DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this continuous application filed on 02/13/2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flaherty et al. (US 2012/0223216 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Flaherty et al. discloses an autonomous sanitizing system (Fig.1A:10), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig.1C:110);
one or more sensors (Fig.3:90) in communication with the one or more processors;
one or more sanitizing devices (Fig.1D:61 and 62) in communication with the one or more processors and configured to deliver one or more sanitizing treatments [0133];
a non-transitory memory [0007] coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, implements actions comprising:
determining whether a sanitizing trigger is satisfied at a given location [0011-0013];
detecting, with the one or more sensors, an exception condition associated with the given location [0009];
identifying [0010], based at least in part on the exception condition, a select sanitizing treatment of the one or more sanitizing treatments [0012];
actuating the one or more sanitizing devices to deliver the select sanitizing treatment at the given location [0012 and 0133-0138];
a non-transitory memory [0007] coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, implements actions comprising:
detecting, with the one or more sensors [0007], one or more objects within the given location;
classifying the one or more objects [0007];
selecting [0010], based at least in part on classification of the one or more objects, a select sanitizing treatment; and
delivering, with the one or more sanitizing devices, the select sanitizing treatment at the given
location [0012 and 0133-0138].
Regarding claim 3, Flaherty et al. system is capable of selecting [0130] sanitizing treatment includes switching from a first sanitizing treatment of the one or more sanitizing devices to a second
sanitizing treatment of the one or more sanitizing devices.
Regarding claim 4, Flaherty et al. is capable of [0132] classifying the one or more objects comprises identifying a living object, a mobile object and/or a stationary object.
Regarding claim 5, Flaherty et al. discloses actuating [0010] the one or more sanitizing devices to deliver the select sanitizing treatment at the given location includes initiating the select sanitizing treatment upon exit of the living object or the mobile object from the given location.
Regarding claim 6, Flaherty et al. discloses that the one or more sensors [0007] comprises at least one of a LiDAR device, a radar device, a PIR device, an acoustic ranging device, a pressure sensor, and a temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 7, Flaherty et al. discloses that delivering, with the one or more sanitizing devices (Fig.3:90, 61, and 62) , the select sanitizing treatment at the given location includes directing emissions of the select sanitizing treatment toward a first object of the one or more objects and limiting emissions of the select sanitizing treatment toward a second object of the one or more objects.
Regarding claim 8, Flaherty et al. discloses that the one or more sanitizing devices are mounted (Fig.3:20 and 61-62) to an autonomous vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Flaherty et al. discloses that the one or more sensors (Fig.3:20 and 90) are mounted to the autonomous vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, Flaherty et al. discloses that the instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors [00070022], implements further actions comprising: outputting notifications with one or more output devices in association with the select sanitizing treatment.
Regarding claim 11, Flaherty et al. discloses that the one or more sanitizing devices includes one of a chemical emission device or one of an ultraviolet light emission device (Fig.3:61-62).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,233,179 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of the claims 1-11 in the pending application and the scopes of the claims 1-10 in the U.S. Patent No. 12,233,179 B2 are the same, but rewritten using similar words.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799