DETAILED ACITON
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18020338, filed on February 08, 2023.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that “corrosion-resistant” coating is subject to a wide broadest reasonable interpretation. All coatings are to some degree “corrosion-resistant”, merely by their existence. For purposes of examination, any coating shall be considered to be “corrosion resistant”.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “□ m” twice should read “µm” per [0033] of the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 it is indefinite how the silicon-rich phase is “insularly distributed” when the “silicon-rich phase” and the “low-silicon phase” overlap their compositions and can be a single phase as presently recited.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7-11, and 13-15, these claims are rejected for their respective incorporation of the above due to their individual dependencies on claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, it is indefinite how the silicon-rich phase what “insular distribution” is, when the “silicon-rich phase” and the “low-silicon phase” overlap their compositions and can be a single phase as presently recited. Claim 6 is further rejected for its incorporation of the above due to its dependence on claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination any amount of Al2O3 shall be considered to meet this claim limitation. Claim 12 is further rejected for its incorporation of the above due to its dependence on claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5, and 7-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12252755. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the following overlapping subject matter.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 11, and claim 1 of ‘755, both recite a steel component having a corrosion-resistant coating, comprising a steel substrate having, at least on one side of the steel substrate, an aluminum-based corrosion-resistant coating, wherein the corrosion-resistant coating comprises: a low-silicon phase which contains, in addition to unavoidable impurities, overlapping compositions, a first silicon-rich phase which contains, in addition to unavoidable impurities overlapping compositions. ‘755 does not specifically teach the average Fe of the corrosion-resistant coating is 30-45 wt%, nor an Fe content of the corrosion resistant coating at each point is more than 10 wt%, nor a flat shape. However, as the range of Fe in the low-silicon phase is 40-60 w5% and the first silicon rich phase has 40-70 wt% in ‘755 both overlap the content amount including at every point, where only these two phases are present the amount of Fe overlaps. Further, the specification of ‘755 states “average Fe content of the corrosion-resistant coating is 30-45 wt% (Col. 6 Lns. 49-50).
Regarding “flat” of the instant claim it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the claimed product. The motivation for doing so was that configuration of an object is a matter of choice which is obvious absent persuasive evidence the particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding instant claim 2 and claim 1 of ‘755, both teach a diffusion layer comprising Fe3Al and Fe2Al5 with overlapping thickness which is disposed adjacent to the steel substrate.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding instant claim 3 and claims 1, 4 and 5 of ‘755, both teach a layer of a second silicon-rich phase with a thickness of between 1 μm and 3 μm, which is disposed adjacent to the diffusion layer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding instant claim 4 and claims 1, 4 and 5 of ‘755, both teach wherein the second silicon-rich phase contains, in addition to unavoidable impurities, 10-15 wt % of Si, 40-70 wt % of Fe, up to 1 wt % of Mn and 40-80 wt % of aluminum. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding instant claim 5 and claim 6 of ‘755, both teach the fraction of the first silicon-rich phase in the corrosion-resistant coating overlaps. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding instant claim 7 and claim 7 of ‘755, both teach wherein the first silicon-rich phase has discrete, unconnected regions which are surrounded by the low-silicon phase, the discrete unconnected regions having a surface area of less than 100 μm2 that make up more than 80% of the first silicon-rich phase. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding instant claim 8 and claim 8 of ‘755, both teach wherein the first silicon-rich phase has discrete, unconnected regions which are surrounded by the low-silicon phase, the discrete unconnected regions having a surface area of less than 50 μm2 that make up more than 50% of the first silicon-rich phase. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding instant claims 9 and 10 and claim 1 of ‘755, both recite a flat steel product. ‘755 does not specifically teach a mean roughness of 0.5-1.6 micron nor the product has a thickness of 0.8-2.8 mms. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ‘755 to these limitations. The motivation for doing so is where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12252755 in view of Oh et al. (US 2023/0086620 A1), hereinafter Oh.
Regarding instant claims 14 and 15 and claim 1 of ‘755, both recite a flat steel product. ‘755 does not specifically teach the claimed substrate composition. Oh is in a similar field of endeavor of a steel sheet plated with aluminum-iron and a preparation method therefor, the steel sheet comprising: a base steel sheet; and a plated layer formed on the surface of the base steel sheet and comprising: an alloyed layer containing at least one of Fe3Al, FeAl(Si), Fe2Al5, and FeAl3; and an aluminum layer formed on the alloyed layer (Abstract). Oh teaches the base steel sheet composition in weight % of 0.04-0.5% C, Mn: 0.01-10%, Si: 0.01-2%, P: ≤ 0.05%, S: < 0.02%, N: < 0.02%, Al: 0.001-1.0%, balance of Fe and inevitable impurities ([0013]), a sum of Cr, Mo and W of 0.01-4.0% total, and a sum of Ti, NB, Zr and V of 0.001-0.4%, a sum of Cu and Ni: 0.005-2.0% total and B: 0.0001-0.01% ([0015]). Regarding calcium, Oh is silent to the presence of it, such that it is not considered to be present in an appreciable amount, also note examples. If an element is not listed it is understood to one of ordinary skill in the art that it is reasonable that it is not present. Therefore, Ca is considered to be present in an amount within, or at least overlapping, applicant’s claimed proportions (which include 0%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify ‘755 with the steel substrate of Oh before the effective filing date of the invention. The motivation for doing so would have been simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I B). The prior art of ‘755 contains a product differing from that claimed only by the composition of the substrate (see above) (finding 1). This product was known in ‘755 and the composition of the substrate was known in Oh (above citations) (finding 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to Oh in a similar field of endeavor to substitute the details of the substrate composition. Steel substrate compositions and their subsequent properties are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (finding 3).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2023/0086620 A1), hereinafter Oh.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 11, the examiner notes that as presently recited the low-silicon and silicon-rich phases (first and second) contain overlapping compositions (i.e. at 10 wt% Si, 40-60 wt% Fe and 40-60 wt% Al and the entire range of Mn), and to meet the claimed limitations for composition and the insular distribution, it could be a single phase composition, as Oh teaches.
Oh teaches a base steel sheet with a plated layer formed on a surface of the base steel sheet containing Fe3Al and Fe2Al5 and having an aluminum layer formed on the surface of the base steel sheet, where the alloying layer has a thickness less than 10% of the plated layer which has a total thickness of 20-35 micron ([0012]; [0032]; thickness of diffusion layer is less than 3.5 microns), the alloying layer is formed by diffusion ([0034]), where the plated layer includes 7-15 wt% Si, a balance of Al and inevitable impurities and iron diffused from the base sheet ([0013]). One of ordinary skill in the art reasonably understands that elements not explicitly listed in a composition of a plating layer are excluded (including Mn).
Further, Oh teaches an alloy phase may contain 50% or more or up to 95% or more of Fe3Al and Fe2Al5 ([0036]). These percentages with the overall composition of the plating layer including diffusion of Fe, and the amount of Si that would be in it as a result of the total plating layer overlap the claimed silicon-rich and silicon-low phases (first and second) and average Fe content of the coating, claimed composition.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
‘Regarding “corrosion-resistant”, please see claim interpretation section above.
Regarding “a layer of the silicon rich phase has a thickness of between 1-3 microns, which is disposed adjacent to the diffusion layer”, as the low and rich silicon areas overlap, this is considered part of the total layer and is met by the overall thickness of the diffusion layer cited above.
Regarding the fraction of the silicon-rich phase >5 vol.%. as the low and rich silicon areas overlap, this is considered part of the total layer and is met by the overall thickness of the layer above.
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches each limitation of claim 1, as discussed above. The examiner notes that as presently recited the low-silicon and silicon-rich phases (first and second) contain overlapping compositions (i.e. at 10 wt% Si, 40-60 wt% Fe and 40-60 wt% Al and the entire range of Mn), and to meet the claimed limitations for composition and the insular distribution, it could be a single phase composition, as Oh teaches.
Oh further teaches a base steel sheet with a plated layer formed on a surface of the base steel sheet containing Fe3Al and Fe2Al5 and having an aluminum layer formed on the surface of the base steel sheet, where the alloying layer has a thickness less than 10% of the plated layer which has a total thickness of 20-35 micron ([0012]; [0032]; thickness of diffusion layer is less than 3.5 microns), the alloying layer is formed by diffusion ([0034]), where the plated layer includes 7-15 wt% Si, a balance of Al and inevitable impurities and iron diffused from the base sheet ([0013]). One of ordinary skill in the art reasonably understands that elements not explicitly listed in a composition of a plating layer are excluded (including Mn).
Further, Oh teaches an alloy phase may contain 50% or more or up to 95% or more of Fe3Al and Fe2Al5 ([0036]). These percentages with the overall composition of the plating layer including diffusion of Fe, and the amount of Si that would be in it as a result of the total plating layer overlap the claimed silicon-rich and silicon-low phases (first and second) and average Fe content of the coating, claimed composition.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding the limitation of claim 6, as the low and rich silicon areas overlap, this is considered part of the total layer and is met by the overall layer cited above.
Regarding 9 and 10, Oh teaches each limitation of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not specifically teach a mean roughness of 0.5-1.6 micron nor the product has a thickness of 0.8-2.8 mms. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Oh to these limitations. The motivation for doing so is where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Regarding claim 12, Oh teaches each limitation of claim 1 as discussed above, and further teaches forming an oxide on the surface ([0071]; i.e. surface of the steel) and a plated layer on a surface of the base steel sheet ([0032]; i.e. the oxide is between the steel and plated surface) and the steel sheet (that is oxidized) includes aluminum ([0048]). One of ordinary skill in the art reasonably understands where steel sheet contains aluminum and is oxidized there will be an amount of Al2O3 formed.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Oh teaches each limitation of claim 1 as discussed above, and further teaches the base steel sheet composition in weight % of 0.04-0.5% C, Mn: 0.01-10%, Si: 0.01-2%, P: ≤ 0.05%, S: < 0.02%, N: < 0.02%, Al: 0.001-1.0%, balance of Fe and inevitable impurities ([0013]), a sum of Cr, Mo and W of 0.01-4.0% total, and a sum of Ti, NB, Zr and V of 0.001-0.4%, a sum of Cu and Ni: 0.005-2.0% total and B: 0.0001-0.01% ([0015]). Regarding calcium, Oh is silent to the presence of it, such that it is not considered to be present in an appreciable amount, also note examples. If an element is not listed it is understood to one of ordinary skill in the art that it is reasonable that it is not present. Therefore, Ca is considered to be present in an amount within, or at least overlapping, applicant’s claimed proportions (which include 0%). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and claims 7-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and obviousness double patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of Oh et al. (US 2023/0086620 A1), hereinafter Oh, is the closest prior art to the instant claims, as shown above in the rejections. Oh does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination with the prior art the limitations of first silicon rich phase has discrete, unconnected regions which are surrounded by the low-silicon phase nor the oxide composition of the flat steel product. Further, Oh does not teach a substantially identical process to that which applicant teaches is critical to forming the product. Therefore, it cannot be concluded that these properties are inherently present. Thus the claims would be allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cho et al. (KR20200066237A herein referring to patent family member EP3889313A1 for translation), teaches an aluminum plated steel sheet with Fe, Si and Mg in the plating layer ([0053]-[0056]) with an alloying layer comprising Fe3Al and Fe2Al5 (diffusion layer) (claim 1).
/KATHERINE A CHRISTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784