DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim of priority from the Chinese patent application CN202310139769.0 filed on 02/13/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (“IDS”) filed on 02/13/2025 and 07/22/2026 have been reviewed and the listed references have been considered.
Drawings
The 8-page drawings have been considered and placed on record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims 1, 11 and 20 respectively recite a method, apparatus and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer code for image processing. With respect to analysis of independent claims 1, 11 and 20:
Step 1:
With regard to Step 1, the instant claims are directed to a method, an apparatus and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and therefore, the claims are directed to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One:
With regard to 2A, Prong One, consider independent claim 1, the limitations of “obtaining a photographed image”, “performing depth-of-field analysis on the photographed image, to obtain first depth-of-field information of the biological object and second depth-of-field information of the background”, “obtain first depth-of-field information of the biological object and second depth-of-field information of the background”, “comparing the first depth-of-field information with the second depth-of-field information, to obtain a comparison result”, “determining, based on the comparison result, a living-body detection result indicating whether the biological object in the living-body detection scenario is a real living object” and “performing at least one of: storing the photographed image into a biological registry if the living-body detection result of the biological object indicates a living-body detection success”5, as drafted, recite an abstract idea, such as a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind of a person, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). That is, an analyst reviewing the obtained images may perform depth analysis of the subject and the background, compare the depth and determine the subject as a living body in comparison to the background of the image, and store the image in a biological registry. This is the concept that falls under the grouping of abstract ideas mental processes, i.e., a concept performed in the human mind, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion of an analyst. Please note that the alternative to the storing step, “extracting a biometric feature of the biological object in the photographed image and storing the biometric feature into the biological registry, if the living-body detection result of the biological object indicates the living-body detection success” is not considered as the claim language only require at least one step.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The 2019 PEG defines the phrase “evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception”. Therefore, additional elements, or a combination of additional elements in the claim, are required to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception. In the instant case, the additional elements/limitations in the claims, i.e., at least one processor merely regarded as adding insignificant extra-solution activities to the judicial exception, and do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception as an indication of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, the above-mentioned additional elements/limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; and therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
Because the claims fail under Step 2A, the claims are further evaluated under Step 2B. The claims herein do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into practical application, the additional elements/limitations to perform the steps, amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. Mere stored computer code containing instructions to apply an exception using generic components cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claims 1, 11 and 20 are not patent eligible.
Further, with regard to dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 viewed individually, these additional steps, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations as an abstract idea, and do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 2024/0046709 A1) in view of Miura et al. (US 2022/0121869 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Patil teaches, An image processing method, (Patil, ¶0041: “method 400 for image liveness detection”) performed by an electronic device, and comprising: obtaining a photographed image by (Patil, ¶0026: “a personal electronics device includes at least one or more cameras for capturing an image”) photographing a biological object to be detected in a living-body detection scenario, (Patil, ¶0026: “capture an image of a requested subject”) and a background of the biological object; (Patil, ¶0037: “in analyzed image 330, area 336 may be identified as background”) performing depth-of-field analysis on the photographed image, to obtain first depth-of-field information of the biological object and second depth-of-field information of the background; (Patil, ¶0036: “image may have corresponding depth data… the background depth 326 may be much larger than the foreground depth 324”) comparing the first depth-of-field information with the second depth-of-field information, to obtain a comparison result; (Patil, ¶0035: “the image depth data provided by the camera can be processed to distinguish between a subject (e.g., a foreground object) and the background based on their comparative depths”) determining, based on the comparison result, a living-body detection result indicating whether the biological object in the living-body detection scenario is a real living object; (Patil, ¶0038: “areas are compared to each other… high congruency (e.g., alignment) between the pixel edge and the depth edge, then the image may be determined to be live and authentic”). However, Patil does not explicitly teach, performing at least one of: storing the photographed image into a biological registry if the living-body detection result of the biological object indicates a living-body detection success or extracting a biometric feature of the biological object in the photographed image and storing the biometric feature into the biological registry, if the living-body detection result of the biological object indicates the living-body detection success.
In an analogues field of endeavor, Miura teaches, performing at least one of: storing the photographed image into a biological registry (Miura, ¶0046: “The storage device 14 consists of, for example, HDD (Hard Disk Drive) or SSD (Solid State Drive), and stores registration data of users… image data such as finger vein patterns and biometric feature data”) if the living-body detection result of the biological object indicates a living-body detection success (Miura, ¶0072: “the system outputs the result of successful authentication and the registrant ID associated with the registration data”) or extracting a biometric feature of the biological object in the photographed image and storing the biometric feature into the biological registry, (Miura, ¶0043: “the feature extraction unit 26, which extracts the biometric features during registration and authentication processes”) if the living-body detection result of the biological object indicates the living-body detection success. (Miura, ¶0064: “data appropriateness judgment is performed to detect that the extracted pattern is appropriate”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil using the teachings of Miura to introduce registering a feature of a biological object. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of performing a biological authentication based on the registered biological feature information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Patil and Miura to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Patil in view of Miura teaches, The image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the performing the depth-of-field analysis comprises: determining, in the photographed image, a biological region image corresponding to the biological object (Patil, ¶0033: “the image includes different regions of different depths”) and a background region image corresponding to the background; (Patil, ¶0034: “both subject 220 and background 230 displayed within the capture area”) determining image blurriness of the biological region image, and determining the image blurriness of the biological region image as the first depth-of-field information; and determining image blurriness of the background region image, and determining the image blurriness of the background region image as the second depth-of-field information. (Patil, ¶0033: “the depth image of FIG. 2B, foreground aspects of the image, such as subject 225 may be significantly closer than background aspects 235 included in the image. In the depth analysis, which may occur in real-time during image submission, the depth contrast of the image may be reviewed”; also see Fig 2B, different blurriness of the subject and the background).
Regarding claim 3, Patil in view of Miura teaches, The image processing method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the biological region image comprises: performing skeleton analysis on the biological object in the photographed image to obtain skeleton information of the biological object; (Miura, ¶0036: “biometric features mean different anatomical biological features such as finger veins, fingerprints, joint patterns” and ¶0049: “Visible light is mainly used to capture fine wrinkles on the skin surface, fingerprints, finger joint wrinkles”; Skeleton information is interpreted as joint patterns visible on skin) determining the biological region image in the photographed image according to the skeleton information of the biological object; (Miura, ¶0011: “separating the hand area from the background area in biometric authentication using finger veins and finger epidermis”) and determining the background region image in the photographed image according to the skeleton information of the biological object. (Miura, ¶0059: “perform background removal processing to extract only the finger part from the captured image based on the result of the spectroscopic processing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Miura using the additional teachings of Miura to introduce analyzing an image to determine biological features. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of differentiating the foreground from the background based on detected biological features of the foreground. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Patil and Miura to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Patil in view of Miura teaches, The image processing method according to claim 3, wherein the biological object is a hand, (Miura, ¶0011: “separating the hand area from the background area”) and wherein the determining the biological region image comprises at least one of: determining, based on the skeleton information of the biological object (Miura, ¶0062: “The ROI image shall be generated by including a point at the fingertip of each finger and two points at the interdigital area on both sides of each finger inside”) comprising first position information of finger skeleton points in the photographed image, (Miura, ¶0060: “acquiring the positions of the multiple fingertips and finger roots”) a finger region image in the photographed image according to the first position information, (Miura, ¶0062: “determine the finger width, the midpoint of the line connecting the two interdigital areas on both sides of the finger is defined as the finger root”) and determining the finger region image as the biological region image; (Miura, ¶0070: “similarity is calculated by comparing the biometric features of the same biological parts… epidermal features and one for venous features, are calculated for each of the three finger pairs”). The strike-through limitations are not considered as only one of the 3 alternative regions is selected as the biological region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Miura using the additional teachings of Miura to introduce analyzing finger positions as biological region. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of performing biological authentication based on comparing the similarity of the registered and the scanned fingers for biological features. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Patil and Miura to obtain the invention in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Patil in view of Miura teaches, The image processing method according to claim 4, wherein the determining the background region image comprises at least one of (The strike-through limitations are not considered as only one of the 3 alternative regions is selected as the biological region) or determining, based on the skeleton information of the biological object further comprising fifth position information of a plurality of hand boundary skeleton points in the photographed image, (Miura, ¶0060: “the two interdigital areas on both sides of the finger is defined as the finger root, the line segment connecting the fingertip and the finger root of the finger is defined as the central axis of the finger”) a hand boundary region image in the photographed image according to the fifth position information (Miura, ¶0060: “the contour of the finger area with the background removed is first acquired, the curvature of the inside of the finger area is determined by tracking on the contour line”) and sixth position information of an image boundary of the photographed image, (Miura, ¶0096: “features such as the degree of edge blur and the amount of edge shift according to the color and coordinates of the image”; image boundary is interpreted as a rectangular area with boundary coordinates) and determining the hand boundary region image as the background region image. (Miura, ¶0060: “the contour of the finger area with the background removed is first acquired, the curvature of the inside of the finger area is determined by tracking on the contour line”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Miura using the additional teachings of Miura to introduce determining the boundary of the fingers by tracking the contour line enclosing the finger area. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of distinguishing the biological foreground image from the background image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Patil and Miura to obtain the invention in claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, Patil in view of Miura teaches, The image processing method according to claim1, further comprising at least one of: performing matching detection on the photographed image with registered images in the biological registry based on the living-body detection result of the biological object indicating the living-body detection success, (Patil, ¶0023: “Once the subject is determined to be live… determine an “edge” of the subject (e.g., the bounds of the subject within the picture). This pixel edge is compared with a similar edge calculated from the depth data to verify that the edges substantially align”) and determining that authentication on the biological object succeeds based on a registered image of the biological object matching the photographed image being detected; (Patil, ¶0052: “If they are determined to match (e.g., substantially align, 550—Yes), then the user is verified and the access/transaction is allowed”). (The strike-through limitations are not considered as only one of the matching functions is required by the claim limitations).
Regarding claim 11, it recites an apparatus with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of apparatus claim 11 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Patil and Miura presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Patil teaches, An image processing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory configured to store computer program code; (Patil, ¶0065: “a tangible, non-transitory apparatus or article of manufacture comprising a tangible, non-transitory computer useable or readable medium having control logic (software) stored thereon”) and at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code, the program code comprising: (Patil, ¶0065: “control logic, when executed by one or more data processing devices (such as computer system 600), may cause such data processing devices to operate as described herein”).
Regarding claim 12, it recites an apparatus with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited elements of apparatus claim 12 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 2. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Patil and Miura presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 13, it recites an apparatus with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 3. Therefore, the recited elements of apparatus claim 13 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Patil and Miura presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 14, it recites an apparatus with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited elements of apparatus claim 14 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Patil and Miura presented in rejection of claim 4, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 15, it recites an apparatus with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 5. Therefore, the recited elements of apparatus claim 15 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 5. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Patil and Miura presented in rejection of claim 5, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 20, it recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer code containing instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 20 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Patil and Miura presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Patil teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer code (Patil, ¶0065: “a tangible, non-transitory apparatus or article of manufacture comprising a tangible, non-transitory computer useable or readable medium having control logic (software) stored thereon”) which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to at least: (Patil, ¶0065: “control logic, when executed by one or more data processing devices (such as computer system 600), may cause such data processing devices to operate as described herein”).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 2024/0046709 A1) in view of Miura et al. (US 2022/0121869 A1) and in further view of Bhat et al. (US 2017/0178058 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Patil in view of Miura teaches, The image processing method according to claim 2, wherein the determining image blurriness of the biological region image comprises. However, the combination of Patil and Miura does not explicitly teach, obtaining a Laplacian template; performing convolution processing on the biological region image by using the Laplacian template to obtain a convolutional image of the biological region image; and performing statistical calculation on pixel values of a plurality of pixels in the convolutional image of the biological region image to obtain the image blurriness of the biological region image.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Bhat teaches, obtaining a Laplacian template; (Bhat, ¶0040: “A Laplacian kernel is used”) performing convolution processing on the biological region image by using the Laplacian template to obtain a convolutional image of the biological region image; (Bhat, ¶0040: “the blur estimation engine 203 may convolve the index image with a Laplacian kernel and determine a variance for the convolved image”) and performing statistical calculation on pixel values of a plurality of pixels in the convolutional image (Bhat, ¶0040: “determine a variance for the convolved image”; Applicant’s specification ¶0069: “The statistical calculation herein may refer to performing variance calculation”) of the biological region image to obtain the image blurriness of the biological region image. (Bhat, ¶0005: “compute a blurriness score for the index image based on a variance associated with the index image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Miura using the teachings of Bhat to introduce a spatial Laplacian convolution. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of detecting the intensity changes in the image through image blurriness to distinguish between the foreground and the background of an image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Patil, Miura and Bhat to obtain the invention in claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, it recites an apparatus with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 6. Therefore, the recited elements of apparatus claim 16 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 6. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Patil and Miura presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662