148 [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of PETKOVSEK in the golf club connector of INNES. Utilizing a female-male coupling mechanism to secure the first portion and the second portion together would provide a common alternative coupling mechanism that would facilitate secure attachment while permitting selective access to the cavity of the resilient housing.
Conclusion
/LAURA A GUDORF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876