DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 18 November 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, and 17-18 have been amended. Claims 6 and 13 have been cancelled. Claims 20-22 have been added. Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-22 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 10, 17, 21, and 22 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (JP 2021197252 A, here referred to as: Iwasaki).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki teaches or suggests a lamp for a vehicle (Figs. 1-34), comprising: a unitary molded body (4), comprising: a total internal reflection (TIR) optic (40, 50, 60, and/or 70) having a front surface (5) configured as a light exit (at portions 44, 54, 64, and/or 74); and an integral attachment portion (6) extending from at least a portion of a perimeter of the front surface (5).
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach, in the embodiments of Figs. 1-34, an opaque structure extending adjacent to and along a majority of an internal surface of the integral attachment portion.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests an opaque structure extending adjacent to and along a majority of an internal surface of the integral attachment portion (“...In the lens body 4, the leakage of light and the generation of stray light can be suppressed by appropriately providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...,” reasonably suggests an opaque structure or coating for preventing light leakage therethrough. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and thus reasonably extending adjacent to and along a majority of an internal surface of the integral attachment portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of an opaque structure extending adjacent to and along a majority of an internal surface of the integral attachment portion, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) the integral attachment portion (6) extends from the perimeter of the front surface (5) in a rearward direction substantially perpendicular to the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) the integral attachment portion extends in the rearward direction to have a depth (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach, in the embodiments of Figs. 1-34, that the opaque structure extends from the front surface to have a substantially equal depth.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests the opaque structure extends from the front surface to have a substantially equal depth (one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and thus, the opaque structure can extend from the front surface to have a substantially equal depth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of the opaque structure extends from the front surface to have a substantially equal depth, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) the integral attachment portion extends from an entire perimeter of the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach, in the embodiments of Figs. 1-34, the opaque structure is positioned in contact with the integral attachment portion.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests the opaque structure is positioned in contact with the integral attachment portion (one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and thus, reasonably can be in contact with the integral attachment portion 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of the opaque structure is positioned in contact with the integral attachment portion, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 5, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) a substrate (3) configured to carry one or more of a light source, a circuit board, and a heat sink (3 carries a light source, and by its construction, is also configured to carry a circuit board and heat sink by adhesion or fastening to a flat surface thereof), wherein one or both of the integral attachment portion (6) and the opaque structure contacts the substrate to enclose the lamp (at least 6 contacts 3, as shown in Figs. 1-34. Additionally, as modified above, the light blocking coating forming said opaque structure alternatively taught by Iwasaki can be made to contact 3 at a base of 6 so as to prevent stray light emission through 6, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) a shape of the TIR optic (40, 50, 60, and/or 70) is non-symmetrical about a center axis of the TIR optic, the center axis being perpendicular to the front surface (e.g., 44d, being formed rectangularly, constitutes a shape non-symmetrical about a center axis perpendicular to the front surface of the TIR optic).
Regarding claim 10, Iwasaki teaches or suggests a lamp (Figs. 1-34), comprising: a unitary molded body (4) forming a TIR optic (40, 50, 60, and/or 70) with a front surface (5) configured as a light exit (at portions 44, 54, 64, and/or 74) and an integral attachment portion (6) extending from a perimeter of the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34); and a substrate (3) carrying a light source (11, 21, 31, 41, 51, 61, 71), the substrate (3) in contact with one or both of the integral attachment portion (6) and the opaque structure to enclose the lamp (as shown in Fig. 6), wherein the integral attachment portion (6) extends from an entire perimeter of the front surface (5; as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach, in the embodiments of Figs. 1-34, an opaque structure configured as a light barrier to prevent stray light; and the opaque structure is positioned internal to and in contact with the integral attachment portion.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests an opaque structure configured as a light barrier to prevent stray light (“...In the lens body 4, the leakage of light and the generation of stray light can be suppressed by appropriately providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...,” reasonably suggests an opaque structure configured as a light barrier to prevent stray light); and the opaque structure is positioned internal to and in contact with the integral attachment portion (e.g., one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and thus, reasonably positioned internal to and in contact with the integral attachment portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of an opaque structure configured as a light barrier to prevent stray light; and the opaque structure is positioned internal to and in contact with the integral attachment portion, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 11, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) the integral attachment portion (6) extends from the perimeter of the front surface (5) in a rearward direction substantially perpendicular to the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Regarding claim 12, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) the unitary molded body is molded from plastic (4 is formed by resin molding, thus the material 4 is formed of constitutes an optical plastic material).
Regarding claim 14, Iwasaki does not explicitly teach, in the embodiment of Figs. 1-34, that the opaque structure has a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the TIR optic.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests the opaque structure has a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the TIR optic (e.g., one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body. Thus, the coating can be applied such that the opaque structure has a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the TIR optic, e.g., by coating the adjacent internal sidewall that align with the contours of the sides of the TIR optic, coating the inner top surface of 5 around said TIR optic, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of the opaque structure has a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the TIR optic, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 15, Iwasaki teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-34) a shape of the TIR optic is non-symmetrical about a center axis of the TIR optic (as shown in Figs. 1-34, e.g., 44d forms a rectangular shape of the TIR optic that is non-symmetrical about a center axis of the TIR optic), the center axis being perpendicular to the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Regarding claim 17, Iwasaki teaches or suggests a lamp for a vehicle (Figs. 1-34), comprising: a unitary molded body (4), comprising: an optic (12, 22, 32, 42, 52, 62, 72) having a front surface configured as a light exit (each of said lenses have a front exit surface, as shown in Figs. 1-34); and an integral attachment portion (6) extending from a perimeter of the front surface (5; as shown in Figs. 1-34); wherein the integral attachment portion (6) extends from the perimeter of the front surface (5) in a rearward direction substantially perpendicular to the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach, in the embodiment of Figs. 1-34, an opaque structure internal to the integral attachment portion, the opaque structure having a first surface facing the optic and a second surface opposite the first surface and in contact with the integral attachment portion.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests an opaque structure internal to the integral attachment portion (“...In the lens body 4, the leakage of light and the generation of stray light can be suppressed by appropriately providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...,” reasonably suggests an opaque structure configured as a light barrier to prevent stray light. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and thus, reasonably can be internal to the integral attachment portion 6), the opaque structure having a first surface facing the optic and a second surface opposite the first surface and in contact with the integral attachment portion (as said opaque portion forms a coating on 5 and/or 6, the opaque portion must have a first surface facing the optic and a second surface opposite the first surface and in contact with the integral attachment portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of an opaque structure internal to the integral attachment portion, the opaque structure having a first surface facing the optic and a second surface opposite the first surface and in contact with the integral attachment portion, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 18, Iwasaki does not explicitly teach that the opaque structure extends in the rearward direction from the perimeter of the front surface to a substantially equal distance or less than a distance that the integral attachment portion extends.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests the opaque structure extends in the rearward direction from the perimeter of the front surface to a substantially equal distance or less than a distance that the integral attachment portion extends (one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and thus, can reasonably form an opaque structure extending in the rearward direction from the perimeter of the front surface to a substantially equal distance or less than a distance that the integral attachment portion extends).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of the opaque structure extends in the rearward direction from the perimeter of the front surface to a substantially equal distance or less than a distance that the integral attachment portion extends, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 19, Iwasaki does not explicitly teach that the opaque structure includes a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the optic.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests the opaque structure includes a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the optic.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests the opaque structure has a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the optic (e.g., one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body. Thus, the coating can be applied such that the opaque structure has a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the optic, e.g., by coating the adjacent internal sidewall that align with the contours of the sides of the optic, coating the inner top surface of 5 around said optic, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of the opaque structure includes a contoured portion configured to align with contours of the optic, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 21, Iwasaki teaches or suggests a lamp for a vehicle (Figs. 1-34), comprising: an optic (4) having a front surface (5) configured as a light exit (5 comprises light emission surfaces corresponding to lenses (12, 22, 32, 42, 52, 62, 72); an integral attachment portion (6) configured as a skirt extending from a perimeter of the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach, in the embodiments of Figs. 1-34, an opaque structure lining an internal surface of the skirt.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests an opaque structure lining an internal surface of the skirt (“...In the lens body 4, the leakage of light and the generation of stray light can be suppressed by appropriately providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...,” reasonably suggests an opaque structure preventing stray light leakage or otherwise suppressing light. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and particularly, reasonably lines an internal surface of the skirt).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of an opaque structure lining an internal surface of the skirt, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Regarding claim 22, Iwasaki teaches or suggests a lamp for a vehicle (Figs. 1-34), comprising: a unitary molded body (4) of a first material (a uniform optical plastic material, as shown in Figs. 1-34), comprising: an optic (12, 22, 32, 42, 52, 62, 72) having a front surface configured as a light exit (each of said optics for a lens with a respective emission surface); and an integral attachment portion (6) extending from a perimeter of the front surface (as shown in Figs. 1-34).
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach an opaque structure internal to the integral attachment portion and formed of a second material different from the first material.
Iwasaki alternatively teaches or suggests an opaque structure internal to the integral attachment portion and formed of a second material different from the first material (“...In the lens body 4, the leakage of light and the generation of stray light can be suppressed by appropriately providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...,” reasonably suggests an opaque structure preventing stray light leakage or otherwise suppressing light. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would recognize that “...providing a coating film or a coating film that blocks light transmission at locations other than the seven irradiation lenses (12 to 72)...” implies the coating can be provided at any portion of said integrally molded body 4 other than said lenses, and thus, cover all or a portion of said sidewall and/or the front surface adjacent said lenses, internal or external to the body, and particularly, internal to the integral attachment portion. Additionally, the material of the body and lenses transmits light and in integrally formed. Thus, for the coating to block stray light, it must be opaque and of a composition different than that of the lens material. Additionally, since the claim does not mention any specifics to the material, the material is inherently different as it is two different components, formed of materials being different by the different components they form, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of an opaque structure internal to the integral attachment portion and formed of a second material different from the first material, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Iwasaki, in order to improve the appearance, performance, and/or the efficiency of the device (i.e., by providing an opaque structure to prevent the leakage of stray light through non-optical portions of the unitary molded body).
Claims 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki, in view of Calais (FR 3,121,972 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Iwasaki does not explicitly teach a vehicle, comprising: an exterior component having an aperture; wherein the unitary molded body is molded from optical silicone and sized to fit within the aperture such that an edge of the aperture contacts the integral attachment portion to form a seal, the substrate located internal to the exterior component (as recited in claim 8); and wherein the exterior component is a grill, body panel, or fender (as recited in claim 9).
Calais teaches or suggests (Fig. 1) a vehicle (10), comprising: an exterior component (11) having an aperture (in which 12 is disposed); wherein the unitary molded body (12) is molded from optical silicone (“...the translucent or transparent part 12 may in particular be made of transparent or translucent polymer material. The latter can be chosen from a polycarbonate (PC), an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) copolymer, polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), silicone or any other translucent or transparent polymer, these polymers possibly being taken alone or as a mixture...”) and sized to fit within the aperture such that an edge of the aperture contacts the integral attachment portion to form a seal (as shown in Fig. 1), the substrate located internal to the exterior component (not shown, below 15; “...the LED(s) can be supported and electrically connected by a printed circuit board (not shown)...”); and wherein the exterior component is a grill, body panel, or fender (as shown in Fig. 1 and as noted in the corresponding description, 10 is an interior or exterior body panel of a vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of a vehicle, comprising: an exterior component having an aperture; wherein the unitary molded body is molded from optical silicone and sized to fit within the aperture such that an edge of the aperture contacts the integral attachment portion to form a seal, the substrate located internal to the exterior component (as recited in claim 8); and wherein the exterior component is a grill, body panel, or fender (as recited in claim 9), such as taught or suggested by Calais, in order to increase the utility of the application (i.e., by providing an embodiment by which the device is utilized in a vehicular lighting application), and/or improve the performance, transmittivity, and/or design flexibility (e.g., by forming the unitary molded body from optical silicone).
Regarding claim 16, Iwasaki does not explicitly teach that the unitary molded body is molded from optical silicone.
Calais teaches or suggests (Fig. 1) the unitary molded body (12) is molded from optical silicone (“...the translucent or transparent part 12 may in particular be made of transparent or translucent polymer material. The latter can be chosen from a polycarbonate (PC), an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) copolymer, polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), silicone or any other translucent or transparent polymer, these polymers possibly being taken alone or as a mixture...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings of the unitary molded body is molded from optical silicone, such as taught or suggested by Calais, in order to improve the performance, transmittivity, and/or design flexibility (e.g., by forming the unitary molded body from optical silicone).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki, in view of Pickholz et. al. (US 2022/0003899 A1, herein referred to as: Pickholz).
Regarding claim 20, Iwasaki does not explicitly teach that the unitary molded body is molded of silicone and the integral attachment portion is configured as a flexible skirt.
Pickholz teaches or suggests the unitary molded body (114) is molded of silicone and the integral attachment portion is configured as a flexible skirt (paragraph [0042] and Figs. 1A-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Iwasaki and incorporated the teachings the unitary molded body is molded of silicone and the integral attachment portion is configured as a flexible skirt, such as taught or suggested by Pickholz, in order to improve the performance, transmittivity, and/or design flexibility (e.g., by forming the unitary molded body from optical silicone).
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 4-5, 8-9 and 13 is withdrawn in view of the reference to Iwasaki (JP 2021197252) filed 15 September 2025. Rejections based on the newly cited reference are outlined above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 15 September 2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please see WO 2015133233 A1 to KUWAHARA, pertinent to the features of the opaque structure.
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875