DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025 and 04/16/2025
is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant' s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application on 12/13/2024 under 35
U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being
anticipated by Talwalkar et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240378087 A1), hereinafter “Tal”.
As to claim 1, Tal discloses a system for managed data transfer in compute network,
comprising:
a first data store storing user data (Tal, [0036], Each transfer request may specify a source location 202 at which the data to be transferred is originally stored and a destination location 204 to which the data is requested to be transferred. [0002], data may be stored at a storage location of one cloud platform but be needed for processing at a storage location of a different cloud platform.).;
a second data store for receiving and storing the user data stored in the first data store (Tal, [0036], Each transfer request may specify a source location 202 at which the data to be transferred is originally stored and a destination location 204 to which the data is requested to be transferred.).;
a data transfer agent in communication with the first data store and the second data store (Tal, Fig.2, [0029], one or more processors configured to receive notifications of transfer requests from the event queue, and one or more worker nodes configured to receive the transfer requests from the one or more processors and transfer the data objects from their source location to a specified destination location.).;
and one or more servers in communication with the data transfer agent, the one or more servers planning and implementing a data transfer to move the data stored in the first data store to the second data store via the data transfer agent (Tal, [0032], Each cloud platform 120 of the network 100 may include one or more datacenters, each datacenter including a plurality of servers capable of receiving, storing, processing, and transmitting data over the network. each cloud platform 120 may include a data transfer service 140 for facilitating the transfer of data. The data transfer service 140 may include a combination of one or more processing devices 142 and one or more storage devices 144 for facilitating data transfers. [0041], The cloud data transfer service 230 is further configured to forward the transfer events stored in the event queue 212 to the workers 240 for execution. This allows for the worker nodes 240 to quickly and efficiently execute the transfer from the source location 202 to the destination location 204.).
As to claim 4, Tal discloses the system of claim 1, the one or more servers
comprising a control plane, the control plane comprising a distributed service for the planning and implementing of the data transfer (Tal, [0037], a cloud data transfer service 230 configured to manage the transfer of the requested data, and one or more workers 240 managed by the cloud data transfer service to execute the transfer. [0013], the data transfer service may be configured to: receive the transfer event from the memory; in response to the notification received from the one or more processors, select at least one of the one or more worker nodes for execution of the transfer event; and forward the transfer event to the selected worker nodes for execution. [0032], each datacenter including a plurality of servers capable of receiving, storing, processing, and transmitting data over the network. In order to facilitate transfer of data within and between the cloud platforms, each cloud platform 120 may include a data transfer service 140 for facilitating the transfer of data.).
As to claim 5, Tal discloses the system of claim 4, comprising a plurality of transfer
agents in communication with the control plane (Tal, [0037], one or more workers 240 managed by the cloud data transfer service to execute the transfer. [0041], The cloud data transfer service 230 is further configured to forward the transfer events stored in the event queue 212 to the workers 240 for execution. Each worker 240 may include one or more processing devices or groups of processing devices capable of executing jobs such as data transfer jobs. Each worker 240 may be represented by a separate node within the cloud platform 200, and may be referred to herein as worker nodes. Upon being prompted by the cloud data transfer service 230 to execute a data transfer, the worker nodes may begin executing the transfer immediately, without waiting for additional data to be added to the event queue 212 before executing the transfer. Data identified based on the information in the event queue 212—which may be an identification of the source location 202 or the data itself—may be divided among multiple worker nodes, which may operate on different respective portions of the source data in parallel.).
As to claim 6, Tal discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the first data store is
resident in a first computing universe and the second data store is resident in a second computing universe (Tal, [0006], each of the source location and the destination location may be located in different cloud platforms. [0002], data may be stored at a storage location of one cloud platform but be needed for processing at a storage location of a different cloud platform. The cloud platforms may be managed by the same or a different third-party provider. In such a case, management of the stored data may involve migrating data objects between the two cloud platforms.).
As to claim 8, Tal discloses the system of claim 6, further comprising a cloud service
in communication with the plurality of agents (Tal, [0037], a cloud data transfer service 230 configured to manage the transfer of the requested data, and one or more workers 240 managed by the cloud data transfer service to execute the transfer. [0041], The cloud data transfer service 230 is further configured to forward the transfer events stored in the event queue 212 to the workers 240 for execution. Each worker 240 may include one or more processing devices or groups of processing devices capable of executing jobs such as data transfer jobs. Each worker 240 may be represented by a separate node within the cloud platform 200, and may be referred to herein as worker nodes. Upon being prompted by the cloud data transfer service 230 to execute a data transfer, the worker nodes may begin executing the transfer immediately, without waiting for additional data to be added to the event queue 212 before executing the transfer. Data identified based on the information in the event queue 212—which may be an identification of the source location 202 or the data itself—may be divided among multiple worker nodes, which may operate on different respective portions of the source data in parallel.).
As to claim 9, Tal discloses the system of claim 8, further comprising: a list of tasks
generated by the cloud service, the tasks in the list of tasks to be performed by one or more agents of the plurality of agents (Tal, [0041], Data identified based on the information in the event queue 212—which may be an identification of the source location 202 or the data itself—may be divided among multiple worker nodes, which may operate on different respective portions of the source data in parallel. This allows for the worker nodes 240 to quickly and efficiently execute the transfer from the source location 202 to the destination location 204. [0016], the data transfer service may be configured to assign the transfer event to a plurality of worker nodes, and each worker node may be assigned to copy the one or more data objects to a respective one of the plurality of destination locations.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Talwalkar in view of Haggerty et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200356532 A1), hereinafter “Hag”.
As to claim 2, Tal discloses the invention as applied above. Tal however is silent to
discloses explicitly, a first authentication interface corresponding to the first data store; and a second authentication interface corresponding to the second data store.
Hag discloses the similar concept in same field of endeavor including, a first authentication interface corresponding to the first data store (Hag, [0038], the file copy application 233 may access other computer programs for services or to perform functions, such as the copy container 235 and authentication component 239 that includes authentication credentials 299.).;
and a second authentication interface corresponding to the second data store (Hag, [0043], The storage replicator component 240 may be an example of a storage replicator component that executes in a second (or another) cloud computing platform. As shown, the storage replicator component 240 may receive encrypted replicated data storage replicator component 240 may include components similar to those in storage replicator component 230. For example, storage replicator component 240 may include a file copy application, a copy container 245, an authentication component 249 that includes authentication (Auth.) credentials 259, and an encryption component 247. The authentication component 249 may provide the authentication credentials 259 to APIs, such as a file copy API 288 in the cloud provider library of APIs 280.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Hag” in to those of Tal for securely replicating data between different cloud computing platform and modified copy of the data file may be forwarded to the second cloud computing platform for storage.
As to claim 7, Tal discloses the control plane is located in the second computing
Universe (Tal, [0006], each of the source location and the destination location may be located in different cloud platforms. [0036], an example data transfer system 200 within a cloud platform, such as the cloud platform 120 of FIG. 1. The data transfer system 200 may include, but is not limited to, various components of the cloud platform such as the data transfer service 140 shown in FIG. 1.).
Tal however is silent to disclose explicitly, the plurality of agents are located in the first computing universe.
Hag discloses the similar concept in same field of endeavor including, the plurality of agents are located in the first computing universe (Hag, [0027], The system 100 may include a data network 110, a customer network platform 160 and a number of cloud computing platforms 123, 125, and 127. [0027], The replicator component 162 may respond to commands from the customer network processor 165 to provide data requests to a respective storage replicator component, such as 133, 135 or 137 operating in a respective cloud computing platform 123, 125 or 127. [0035], storage replicator component 230 may be located in a first computing platform, such as 123, while storage replicator component 240 may be located in a second cloud computing platform, such as 125.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Hag” in to those of Tal for replicating data between different cloud computing platform and modified copy of the data file may be forwarded to the second cloud computing platform for storage.
Claims 3, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tal-Hag, and further in view of Yarlagaffa et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190171828 A1), hereinafter "Yar".
As to claim 3, Tal and Hag disclose the invention as applied above. Tal and Hag
however, are silent to discloses explicitly, the transfer agent storing a first user credential for the first authentication interface and a second user credential for the second authentication interface.
Yar discloses the similar concept in same field of endeavor including, the transfer agent storing a first user credential for the first authentication interface and a second user credential for the second authentication interface (Yar, [0068], The SOURCE SERVICE ID field may comprise a source environment service ID that has, for example, read access to the data. [0071], The TARGET SERVICE ID field may indicate a target environment service ID, which may have write access to the data. [0078], the job may comprise a distributed copy command, and the copy command may be performed by a plurality of nodes in a cluster of servers. The command may indicate a source active name node, a target active name node, a source path (e.g., distributed file system source path), a target path (e.g., distributed file system target path), and/or a number of jobs (e.g., up to 250 jobs).).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Yar” in to those of Tal and Hag to enhance cross cluster data transfer efficiency while minimizing operational overhead.
As to claim 10, Tal and Hag disclose the invention as applied above. Tal and Hag
however, are silent to discloses explicitly, wherein the list of tasks comprises: a first set of list tasks; and a second set of copy tasks.
Yar discloses the similar concept in same field of endeavor including, wherein the list of tasks comprises: a first set of list tasks (Yar, [0061], the computing device may read the source path(s) and/or the target path(s) from the file. In step 720, the computing device may transmit, to the user device, the source path(s) and/or the target path(s) from the file.).;
and a second set of copy tasks (Yar, [0078], the computing device may generate a job to move the data formatted according to the first format. The computing device may generate the job based on the information included in the data file. The data may be encrypted or may be unencrypted, and the computing device may generate the job based on the encryption of the data. In some aspects, the job may comprise a distributed copy command, and the copy command may be performed by a plurality of nodes in a cluster of servers.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Yar” in to those of Tal and Hag to enhance cross cluster data transfer efficiency while minimizing operational overhead.
As to claim 11, The combined system of Tal-Hag-Yar discloses the invention
substantially including, a copy task of the set of copy tasks is assigned to one of the plurality of transfer agents (Tal, [0016], the data transfer service may be configured to assign the transfer event to a plurality of worker nodes, and each worker node may be assigned to copy the one or more data objects to a respective one of the plurality of destination locations.).,
and the assigned transfer agent performs a data copy from a source data store to a destination data store using a first authentication to retrieve data from the source data store and a second authentication to copy the retrieved data to the second data store (Yar, [0068], he SOURCE SERVICE ID field may comprise a source environment service ID that has, for example, read access to the data. [0071], The TARGET SERVICE ID field may indicate a target environment service ID, which may have write access to the data. [0078], the job may comprise a distributed copy command, and the copy command may be performed by a plurality of nodes in a cluster of servers. The command may indicate a source active name node, a target active name node, a source path (e.g., distributed file system source path), a target path (e.g., distributed file system target path), and/or a number of jobs.)
As to claim 12, The combined system of Tal-Hag-Yar discloses the
invention substantially including, the agent utilizes one of the computing universe and the second computing universe as a control plane and the other computing universe as a destination (Tal, [0051], to the extent that replicas of the same data exist in both source and destination locations, changes to the data in one location may prompt the changes to be transferred to the other location to maintain synchronicity between the replicas. In such a case, a change to the data at the source location may itself initiate a transfer request, whereby the location
of the change is the source location and the location of the corresponding replicated data is the destination location.).
As to claim 13, The combined system of Tal-Hag-Yar discloses the
invention substantially including, the agent reverses the computing universe utilized for the control plane and the destination (Tal, [0051], a change to the data at the source location may itself initiate a transfer request, whereby the location of the change is the source location and the location of the corresponding replicated data is the destination location.).
Claims 14, 15, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tal in view of Yarlagadda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190171828 A1), hereinafter “Yar”.
As to claim 14, Tal discloses a method for transferring data in a distributed
computing network, comprising: starting, by a user, one or more data transfer agents (Tal, [0036], Transfer requests 201 may originate from any location, such as client devices connected to the data transfer system 200 or devices of other cloud platforms.).;
triggering by the user, a data transfer job in the distributed computing network (Tal, [0036], Transfer requests 201 may originate from any location, such as client devices connected to the data transfer system 200 or devices of other cloud platforms. IG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an example data transfer system 200 within a cloud platform, such as the cloud platform 120 of FIG. 1. The data transfer system 200 may include, but is not limited to, various components of the cloud platform such as the data transfer service 140 shown in FIG. 1. The data transfer system 200 is capable of handling transfer requests 201 on an on-demand basis.).;
receiving at the one or more data transfer agents, one or more tasks for performing the data transfer; and copying by the agent, data stored in the source data store to a destination data store (Tal, [0049], the data transfer service may instruct one or more worker nodes included in the data transfer system to execute data migration for the data indicated in the transfer event. Instructing the worker nodes may include forwarding the transfer event from the memory to the worker nodes for handling. At block 450, the worker nodes may operate in parallel to transfer the data indicated in the transfer event from its source location to a destination location.).
Tal however is silent to discloses explicitly, in the one or more data transfer agents, receiving from a transfer service of the distributed computing network, a command to list directories at a source data store; providing, by the one or more data transfer agents, the list of directories at the source data store to the transfer service.
Yar discloses the similar concept in same field of endeavor including, in the one or more data transfer agents, receiving from a transfer service of the distributed computing network, a command to list directories at a source data store (Yar, [0032], For example, data residing in different clusters may be moved by file, by directory, and/or by set of directories).;
providing, by the one or more data transfer agents, the list of directories at the source data store to the transfer service (Yar, [0061], the computing device may access the source and target path(s) file, which may comprise a source and target path csv file. In step 715, the computing device may read the source path(s) and/or the target path(s) from the file. In step 720, the computing device may transmit, to the user device, the source path(s) and/or the target path(s) from the file. The
user device may display the source path(s) and/or the target path(s) from the file, such as via the user interface 405.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have
been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Yar”
in to those of Tal to enhance cross cluster data transfer efficiency while minimizing operational overhead.
As to claim 15, Tal disclose the invention as applied above. Tal however is
silent to discloses explicitly, receiving the one or more tasks for performing data transfer as one of a listing task or a copying task.
Yar discloses the similar concept in same field of endeavor including, receiving the one or more tasks for performing data transfer as one of a listing task or a copying task (Yar, [0061], the computing device may access the source and target path(s) file, which may comprise a source and target path csv file. In step 715, the computing device may read the source path(s) and/or the target path(s) from the file. In step 720, the computing device may transmit, to the user device, the source path(s) and/or the target path(s) from the file. [0078], the job may comprise a distributed copy command, and the copy command may be performed by a plurality of nodes in a cluster of servers. The command may indicate a source active name node, a target active name node, a source path (e.g., distributed file system source path), a target path (e.g., distributed file system target path), and/or a number of jobs.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have
been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Yar”
in to those of Tal to enhance cross cluster data transfer efficiency while minimizing operational overhead.
As to claim 17, The combined system of Tal-Yar discloses the
invention substantially including, when starting the one or more data transfer agents, supplying by the user one or more authentication credentials corresponding to an environment of the source data store, and corresponding to an environment of the destination data store (Yar, [0043], The user of the user device may input credentials, such as an ID and/or username and password, to login via the interface. The user device 151 may transmit, via a network (e.g., network 161) and/or a communication link (e.g., communication link 183), the received credentials to a computing device, such as the elastic data mover utility computing device 101. [0071], The TARGET SERVICE ID field may indicate a target environment service ID, which may have write access to the data.).
As to claim 19, Tal disclose the invention as applied above. Tal however is
silent to discloses explicitly, wherein the distributed computing network comprises a cloud network.
Yar discloses the similar concept in same field of endeavor including, wherein the distributed computing network comprises a cloud network (Yar,[0038], Network 161 may be any suitable network including a cloud network, the Internet, an intranet, a wide-area network (WAN), a local-area network (LAN), a wireless network, a digital subscriber line (DSL) network, a frame relay network, an asynchronous transfer mode (ATM) network, a virtual private network (VPN), a cellular network, or any combination of any of the same.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have
been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Yar”
in to those of Tal to enhance cross cluster data transfer efficiency while minimizing operational overhead.
As to claim 20, Tal and Yar discloses, the one or more data transfer agents, receiving
instructions for performing data transfer tasks from a control plane, the control plane performing the planning of the data transfer job and working with the one or more data transfer agents (Tal, [0013], select at least one of the one or more worker nodes for execution of the transfer event; and forward the transfer event to the selected worker nodes for execution. [0049], At block 440, the data transfer service may instruct one or more worker nodes included in the data transfer system to execute data migration for the data indicated in the transfer event. Instructing the worker nodes may include forwarding the transfer event from the memory to the worker nodes for handling. At block 450, the worker nodes may operate in parallel to transfer the data indicated in the transfer event from its source location to a destination location.).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tal-Yar and further in view of Haggerty et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200356532 A1), hereinafter “Hag”.
As to claim 16, The combined system of Tal and Yar discloses the
invention as applied above. Yar and Tal however are silent to discloses explicitly, notifying to the transfer service, by the one or more data transfer agents that the one or more tasks for performing data transfer are completed.
Hag however discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, notifying to the transfer service, by the one or more data transfer agents that the one or more tasks for performing data transfer are completed (Hag, [0053], After the encrypted modified copy of the data file is decrypted, the modified data file may be stored in a data storage of the second respective cloud computing platform (440). The file copy application may forward a message to the customer network platform indicating the modified data file was successfully stored in the second cloud computing platform (450).).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Hag” in to those of Yar and Tal for replicating data between different cloud computing platform and modified copy of the data file may be forwarded to the second cloud computing platform for storage.
As to claim 18, The combined system of Tal and Yar discloses the
invention substantially including, wherein the environment of the source data store (Yar, [0007], The higher-level environment may comprise a production environment. The lower-level environment may comprise one or more of an acceptance testing environment, a development environment, or a system integration testing environment.).
Yar and Tal are silent to disclose explicitly, the environment of the destination data store uses different authentication methods.
Hag however discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, the environment of the destination data store uses different authentication methods (Hag, [0028], The cloud computing platforms 123, 125 and 127 may be any one of the public computing platforms, such as Amazon AWS, Google cloud platform (GPC), IBM cloud, Microsoft Azure or the like.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Hag” in to those of Yar and Tal for replicating data between different cloud computing platform and modified copy of the data file may be forwarded to the second cloud computing platform for storage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Narasimhan et. al. (US 20110055382 A1) is one of the persistent art discloses a methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on a computer storage medium, synchronizing records in peer devices. In one aspect, a method includes comparing, in a first peer device, a peer record received from a second peer device based on an IP address of the peer record from the second peer device and an IP address of a record stored in a host table of the first peer device. Unique agent identifiers, MAC addresses and time stamps are also compared to determine whether the peer record indicates a new host device, a new IP assignment to a known host device, or a new user logged into a known host device.
Ghafoor et. al. (US 20250148115 A1) is one of the persistent art discloses a method for controlling access to customer data of a multi-tenant software as a service (SaaS) system, a SaaS agent at a user endpoint sends a request for storage credentials to a SaaS agent facing application interface (API) of a SaaS system cloud. The storage credentials provide access to a SaaS encrypted data store of the multi-tenant SaaS system. The SaaS agent receives the storage credentials from the SaaS agent facing API, and the SaaS agent uses the storage credentials to store customer data in the SaaS encrypted data store. A customer-controlled encryption key is maintained on a customer-controlled cloud hosting a key management system (KMS). The customer-controlled cloud is in communication with the SaaS agent facing API.
/M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458