DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 and interview held 10/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 22 and 23 have been cancelled by Applicant as they were non-elected Groups II and III. Upon consideration of the remaining claims, Claims 1-19 are being withdrawn from examination as they are specific to non-elected Species C due to the recitation of the conical elongated housing aperture in claim 1 and the recitation of the intermediate portion having a smaller diameter than the closed expandable distal portion in claim 19 which are only described in the embodiment of device 1400 (Fig. 14) .
Claim Objections
Claims 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20, line 5, “fines” should be defines
Claim 21, line 5, “fines” should be defines
Claim 21, line 8, “distal end diameter control” should be “distal end diameter controller”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “203” in Fig. 2C has been used to designate both parts shown below:
Figure 2A has the following issues:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0237206 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Young discloses a device (10, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a housing (12) having a proximal housing end and a distal housing end, wherein a first portion of the housing extending from the proximal housing end defines a first elongated member and a second portion of the housing extending from the first elongated member to the distal housing end [defines] a second elongated member (see figure below);
one or more channels (50) defined within an interior of the housing [0018] (Fig. 1);
a distal end diameter controller (46+44) wherein the distal end diameter controller is operable to control a diameter of a distal end of the housing (Fig. 1) [0021], the controller is a slidable button (46 is button which slides along groove 22 to actuate the distal end expansion, [0021]);
an expandable distal housing end (14) (Fig. 1) [0021-0022].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0237206 A1) in view of Bar-Or et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0107714 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Young discloses a device (10, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a housing (12) having a proximal housing end and a distal housing end, wherein a first portion of the housing extending from the proximal housing end defines a first elongated member and a second portion of the housing extending from the first elongated member to the distal housing end [defines] a second elongated member (see figure below);
one or more channels (50) defined within an interior of the housing [0018] (Fig. 1);
a distal end diameter controller (46+44) wherein the distal end diameter controller is operable to control a diameter of a distal end of the housing (Fig. 1) [0021];
an expandable distal housing end (14) (Fig. 1) [0021-0022].
Young discloses one or more electronic components (medical camera described in [0022]) but are silent to the specifics of the camera being operable to transmit information captured by the camera to a secondary electronic device.
Bar-Or discloses a speculum in the same field of endeavor which comprises a medical camera for capturing images of the patient’s body when the camera is inserted through the speculum [0005, claim 1]. Bar-Or also discloses transmitting the captured image to a digital system to document the gynecology examination (claim 24). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a medical camera which can transmit the captured image to a digital system as taught by Bar-Or in the speculum of Young in order to document the examination or procedure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773