DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation of application 17/555,111 filed 12/17/2021 and claims benefit therefrom.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 02/13/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 500 in figure 5 and 600 in figure 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer and the first layer” should be corrected to
“a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer or the first layer”
Claims 3, 10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“a single material lens of one of the second layer and the first layer” should be corrected to:
“a single material lens of one of the second layer or the first layer”
Claims 3 and 19 are further objected to because:
“center of the second layer ,” should be corrected to:
“center of the second layer,”
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“Rexolite layer .” should be corrected to “Rexolite layer.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,934 B2 (hereinafter “Reference Patent 1”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application (19/052,865)
Reference Patent 1 (US 12,236,934 B2)
1. A compound acoustic lens for an ultrasound probe, the compound acoustic lens comprising:
a first layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface, and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface; and
a second layer having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface, wherein the concaved surface of the second layer is on and mated to the convex surface of the first layer, wherein each of the convex surface of the first layer and the concaved surface of the second layer is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface of the first layer mates with the concaved surface of the second layer for the compound acoustic lens to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length, and
wherein the first radius of curvature is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer and the first layer having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe.
1. A compound acoustic lens for an ultrasound probe, the compound acoustic lens comprising:
a silicone layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface, and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface; and
a Rexolite layer having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface, wherein the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer is directly on and mated to the convex surface of the silicone layer, wherein each of the convex surface of the silicone layer and the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface of the silicone layer mates with the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer for the compound acoustic lens to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length, and
wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters that is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the Rexolite layer and the silicone layer having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe.
2. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters.
1.
… wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters…
3. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1,
wherein the first thickness is at a center of the first layer and the second thickness is at a center of the second layer, and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the second layer and the first layer having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens, and
wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens is less than 380 micrometers.
5. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1,
wherein the first thickness is at a center of the silicone layer and the second thickness is at a center of the Rexolite layer, and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the Rexolite layer and the silicone layer having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens.
6. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 5, wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens is less than 380 micrometers.
4. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein the first layer comprises a silicone layer and the second layer comprises a Rexolite layer.
1. A compound acoustic lens for an ultrasound probe, the compound acoustic lens comprising:
a silicone layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface, and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface; and
a Rexolite layer having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface…
5. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein a speed of sound in the first layer is less than the speed of sound in the second layer to prevent divergence of the acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe.
2. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein a speed of sound in the silicone layer is less than the speed of sound in the Rexolite layer to prevent divergence of the acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe.
6. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein the first thickness is no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness is no greater than 255 micrometers, the first thickness measured along a first side edge of the first layer and the second thickness measured along a second side edge of the second layer.
3. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein the first thickness is no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness is no greater than 255 micrometers, the first thickness measured along a first side edge of the silicone layer and the second thickness measured along a second side edge of the Rexolite layer.
7. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein the first flat surface of the first layer is for a patient contact, and the second flat surface of the second layer is to couple to a transducer array.
4. The compound acoustic lens as described in claim 1, wherein the first flat surface of the silicone layer is for a patient contact, and the second flat surface of the Rexolite layer is to couple to a transducer array.
8. An ultrasound probe comprising:
a transducer array; and
a compound acoustic lens coupled to the transducer array, the compound acoustic lens including:
a first layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface; and
a second layer having a second flat surface a concaved surface and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface,
wherein the concaved surface of the second layer is on and mated to the convex surface of the first layer, wherein each of the convex surface of the first layer and the concaved surface of the second layer is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface of the first layer mates with the concaved surface of the second layer for the compound acoustic lens to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length, and
wherein the first radius of curvature that is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer and the first layer having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe.
7. An ultrasound probe comprising:
a transducer array; and
a compound acoustic lens coupled to the transducer array,
the compound acoustic lens including:
a silicone layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface; and
a Rexolite layer having a second flat surface a concaved surface and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface,
wherein the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer is directly on and mated to the convex surface of the silicone layer, wherein each of the convex surface of the silicone layer and the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface of the silicone layer mates with the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer for the compound acoustic lens to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length, and
wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters that is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the Rexolite layer and the silicone layer having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe.
9. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters.
7.… wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters
10. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein the first thickness is at a center of the first layer and the second thickness is at a center of the second layer, and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the second layer and the first layer having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens, and
wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens is less than 380 micrometers.
13. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 7, wherein the first thickness is at a center of the silicone layer and the second thickness is at a center of the Rexolite layer, and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the Rexolite layer and the silicone layer having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens.
14. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 13, wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens is less than 380 micrometers.
11. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein the first layer comprises a silicone layer and the second layer comprises a Rexolite layer .
7.
….the compound acoustic lens including:
a silicone layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface; and
a Rexolite layer having a second flat surface a concaved surface and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface,
12. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein the second flat surface of the second layer is coupled to the transducer array via one or more matching layers.
8. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 7, wherein the second flat surface of the Rexolite layer is coupled to the transducer array via one or more matching layers.
13. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein the transducer array includes a piezoelectric transducer.
9. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 7, wherein the transducer array includes a piezoelectric transducer.
14. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein a speed of sound in the first layer is less than the speed of sound in the second layer to prevent divergence of the acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe.
10. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 7, wherein a speed of sound in the silicone layer is less than the speed of sound in the Rexolite layer to prevent divergence of the acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe.
15. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein the first thickness is no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness is no greater than 255 micrometers, the first thickness measured along a first side edge of the first layer and the second thickness measured along a second side edge of the second layer.
11. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 7, wherein the first thickness is no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness is no greater than 255 micrometers, the first thickness measured along a first side edge of the silicone layer and the second thickness measured along a second side edge of the Rexolite layer.
16. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 8, wherein the first flat surface of the first layer is for a patient contact, and the second flat surface of the second layer is on one or more matching layers of the transducer array.
12. The ultrasound probe as described in claim 7, wherein the first flat surface of the silicone layer is for a patient contact, and the second flat surface of the Rexolite layer is on one or more matching layers of the transducer array.
17. A medical device comprising:
an ultrasound probe having a compound acoustic lens;
a memory storing instructions; and
a processor system coupled to the memory and the ultrasound probe that, upon execution of the instructions, is configured to:
cause the ultrasound probe to transmit an ultrasound beam through the compound acoustic lens that focuses the ultrasound beam,
the compound acoustic lens having:
a first layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface;
a second layer having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface,
wherein the concaved surface of the second layer is on and mated to the convex surface of the first layer, wherein each of the convex surface of the first layer and the concaved surface of the second layer is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface of the first layer mates with the concaved surface of the second layer for the compound acoustic lens to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length, and
wherein the first radius of curvature that is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer and the first layer having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe.
15. A medical device comprising:
an ultrasound probe having a compound acoustic lens;
a memory storing instructions; and
a processor system coupled to the memory and the ultrasound probe that, upon execution of the instructions, is configured to:
cause the ultrasound probe to transmit an ultrasound beam through the compound acoustic lens that focuses the ultrasound beam,
the compound acoustic lens having:
a silicone layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface;
a Rexolite layer having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface,
wherein the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer is directly on and mated to the convex surface of the silicone layer, wherein each of the convex surface of the silicone layer and the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface of the silicone layer mates with the concaved surface of the Rexolite layer for the compound acoustic lens to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length, and
wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters that is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the Rexolite layer and the silicone layer having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe.
18. The medical device as described in claim 17, wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters.
15.
… wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters
19. The medical device as described in claim 17, wherein the first thickness is at a center of the first layer and the second thickness is at a center of the second layer, and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the second layer and the first layer having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens, and
wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens is less than 380 micrometers.
16. The medical device as described in claim 15, wherein the first thickness is at a center of the silicone layer and the second thickness is at a center of the Rexolite layer, and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the Rexolite layer and the silicone layer having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens.
17. The medical device as described in claim 16, wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens is less than 380 micrometers.
20. The medical device as described in claim 17,
wherein the first layer comprises a silicone layer and
the second layer comprises a Rexolite layer.
15.
… the compound acoustic lens having:
a silicone layer having a first flat surface, a convex surface and a first thickness between the first flat surface and the convex surface;
a Rexolite layer having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US20130301394).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) for an ultrasound probe (Fig. 17, [0051], [0097], “In this example, the coupling medium 130 may serve, at least in part, as an acoustic lens by forming a compound lens in conjunction with the acoustic window 1720”), the compound acoustic lens comprising:
a first layer (1720) having a first flat surface (1724), a convex surface (1722), and a first thickness between the first flat surface (1724) and the convex surface (1722) (Fig. 17, [0097], “an outer surface 1724 may be flat… the inside surface 1722 of the acoustic window 1720 may be designed to be either convex”); and
a second layer (130) having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface, wherein the concaved surface of the second layer (130) is on and mated to the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) (Fig. 17, [0097]),
wherein each of the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) and the concaved surface of the second layer (130) is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) mates with the concaved surface of the second layer (130) for the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length (Fig. 17, [0034], “For instance, the CMUT in some implementations may be curved or otherwise shaped to focus emitted acoustic energy on a focal location…”, [0036], “In still other implementations, both the acoustic window and the coupling medium may together provide a focusing functionality, such as in the form of a compound acoustic lens”), and
wherein the first radius of curvature is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer (130) and the first layer (1720) having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe ([0004], “A commonly used acoustic lens material for a PZT-based ultrasonic transducer in medical imaging is RTV silicone rubber (RTV)”, wherein “RTV” is short for RTV silicone rubber, [0053], “Additionally, in some examples, an acoustic lens (e.g., made of RTV or made from other material listed above) can also be included with the acoustic window 120 on the CMUT apparatus 100”, [0056], “Some example solid-based materials suitable for the coupling medium 130 include… cross-linked polystyrene microwave plastic (e.g., Rexolite®)”, wherein a compound lens comprised of different materials, i.e. RTV silicone and Rexolite®, and thus have multiple indices of refraction inherently has a greater radius of curvature, i.e. can be flatter/thinner, than a single material lens of either material due to having multiple surfaces on which it can bend and focus sound; moreover, a flatter, thinner (higher radius of curvature) compound lens provides less attenuation, thereby allowing for higher operating frequencies of the ultrasound probe).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the first layer (1720) comprises a silicone layer ([0004], “A commonly used acoustic lens material for a PZT-based ultrasonic transducer in medical imaging is RTV silicone rubber (RTV)”, wherein “RTV” is short for RTV silicone rubber, [0053], “Additionally, in some examples, an acoustic lens (e.g., made of RTV or made from other material listed above) can also be included with the acoustic window 120 on the CMUT apparatus 100”, [0097], wherein an acoustic lens made of RTV silicone rubber included with the acoustic window 1720 comprises a silicone layer) and the second layer (130) comprises a Rexolite layer ([0056], “Some example solid-based materials suitable for the coupling medium 130 include… cross-linked polystyrene microwave plastic (e.g., Rexolite®)”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein a speed of sound in the first layer (1720) is less than a speed of sound in the second layer (130) to prevent divergence of the acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe ([0004], [0053], [0056], wherein the first layer comprises RTV silicone rubber and the second layer comprises Rexolite®; the speed of sound in RTV silicone rubber (960-1110 m/s) is less than the speed of sound in Rexolite (~2300 m/s)).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the first flat surface (1724) is for patient contact, and the second flat surface of the second layer is to couple to a transducer array (110) (Fig. 17, [0052], wherein the target medium is human tissue, i.e. a patient, [0097], “The CMUT apparatus 1700 may include a CMUT (or a CMUT array), such as the CMUTs 110 or 210 discussed above”, [0118], “For example, the acoustic window may be constructed of a material suitable to contact a target medium”).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches an ultrasound probe ([0051], “…such as when the CMUT apparatus is part of a medical probe or other instrument”, [0097], “CMUT apparatus 1700”) comprising:
a transducer array (110) (Fig. 17, [0044], [0097]); and
a compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) coupled to the transducer array (110) (Fig. 17, [0097], “the coupling medium 130 may serve, at least in part, as an acoustic lens by forming a compound lens in conjunction with the acoustic window 1720”), the compound acoustic lens including:
a first layer (1720) having a first flat surface (1724), a convex surface (1722) and a first thickness between the first flat surface (1724) and the convex surface (1722) (Fig. 17, [0097], “an outer surface 1724 may be flat… the inside surface 1722 of the acoustic window 1720 may be designed to be either convex”); and
a second layer (130) having a second flat surface a concaved surface and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface, wherein the concaved surface of the second layer (130) is on and mated to the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) (Fig. 17, [0097]),
wherein each of the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) and the concaved surface of the second layer (130) is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) mates with the concaved surface of the second layer (130) for the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length (Fig. 17, [0034], “For instance, the CMUT in some implementations may be curved or otherwise shaped to focus emitted acoustic energy on a focal location…”, [0036], “In still other implementations, both the acoustic window and the coupling medium may together provide a focusing functionality, such as in the form of a compound acoustic lens”), and
wherein the first radius of curvature that is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer (130) and the first layer (1720) having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe ([0004], “A commonly used acoustic lens material for a PZT-based ultrasonic transducer in medical imaging is RTV silicone rubber (RTV)”, wherein “RTV” is short for RTV silicone rubber, [0053], “Additionally, in some examples, an acoustic lens (e.g., made of RTV or made from other material listed above) can also be included with the acoustic window 120 on the CMUT apparatus 100”, [0056], “Some example solid-based materials suitable for the coupling medium 130 include… cross-linked polystyrene microwave plastic (e.g., Rexolite®)”, wherein a compound lens comprised of different materials, i.e. RTV silicone and Rexolite®, and thus have multiple indices of refraction inherently has a greater radius of curvature, i.e. can be flatter/thinner, than a single material lens of either material due to having multiple surfaces on which it can bend and focus sound; moreover, a flatter, thinner (higher radius of curvature) compound lens provides less attenuation, thereby allowing for higher operating frequencies of the ultrasound probe).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
Chen further teaches wherein the first layer (1720) comprises a silicone layer ([0004], “A commonly used acoustic lens material for a PZT-based ultrasonic transducer in medical imaging is RTV silicone rubber (RTV)”, wherein “RTV” is short for RTV silicone rubber, [0053], “Additionally, in some examples, an acoustic lens (e.g., made of RTV or made from other material listed above) can also be included with the acoustic window 120 on the CMUT apparatus 100”, [0097], wherein an acoustic lens made of RTV silicone rubber included with the acoustic window 1720 comprises a silicone layer) and the second layer (130) comprises a Rexolite layer ([0056], “Some example solid-based materials suitable for the coupling medium 130 include… cross-linked polystyrene microwave plastic (e.g., Rexolite®)”).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
Chen further teaches wherein a speed of sound in the first layer (1720) is less than a speed of sound in the second layer (130) to prevent divergence of the acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe ([0004], [0053], [0056], wherein the first layer comprises RTV silicone rubber and the second layer comprises Rexolite®; the speed of sound in RTV silicone rubber (960-1110 m/s) is less than the speed of sound in Rexolite (~2300 m/s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20130301394) in view of Tyler (US20160038770).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor, Tyler teaches such a feature. Tyler teaches an ultrasound system incorporating a compound convex-concave lens and an ultrasound probe (104) (Fig. 1, [0066]). Tyler teaches an ultrasound transducer (201) including a compound lens (Figs. 2A-2D, [0067]). Tyler teaches the compound lens comprises a convex acoustic lens (202) as a top layer and a concave acoustic lens (203) as a bottom layer (Figs. 2A-2D, [0067]). Tyler teaches wherein the radius of curvature of the compound acoustic lens is estimated to be about 21.75 mm ([0067]). Tyler therefore teaches wherein a radius of curvature of a convex-concave lens interface is at least 10 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the radius of curvature be about 21.75 mm as taught by Tyler ([0067]). The selected radius of curvature may achieve a particular focus as recognized by Tyler ([0067]). Moreover, a greater radius of curvature may reduce the required size (thickness) of the compound lens and thus reduce the size of the ultrasound device.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor, Tyler teaches such a feature. Tyler teaches an ultrasound system incorporating a compound convex-concave lens and an ultrasound probe (104) (Fig. 1, [0066]). Tyler teaches an ultrasound transducer (201) including a compound lens (Figs. 2A-2D, [0067]). Tyler teaches the compound lens comprises a convex acoustic lens (202) as a top layer and a concave acoustic lens (203) as a bottom layer (Figs. 2A-2D, [0067]). Tyler teaches wherein the radius of curvature of the compound acoustic lens is estimated to be about 21.75 mm ([0067]). Tyler therefore teaches wherein a radius of curvature of a convex-concave lens interface is at least 10 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the radius of curvature be about 21.75 mm as taught by Tyler ([0067]). The selected radius of curvature may achieve a particular focus as recognized by Tyler ([0067]). Moreover, a greater radius of curvature may reduce the required size (thickness) of the compound lens and thus reduce the size of the ultrasound device.
Claims 3, 6, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20130301394).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the first thickness is at a center of the first layer (1720) and the second thickness is at a center of the second layer (130), and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the second layer (130) and the first layer (1720) having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) (Fig. 17, [0004], [0053], [0056], [0097], wherein the compound lens being formed of two different materials, i.e. silicone and Rexolite®, having two different indices of refraction allows the lens to have a greater radius of curvature for a given focal length, resulting in a reduced overall lens thickness compared to a single-material lens for said given focal length; moreover, thickness may arbitrarily be added to the single-material lens while not affecting its focal length, resulting in an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens to be less than a thickness of the single-material lens).
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) is less than 380 micrometers.
While Chen fails to teach such a feature, it would have still been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens be less than 380 micrometers. Chen teaches a convex-concave compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) comprised of a first layer (1720) and second layer (130) having an overall thickness (Fig. 17, [0097]). Chen therefore teaches structurally the same invention as claimed except for an optimized parameter being the overall thickness being less than 380 micrometers. The optimized parameter is a result-effective variable because the thicker the lens, the more sound (ultrasound/acoustic waves) is attenuated as the sound has to travel through the lens. Moreover, the thickness of the lens also affects the size of the ultrasound probe or device using said lens; a thinner lens may result in a smaller or more compact device. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the claimed parameter, overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens, to be less than 380 micrometers because it is a result-effective variable as explained above. An ordinarily skilled artisan may want to optimize for probe size/thickness or sound attenuation and thus adjust and optimize the overall thickness to be less than 380 micrometers as a result of routine optimization. Moreover, the claimed range comprising the overall thickness being less than 380 micrometers is merely a workable range as there is no evidence this range is critically important. See MPEP §2144.05 (II), “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the first thickness is no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness is no greater than 255 micrometers, the first thickness measured along a first side edge of the first layer and the second thickness measured along a second side edge of the second layer.
While Chen fails to teach such a feature, it would have still been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the first thickness be no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness be no greater than 255 micrometers. Chen teaches a first layer (1720) and a second layer (130) having first and second thicknesses respectively (Fig. 17). Chen therefore teaches structurally the same invention as claimed except for an optimized parameter comprising the thicknesses of the first and second layer being no greater than 125 and 255 micrometers respectively. The optimized parameter is a result-effective parameter as the thicknesses affect the amount of sound attenuated by the lens and predictably the size of the lens. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the claimed parameter, the first and second thicknesses, to be no greater than 125 and 255 micrometers respectively because it is a result-effective variable as explained above. An ordinarily skilled artisan may want to optimize for probe size/thickness or sound attenuation and thus adjust and optimize the first and second thicknesses to be less than 125 and 255 micrometers respectively as a result of routine optimization. Moreover, the claimed range comprising the thicknesses being no greater than 125 and 255 micrometers is merely a workable range as there is no evidence this range is critically important. See MPEP §2144.05 (II), “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
Chen further teaches wherein the first thickness is at a center of the first layer (1720) and the second thickness is at a center of the second layer (130), and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the second layer (130) and the first layer (1720) having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) (Fig. 17, [0004], [0053], [0056], [0097], wherein the compound lens being formed of two different materials, i.e. silicone and Rexolite®, having two different indices of refraction allows the lens to have a greater radius of curvature for a given focal length, resulting in a reduced overall lens thickness compared to a single-material lens for said given focal length; moreover, thickness may arbitrarily be added to the single-material lens while not affecting its focal length, resulting in an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens to be less than a thickness of the single-material lens).
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) is less than 380 micrometers.
While Chen fails to teach such a feature, it would have still been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens be less than 380 micrometers. Chen teaches a convex-concave compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) comprised of a first layer (1720) and second layer (130) having an overall thickness (Fig. 17, [0097]). Chen therefore teaches structurally the same invention as claimed except for an optimized parameter being the overall thickness being less than 380 micrometers. The optimized parameter is a result-effective variable because the thicker the lens, the more sound (ultrasound/acoustic waves) is attenuated as the sound has to travel through the lens. Moreover, the thickness of the lens also affects the size of the ultrasound probe or device using said lens; a thinner lens may result in a smaller or more compact device. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the claimed parameter, overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens, to be less than 380 micrometers because it is a result-effective variable as explained above. An ordinarily skilled artisan may want to optimize for probe size/thickness or sound attenuation and thus adjust and optimize the overall thickness to be less than 380 micrometers as a result of routine optimization. Moreover, the claimed range comprising the overall thickness being less than 380 micrometers is merely a workable range as there is no evidence this range is critically important. See MPEP §2144.05 (II), “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the first thickness is no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness is no greater than 255 micrometers, the first thickness measured along a first side edge of the first layer and the second thickness measured along a second side edge of the second layer.
While Chen fails to teach such a feature, it would have still been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the first thickness be no greater than 125 micrometers and the second thickness be no greater than 255 micrometers. Chen teaches a first layer (1720) and a second layer (130) having first and second thicknesses respectively (Fig. 17). Chen therefore teaches structurally the same invention as claimed except for an optimized parameter comprising the thicknesses of the first and second layer being no greater than 125 and 255 micrometers respectively. The optimized parameter is a result-effective parameter as the thicknesses affect the amount of sound attenuated by the lens and predictably the size of the lens. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the claimed parameter, the first and second thicknesses, to be no greater than 125 and 255 micrometers respectively because it is a result-effective variable as explained above. An ordinarily skilled artisan may want to optimize for probe size/thickness or sound attenuation and thus adjust and optimize the first and second thicknesses to be less than 125 and 255 micrometers respectively as a result of routine optimization. Moreover, the claimed range comprising the thicknesses being no greater than 125 and 255 micrometers is merely a workable range as there is no evidence this range is critically important. See MPEP §2144.05 (II), “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
Claims 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20130301394) in view of Snyder (US5577507).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the second flat surface of the second layer is coupled to the transducer array via one or more matching layers.
In an analogous ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Snyder teaches such a feature. Snyder teaches a compound lens (22, 24) for an ultrasound probe (2) having an array (4) of piezoelectric transducer elements (Fig. 3, Abstract, Column 3 line 50 – Column 4 line 10). Snyder teaches wherein a second flat surface of a second layer (22) of the compound lens is coupled to the transducer array (4) via one or more matching layers (12, 14) (Fig. 3, Column 3 line 55 – Column 4 line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to include matching layers between the transducer array and compound lens as taught by Snyder (Fig. 3, Column 3 line 55 – Column 4 line 4). The matching layers may predictably help lower acoustic impedance mismatch between the transducer array and the human body, thereby improving coupling with a medium in which ultrasound waves will propagate as recognized by Snyder (Column 2 lines 19-29).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the transducer array includes a piezoelectric transducer.
In an analogous ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Snyder teaches such a feature. Snyder teaches a compound lens (22, 24) for an ultrasound probe (2) having an array (4) of piezoelectric transducer elements (Fig. 3, Abstract, Column 2 lines 58-65, Column 3 line 50 – Column 4 line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the transducer array include piezoelectric transducer elements as taught by Snyder (Abstract, Column 2 lines 58-65). The piezoelectric transducer elements may similarly emit and receive ultrasound waves for ultrasonic imaging as recognized by Snyder (Column 1 lines 5-10 and 32-42).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
Chen further teaches wherein the first flat surface (1724) of the first layer (1720) is for a patient contact (Fig. 17, [0052], wherein the target medium is human tissue, i.e. a patient, [0097], [0118], “For example, the acoustic window may be constructed of a material suitable to contact a target medium”, wherein the target medium may comprise a patient).
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the second flat surface of the second layer is on one or more matching layers of the transducer array.
In an analogous ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Snyder teaches such a feature. Snyder teaches a compound lens (22, 24) for an ultrasound probe (2) having an array (4) of piezoelectric transducer elements (Fig. 3, Abstract, Column 3 line 50 – Column 4 line 10). Snyder teaches wherein a second flat surface of a second layer (22) of the compound lens is coupled to the transducer array (4) via one or more matching layers (12, 14) (Fig. 3, Column 3 line 55 – Column 4 line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to include matching layers between the transducer array and compound lens as taught by Snyder (Fig. 3, Column 3 line 55 – Column 4 line 4). The matching layers may predictably help lower acoustic impedance mismatch between the transducer array and the human body, thereby improving coupling with a medium in which ultrasound waves will propagate as recognized by Snyder (Column 2 lines 19-29).
Claims 17 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20130301394) in view of Samset (US20170112473). Samset is cited in the IDS filed 02/13/2025.
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches an ultrasound probe having a compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) ([0051], “…such as when the CMUT apparatus is part of a medical probe or other instrument”, [0097], “CMUT apparatus 1700”);
the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) having (Fig. 17, [0097]):
a first layer (1720) having a first flat surface (1724), a convex surface (1722) and a first thickness between the first flat surface (1724) and the convex surface (1722) (Fig. 17, [0097], “an outer surface 1724 may be flat… the inside surface 1722 of the acoustic window 1720 may be designed to be either convex”);
a second layer (130) having a second flat surface, a concaved surface, and a second thickness between the second flat surface and the concaved surface, wherein the concaved surface of the second layer (130) is on and mated to the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) (Fig. 17, [0097]),
wherein each of the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) and the concaved surface of the second layer (130) is curved with a first radius of curvature where the convex surface (1722) of the first layer (1720) mates with the concaved surface of the second layer (130) for the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) to focus acoustic waves generated by the ultrasound probe at a first focal length (Fig. 17, [0034], “For instance, the CMUT in some implementations may be curved or otherwise shaped to focus emitted acoustic energy on a focal location…”, [0036], “In still other implementations, both the acoustic window and the coupling medium may together provide a focusing functionality, such as in the form of a compound acoustic lens”), and
wherein the first radius of curvature that is greater than a second radius of curvature of a single material lens consisting of one of the second layer (130) and the first layer (1720) having a second focal length that is the same as the first focal length to increase an operating frequency of the ultrasound probe ([0004], “A commonly used acoustic lens material for a PZT-based ultrasonic transducer in medical imaging is RTV silicone rubber (RTV)”, wherein “RTV” is short for RTV silicone rubber, [0053], “Additionally, in some examples, an acoustic lens (e.g., made of RTV or made from other material listed above) can also be included with the acoustic window 120 on the CMUT apparatus 100”, [0056], “Some example solid-based materials suitable for the coupling medium 130 include… cross-linked polystyrene microwave plastic (e.g., Rexolite®)”, wherein a compound lens comprised of different materials, i.e. RTV silicone and Rexolite®, and thus have multiple indices of refraction inherently has a greater radius of curvature, i.e. can be flatter/thinner, than a single material lens of either material due to having multiple surfaces on which it can bend and focus sound; moreover, a flatter, thinner (higher radius of curvature) compound lens provides less attenuation, thereby allowing for higher operating frequencies of the ultrasound probe).
However, Chen fails to teach a medical device comprising the ultrasound probe having the compound acoustic lens; a memory storing instructions; and a processor system coupled to the memory and the ultrasound probe that, upon execution of the instructions, is configured to: cause the ultrasound probe to transmit an ultrasound beam through the compound acoustic lens that focuses the ultrasound beam.
In an analogous ultrasound imaging with an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Samset teaches such a feature. Samset teaches an ultrasound image system or device (100) including an ultrasound probe (126) (Fig. 1, [0022]). Samset teaches the ultrasound probe is coupled to a controller circuit (136) via a transmit circuit (122) which drives the ultrasound probe (126) to emit ultrasonic signals into a patient ([0022]). Samset teaches the controller circuit (136) includes a processor and may execute instructions stored on a memory (140) ([0031]). Samset further teaches wherein the controller circuit (136) may instruct the ultrasound probe (126) to transmit pulses via the transmit circuit (122) ([0050-0051]). Samset further teaches wherein the controller circuit (136) focuses the pulses emitted by the transducer elements (124) at one or more desired focal positions ([0051]). Samset therefore teaches a medical device (100) comprising an ultrasound probe (126), a memory (140) storing instructions, and a processor system (136) coupled to the memory (140) and the ultrasound probe (126) that, upon execution of the instructions, is configured to cause the ultrasound probe (126) to transmit an ultrasound beam. Chen above teaches wherein the ultrasound probe includes the compound acoustic lens which focuses the ultrasound beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to include a medical device comprising the ultrasound probe and a memory and corresponding processor to execute instructions therefrom to cause the ultrasound probe to transmit ultrasound as taught by Samset (Fig. 1, [0022], [0031], [0050-0051]). By including the processor and memory, the processor may execute programmed instructions to perform multiple operations such as acquiring and storing ultrasound images as recognized by Samset ([0004], [0033-0034]). Moreover the ultrasound system or device may predictably house the processor, memory, and may further include a display for displaying the ultrasound images acquired by the ultrasound probe as recognized by Samset (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Samset teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 17.
Chen further teaches wherein the first thickness is at a center of the first layer (1720) and the second thickness is at a center of the second layer (130), and wherein an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) determined as a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness is less than the thickness at a center of a single material lens of one of the second layer (130) and the first layer (1720) having the same focal length as the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) (Fig. 17, [0004], [0053], [0056], [0097], wherein the compound lens being formed of two different materials, i.e. silicone and Rexolite®, having two different indices of refraction allows the lens to have a greater radius of curvature for a given focal length, resulting in a reduced overall lens thickness compared to a single-material lens for said given focal length; moreover, thickness may arbitrarily be added to the single-material lens while not affecting its focal length, resulting in an overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens to be less than a thickness of the single-material lens).
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) is less than 380 micrometers.
While Chen fails to teach such a feature, it would have still been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens be less than 380 micrometers. Chen teaches a convex-concave compound acoustic lens (1720, 130) comprised of a first layer (1720) and second layer (130) having an overall thickness (Fig. 17, [0097]). Chen therefore teaches structurally the same invention as claimed except for an optimized parameter being the overall thickness being less than 380 micrometers. The optimized parameter is a result-effective variable because the thicker the lens, the more sound (ultrasound/acoustic waves) is attenuated as the sound has to travel through the lens. Moreover, the thickness of the lens also affects the size of the ultrasound probe or device using said lens; a thinner lens may result in a smaller or more compact device. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the claimed parameter, overall thickness of the compound acoustic lens, to be less than 380 micrometers because it is a result-effective variable as explained above. An ordinarily skilled artisan may want to optimize for probe size/thickness or sound attenuation and thus adjust and optimize the overall thickness to be less than 380 micrometers as a result of routine optimization. Moreover, the claimed range comprising the overall thickness being less than 380 micrometers is merely a workable range as there is no evidence this range is critically important. See MPEP §2144.05 (II), “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Samset teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 17.
Chen further teaches wherein the first layer (1720) comprises a silicone layer ([0004], “A commonly used acoustic lens material for a PZT-based ultrasonic transducer in medical imaging is RTV silicone rubber (RTV)”, wherein “RTV” is short for RTV silicone rubber, [0053], “Additionally, in some examples, an acoustic lens (e.g., made of RTV or made from other material listed above) can also be included with the acoustic window 120 on the CMUT apparatus 100”, [0097], wherein an acoustic lens made of RTV silicone rubber included with the acoustic window 1720 comprises a silicone layer) and the second layer (130) comprises a Rexolite layer ([0056], “Some example solid-based materials suitable for the coupling medium 130 include… cross-linked polystyrene microwave plastic (e.g., Rexolite®)”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20130301394) in view of Samset (US20170112473) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Tyler (US20160038770). Samset is cited in the IDS filed 02/13/2025.
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Samset teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 17.
However, Chen fails to teach wherein the first radius of curvature is at least 10 millimeters.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor, Tyler teaches such a feature. Tyler teaches an ultrasound system incorporating a compound convex-concave lens and an ultrasound probe (104) (Fig. 1, [0066]). Tyler teaches an ultrasound transducer (201) including a compound lens (Figs. 2A-2D, [0067]). Tyler teaches the compound lens comprises a convex acoustic lens (202) as a top layer and a concave acoustic lens (203) as a bottom layer (Figs. 2A-2D, [0067]). Tyler teaches wherein the radius of curvature of the compound acoustic lens is estimated to be about 21.75 mm ([0067]). Tyler therefore teaches wherein a radius of curvature of a convex-concave lens interface is at least 10 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to have the radius of curvature be about 21.75 mm as taught by Tyler ([0067]). The selected radius of curvature may achieve a particular focus as recognized by Tyler ([0067]). Moreover, a greater radius of curvature may reduce the required size (thickness) of the compound lens and thus reduce the size of the ultrasound device.
Conclusion
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797