DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 2/24/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202310159748.5 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Only an interim copy has been filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “frame-shaped structure” in claim 1 is a subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “frame-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “small spray arm” in claims 1, 7, and 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 3-4 recite the limitation "the corresponding other side of the side spray arm." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the other end of the side spray arm." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the other end of the adapter." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the interior of the side spray arm." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “L-shaped joint” in claim 5 is a subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “L-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention since the letter L can be written differently.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the other side of the cup." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the bottom edge." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the other side of the U-shaped water channel." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the other side of the open end." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the other end of the shaft pipe." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the other end of the water-dividing channel." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites “the upper spray arm is . . . connected to . . . an open end of the U-shaped water channel,” “the other side of the open end of the U-shaped water channel is connected to the seal cover,” “and the upper spray arm and the lower spray arm are located in the open end.” The drawings do not appear to show this arrangement. Instead, the upper spray arm and seal cover are shown to be connected to different ends of the U-shaped water channel, and the lower spray arm appears to be above the open end. It is unclear what it means to have an open end of the U-shaped water channel connected as claimed.
The term “U-shaped water channel” in claim 7 is a subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “U-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention since the letter U can be written differently.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the inside” and “the outside." There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other ends of the supporting blocks." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other end of the flow guide wall." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the interiors." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the edges” and “the edge.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the flow guide wall." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there are plural flow guide walls.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the inflating valve." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitations "the other end of the valve rod,” “the other end of the inflating cylinder,” and “the other end of the pull rod." There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "the corresponding other side of the valve block,” “the corresponding other side of the rectangular cavity,” “the other end of the push plate.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the joint." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the V-shaped guide valve." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “V-shaped guide groove” or “V-shaped guide valve” in claim 10 is a subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “V-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention since the letter V can be written differently.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fountain (US 2012/0097200) in view of Jenkins et al. (US 3,771,725).
Fountain discloses a waterway system of a dishwasher, comprising a base and a liner characterized in that the liner is mounted on the base (Figures 1, 2: 12, 14); the liner has a frame-shaped structure with an opening at a front side (Figure 1: 14, 24); an upper spray arm, a lower spray arm, a side spray arm are arranged in the liner (34, 36, 38); a cup is arranged at the bottom of the liner (30); the cup is detachably connected to the liner and located in the base (Figure 4: 30); the cup is connected to a water-dividing valve (70, 71); the water-dividing valve respectively communicates with the upper spray arm, the lower spray arm, the side spray arm (paragraph 20); the upper spray arm and the lower spray arm are distributed up and down (34, 38); the upper spray arm, the lower spray arm are rotatably connected relative to the liner (paragraphs 12-13); and the side spray arm is fixedly connected to a side wall of the liner (12, 36).
Fountain does not expressly disclose a small spray arm located on a side surface of the lower spray arm.
Jenkins discloses a dishwashing machine with a rotatable spray arm (25) with a rotatable fluid distributor (30) disposed thereon for providing a more uniform and thorough fluid distribution throughout the chamber (abstract; col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 11).
Because it is known in the art to have a small arm as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing more uniform/thorough fluid distribution, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a small spray arm located on a side surface of the lower spray arm.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fountain (US 2012/0097200), in view of Jenkins et al. (US 3,771,725), and further in view of Lim (US 2006/0254992).
Regarding claim 2, Fountain, in view of Jenkins, discloses an upper bowl basket and a lower bowl basket are arranged in the liner (Fountain: 26, 28); the upper bowl basket and the lower bowl basket are distributed in a height direction of the liner (Fountain: Figures 1-2); the upper spray arm is located between the upper bowl basket and the lower bowl basket and corresponds to the bottom of the upper bowl basket (26, 28, 38); the upper spray arm is located at the top of the lower bowl basket (26, 38); and the lower spray arm is located at the bottom of the lower bowl basket (28, 34).
Fountain does not expressly disclose the upper bowl basket and the lower bowl basket are detachably connected to the liner.
Lim discloses a dishwasher including a dish rack and indicates that generally two dish racks are detachably installed in the tub at upper and lower positions (paragraph 7).
Because it is known in the art to have detachable racks as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, allowing for disassembly and/or servicing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the upper bowl basket and the lower bowl basket are detachably connected to the liner.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fountain (US 2012/0097200), in view of Jenkins et al. (US 3,771,725), in view of Lim (US 2006/0254992), and further in view of Baldwin et al. (US 2014/0137909).
Regarding claim 3, Fountain, in view of Jenkins, and further in view of Lim, is relied upon as above and further discloses that the side spray arm is located at a bottom edge of the liner and at the bottom of the lower bowl basket (Fountain: 14, 36); the corresponding other side of the side spray arm is provided with an inclined surface I corresponding to the lower bowl basket (Fountain: front of 36; note that inclined could be relative to any element); and the inclined surface I is provided with a plurality of spray holes I distributed uniformly (Fountain: 50, 52).
Fountain does not expressly disclose one side of the side spray arm is detachably connected to the side wall of the liner.
Baldwin discloses a dishwasher with sprayers (paragraph 62; 46, 164, 170, 246, 402, 546, 670) which may be rotatable or fixed, and when fixed may be separately formed and mounted to the wall of the tub or integrally formed with the wall (paragraph 63).
Because it is known in the art to have a detachable spray arm as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, allowing for disassembly and/or servicing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one side of the side spray arm is detachably connected to the side wall of the liner.
Regarding claim 4, Fountain, in view of Jenkins, and further in view of Lim, is relied upon as above and further discloses the corresponding other side of the side spray arm is provided with an inclined surface I corresponding to the upper bowl basket (Fountain: front of 36; note that inclined could be relative to any element); and the inclined surface I is provided with a plurality of spray holes I distributed uniformly (Fountain: 50, 52).
Fountain does not expressly disclose that the side spray arm is located between the upper bowl basket and the lower bowl basket. However, Fountain does indicate that the lower spray assembly (36) may be located in virtually any part of the wash chamber (paragraph 14). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide the side spray arm to be located between the upper bowl basket and the lower bowl basket, predictably providing cleaning to another portion of the chamber.
Fountain does not expressly disclose one side of the side spray arm is detachably connected to the side wall of the liner.
Baldwin discloses a dishwasher with sprayers (paragraph 62; 46, 164, 170, 246, 402, 546, 670) which may be rotatable or fixed, and when fixed may be separately formed and mounted to the wall of the tub or integrally formed with the wall (paragraph 63).
Because it is known in the art to have a detachable spray arm as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, allowing for disassembly and/or servicing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one side of the side spray arm is detachably connected to the side wall of the liner.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fountain (US 2012/0097200), in view of Jenkins et al. (US 3,771,725), in view of Lim (US 2006/0254992), and further in view of Yoon et al. (US 2006/0054195).
Regarding claim 6, Fountain, in view of Jenkins, and further in view of Lim, is relied upon as above and further discloses a water outlet channel is formed at one side of the cup, and the water-dividing valve is connected to the other side of the cup (Fountain: interior of 30, 70, 72); the bottom edge of the liner gradually sinks towards a center thereof (Fountain: Figure 1: 18); a mounting hole matched with the cup (Fountain: center of 18); a filter corresponding to the water outlet channel (Fountain: 198); a seal cover corresponding to the water-dividing valve (Figure 4: see 59, 75).
Fountain does not expressly disclose a mounting groove is formed at the bottom center of the liner, and the mounting groove is located in the liner; the mounting hole is formed at the bottom of the mounting groove; the filter and the seal cover are arranged in the mounting groove; and the filter and the seal cover are detachably connected to the mounting groove.
Yoon discloses a dishwasher having a tub (10), an opening (12), a sump (20), and an extension (13) forming the opening that serves to support the sump (20) which is mounted thereto using a plurality of elastic hooks (22; paragraph 35).
Because it is known in the art to provide a sump as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, use of a known mounting for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a mounting groove is formed at the bottom center of the liner, and the mounting groove is located in the liner; the mounting hole is formed at the bottom of the mounting groove; the filter and the seal cover are arranged in the mounting groove; and the filter and the seal cover are detachably connected to the mounting groove.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711