DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,233,636. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding claims 1-20, the patented claims disclose the same package as claimed in present claims except that the patented claims further disclose LDPE. However, in light of the open language of the present claims, i.e. comprising, it is clear that the claims are open to the inclusion of additional ingredients including LDPE as disclosed in the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al. (US 3891089) in view of Moriwaki et al (JP 2000-128229) and evidence given in Abubakar et al. (US 2020/0308383).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 9, 17 and 19, Goodwin discloses a package comprising a uncoated layer of paper, i.e. substrate, paper having uncoated sealant side, and including paper fibers (abstract, col. 3, lines 38-40) and at least one layer of EVA copolymer film, i.e. skin layer, and supporting layers, i.e. exterior layer, by heat sealing to the paper layer, i.e. multilayer film coupled to the substrate to form an article receiving space located therebetween and adapted to receive an article, (abstract, col. 1, lines 3-18), wherein the skin layer is between the exterior layer and the uncoated sealant paper. Goodwin discloses that the skin layer is heat sealed at predetermined temperature with the paper substrate, i.e. hermetic seal. (col. 3, lines 24-40). Goodwin further discloses that the uncoated paper is peeled away from the skin layer without separating paper fibers from the uncoated side of the paper (col. 3, lines 25-40) and without discharging those paper fibers into the article receiving space so that the article receiving space and any article in the article receiving space are uncontaminated by paper fibers associated with the uncoated sealant side of the paper when the consumer separates at least a portion of the uncoated sealant side of the paper from the skin layer of the multilayer film to gain to an article in the article receiving space (col. 1, line 20 to col. 2, lines 25).
Goodwin fails to disclose skin layer composition as claimed in presently claims.
Moriwaki discloses easy to open package (title) comprising thermal bonding layer containing 13 to 85 wt% of polybutene-1, i.e. poly alpha olefin, and a polyethylene (0006) to obtain good adhesive strength and easy openability (0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the thermal bonding layer composition of Moriwaki in the skin layer of Goodwin to obtain good adhesive strength and easy openability.
Further, given that the multilayer of Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the same composition as presently claimed and based on the disclosure of Goodwin, it is clear that the multilayer of Goodwin in view of Moriwaki would have the same property as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 1 but does not specifically disclose that the skin layer comprises 5 to 20 % of the thickness of the multilayer film.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific thickness of the skin layer is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the flexibility is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the thickness of the skin layer and the mulitlayer, the precise thickness would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of skin layer in Goodwin in view of Moriwaki to obtain the desired flexibility (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claims 3-4, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 2, wherein the skin layer comprises LLDPE, i.e. polymer, (0006).
Regarding claims 5-6, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 2, wherein it is evidenced by Abubakar that LLDPE typically have a melt index of 0.2 to 10 (0079).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the polybutene-1 has melt index of 1 (0012).
Regarding claim 11, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 2, wherein the total multilayer film has a thickness of 100 microns or less (0007).
Regarding claim 12, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 2, given that the multilayer of Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the same composition as presently claimed and based on the disclosure of Goodwin, it is clear that the multilayer of Goodwin in view of Moriwaki would have the same property as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 15, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 1, wherein Goodwin discloses a skin layer and supporting layers as explained above wherein one supporting layer corresponds to exterior layer and another supporting layer corresponds to a core layer. Goodwin in view of Moriwaki does not specifically disclose that the skin layer comprises 5 to 20 % of the thickness of the multilayer film.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific thickness of the skin layer is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the flexibility is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the thickness of the skin layer and the multilayer, the precise thickness would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of skin layer in Goodwin in view of Moriwaki to obtain the desired flexibility (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claims 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al. (US 3891089) in view of Moriwaki et al (JP 2000-128229) and further in view of Ohlsson et al (US 20120100356).
Regarding claims 13-14, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 2, but fails to disclose slip component and antiblock component.
Ohlsson discloses multilayer film comprising a skin layer (18, figure 2, paragraph 0028) wherein the skin layer further comprises slip agent (paragraph 0065) and antiblocking agent (paragraph 0053) to obtain anti slip and antiblocking properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use slip agent and antiblocking agent of Ohlsson in the skin layer of Goodwin to obtain anti slip and antiblocking properties.
Regarding claim 16, Goodwin in view of Moriwaki discloses the package of claim 15, but fails to disclose LDPE in each layers.
Ohlsson discloses skin layer comprises LDPE (paragraph 0019) and exterior and core layers comprise LDPE to obtain improved strength or toughness (paragraphs 0012, 0015-0019). Given that Ohlsson discloses LDPE may be branched or heterogeneously branched (paragraph 0029), it is clear that each layer may comprise different LDPE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the LDPEs of Ohlsson in each layer of Goodwin to obtain enhanced adhesion and improved strength or toughness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Christopherson et al. (US 5965254) discloses a medical package comprising uncoated paper and multilayer film that clearly peels away from paper to have access of medical equipment.
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787