Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim listing listed this claim as claim “3” which appears to be typographical in nature, since it is followed by claim 3. This should be amended to recite claim “2.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Raskar (“Cartoon Dioramas in Motion”; ACM; 2002).
Regarding claim 1, Raskar teaches an electronic device comprising: a projector; a memory storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory and to (fig 6; abstract; page 11, “Implementation and lessons”):
obtain modeling information corresponding to a projection space from modeling information about a surrounding space, and obtain projection object content by correcting a shape of standard object content, based on the modeling information corresponding to the projection space (page 7, “Introduction” and “Augmenting Physical Models; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; object projection content is obtained and corrected based on modeling information in the projection space);
determine an action of the projection object content, based on the modeling information corresponding to the projection space, and control the electronic device to project, through the projector, projection content including the projection object content performing the determined action, onto the projection space (pages 7 and 8, “Apparent Motion”; page 9, “Motion Effects”; actions are determined accordingly to project the content as performing the actions).
Regarding claim 2, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the modeling information corresponding to the projection space includes projection space structure information, and at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine the action of the projection object content as an action corresponding to the projection space structure information (page 7, “Introduction” and “Augmenting Physical Models; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; page 9, “Motion Effects”).
Regarding claim 3, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the projection space structure information includes space change information, and at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: determine the action of the projection object content as a first action, in the projection space having a space change equal to or less than a threshold value; and determine the action of the projection object content as a second action different from the first action, in the projection space having a space change greater than the threshold value (page 7, “Introduction” and “Augmenting Physical Models; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; page 9, “Motion Effects”; pages 9 and 10; “Wobbly Motion” and “Lights and Shadows; “Acceleration dependent modifications”).
Regarding claim 4, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine the action of the projection object content, based on at least one of a specified period, a random period, or event occurrence, wherein the event occurrence includes at least one of a location of the projection space being changed by a threshold value or greater, or a projection object content action control signal being received (page 7, “Introduction” and “Augmenting Physical Models; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; page 9, “Motion Effects”; pages 9 and 10; section 2.3.1 and 2.3.2; page 10 “Acceleration dependent modifications”).
Regarding claim 5, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to correct at least one of a color, brightness, a form, or a size of the standard object content, based on the modeling information corresponding to the projection space (page 10, “Lights and Shadows” and “Tracked Illumination”).
Regarding claim 6, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the modeling information corresponding to the projection space includes projection space depth information, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: obtain user depth information; and correct a size of the standard object content using the projection space depth information and the user depth information (page 9, “”Cartoon shading”; page 10, “Lights and Shadows”).
Regarding claim 7, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is rotatable based on at least one of an x-axis, a y-axis, or a z-axis, and the electronic device further comprises an image sensor and a depth sensor, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to obtain the modeling information about the surrounding space, based on a surrounding space image obtained through the image sensor and surrounding space depth information obtained through the depth sensor, and the modeling information about the surrounding space includes color information, luminance information, and depth information according to a rotating angle for each axis of the electronic device (fig 6; abstract; page 7, “Introduction” and “Augmenting Physical Models; pages 7 and 8, “Apparent Motion”; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; page 9, “Motion Effects”; pages 9 and 10; “Wobbly Motion” and “Lights and Shadows; “Acceleration dependent modifications”).
Regarding claim 8, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising an image sensor, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify a user feature point from a user image obtained through the image sensor; identify a direction a user face faces, based on the user feature point; and identify a space located in the direction the user face faces, as the projection space (fig 6; abstract; page 7, “Introduction” and “Augmenting Physical Models; pages 7 and 8, “Apparent Motion”; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; page 9, “Motion Effects”; pages 9 and 10; “Wobbly Motion” and “Lights and Shadows; “Acceleration dependent modifications”;’ page 11, “Use Reaction”).
Regarding claim 9, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the projection content further includes background content, and at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine at least one of a color or brightness of the background content, based on at least one of a color or brightness of the modeling information corresponding to the projection space (pages 7 and 8, “Apparent Motion”; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; page 9, “Motion Effects”; page 10, “Lights and Shadows” and “Tracked Illumination”).
Regarding claim 10, Raskar teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the projection content further includes background content, and at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine brightness of the background content to a minimum value (pages 7 and 8, “Apparent Motion”; page 8, “Spatial Augmentation”; page 9, “Motion Effects”; page 10, “Lights and Shadows” and “Tracked Illumination”).
Regarding claims 11-14, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 1-4, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maciocci (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0249416); Modular mobile connected pico projectors for a local multi-user collaboration.
Gurgul (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0096031); Graphical assistance with tasks using an ar wearable device.
Ma (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0130535); User representations in artificial reality.
DAVID T. WELCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/DAVID T WELCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613