DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt of the preliminary amendment filed 08/10/2016 is acknowledged. This amendment cancelled claims 1-10 and added claims 11-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 2 claims “a motor drive housing comprising a motor drive housing …”. The claim is unclear as the claim is attempting to either claim a housing inside a housing or a housing inside itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 2020/0391822) in view of Turner (US 2002/0014366) and Wang (US 2013/0260958).
With respect to claim 1, Edwards et al. discloses a power assembly (fig. 15) for electric-assisted bicycle (fig. 1), the power assembly comprising: a motor drive housing (111) comprising a motor drive housing (111) having a motor drive housing thread (paragraph 197 describing “may be joined by threaded portions”) at one end thereof; a gear housing (103), the gear housing having a gear housing thread at one end thereof (paragraph 197 describing “may be joined by threaded portions”); a crankshaft (2) having regular teeth at both ends thereof (fig. 15); a side cover (38) being a circular cover (fig. 4), and the side cover (38) being arranged on one side of the motor drive housing (102) (paragraph 181, “End cap 38 is positioned over the motor module 102”); wherein the motor drive housing (111) and the reduction gear housing (103) are formed into one body (fig. 15) by being threaded together (paragraph 197 describing “may be joined by threaded portions”) to form an encapsulation (fig. 15); wherein the crankshaft (2) is inserted into an axial center position (fig. 15) of each component of the power assembly to form the power assembly for electric-assisted bicycle. (Figs. 1-16, paragraphs 113-196.) Edwards et al. is silent regarding a details of the motor and gear housing. Turner teaches of a motor structure comprising a motor stator (66), a motor rotor (60) and a driver (92) arranged inside the motor drive housing (48). (Fig. 3, paragraphs 58-82.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motor structure as described in Turner into the invention of Edwards et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate packaging and manufacturing of the motor assembly. (Paragraph 15.) Edwards et al., as modified, is silent regarding a reduction gear set. Wang teaches of a reduction gear housing (81), a reduction gear set (40) arranged inside the reduction gear housing (81). (Figs. 1-7, paragraphs 20-36.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the reduction gear structure as described in Wang into the invention of Edwards et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid power loss and allow transfer of the rotational kinetic energy rapidly and efficiently without bearing much load. (Abstract.)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al., Turner and Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawakami (US 2025/0282444).
With respect to claim 2, Edwards et al., as modified, is silent regarding the crankshaft formed with a hollow axis. Kawakami teaches of the crankshaft (30) is formed with a hollow axis (paragraphs 60, 232). (Figs. 1-4, 22-23, paragraphs 37-97, 229-278.) It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the crankshaft of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Teng et al. (US 11,958,567) shows a similar structure of a motor (20) with stator (26) and rotor (28) and reduction gear seat (30) within a housing (12). The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614