Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niemeyer (US 11793294).
Regarding claim 1, Niemeyer discloses an application device for applying a cosmetic product, said application device having a main longitudinal axis and comprising: a container (3) forming a reservoir of cosmetic product and extending axially from an open lower bottom towards an upper dispensing opening for dispensing the cosmetic product, a support (7) movable axially inside the container and configured to be linked to the cosmetic product, a drive screw (14) whose a rotational movement causes an axial displacement of the movable support inside the container, an actuating means (4) accessible to the user to cause the rotational movement of the drive screw and housed in the open lower bottom of the container, and a connecting skirt (17) extending from the actuating means towards a lower end of the drive screw, the connecting skirt being funnel-shaped towards the drive screw (at 22), wherein the actuating means and the connecting skirt form a duct (when cap 21 is not present) for the passage of the fluid cosmetic product from the outside towards the inside of the container when filling the container with cosmetic product (note that 17 has apertures to allow flow of material into the container; see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the connecting skirt and the drive screw are linked by at least one material bridge (22), the at least one material bridge being inclined towards the upper dispensing opening of the container (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the actuating means, the connecting skirt and the drive screw are integral and formed in one-part (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein an upper edge of the connecting skirt comprises at least one indentation (top portion of sleeve 17 that is missing, see Fig. 7) increasing the cross-sectional area through which the fluid cosmetic product passes when filling the container with cosmetic product.
Regarding claim 5, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 4, wherein the at least one material bridge is linked to the upper edge of the connecting skirt in an area without indentations (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 5, wherein the connecting skirt and the drive screw are linked by at least two material bridges, the at least two material bridges are linked to the upper edge of the connecting skirt between two adjacent indentations (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the actuating means is blocked axially in the open lower bottom of the container and free to rotate relative thereto (due to the engagement of elements 28 and 32).
Regarding claim 8, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein an external end of the drive screw is ogive-shaped (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the movable support comprises a transverse wall (11) equipped with openings (see Fig. 6) for the passage of the fluid cosmetic product when filling the container with cosmetic product.
Regarding claim 10, Niemeyer disclose the application device according to claim 1, wherein the movable support comprises a central skirt (26) through which the drive screw passes, an internal wall of the central skirt of the movable support comprising a thread (col. 9, ll. 33-35) cooperating with a thread of the drive screw so that the rotational movement of the drive screw causes the axial displacement of the movable support inside the container (col. 9, ll. 27-51).
Regarding claim 12, Niemeyer discloses the application device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the transverse wall of the movable support is a grid (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 12, wherein the container is cylindrical and/or the grid is bean-shaped (the container is a cylinder with an oval cross-section, see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the actuating means has a circular cross-section and/or the container has an oblong cross-section (the container has an oblong cross-section, see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the movable support has a cross-sectional shape similar to the cross-section of the container (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the actuating means is closed by a cap (21).
Regarding claim 18, Niemeyer discloses the application device according to claim 1, wherein the application device is a stick of cosmetic product (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemeyer as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Favre (US 5437513).
Regarding claim 11, Niemeyer teaches the application device according to claim 10, wherein an external wall of the central skirt of the movable support is in an extension of an ogive shape of the lower end of the drive screw, when the movable support is in abutment with the ogive shape of the lower end of the drive screw (Fig. 3 shows the continues from the ogive shape of the bottom of the drive screw).
Niemeyer does not teach that the external wall of the central skirt of the moveable support has a chamfer.
Favre teaches a moveable support (63) with a chamfer (see annotated portion of Fig. 1 below) formed on a central skirt thereof.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the external wall of the central skirt of the moveable support with a chamfer as taught by Favre for the purpose of improving the connection between the cosmetic and the support (the chamfer or flared portion above holds the stick fast to the support; Favre, col. 5, ll. 8-13).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemeyer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crowley (US 4605330).
Regarding claim 17, Niemeyer teaches the application device according to claim 1, but does not teach that the device is made from a single material, the single material being polypropylene.
Crowley teaches an application device made from a single material, the single material being polypropylene (col. 3, ll. 2-9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the device of Niemeyer from polypropylene, wherein doing so would merely have been a matter of selecting a known material known to be suitable for use as an application device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Niemeyer does not disclose actuating means that is “housed in the open lower bottom of the container.
In response, it is noted that Niemeyer discloses that the actuating means 4 is received in the opening 18 at the bottom of the container. See in particular Fig. 2.
Applicant argues that Niemeyer does not teach that the connecting skirt is “funnel-shaped towards the drive screw”.
In response, it is noted that the top portion of Niemeyer’s skirt 17 is funnel shaped. See annotated Fig. 3 below.
Applicant argues that Niemeyer does not disclose that “the actuating means and the connecting skirt form a duct for the passage of the fluid cosmetic product from the outside towards the inside of the container when filling the container with cosmetic product”.
Examiner disagrees. The actuating means and the connecting skirt of Niemeyer are both open and allow fluid to flow from the outside of the container to the inside. They therefore read on the claimed duct.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754