DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a rear pan" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is the same rear pan as in claim 5. For the purposes of examination it is presumed that claim 8 is supposed to be directly off of claim 1 not claim 5.
Claim 9 is rejected for depending on a rejected indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferren et al. (US 20210088691 A1), hereinafter Ferren.
Regarding claim 1, Ferren discloses a grain loss detector (100, fig. 1, [0026]) for a combine harvester (102, fig. 1, [0026]) having threshing stage components, separating stage components, and cleaning stage components ([0030-0031]), the grain loss detector comprising:
at least one camera (230, fig. 2-4, [0050 and 0058]) positioned and configured to capture digital image frames of crop material (fig. 2-4, [0036, 0046-0047, 0051, and 0063]) that is discharged from an end of a separating stage component or cleaning stage component of the combine harvester while harvesting a crop (fig. 1-3, [0036-0038 and 0046-0047]), the discharged crop material containing grain kernels and material other than grain (MOG) ([0036-0037, 0047, and 0051]);
a computing device (104, fig. 1 and 4, [0026, and 0042-0043]) in data communication with the at least one camera to receive the digital image frames (fig. 4, [0045-0047 and 0051]), the computing device including memory for storing the received digital image frames (384, fig. 4, [0056, 0063, and 0132]) and software configured to process the received digital image frames ([0056-0057 and 0134]) to identify the grain kernels from among the MOG within the received digital image frames based on crop data characteristics associated with the crop being harvested, the crop data characteristics including any of: color characteristics of the grain kernels of the crop, shape characteristics of the grain kernels of the crop, and size characteristics of the grain kernels of the crop (fig. 6, [0051, 0057, 0063, 0071-0072, and 0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Ferren discloses wherein the crop data characteristics include historical digital image frames of the crop being harvested against which the software compares the received digital image frames to identify the grain kernels of the crop from the MOG (0056, 0063, 0066,0071-0072 and 0074-0075, wherein the images of the grain are compared to the parameters designated by user or system and compare the grain to that standard, this standard must be based off of historical information kept in 316).
Regarding claim 3, Ferren discloses wherein the separating stage components include at least a separating concave (140, fig. 1, [0030]) and wherein the cleaning stage components include any of an upper sieve (152, fig. 1, [0031]), a lower sieve (150, fig. 1, [0031]) and a straw walker (Ferren has the upper sieve and lower sieve, a straw walker is not required by the claim).
Regarding claim 8, Ferren discloses wherein the combine harvester includes a rear pan (surface of 180b, fig. 1-3, [0037-0038 and 0046], wherein 180b can be mounted within or proximate to the cleaning shoe, therefore it can be placed at the rear of the cleaning shoe and considered a rear pan) over which the discharged crop material passes (fig. 2-3, [0036, 0047, and 0051]), the rear pan including a rear pan opening covered by a transparent window (214, fig. 2-3, [0047 and 0051]) such that a portion of the discharged crop material passes in a direction over the transparent window ([0047 and 0051]), wherein the at least one camera is supported below the transparent window and wherein the at least one camera is oriented toward the transparent window (fig. 2-3, [0047 and 0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Ferren discloses wherein the transparent window has a width proximate a width of the rear pan, and wherein the at least one camera comprises a plurality of cameras spaced below the transparent window (fig. 2-3, [0047 and 0051]).
Regarding claim 14, Ferren discloses wherein the software is further configured to quantify the identified grain kernels ([0063]) within sequential ones of the received digital image frames over a time period ([0060 and 0066]) to determine a grain loss amount ([0024, 0063, 0073, and 0112]).
Regarding claim 20, Ferren discloses further including other sensors (240, fig. 3-4, [0047, 0053]) in data communication with the computing device and interfacing with the software (fig. 4, [0053, and 0056-0059]), wherein the other sensors are configured to generate sensor data indicative of other characteristics of the discharged crop material passing the other sensors, including any of: velocity, density, size, shape and dielectric constants ([0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferren et al. (US 20210088691 A1), hereinafter Ferren in view of Kormann (US 20092086582 A1), hereinafter Kormann.
Regarding claim 4, Ferren discloses claim 1 including a separating stage components and the cleaning stage components ([0030-0031])) and a camera that captures the images of passing crop material (fig. 2-4, [0036, 0051, and 0063]) and the camera can be placed on or adjacent to any one of the separating stage components and the cleaning stage components ([0037-0038 and 0045-0046], wherein 180b can be mounted within or proximate to the cleaning shoe, 180/ 180b being a general sensing system that contains a camera), but fails to disclose a collector with crops passing through the sensing system and by a camera within a pass-through system.
Kormann teaches a similar device in the same field of combine harvesters wherein further comprising a collector (mouth of 106 at the top 106 in fig. 2, [0018]) mounted to receive a portion of the discharged crop material from (fig. 2, [0018]), the collector having an inlet end (top of 106 in fig. 2), an outlet end (bottom of 106 in fig. 2) and a channel extending between the inlet end and the outlet end (106, fig. 2, [0018]), the inlet end directing the portion of the discharged crop material into the channel (fig. 2, [0018]), wherein the at least one camera (110, fig. 2, [0019]) is disposed transverse to a direction of flow of the portion of the discharged crop material passing through the channel (fig. 2, [0018-0019]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the pass-over sensing system of Ferren with the pass-through sensing system of Kormann to yield the predictable result of detecting properties, quantities, and/or velocity of the crop yield ([0005 and 0018-0019 of Kormann]).
Regarding claim 12, Ferren in view of Kormann teaches further comprising a light disposed to illuminate the portion of the discharged crop material when the digital image frames are being captured by the at least one camera (250, [0052] of Ferren).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferren et al. (US 20210088691 A1), hereinafter Ferren in view of Vandike et al. (US 2020/0029498 A1), hereinafter Vandike.
Regarding claim 5, Ferren discloses wherein the combine harvester includes a rear pan (surface of 180b, fig. 1-3, [0037-0038 and 0046], wherein 180b can be mounted within or proximate to the cleaning shoe, therefore it can be placed at the rear of the cleaning shoe and considered a rear pan) over which the discharged crop material passes (fig. 2-3, [0036, 0047, and 0051]).
However, Ferren fails to explicitly disclose wherein the rear pan includes a rear pan opening through which a portion of the discharged crop material falls, wherein the at least one camera is supported below the rear pan opening and wherein the at least one camera is oriented transverse to a direction of flow of the portion of the discharged crop material falling through the rear pan opening.
Vandike teaches a similar device in the same field of grain harvesting vehicles wherein the rear pan (20, fig. 5, [0019-0020]) includes a rear pan opening (28, fig. 5, [0021]) through which a portion of the discharged crop material falls (fig. 5, [0019 and 0026-0027]), wherein the at least one camera (36, fig. 5, [0027]) is supported below the rear pan opening (36, fig. 5, [0027]) and wherein the at least one camera is oriented transverse to a direction of flow of the portion of the discharged crop material falling through the rear pan opening (fig. 5, [0027-0028]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the pass-over sensing system and rear pan system of Ferren with the pass-through sensing system and rear pan with openings of with of Vandike to yield the predictable result of measuring the grain loss from the harvester ([0001-004 of Vandike])
Regarding claim 6, Ferren in view of Vandike teaches further comprising a slide plate (46, fig. 5, [0023]) disposed below and transverse to the rear pan opening such that the portion of the discharged crop material falling through the rear pan opening slides over an upper surface of the slide plate and wherein the at least one camera is oriented transverse to the upper surface of the slide plate (fig. 5, [0023 and 0027-0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Ferren in view of Vandike teaches further comprising a frame enclosure (38, fig. 5, [0019 and 0027-0028]) disposed below the rear pan opening (fig. 5, [0019 and 0027-0028]), the frame enclosure having an interior perimeter defining an open area disposed below the rear pan opening (surface of 38, fig. 5), wherein the at least one camera comprises a plurality of cameras disposed around the interior perimeter (fig. 5, [0027]), and wherein each of the plurality of cameras is oriented toward the open area such that each of the plurality of cameras is transverse to the direction of flow of the portion of the discharged crop material passing through the rear pan opening and through the open area of the frame below the rear pan opening (fig. 5, [0019 and 0027-0028]).
Claim(s) 10-11, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferren et al. (US 20210088691 A1), hereinafter Ferren in view of Cotton et al. (US 2016/0327535 A1), hereinafter Cotton.
Regarding claim 10, Ferren discloses wherein the combine harvester includes a rear pan (surface of 180b, fig. 1-3, [0037-0038 and 0046], wherein 180b can be mounted within or proximate to the cleaning shoe, therefore it can be placed at the rear of the cleaning shoe and considered a rear pan) having a width over which the discharged crop material passes in a direction of flow (fig. 2-3, [0036, 0047, and 0051]), and wherein the at least one camera comprises a plurality of cameras (230a and 230b, fig. 2-3,[0051]) and spaced across the width of the rear pan (230a and 230b, fig. 2-3,[0051]).
Ferren teaches the above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of cameras are supported above the rear pan. However, Ferren does teach that other cameras in various locations to gather crop loss information ([0036-0037]).
Cotton teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the plurality of cameras are supported above the rear pan (fig. 2, [0027 and 0029-0030], wherein 144 is positioned above 196 and at the end of 196),
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the extra cameras of Ferren being used and in the position above the separator of Cotton in order to gather information about the grain loss ([0030 of Cotton]; [0029-0030 of Ferren]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to try to positioning these plurality of cameras oriented transverse to the direction of flow of a portion of the discharged crop material passing over the rear pan as there are a finite number of options (MPEP 2143, KSR type E) which are the options to position the cameras parallel or transverse or angled toward the direction of flow.
Regarding claim 11, Ferren discloses wherein the combine harvester includes a rear pan (surface of 180b, fig. 1-3, [0037-0038 and 0046], wherein 180b can be mounted within or proximate to the cleaning shoe, therefore it can be placed at the rear of the cleaning shoe and considered a rear pan) over which the discharged crop material passes in a direction of flow (fig. 2-3, [0036, 0047, and 0051]), and the at least one camera is oriented in a direction toward the direction of flow of a portion of the discharged crop material passing over the rear pan (fig. 2-3, [0036-0037 and 0051]).
Ferren teaches the above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the camera is supported on an upper surface of the rear pan or above the upper surface of the rear pan.
Cotton teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the camera is supported on an upper surface of the rear pan or above the upper surface of the rear pan (fig. 2, [0027 and 0029-0030], wherein 144 is positioned above 196 and at the end of 196),
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the extra cameras of Ferren being used and in the position above the separator of Cotton in order to gather information about the grain loss ([0030 of Cotton]; [0029-0030 of Ferren]).
Regarding claim 13, Ferren discloses wherein the software is configured to selectively display information ([0066]). Ferren teaches the above, but fails to explicitly disclose that the information displayed includes the received digital image frames. Cotton teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the received digital image frames ([0035-0037 and 0047], wherein various information is displayed including the information gathered by the sensors). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the display of the received digital image frames of Cotton in order to show the operator what affect their actions are having ([0037 on Cotton]).
Regarding claim 15, Ferren discloses wherein the software is configured to display the grain ([0040]) but fails to explicitly disclose displaying the grain loss amount as a ratio of predefined units of yield loss. Cotton teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the grain loss amount as a ratio of predefined units of yield loss([0037 of Cotton]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the grain loss amount being displayed as a ratio of predefined units of yield loss of Cotton in order to show a variety of information to reduce crop loss ([0037 of Cotton]).
Regarding claim 16, Ferren discloses wherein the software is configured to display the grain ([0040]) but fails to explicitly disclose displaying the grain loss amount in terms of an economic loss amount. Cotton teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the grain loss amount in terms of an economic loss amount ([0031 and 0037], wherein the loss is shown in terms of bushels which directly relates to earnings and in levels related to the optimum minimum loss). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the grain loss amount being displayed in terms of an economic loss amount of Cotton in order to show a variety of information to reduce crop loss ([0037 of Cotton]).
Regarding claim 17, Ferren discloses wherein the software is configured to display grain loss ([0024]), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein there is a warning is issued if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold, wherein the warning may be a visual warning or an audible warning. Cotton teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein a warning is issued if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold ([0038]), wherein the warning may be a visual warning or an audible warning ([0038]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the threshold and alert system of Cotton in order to adjust the equipment to reduce loss ([0037 of Cotton]).
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferren et al. (US 20210088691 A1), hereinafter Ferren in view of Hoskinson et al. (US 6,591,145 B1), hereinafter Hoskin.
Regarding claim 18, Ferren discloses wherein the software is further configured to display grain loss ([0024]) and the operator adjusting so that loss is reduced ([0030 and 0075]), but fails to explicitly disclose recommending corrective actions to optimize operating parameters of at least one of the threshing stage components, separating stage components or cleaning stage components if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold
Hoskin teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein recommended corrective actions to optimize operating parameters of at least one of the threshing stage components, separating stage components or cleaning stage components (col. 8 lines 52-67, wherein the corrective actions can be given to the operator) if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold (col. 3 lines 50-60, col. 6 line 47 to col. 7 line 15, and col. 8 lines 52-67, wherein the threshold is a level below the optimum).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the automatic adjustment of Hoskin in order to have less crop loss (col. 3 lines 50-60 and col. 8 lines 52-67 of Hoskin).
Regarding claim 19, Ferren discloses wherein operating parameters of at least one of the threshing stage components the separating stage components and the cleaning stage components are electronically controllable by a CAN bus and wherein the software is configured to interface with the CAN bus ([0042-0044]) but fails to explicitly disclose to automatically adjust the at least one of the threshing stage components, the separating stage components and the cleaning stage components if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold(col. 3 lines 50-60, col. 6 line 47 to col. 7 line 15, and col. 8 lines 52-67, wherein the threshold is a level below the optimum).
Hoskin teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the harvester is able to automatically adjust the at least one of the threshing stage components, the separating stage components and the cleaning stage components (col. 3 lines 50-60, col. 6 line 47 to col. 7 line 15, and col. 8 lines 52-67) if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold (col. 3 lines 50-60, col. 6 line 47 to col. 7 line 15, and col. 8 lines 52-67, wherein the threshold is a level below the optimum).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferren to incorporate the automatic adjustment of Hoskin in order to have less crop loss (col. 3 lines 50-60 and col. 8 lines 52-67 of Hoskin).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676