Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michaeli et al. (US 2011/0301421) in view of Stone et al. (US 2011/0237898).
Regrading claim 1, Michaeli discloses an expandable access port, comprising: an expandable conduit (see tine assembly 20 and sleeve 23 in fig. 14d); a housing (60b; fig. 44a) coupled to the expandable conduit, (noting that “coupled” does not require a direct connection; rather, two elements can be considered coupled by way of their common connection to one or more intermediate members) the housing having a threaded region (61ba; fig. 44a), wherein the housing includes a cap region (best shown in fig. 30 as 10’’) with a plurality of attachment regions (e.g., pins 11j in fig. 23) projecting radially outward therefrom, an adjustment mechanism (48; fig. 26) coupled directly to one of the plurality of attachment regions, and an actuation member (66; fig. 44a) threadably engaged with the threaded region ([0384], [0795]), the actuation member being configured to shift the expandable conduit between a first configuration and an expanded configuration by shifting the actuation member relative to the threaded region ([0793]).
Regarding claim 13, Michaeli discloses an expandable access port, comprising: an expandable sheath comprising a plurality of tines (21) and an elastic sleeve (23; [0624]-[0625]) disposed along the plurality of tines (fig. 14d); wherein the expandable sheath has a proximal end region; a hub (60b) disposed at the proximal end region, the hub comprising a threaded region (61ba) and a cap (best shown in fig. 30 as 10’’), an actuation member (66) threadably engaged with the threaded region, the actuation member being configured to shift the expandable sheath between a first configuration and an expanded configuration, wherein the cap includes an attachment region (pins 11j; fig. 26) projecting radially outward therefrom; and an adjustment mechanism (48) coupled to the attachment region.
Regarding claim 20, Michaeli discloses an expandable access port, comprising: an expandable sheath (21,23) comprising an elastic sleeve (23) and a proximal end region, a hub (10’’ in fig. 30, with 60b; fig. 44a,b) disposed at the proximal end region, the hub comprising a threaded region (61ba; fig. 44a) , a cap (best shown as 10’’ in fig. 30), and an attachment region (11j; fig. 26) projecting radially outward from the cap, a nut (66) threadably engaged with the threaded region, the nut being configured to shift the expandable sheath between a first configuration and an expanded configuration, an adjustment mechanism coupled to the attachment region.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, Michaeli does not expressly disclose that the adjustment mechanism (48; fig. 26) includes a depressible release member for releasably coupling and securing the adjustment mechanism directly to the one of the one or more attachment regions.
Stone discloses another expandable access port comprising an expandable conduit formed by a plurality of tines (1300; fig. 16), the port including a cap (500; fig. 17) having one or more attachable regions (1100) and an adjustment mechanism (30) releasably coupled directly to one of the one or more attachment regions (fig. 56). The adjustment mechanism includes an elastic member (spring 3500; fig. 53) and a depressible release member in the form of a depressible lever (3300; fig. 53 and par. [0162]) for releasably coupling the adjustment mechanism directly to the one of the one or more attachment regions (note at least movement of lever 3300 from the configuration shown in fig. 51 to the configuration shown in fig. 50 considered a depression of the lever). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Michaeli to include an adjustment mechanism that includes an elastic member and lever member as taught by Stone in place of the adjustment mechanism (48) disclosed by Michaeli because such a modification can be considered a simple substitution of one adjustment mechanism that couples directly to one or more attachment regions of a cap to couple the access port to a table or operation bed for another wherein the results are predictable and one skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the cap region includes a substantially planar rounded base (e.g., element 13’’ in fig. 30).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the plurality of attachment regions (11j; fig. 26) project laterally outward from the substantially planar rounded base.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the one or more attachment regions (11j; fig. 26) of Michaeli extends radially outward relative to the substantially planar rounded base and has an end surface at an end region of the attachment region, but does not include two substantially parallel side surfaces as claimed. However, Stone discloses that the one or more attachment regions (1100; fig. 21) to which the adjustment mechanism (30; fig. 56)) releasably couples may include two substantially parallel side surfaces (1110) that extend radially outward relative to the rounded base and an end surface at an end region of the two substantially parallel side surfaces. The substantially parallel side surfaces form a drive feature ([0132]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art attachment regions of Michaeli to include two substantially parallel side surfaces that extend radially outward relative to the rounded base as taught by Stone in order to provide a drive feature on the attachment regions to facilitate gripping and/or manipulation of the attachment regions by a gripping/driving tool.
Regarding claim 5, the actuation member of Michaeli includes a nut (66).
Regarding claim 6, the expandable conduit of Michaeli includes a plurality of tines (21).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the plurality of tines includes a first tine secured to the housing (wherein the housing may include 61b,63b,65, 65, 65c of Michaeli) with a pivot member (15a) and wherein the pivot member includes a pivot pin (15j, which secures tine to slider 15, which is secured to housing; figs. 10d-10g, fig. 31a, figs. 40 and 41 of Michaeli).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the plurality of tines includes a first tine, wherein the first tine includes an angled surface, and wherein the actuation member (66) includes an actuation surface (threaded inner surface; 66b) designed to engage (via housing 61b, arms 62/63, slides 64, slider members 15, and surface 21 of the tine of Michaeli) the angled surface. It is noted that the term "engage" does not require that the actuation surface contacts the angled surface. Rather, the term "engage" is given its broadest reasonable interpretation of "to interlock with; to cause mechanical parts to mesh', https:/Awww.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/engage). Rotation of the actuation member (66) causes arms ring (62), arms (63) and sliders (64) to move, which causes slider member 15 to move, which then causes the angled surface of the tine to move. Thus, the actuation surface of the actuation member is considered designed to engage the angled surface of the tine.
Regarding claim 9, the port further comprising a sleeve (e.g., 23, wherein the conduit can be considered the tines) disposed along the plurality of tines.
Regarding claim 10, the sleeve is elastic (23; [0622], [0624]-[0625] of Michaeli).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, as taught by Stone, the depressible release member (3300; figs. 50-53 and 56) includes a lever.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, as taught by Stone, the adjustment mechanism includes an elastic member (spring 3500).
Double Patenting
Claims (1-4, 6, 11-12), 5, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1), 2, 3, 4, and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,707,294 in view of Stone et al. Claims (1), 2, 3, 4, and 5 of ‘294 claim the invention of claims (1-4, 6, 11-12), 5, 7, 8, and 9, respectively, including a release member comprising a lever, but does not expressly disclose that the release member is depressible. Stone discloses another expandable excess port (see fig. 16), the excess port including an adjustment mechanism (30: figs. 50-59) releasably coupled to one of the plurality of attachment regions (1100) of the access port. The adjustment mechanism includes a depressible lever (3300; see movement from fig. 51 to fig. 50 for example) and an elastic member (spring 3500) that facilitates movement of the adjustment mechanism between the open and closed configurations to alternate between a released and secured configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of claims (1), 2, 3, 4, and 5 of ‘294 to include a release lever that is depressible and an elastic member (biasing spring) as taught by Stone for the predictable result of providing an easily actuatable lever that can switch between secured and released positions to secure or release the adjustment mechanism relative to the attachment regions.
Claims (13-15,18-19), 20, 16, 17, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1), 2, 3, 4, and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,707,294 in view of Michaeli et al. and Stone et al. Claims (1), 2, 3, 4, and 5 of ‘294 claim the invention of claims (13-15,18-19), 20, 16, 17, and 10, respectively, including an expandable conduit having a plurality of tines, and a release member comprising a lever, but does not expressly disclose that the conduit comprises an elastic sleeve and the release member is depressible. Michaeli discloses another expandable excess port and teaches that the expandable conduit of the port comprises an elastic sleeve (23; fig. 14d) disposed over the plurality of tines to prevent entry of surrounding tissue into the working channel of the port ([0036],[0624]-[0625]; fig. 14d). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 of ‘294 to include an elastic sleeve as taught by Michaeli in order to prevent entry of surrounding tissue into the working channel of the port. Stone discloses another expandable excess port (see fig. 16), the excess port including an adjustment mechanism (30: figs. 50-59) releasably coupled to one of the plurality of attachment regions (1100) of the access port. The adjustment mechanism includes a depressible lever (3300; see movement from fig. 51 to fig. 50 for example) and biasing spring (3500) that facilitates movement of the adjustment mechanism between the open and closed configurations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 of ‘294 to include a release lever that is depressible and an elastic member (biasing spring) as taught by Stone for the predictable result of providing an easily actuatable lever that can switch between secured and released positions to secure or release the adjustment mechanism relative to the attachment regions.
Claims (1-4, 6, 11, 12), 5, 7, and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1), 2, 3, and 4, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,232,765 in view of Stone et al. Claims (1), 2, 3, and 4 of ‘765 claim the invention substantially including an expandable conduit having a plurality of tines, and a release member comprising a lever, but does not expressly disclose that the release member is depressible. Stone discloses another expandable excess port (see fig. 16), the excess port including an adjustment mechanism (30: figs. 50-59) releasably coupled to one of the plurality of attachment regions (1100) of the access port. The adjustment mechanism includes a depressible lever (3300; see movement from fig. 51 to fig. 50 for example) and an elastic member (spring 3500) that facilitates movement of the adjustment mechanism between the open and closed configurations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of claims 1-4 of ‘765 to include a release lever that is depressible and an elastic member (biasing spring) as taught by Stone for the predictable result of providing an easily actuatable lever that can switch between secured and released positions to secure or release the adjustment mechanism relative to the attachment regions.
Claims (9,10,13-15,18,19), 16, 17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1), 3, 4, and 2, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,232,765 in view of Michaeli et al. and Stone et al. Claims (1), 3, 4, and 2 of ‘765 claims the invention of claims (9, 10, 13-15, 18, 19), 16, 17, and 20, respectively, substantially including an expandable conduit having a plurality of tines, and a release member comprising a lever, but does not expressly disclose that the conduit comprises an elastic sleeve and the release member is depressible. Michaeli discloses another expandable excess port and teaches that the expandable conduit of the port comprises an elastic sleeve (23; fig. 14d) disposed over the plurality of tines to prevent entry of surrounding tissue into the working channel of the port ([0036],[0624]-[0625]; fig. 14d). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of claims 1-4 of ‘765 to include an elastic sleeve as taught by Michaeli in order to prevent entry of surrounding tissue into the working channel of the port. Stone discloses another expandable excess port (see fig. 16), the excess port including an adjustment mechanism (30: figs. 50-59) releasably coupled to one of the plurality of attachment regions (1100) of the access port. The adjustment mechanism includes a depressible lever (3300; see movement from fig. 51 to fig. 50 for example) and elastic member (biasing spring 3500) that facilitates movement of the adjustment mechanism between the open and closed configurations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of claims 1-4 of ‘765 to include a release lever that is depressible and an elastic member (biasing spring) as taught by Stone for the predictable result of providing an easily actuatable lever that can switch between secured and released positions to secure or release the adjustment mechanism relative to the attachment regions.
Conclusion
KSH 8/4/2026
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771