DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control and evaluation unit that is configured to…” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by USPN 2024/0390946 to Potter et al.
With regard to claim 1, Potter discloses an image capturing device for associating a target class with an object (Fig. 2, system 200),
wherein the image capturing device has an image sensor for recording image data having the object (Fig. 2, camera 204 imaging object 208) and
a control and evaluation unit (Fig. 2, MCS 202) that is configured to evaluate and classify the image data using a method of machine learning, and to associate a target class with the image data (paragraph [0028], The MCS using machine learning models to classify each object imaged),
wherein the control and evaluation unit is further configured to use as a method of machine learning a multiclass classifier for the classification into a plurality of intermediate classes that determines respective confidence values for the association of the image data with a respective intermediate class (paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0062], and Figs. 6A and 6B, Objects are recognized and classified using a neural network. In this case intermediate classes are interpreted as the classifications and confidence levels shown I Fig. 6A which are described as occurring in images captured in a base sorting line before the objects are separated into 2D and 3D objects) and
subsequently to determine the target class by applying a map of confidence values in target classes (paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0062], and Figs. 6A and 6B, Objects recognized in Fig. 6B are also shown with corresponding confidence values and are imaged after an initial step of sorting the objects into 2D and 3D objects in order to perform a target classification).
With regard to claim 2, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 1, wherein the method of machine learning comprises a neural network (paragraph [0062], Neural network is listed as a machine learning algorithm).
With regard to claim 3, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 1, wherein none of the target classes is an intermediate class (class (paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0062], and Figs. 6A and 6B, The target class is considered determined after the intermediate class in a sorting process and is therefore interpreted as not the same as an intermediate class).
With regard to claim 4, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 1, wherein the intermediate classes are defined by at least one of the following properties of the recorded object: material; strength; and shape (paragraph [0035], A classification of the object includes “a material type, a location, a shape, a size, dimensions, a mass, a density, a priority, a condition, a form factor, a color, a polymer, and/or a brand.”).
With regard to claim 5, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 4, wherein the material is one of plastic, polystyrene, wood, and metal (paragraphs [0035], [0050], [0051], [0072], materials are listed as plastic, polymers and metal among others).
With regard to claim 6, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 4, wherein the strength is one of rigid and flexible (paragraphs [0026], [0039] and [0049], Potter discloses recognizing several different types of material which inherently have properties of rigid or flexible. It should be noted that claim 4 lists properties in the alternative: wherein the intermediate classes are defined by at least one of the following properties of the recorded object: material; strength; and shape. Accordingly claim 4 does not explicitly require strength.
With regard to claim 7, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 4, wherein the shape is one of parallelepiped, cylinder, torus, and irregular (paragraphs [0035]-[0036], [0062], [0064], [0073] and [0078], Potter discloses that shape is a criteria for identifying the objects to be recognized and categorized. Potter gives the example of cans and bottles (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]), which are considered cylinders as well as other objects that would be considered irregular shapes such as cardboard and plastic. It should be noted that claim 4 lists properties in the alternative: wherein the intermediate classes are defined by at least one of the following properties of the recorded object: material; strength; and shape. Accordingly claim 4 does not explicitly require shape.
With regard to claim 15, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 1, that is installed at a conveying device on which objects to be classified are conveyed through the field of view of the image sensor (Figs. 1 and 2, Objects are imaged as they pass through the field of view on a conveyor).
With regard to claim 16, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 15, wherein a plurality of camera heads are provided and the control and evaluation unit is configured to merge the recordings of the camera heads in the image data to one common image (paragraph [0072], One or more vision sensors or cameras can be configured to image the conveyor).
With regard to claim 17, the discussion of claim 1 applies. The method of claim 17 is disclosed in the operation of the device of claim 1.
Potter discloses a method of associating a target class with an object, wherein image data having the object are evaluated and classified using a method of machine learning, and a target class is associated with the image data (paragraph [0028], The MCS using machine learning models to classify each object imaged),
wherein, as a method of machine learning, a multiclass classifier for the classification into a plurality of intermediate classes is used that determines respective confidence values for the association of the image data with a respective intermediate class (paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0062], and Figs. 6A and 6B, Objects are recognized and classified using a neural network. In this case intermediate classes are interpreted as the classifications and confidence levels shown I Fig. 6A which are described as occurring in images captured in a base sorting line before the objects are separated into 2D and 3D objects) and
subsequently to determine the target class by applying a map of confidence values in target classes (paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0062], and Figs. 6A and 6B, Objects recognized in Fig. 6B are also shown with corresponding confidence values and are imaged after an initial step of sorting the objects into 2D and 3D objects in order to perform a target classification).
With regard to claim 18, the discussion of claim 2 applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 2024/03909046 to Potter et al.
With regard to claim 8, Potter discloses many different classifications for the trash objects detected and categorized by the machine vision system. However, Potter does not explicitly disclose wherein exactly two target classes are provided.
One of ordinary skill in the art will readily recognize that the number of target classes is set as a matter of design choice depending on the desired outcome of what is being imaged and categorized. Potter teaches for example that 2D and 3D objects are recognized and categorized in two classes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to designate exactly two target classes as a matter of design choice in order to distinguish between two classes of objects.
With regard to claim 9, the discussion of claim 8 applies. Potter does not explicitly disclose wherein the exactly two target classes comprise cardboard or not cardboard. Potter does disclose that cardboard is a class of object that is recognized and categorized (paragraphs [0026], [0030], [0039], [0049], [0054]). One of ordinary skill in the art will readily recognize that determining cardboard and non-cardboard is a useful distinction in sorting trash. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the cardboard recognition and classification shown in Potter in order to sort cardboard.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 2024/03909046 to Potter et al. and 2007/0019865 to Owechko.
With regard to claim 10, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the multiclass classifier has an attention mechanism.
Owechko discloses an object recognition and classification system that uses neural networks similar to that of Potter and further teaches the use of an attention mechanism to detect objects by focusing on regions most likely to contain objects (paragraphs [0008], [0013] and [0045]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use an attention mechanism as taught by Owechko in combination with the object detection of Potter in order to focus on regions most likely to include objects in order to produce more efficient and accurate object recognition.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 2024/03909046 to Potter et al. and 11,693,901 to Gorban.
With regard to claim 11, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the multiclass classifier has a first stage that generates an embedding from the image data and a second stage that determines the intermediate classes from the features of the embedding.
Gorban teaches a CNN for performing object classification and teaches that embeddings are used to aid in the classification of the recognized objects (column 4, lines 60-67, column 5, lines 1-6 and 43-60). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the embeddings as taught by Gorban to aid in the identification and classification of objects in the system of Potter.
Claims 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of USPNs 2024/0390946 to Potter et al. and 2020/0222949 to Murad et al.
With regard to claim 12, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the map evaluates the intermediate classes individually with a threshold value. Murad discloses a trash sorting system that uses a neural network similar to that of Potter and teaches that confidence values are compared to thresholds to determine if the trash item identification was successful or not (paragraphs [0124]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the confidence scores for identifying trash items as taught by Potter in combination with the threshold comparison for the confidence values taught by Murad in order to decide on the success of a trash item identification.
With regard to claim 13, Potter discloses the image capturing device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the map is taught in that the multiclass classifier determines confidence values for a plurality of example images annotated by a desired target class and that map is determined in an optimization that best reproduces the associated annotated target class with a predetermination of the respective confidence values found with respect to an example image.
Murad teaches that when the image recognition confidence values do not meet the threshold, that “flagged images are then re-annotated and retrained allowing for the network 130 to learn from its low confidence predictions and improve its overall accuracy.” (paragraph [0124]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to re-annotate and retrain for identified image objects that don’t meet the confidence threshold in order to best reproduce the associated annotated class with confidence values as taught by Murad in combination with the confidence value determinations of Potter in order to improve the recognition confidence scores of the system.
With regard to claim 19, the discussion of claim 13 applies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/WESLEY J TUCKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661