DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 recites “accesses permissions” and is assumed meant to recite “access permissions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0365400 to Lopez et al, and further in view of JP 2024505138 A.
Regarding claim 1, Lopez teaches a multi-factor authentication system for a vehicle (abstract: A biometric authorization apparatus and method for a vehicle.), comprising:
a biometric sensor located in the vehicle and configured to detect a unique characteristic of an authorized person (Fig. 1 a vehicle sun visor equipped with a biometric authentication interface);
an access control device located in the vehicle and configured to selectively control access to a vehicle function (0012: the biometric authentication interface comprises at least one biometric reader for scanning at least one biometric identifier provided by a user, wherein the biometric authentication interface facilitates analysis and processing of data associated with the at least one biometric identifier for use in authorizing the user with respect to the vehicle and/or to access an electronic system associated with the vehicle. Fig. 15: 414: allow user to access one or more electronic devices or systems associated with vehicle to which visor is attached);
a security controller located in the vehicle and configured to operate the access control device based on a detection of the unique characteristic of the authorized person (Fig. 3, vehicle controller 120. Fig. 15, compare biometrics and confirm authorization); and
a user device capable of being carried by a user and configured to communicate with the security controller for controlling access to the vehicle and for changing a setting for controlling operation of the access control device based on the detection of the unique characteristic of the authorized person (0075: the user's mobile phone is connected via Bluetooth, identification program 132 may utilize music playlists on mobile device and/or hands free capabilities if the user receives a phone call while operating the vehicle. Auxiliary component(s) 124 may also include a means to connect to a network, providing, identification program 132 with a larger database of potential user fingerprints.).
Lopez lacks or does not expressly disclose access permissions.
However, JP 2024505138 A teaches a user device capable for access permissions for an authorized person (“the authentication module 293F stores passwords, usernames, PIN codes, biometric scans, etc. for various users of the vehicle. Authentication module 293F determines whether the user (or technician) has permission to access a particular environment, such as a vehicle computer.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lopez with JP 2024505138 A to include access permission in order to integrate the smartphone based digital permission management system in order to remotely set access permission for a second driver, as taught by JP 2024505138 A.
Regarding claim 2, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 1, further comprising: a key fob; and wherein the security controller is further configured to operate the access control device based on a signal from the key fob (0082: The media used by persistent storage 308 can also be removable. For example, a removable hard drive can be used for persistent storage 308. Other examples include optical and magnetic disks, thumb drives, and smart cards that are inserted into a drive for transfer onto another computer readable storage medium that is also part of persistent storage 308.).
Regarding claim 3, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 1, wherein the biometric sensor includes at least one of: a camera, a microphone, or a fingerprint sensor (0056-0058: camera 0047: a biometric sensor (e.g., a fingerprint sensor, retina sensor, iris sensor, etc. 0115: a biometric reader may be a fingerprint scanner, a retina scanner, an iris scanner, a small microphone that captures a person's voice for biometric voice recognition analysis, a facial scanner, and so on.)).
Regarding claim 4, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 3, wherein the biometric sensor includes a camera, and wherein the security controller is configured to perform facial recognition based on image data from the camera and to identify the authorized person (0128: biometric reader can be an iris scanner. In another example embodiment, the at least one biometric reader may be a facial recognition apparatus comprising at least one camera (i.e., one or more cameras).).
Regarding claim 5, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 3, wherein the biometric sensor includes a microphone, and wherein the security controller is configured to perform voice recognition based on audio data from the microphone and to identify the authorized person (0115: a biometric reader may be a fingerprint scanner, a retina scanner, an iris scanner, a small microphone that captures a person's voice for biometric voice recognition analysis, a facial scanner, and so on).
Regarding claim 6, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 1, wherein the user device includes an application configured to present controls for changing the setting regarding accesses permissions (0132: a biometric authorization apparatus for a rideshare application can be implemented, which includes, for example, a biometric authentication interface connected to an interior cabin of a vehicle).
Regarding claims 7-9, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 1, Lopez does not expressly disclose settings regarding a permissions for a particular person. However, JP 2024505138 A teaches wherein the setting regarding accesses permissions includes a setting regarding a particular person as the authorized person;
wherein the setting regarding accesses permissions includes a setting regarding vehicle functions available to the particular person;
wherein the setting regarding accesses permissions includes a setting regarding at least one of a number of uses for the particular person to access a given vehicle function, or a period of time available to the particular person to access the given vehicle function
(“the authentication module 293F stores passwords, usernames, PIN codes, biometric scans, etc. for various users of the vehicle. Authentication module 293F determines whether the user (or technician) has permission to access a particular environment, such as a vehicle computer. In some embodiments, the authentication module communicates with the network interface to download necessary authentication information from an external server. When the user wishes to change the settings of the vehicle or modify the technical details of the vehicle via the console or GUI within the vehicle or via an attached/connected device, the authentication module 293F requires users to verify themselves in some way before such settings are changed. For example, the authentication module 293F may request a username, password, PIN code, biometric scan, predefined line drawing or gesture, etc. In response, authentication module 293F determines whether the user has the necessary permissions (such as access) requested.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lopez with JP 2024505138 A to include access permission in order to integrate the smartphone based digital permission management system in order to remotely set access permission for a second driver, as taught by JP 2024505138 A.
Regarding claim 10, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 1, wherein the user device is further configured to remotely disable a given vehicle function of the vehicle (0123: ride share application: identifying and authorizing a user for a rideshare trip, thereby providing a level of security and assurance to the rideshare driver and/or passenger.).
Regarding claim 11, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 1, wherein the user device is further configured to: measure a biometric characteristic of the authorized person; and send, to the security controller, data regarding the biometric characteristic of the authorized person, and wherein the security controller is configured to use the data regarding the biometric characteristic of the authorized person for determining the unique characteristic of the authorized person (0134: a biometric authorization method for a rideshare application can be implemented, which includes steps or operations such as receiving at least one biometric identifier from a user through at least one biometric reader of a biometric authentication interface connected to an interior cabin of a vehicle, wherein the biometric authentication interface comprises at least one biometric reader for scanning at least one biometric identifier provided by a user and wherein the biometric authentication interface facilitates analysis and processing of data associated with the at least one biometric identifier for use in authorizing the user for rideshare trip in the vehicle and access to an electronic system associated with the vehicle during the rideshare trip; and authorizing the user for the rideshare trip and the access to the electronic system associated with the vehicle during the rideshare trip, if a biometric match is identified with respect to the user, in response to the analysis and the processing of the data associated with the at least one biometric identifier including attempting to identity the biometric match.).
Regarding claim 12, Lopez lacks or does not expressly disclose an amount of time per a particular person. However, JP 2024505138 A teaches wherein changing the setting regarding accesses permissions includes the user device being further configured to set a particular person as an authorized person for a set number of access instances, a set period of time, or for an indefinite amount of time (The first part is operated in one process for a predetermined period of time, and depending on a positive result based on the predetermined period, the verified first part is operated in another process after the predetermined period. In one embodiment, the solution may also be utilized to provide a selection of services to the occupant, the services being based on the vehicle occupant's profile and a shared profile shared with the occupant's profile.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lopez with JP 2024505138 A to include a particular time period in order to personalize a driver’s profile, as taught by JP 2024505138 A.
Regarding claim 13, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 1, wherein the user device is further configured to present a prompt for an additional confirmation regarding access to the vehicle, and wherein the security controller is further configured to prevent access to the vehicle unless a response to the prompt for additional confirmation is received (Fig. 15, 404: prompt user to input biometric identifier).
Regarding claim 14, Lopez, as modified above, further teaches the multi-factor authentication system of claim 13, wherein the system is configured to determine a geographic location of the vehicle and to present the prompt for the additional confirmation based on the geographic location of the vehicle (0075: auxiliary component(s) 124 includes a GPS unit, it allows identification program 132 to learn the location of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 15, Lopez lacks or does not expressly disclose determine usage. However, JP 2024505138 A teaches to determine a usage of the vehicle that deviates from a regular usage pattern of the vehicle, and wherein the system is further configured to present the prompt for the additional confirmation based on the usage of the vehicle deviating from the regular usage pattern of the vehicle (FIG. 4 illustrates a machine learning transportation network diagram 400 according to an example embodiment. Network 400 includes a transportation node 402 that interfaces with a machine learning subsystem 406. A vehicle node includes one or more sensors 404. Machine learning subsystem 406 includes a learning model 408, which is a mathematical artifact created by machine learning system 410 that generates predictions by finding patterns in one or more training data sets. In some embodiments, machine learning subsystem 406 resides within transportation node 402. In other embodiments, machine learning subsystem 406 resides outside of transportation node 402).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lopez with JP 2024505138 A to include determine a usage pattern in order to return predicted instructions to the vehicle, as taught by JP 2024505138 A.
As per claims 16-20, this is a method version of the claimed system discussed above in claims 1-15 wherein all claimed limitations have also been addressed and/or cited as set forth above.
Conclusion
/AUBREY H WYSZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434