DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 13 February 2025 which claims priority to PRO’s 63/711,481 and 63/552,911 filed 24 October 2024 and 13 February 2024 respectively. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabmeier et al. (US 2010/0258672).
- Regarding Claim 1. Grabmeier discloses a modular system for drones (1, “unmanned aircraft” [abstract]; “provide an aircraft…utilized in a flexible manner for a large number of tasks” [0004], fig. 1-7), the modular system comprising:
a chassis (2) including a coupling mechanism (12/14) operable to removably couple the chassis with a drone (1);
a control component (22/26 with data connections through 16/18/20);
a plurality of modular components (24a/f) operable to be interchangeably coupled with the control component (22/26, illustrated by fig. 2-7), the plurality of modular components (24a/f) operable to be detachably coupled with a payload (24, “releasably mounted” [0022]; the various modular components can fit vary payloads).
- Regarding Claim 2. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 1, wherein the control component (22/26) is operable to be detachably coupled with the chassis (2, as illustrated, removal of the chassis results in removal of the control components).
- Regarding Claim 3. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 1, wherein the control component (22/26) is operable to provide connectivity, power, and/or control of each of the plurality of modular components (“ejection release unit” [0022]; “container interface unit” [0023]).
- Regarding Claim 4. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of modular components (24a/f) includes one or more actuators (21/23) operable to receive and control the payload (24, “releasably mounted on the ERU by means of holding devices” [0022]).
- Regarding Claim 5. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 4, wherein the one or more actuators (21/23) includes one or more receiving portions operable to detachably couple with the payload (“releasably mounted on the ERU by means of holding devices” [0022]).
- Regarding Claim 6. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 5, wherein the one or more actuators (21/23) extends vertically downward from a base of the modular component (24a/f), wherein the actuator is operable to restrict horizontal movement of the payload (24) received therein such that the payload deploys vertically downward (as illustrated, the actuators extend vertically down from the ERU and will inherently restrict movement in the horizontal direction to ensure the payload is held in place; “drop a bomb” [0024]).
- Regarding Claim 7. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 1, wherein the payload (24) includes one or more of the following: explosive charge, ballistic payload, sensor, antenna, radio, camera, speaker, light emitter, and/or drone (see fig. 2-7 and labels associated with 24a/f).
- Regarding Claim 8. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 1, further comprising a controller operable to be in communication with the chassis, the control component, the plurality of modular components, an actuator, and/or a payload (“remote control station” [0026], the controller is provided through the plug type connections of 16/18/20).
- Regarding Claim 9. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 8, wherein the controller is operable to control and/or receive data from the plurality of modular components via the control component (“remote control station” [0026], “transmission of the control data” [0026], the controller and transmission of data is provided through the plug type connections of 16/18/20).
- Regarding Claim 10. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 8, wherein the controller is operable to control the payload and/or receive data from the payload (“remote control station” [0026], “transmission of the control data” [0026], the controller and transmission of data is provided through the plug type connections of 16/18/20).
- Regarding Claim 11. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 8, wherein the controller is operable to control the payload (24) to explode and/or propel the ballistics after being deployed (“remote control station” [0026], “transmission of the control data” [0026], “drop a bomb” [0024], the controller and transmission of data is provided through the plug type connections of 16/18/20).
- Regarding Claim 12. Grabmeier discloses the modular system of claim 8, wherein the controller is operable to control the flight and/or function(s) of the drone and/or receive data from the drone (1, “guided to the trarget by an operator…in a remote control station” [0026]).
- Regarding Claim 13. Grabmeier discloses a drone system comprising:
a drone (1);
a modular system (illustrated by fig. 1-7) coupled with the drone (1), the modular system including:
a chassis (2) including a coupling mechanism (12/14) operable to removably couple the chassis with a drone (1);
a control component (22/26 with data connections through 16/18/20);
a plurality of modular components (24a/f) operable to be interchangeably coupled with the control component (22/26, illustrated by fig. 2-7), the plurality of modular components (24a/f) operable to be detachably coupled with a payload (24, “releasably mounted” [0022]; the various modular components can fit vary payloads).
- Regarding Claim 14. Grabmeier discloses the drone system of claim 13, wherein the control component (22/26) is operable to provide connectivity, power, and/or control of each of the plurality of modular components (“ejection release unit” [0022]; “container interface unit” [0023]).
- Regarding Claim 15. Grabmeier discloses the drone system of claim 13, wherein each of the plurality of modular components (24a/f) includes one or more actuators (21/23) operable to receive and control the payload (24, “releasably mounted on the ERU by means of holding devices” [0022]).
- Regarding Claim 16. Grabmeier discloses the drone system of claim 15, wherein the actuator (21/23) includes one or more receiving portions operable to detachably couple with the payload (“releasably mounted on the ERU by means of holding devices” [0022]).
- Regarding Claim 17. Grabmeier discloses the drone system of claim 13, wherein the payload (24) includes one or more of the following: explosive charge, ballistic payload, sensor, antenna, radio, camera, speaker, light emitter, and/or drone (see fig. 2-7 and labels associated with 24a/f).
- Regarding Claim 18. Grabmeier discloses the drone system of claim 13, further comprising a controller operable to be in communication with the chassis, the control component, the plurality of modular components, an actuator, and/or a payload (“remote control station” [0026], the controller is provided through the plug type connections of 16/18/20).
- Regarding Claim 19. Grabmeier discloses the drone system of claim 18, wherein the controller is operable to control and/or receive data from the plurality of modular components via the control component (“remote control station” [0026], “transmission of the control data” [0026], the controller and transmission of data is provided through the plug type connections of 16/18/20).
- Regarding Claim 20. Grabmeier discloses the drone system of claim 13, wherein the chassis of the modular system is configured to be retrofit to couple with the drone (“retrofitted” [0012]; “by using such a container, the aircraft can be retrofitted without difficulty” [0013]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in PTO-892.
/TYE WILLIAM ABELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644 29 December 2025