DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
acquisition unit configured to in claims 17-18; and
correction unit configured to in claims 17-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “an acquisition unit configured to” and “a correction unit configured to” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. For computer-implemented means-plus-function claim limitations, a corresponding algorithm associated with a computer or microprocessor is required. See MPEP 2181 (II)(B). The disclosure is devoid of any sufficient structure that is associated with a computer or microprocessor to perform the functions of the claim limitations listed above. Mere references to a general purpose computer or microprocessor with appropriate programming without providing an explanation of the appropriate programming, or simply reciting "software" without providing detail about the means to accomplish a specific software function, is not an adequate disclosure of the corresponding structure. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 7, and 15-18 recite “fluctuation in a captured image”. This phrasing renders the claims indefinite because “fluctuation” is too broad such that the metes and bounds of claimed invention cannot be ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art. Many interpretations pertaining to pixel values that vary over different pixels of the same image are possible. The dependent claims fail to correct these deficiencies and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (CN 116528048 A).
Concerning claims 1, 15 and 17, Ye et al. (hereinafter Ye) teaches an image processing apparatus comprising one or more memories storing instructions and one or more processors that execute the instructions to:
acquire information about a focal length as distance information (¶¶0159-0160: target distance…the influence of the focal length can be considered, and the target distance between the target object and the camera can reflect the influence of the focal length); and
correct a fluctuation in a captured image based on the distance information (¶¶0159-0163: generate an enhanced image based on the….image enhancement factor).
Concerning claim 2, Ye further teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a first correction coefficient corresponding to a focal length obtained based on the distance information is acquired, and the correction is performed with a correction strength according to the first correction coefficient (¶¶0159-0160: The larger the turbulent factor is, the larger the image enhancement factor and the larger the target distance, the larger the image enhancement factor).
Concerning claim 3, Ye further teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the smaller the first correction coefficient is, the lower the correction strength is, and the larger the first correction coefficient is, the higher the correction strength is (¶¶0159-0160: As the turbulent factor increases, image enhancement factor increases. Thus they are directly proportional.).
Concerning claims 7, 16 and 18, Ye et al. (hereinafter Ye) teaches an image processing apparatus comprising one or more memories storing instructions and one or more processors that execute the instructions to:
acquire information about a distance to an object as distance information (¶¶0159-0160: target distance); and
correct a fluctuation in a captured image based on the distance information (¶¶0159-0163: generate an enhanced image based on the….image enhancement factor).
Concerning claim 8, Ye further teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein a first correction coefficient corresponding to an object distance obtained based on the distance information is acquired, and the correction is performed with a correction strength according to the first correction coefficient (¶¶0159-0160: The larger the turbulent factor is, the larger the image enhancement factor and the larger the target distance, the larger the image enhancement factor).
Concerning claim 9, Ye further teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the smaller the first correction coefficient is, the lower the correction strength is, and the larger the first correction coefficient is, the higher the correction strength is (¶¶0159-0160: As the turbulent factor increases, image enhancement factor increases. Thus they are directly proportional).
Concerning claim 13, Ye further teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein during driving of a lens, the correction strength is updated to be lower (¶0012; ¶0170).
Concerning claim 14, Ye teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an image capturing unit. (¶0003: PTZ camera).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/James M Anderson II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425