DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yakushiji (EP 3173626 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Yakushiji discloses an accumulator fixing mechanism (see bracket 3 and strap 35, fig. 2) for fixing an accumulator (accumulator 2) to a side of a compressor body (to the side of compressor 10 housing 11, see fig. 2), comprising:
a band (strap 35) formed in an elongated band-like shape (see fig. 2); and
a holder (bracket 3) that is fixed to the compressor body (by base 31 affixed to housing 11 of compressor 10, see fig. 2) and fixes the accumulator by holding both end portions band (bends 33A, 33B and joints 34A, 34B, fig. 2) of the band (strap 35) arranged along an outer circumference of the accumulator (see strap 35 wrapped around accumulator 2 and connected to joints 34A, 34B, fig. 2), wherein the holder comprises:
a fixing portion (base 31) fixed to an outer circumferential surface of the compressor body (base 31 fixed to compressor housing 11, see figs. 2-8); a folded-back portion (joint portions 34A, 34B, see figs. 2-7) that is provided near at least one end portion of the holder (towards the tip end portion of the sections 33 of bracket 3, see figs. 2-7 and paragraph 42), extends toward the accumulator (2) and is folded back toward the compressor body (see joints 34 folded by bend 33 towards compressor 1, figs. 2-7); and
a recessed portion (notched/recessed portion, where end portion 35a of the strap 35 rests, at the end portion 34A, see fig. 2) formed by notching an end portion of the folded-back portion (see notched/recessed portion at the end portion 34A, fig. 2), and
a ratio (L/D1) of a depth dimension (L) of the recessed portion to a width dimension (D1) of the recessed portion is set to 0.4 or more (see below annotated fig. 2, where L is more than or equal to half of dimension D1, which implies that the ratio of L/D1 = 0.5 or more, which is within the range of 0.4 or more).
In regards to claim 2, Yakushiji discloses an accumulator fixing mechanism (see bracket 3 and strap 35, fig. 2) for fixing an accumulator (accumulator 2) to a side of a compressor body (to the side of compressor 10 housing 11, see fig. 2), comprising:
a holder (bracket 3) fixed to the compressor body (by base 31 affixed to housing 11 of compressor 10, see fig. 2); and
a band (strap 35) arranged along an outer circumference of the accumulator (see strap 35 wrapped around accumulator 2 and connected to joints 34A, 34B, fig. 2) and removably held to the holder (see strap 35 attached to bracket 3 and/or removed from bracket 3, figs. 2-8), wherein
the holder comprises:
a fixing portion (base 31) fixed to an outer circumferential surface of the compressor body (base 31 fixed to compressor housing 11, see figs. 2-8); a folded-back portion (joint portions 34A, 34B, see figs. 2-7) that is provided near at least one end portion of the holder (towards the tip end portion of the sections 33 of bracket 3, see figs. 2-7 and paragraph 42), extends toward the accumulator (2) and is folded back toward the compressor body (see joints 34 folded by bend 33 towards compressor 1, figs. 2-7); and a recessed portion (notched/recessed portion, where end portion 35a of the strap 35 rests, at the end portion 34A, see fig. 2) formed by notching an end portion of the folded-back portion (see notched/recessed portion at the end portion 34A, fig. 2), and a ratio (L/D2) of a depth dimension (L) of the recessed portion to a width dimension (D2) of the end portion is set to 0.3 or more (see below annotated fig. 2, where L is equal to a width of an end portion extension 34A, where combined widths of extension 34A are equal to dimension D2, which implies that the ratio of L/D2 = 0.5 or more, which is within the range of 0.3 or more).
In regards to claim 4, Yakushiji teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a compressor (compressor 1, see figs. 2-5 and paragraph 9-11, 25 and 27) comprising: the compressor body (compressor main body 10); the accumulator (accumulator 2); and the accumulator fixing mechanism (at least strap 35 and bracket 3).
In regards to claim 6, Yakushiji teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses a compressor (compressor 1, see figs. 2-5 and paragraph 9-11, 25 and 27) comprising: the compressor body (compressor main body 10); the accumulator (accumulator 2); and the accumulator fixing mechanism (at least strap 35 and bracket 3).
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yakushiji (WO 2016006167 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Yakushiji discloses an accumulator fixing mechanism (see bracket 70 and strap 60, fig. 3) for fixing an accumulator (accumulator 14) to a side of a compressor body (to the side of compressor 1 and container 11, see fig. 3), comprising:
a holder (bracket 70) fixed to the compressor body (by welded joint 71, see fig. 3); and
a band (strap 60) arranged along an outer circumference of the accumulator (see strap 60 wrapped around accumulator 14, see figs. 3-8) and removably held to the holder (see strap 60 attached to bracket 70 and/or removed from bracket 70, figs. 3-8), wherein
the holder comprises:
a fixing portion (base 71) fixed to an outer circumferential surface of the compressor body (base 71 fixed to compressor housing 11, see figs. 3-8); a folded-back portion (folded engagement and fastening connection parts 72, 73, see fig. 5b) that is provided near at least one end portion of the holder (folded locking portion 722 and fastening portion 732, fig. 3-6 and locking portions 722, fig. 8), extends toward the accumulator (see folded portion facing accumulator 14, figs. 6 and 8) and is folded back toward the compressor body (see locking portions 722 facing compressor body 11, fig. 8); and a recessed portion (notched/recessed portion 723, see fig. 5a) formed by notching an end portion of the folded-back portion (see figs. 5), and a ratio (L/D2) of a depth dimension (L) of the recessed portion to a width dimension (D2) of the end portion is set to 0.3 or more (see below annotated fig. 5a, where L is equal to a width of an end portion extension, where combined widths of extensions are equal to dimension D2, which implies that the ratio of L/D2 = 0.5 or more, which is within the range of 0.3 or more).
In regards to claim 6, Yakushiji teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses a compressor (compressor 1, see fig. 1) comprising: the compressor body (compressor container 11); the accumulator (accumulator 14); and the accumulator fixing mechanism (at least strap 60 and bracket 70 of attachment structure 50, see fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakushiji (EP 3173626 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above and further in view of Yu (CN 201080316 Y).
In regards to claims 3 and 5, Yakushiji teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 2 and further discloses that the recessed portion is formed in a shape in which its width dimension decreases from both ends of the holder toward a center of the holder in a longitudinal direction (see below annotated figs. 2 and 7, where the curved bottoms of the notches have a decreased width dimension than the openings of the notches).
However, Yakushiji does not explicitly teach a trapezoidal shape of the recessed portion of the bracket.
Yu discloses a locking bracket (2), wherein the recessed portion (cavity within bracket 2 containing baffle 5 and shafts 4, see fig. 1) is formed in a trapezoidal shape (see trapezoidal hole within bracket 2, figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 19-20) in which its width dimension decreases from both ends of the holder toward a center of the holder in a longitudinal direction (trapezoidal hole with width decreasing towards shafts 4 and wire opening 7 for wire 13, see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the recessed portion of the end of the holder of Yakushiji by providing a recessed portion in the form of a trapezoidal shape in which its width dimension decreases from both ends of the holder toward a center of the holder in a longitudinal direction based on the teachings of Yu in order to allow the strap in the assembly of Yakushiji to settle towards the narrow portion of the bottom of the notch to tighten the belt around the accumulator to securely hold the accumulator in a steady position adjacent compressor housing.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763