DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 2/13/2025 has been considered by the Examiner with the exception of all the NPL citations as copies of the NPL citations are not in the file wrapper. The IDS filed 5/27/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2017/0187733 to Ahn et al. (hereinafter Ahn) in view of US2021/0258350 to Buck.
As to claim 1, Ahn teaches:
a. A server (Ahn, [0013]).
b. A packet filtering device (packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0015]).
c. The server configured to:
i. Receive, from one or more threat intelligence providers, threat intelligence reports comprising one or more domains associated with malicious activity (threat-intelligence reports including domain names and internet addresses are received) (Ahn, [0018]).
ii. Query a domain name service (DNS) to determine whether each domain, of the one or more domains associated with malicious activity (DNS query, threat indicators are used in the DNS query) (Ahn, [0019]).
Ahn does not expressly mention an eSNI value. However, in an analogous art, Buck teaches supports receiving an encrypted server name indication (eSNI) value (DNS query is used to detect if SNI or eSNI is supported in the DNS) (Buck, [0052]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been motivated to implement the secure network connections with the employment of eSNI of Buck in order to enhance the network connections security as suggested by Buck (Buck, [0001]).
Ahn as modified further teaches:
iii. Based on a determination that a first domain supports receiving an eSNI value, create an entry in a data structure, wherein the entry comprises at least one internet protocol address associated with the first domain (logs are kept of the communication sessions including making entries in a log including the information about the packets destination) (Ahn, [0019]).
iv. Create, based on one or more entries in the data structure, one or more policies comprising a plurality of packet filtering rules (rules generated based on the threat indicators) (Ahn, [0018]).
v. Send, to the packet filtering device, the one or more policies and the data structure (packet filtering rules are sent the rule gate (part of the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0018]).
d. The packet filtering device configured to:
i. Receive the one or more policies and the data structure (packet filtering rules are received by the rule gate (part of the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0018]).
ii. Receive, from a first device, a plurality of encrypted packets, wherein the plurality of encrypted packets comprises a destination address (receiving packets to be processed by the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0015]).
iii. Determine whether the destination address matches an address in the data structure (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]). It is noted that the DNS system would not process an address unless it can be resolved.
iv. Based on a determination that the destination address matches an address in the data structure, decrypt, by a proxy function, the plurality of encrypted packets to obtain a plurality of cleartext packets (packets decrypted by a proxy device) (Ahn, [0037]).
v. Store, in accordance with the one or more policies, the plurality of cleartext packets in a data base (packets are stored in logs to be used in future determinations) (Ahn, [0032]).
vi. Send, in accordance with the one or more policies, the plurality of encrypted packets to the destination address (packets are only sent when all of the rules have been satisfied) (Buck, [0039]).
As to claim 2, Ahn as modified teaches the server is configured to create, based on one or more entries in the data structure, one or more packet filtering rules of the plurality of packet filtering rules (ICAP server receives rules from the rule providers) (Ahn, [0014]).
As to claim 3, Ahn as modified teaches the server is further configured to query, based on a determination that a second domain does not support receiving an eSNI value, a domain name service (DNS) to determine whether a third domain of the one or more domains, supports receiving an eSNI value, where an entry for the second domain is not created in the data structure (DNS query is used to detect if SNI or eSNI is supported in the DNS and uses pre-fetched associated domains if the initial domain cannot be resolved) (Buck, [0052 and 0055])) and (packets are only logged if get past the packet filtering system otherwise they are dropped and never reach the destination behind the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0061]).
As to claim 4, Ahn as modified teaches the packet filtering device is configured to:
a. Receive a second plurality of encrypted packets, wherein the second plurality of encrypted packets comprises a second destination address corresponding to the second domain (receiving packets to be processed by the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0015]).
b. Determine whether the second destination address matches an address in the data structure (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet if the destination address is associated with malicious activity) (Ahn, [0028]).
c. Based on a determination that the second destination address does not match an address in the data structure, send, in accordance with the one or more policies, the second plurality of encrypted packets to the second destination address (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet if the destination address is associated with malicious activity) (Ahn, [0028]). Ahn as modified does not just apply to a single plurality of packets.
As to claim 5, Ahn as modified teaches wherein the one or more threat intelligence providers comprises at least one of: a cyber threat intelligence provider, a law enforcement intelligence provider, or a protection and preservation intelligence provider (Ahn, [0018]).
As to claim 6, Ahn as modified teaches the plurality of encrypted packets:
a. Is associated with establishing a secure communication channel (establishing a secure connection) (Buck, [0066]).
b. Comprises at least one of a ClientHello message or one or more handshake messages (client hello message) (Ahn, [0034]).
As to claim 7, Ahn as modified teaches the packet filtering device is configured to:
a. Receive a second plurality of encrypted packets, wherein the second plurality of encrypted packets comprises a second address (receiving packets to be processed by the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0015]).
b. Determine whether the second destination address matches an address in the data structure (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]).
c. Based on a determination that the second destination address matches an address in the data structure, block, in accordance with the one or more policies, the second plurality of encrypted packets (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]).
Ahn as modified does not just apply to a single plurality of packets.
As to claim 8, Ahn teaches:
a. A server (Ahn, [0013]).
b. One or more processors and memory storing instructions that (Ahn, [0015]), when executed by the one or more processors cause the server to:
i. Receive, from one or more threat intelligence providers, threat intelligence reports comprising one or more domains associated with malicious activity (threat-intelligence reports including domain names are transmitted to the user) (Ahn, [0018]).
ii. Query a domain name service (DNS) to determine whether each domain, of the one or more domains associated with malicious activity, (DNS query, threat indicators are used in the DNS query) (Ahn, [0019]).
Ahn does not expressly mention an eSNI value. However, in an analogous art, Buck teaches supports receiving an encrypted server name indication (eSNI) value (DNS query is used to detect if SNI or eSNI is supported in the DNS) (Buck, [0052]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been motivated to implement the secure network connections with the employment of eSNI of Buck in order to enhance the network connections security as suggested by Buck (Buck, [0001]).
Ahn as modified further teaches supports receiving an encrypted server name indication (eSNI) value
iii. Based on a determination that a first domain supports receiving an eSNI value, create an entry in a data structure, wherein the entry comprises at least one internet protocol address associated with the first domain (logs are kept of the communication sessions including making entries in a log including the information about the packets destination) (Ahn, [0019]).
iv. Create, based on one or more entries in the data structure, one or more policies comprising a plurality of packet filtering rules (rules generated based on the threat indicators) (Ahn, [0018]).
v. Send, to the packet filtering device, the one or more policies and the data structure (packets are only sent when all of the rules have been satisfied) (Buck, [0039]).
As to claim 9, Ahn as modified teaches send, to the one or more packet filtering devices, the data structure (log data with entries that satisfy the rules (addresses, headers…) (Ahn, [0019]).
As to claim 10, Ahn as modified teaches create, based on one or more entries in the data structure, one or more packet filtering rules of the plurality of packet filtering rules (rules generated based on the threat indicators and other entries about the packet) (Ahn, [0018-0019]).
As to claim 11, Ahn as modified teaches query, based on a determination that a second domain does not support receiving an eSNI value, a domain name service (DNS) to determine whether a third domain of the one or more domains, supports receiving an eSNI value (DNS query is used to detect if SNI or eSNI is supported in the DNS and uses pre-fetched associated domains if the initial domain cannot be resolved) (Buck, [0052 and 0055])).
As to claim 12, Ahn as modified teaches an entry for the second domain is not created in the data structure (packets are only logged if get past the packet filtering system otherwise they are dropped and never reach the destination behind the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0061]).
As to claim 13, Ahn as modified teaches wherein the one or more threat intelligence providers comprises at least one of: a cyber threat intelligence provider, a law enforcement intelligence provider, or a protection and preservation intelligence provider (Ahn, [0018]).
As to claim 14, Ahn as modified teaches at least one of the packet filtering device, of the one or more packet filtering devices, resides at a boundary and interfaces between a protected network and an unprotected network (The packet filtering system is the gateway to the domain. All packets are processed and they are either allowed or dropped.) (Ahn, [0018 and 0028]).
As to claim 15, Ahn teaches:
a. One or more processors and memory storing instructions that (Ahn, [0015]), when executed by the one or more processors cause the packet filtering device to:
i. Receive, from a server external to the network protected by the packet filtering device, one or more policies and the data structure comprising a plurality of packet filtering rules, wherein the one or more policies are based on intelligence data received from one or more threat intelligence providers (packet filtering rules come from threat-intelligence providers) (Ahn, [0018])
ii. Receive, from the server, a data structure comprising a plurality or entries, wherein each entry, of the plurality of entries, comprises at least one internet protocol address associated with a domain associated with malicious activity (threat-intelligence reports including domain names and internet addresses of potentially malicious actors are received) (Ahn, [0018]).
iii. Receive, from a first device, a plurality of encrypted packets, wherein the plurality of encrypted packets comprises a destination address (receiving packets to be processed by the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0015]).
iv. Determine whether the destination address matches an address in the data structure (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]). It is noted that the DNS system would not process an address unless it can be resolved.
iv. Based on a determination that the destination address matches an address in the data structure, decrypt, by a proxy function, the plurality of encrypted packets to obtain a plurality of cleartext packets (packets decrypted by a proxy device) (Ahn, [0037]).
v. Store, in accordance with the one or more policies, the plurality of cleartext packets in a data base (packets are stored in logs to be used in future determinations) (Ahn, [0032]).
It is implied that Ahn sends packets associated with the policies, but it is not explicitly recited. However, in an analogous art, Buck teaches:
vi. Send, in accordance with the one or more policies, the plurality of encrypted packets to the destination address (packets are only sent when all of the rules have been satisfied) (Buck, [0039]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been motivated to implement the secure network connections with sending of packets according to the rules/policies of Buck in order to enhance the network connections security as suggested by Buck (Buck, [0001]).
As to claim 16, Ahn as modified teaches cause the packet filtering device to store the plurality of cleartext packets in the database based on a user identifier corresponding to one or more user identifiers indicated in the one or more policies (packets are stored in logs to be used in future determinations and metadata for the logs include addresses of the source) (Ahn, [0019 and 0032]).
As to claim 17, Ahn as modified teaches cause the packet filtering device to store the plurality of cleartext packets in the database based on a host identifier corresponding to one or more host identifiers indicated in the one or more policies (packets are stored in logs to be used in future determinations and metadata for the logs include addresses of the destination) (Ahn, [0019 and 0032]).
As to claim 18, Ahn as modified teaches cause the packet filtering device:
a. Receive a second plurality of encrypted packets, wherein the second plurality of encrypted packets comprises a second destination address (receiving packets to be processed by the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0015]).
b. Determine whether the second destination address matches an address in the data structure (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]).
c. Based on a determination that the second destination address does not match an address in the data structure, send, in accordance with the one or more policies, the second plurality of encrypted packets to the second destination address (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]).
Ahn as modified does not just apply to a single plurality of packets.
As to claim 19, Ahn as modified teaches cause the packet filtering device:
a. Receive a second plurality of encrypted packets, wherein the second plurality of encrypted packets comprises a second destination address (receiving packets to be processed by the packet filtering system) (Ahn, [0015]).
b. Determine whether the second destination address matches an address in the data structure (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]).
c. Based on a determination that the second destination address matches an address in the data structure, block, in accordance with the one or more policies, the second plurality of encrypted packets to the second destination address (addresses are processed by the rule gate and determine if they match threat indicators to either drop the packet or send the packet to the destination) (Ahn, [0028]).
As to claim 20, Ahn as modified teaches the plurality of encrypted packets is associated with establishing a secure communication channel and comprises at least one of a ClientHello message or one or more handshake messages (client hello message) (Ahn, [0034]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,255,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant application are substantially similar to the limitations of the patented case. The main difference is that the patent includes limitations relating to law enforcement which would allow law enforcement to intercept packets. This is viewed as an intended use for patent and removing law enforcement limitations would not materially affect the operation of the patent.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM S POWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496