DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 18, 2026 has been considered by the examiner. Document US 12032114 B2 is unavailable/withdrawn and has not been considered. The document listing has been lined through on the IDS. If the applicant wants consideration of US 12032114 B2, a copy of the document should be provided by the applicnt in the next communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 11-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaye (GB2551053). Kaye teaches a pest detection device, comprising: a capacitive sensor 10 configured to detect a presence of one or more pests (¶¶1, 23-34) within a housing 110; one or more secondary sensors (timers) configured to detect one or more prescribed conditions; and a controller (memory, microporcessor or PC) connected to the capacitive sensor and the one or more secondary sensors, the controller configured to initiate calibration of the capacitive sensor based at least in part on one or more signals received from the one or more secondary sensors. (See ¶¶36, 50 and 98. The capacitive sensors recalibrate after the detection of a passage of a set amount of time.)
Regarding claim 3, ¶118 teaches that wherein at least one of the one or more secondary sensors includes an infrared sensor.
Regarding claims 4-5, ¶3 teaches that at least one of the one or more secondary sensors includes an environmental sensor including a temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 7, the at least one of the one or more secondary sensors includes a watchdog timer.
Regarding claim 11, ¶¶ 35, 37 and 99 teach a battery configured. to be used for calibration of the capacitive sensor is considered an intended use. However, since the battery is used to power the capacitor, it inherently is part of calibrating the capacitor.
Regarding claim 12, the abstract and much of the specification teaches the controller is configured to detect capacitance changes using the capacitive sensor.
Regarding claims 13-14, fig. 8 teaches the control may be via a computer which includes
microprocessors and microcontrollers.
Regarding claim 15, Kaye teaches detecting, using a capacitive sensor, a presence of one or more pests within a housing (abstract, ¶¶1, 23-34) ; detecting, using one or more secondary sensors (clock/timer), one or more prescribed conditions (passage of time); and initiating, using a controller connected to the capacitive sensor and the one or more secondary sensors, calibration of the capacitive sensor based at least in part on one or more signals received from the one or more secondary sensors. (See ¶¶36, 50 and 98. The capacitive sensors recalibrate after the detection of a passage of a set amount of time.)
Regarding claim 16, the capacitive sensor is in a housing 110 for a pest detection device.
Regarding claim 17, ¶32 teaches the microprocessor, which can be used to control the device, is in the housing.
Regarding claim 18, at least a camera 180 is in the housing. See fig. 7 for example.
Regarding claim 20, figs. 5A-5B teaches the capacitive sensor includes a plurality of independent capacitive sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye (GB2551053) in view of Kaufmann (U.S. Publication No. 20220394970). Kaye teaches the salient features of the claimed invention. Kaye teaches in ¶ that it was known to detect pressure. The following is presented to expedite prosecution. Kaye teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the one or more secondary sensors includes a mechanical sensor or switch. Kaufmann teaches in ¶20 that it was known to use a switch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Kaufmann for the purpose of detecting opening of the housing.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye (GB2551053) in view of Howard (U.S. Publication No. 20220361478). Kaye teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the environmental sensor includes a moisture detector. Howard teaches in fig. 4 and ¶81 that it was known use a plurality of secondary sensors including one to detect moisture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Howard for the purpose of compensating for conditions which may affect operation of the control device.
Regarding claim 9, the sensors 82 of Howard are of a same type in that they several are environmental sensors.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 4 teaches the secondary sensors include multiple sensor types (temperature, position and environmental).
Regarding claim 19, fig. 2 of Howard at least one of the one or more secondary sensors (antenna 18) is external to the housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Triventi (U.S. Patent No. 11417197) teaches a pest monitoring system with capacitive sensing and a mesh network. Sorenson (WO2024261128) teaches a pest monitoring system with capacitive sensing which calibrates based on sound patterns.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852