DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12 & 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, line 2: “the frame” should read --the expandable frame--,
Claim 16, line 8: “including flex circuit” should read --including a flex circuit--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the second end region” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the frame” in line 10 and it is unclear if this is the same frame or is a different frame from the “expandable frame” recited in line 4. For examination purposes, these are the same frames and the limitation will be interpreted as “the expandable frame”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the shape” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the base” in line 17 and it is unclear if this is the same base of is a different base from the “non-expandable base” recited in lines 4-5. For examination purposes, these are the same non-expandable bases and the limitation will be interpreted as “the non-expandable base”.
Claims 2-12 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “one or more ablation electrodes” in lines 2-3 and it is unclear if these are the same electrodes or are different electrodes from the “plurality of ablation electrodes” recited in claim 1, from which claim 3 depends. For examination purposes, these are the same electrodes and the limitation will be interpreted as “one or more ablation electrodes of the plurality of ablation electrodes”.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “wherein the flex circuit unfolds” in line 1 and it is unclear if this is to be interpreted as an active method step or as functional language since the claim preamble recites “a medical device” and is therefore an apparatus claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the flex circuit is configured to unfold”.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “wherein the flex circuit folds” in lines 2-3 and it is unclear if this is to be interpreted as an active method step or as functional language since the claim preamble recites “a medical device” and is therefore an apparatus claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the flex circuit is configured to fold”.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “two or more apertures” in line 2 and it is unclear if these are the same apertures or are different apertures from the “plurality of apertures” recited in claim 1, from which claim 12 depends. For examination purposes, these are the same apertures and the limitation will be interpreted as “two or more apertures of the plurality of apertures”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the second end region” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “the scaffold” in line 9 and it is unclear if this is the same scaffold or is a different scaffold from the “expandable scaffold” recited in line 3. For examination purposes, these are the same scaffolds and the limitation will be interpreted as “the expandable scaffold”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the shape” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 14-15 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “the struts” in line 5 and it is unclear if these are the same struts or are different struts from the “plurality of struts” recited in lines 4-5. For examination purposes, these are the same struts and the limitation will be interpreted as “the plurality of struts”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the second end region” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “the frame” in line 8 and it is unclear if this is the same frame or is a different frame from the “expandable frame” recited in line 4. For examination purposes, these are the same frames and the limitation will be interpreted as “the expandable frame”.
Claims 17-20 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 16.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the shape” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 & 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170100187), herein referred to as “Basu” in view of Carpenter et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20100324589), herein referred to as “Carpenter”.
Regarding claim 1, Basu discloses a medical device (Abstract: A catheter adapted for pulmonary vein isolation; [0103]: As understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, the drawings are not necessarily to scale and any feature or combinations of features described in any one embodiment may be incorporated into any other embodiments or combined with any other feature(s) of other embodiments), comprising:
a catheter shaft (catheter shaft 112) including a distal end portion (deflection section 114; see Fig. 1), wherein the distal end portion includes an ablation assembly (distal electrode assembly 15), the ablation assembly including:
an expandable assembly (plurality of spines 17) comprising a unitary structure (wherein the plurality of spines are seen as a unitary structure) that includes a non- expandable base having a length (see Fig. 8A where the proximal ends of spines 17 are grouped together and are straight/unexpanded for a length) and an expandable end region (see Fig. 2A where the spines are shown in the expanded configuration), the unitary structure of the expandable frame being defined by a plurality of struts (spines 17) extending along the length of the non-expandable base and along the expandable end region (see Figs. 3A-3C; [0051]: the assembly 15 is in its deployed configuration with its spines 17 splayed outwardly), the plurality of struts defining a plurality of apertures (spacing between spines 17) along the expandable frame ([0047]: The plurality of spines 17 may range between about three and ten, preferably between about five and eight, each at a generally equi-angular position about the longitudinal axis 19);
an electrical circuit (membrane member 18) coupled to an inner surface of the second end region of the frame ([0047]: a plurality of spines 17 at least partially canopied or covered along their length by a membrane member 18), the electrical circuit including a plurality of ablation electrodes (plurality of surface electrodes 30) coupled thereto ([0053]: a plurality of surface electrodes 30 are printed or otherwise provided on the inner/distal surface 25 of the membrane member 18); and
a push/pull shaft (catheter shaft 112), a distal end region of which is coupled to the electrical circuit (see Fig. 1), and actuation of the push/pull shaft is able to change the shape and/or configuration of the electrical circuit ([0099]: After the distal assembly 15 has reached the desired tissue location, the guiding sheath is pulled proximally to expose the distal assembly 15. Outside of the guiding sheath, the distal assembly 15 assumes the deployed configuration, as shown, for example, in FIG. 2A; wherein the pushing of the catheter shaft is the reciprocal movement of pulling the guiding sheath such that the catheter shaft is seen as also being the push/pull shaft);
wherein the expandable frame is designed to shift from a delivery configuration in which the ablation electrodes face inward from the inner surface of the expandable frame to an expanded configuration in which the ablation electrodes face away from the base of the expandable frame ([0099]: In particular, the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration. After the distal assembly 15 has reached the desired tissue location, the guiding sheath is pulled proximally to expose the distal assembly 15. Outside of the guiding sheath, the distal assembly 15 assumes the deployed configuration, as shown, for example, in FIG. 2A; see Fig. 14 where the electrodes are facing inward from the inner surface of the expandable frame and Fig. 2A shows the electrodes facing away from the base of the expandable frame).
But Basu fails to explicitly disclose that the expandable assembly is an expandable frame.
However, Carpenter discloses an expandable frame (deflector 100, see Figs. 3D-4B; [0075]: Over the wire, the deflector 100 deployment system is guided into position in the aortic arch 12, where the deflector is deployed, for example, by retraction of the sheath 102 (FIG. 4A). The device 100 is then pushed, over the wire 104 in the innominate artery 16, into position securely covering the ostia 17 of the innominate artery 16 and ostia 25 of the left common carotid artery 24 (FIG. 4B)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable assembly of Basu to be an expandable frame, as taught by Carpenter, for the purpose of enabling a deployment catheter to completely encapsulate the deflector prior to removal from the access site and allowing for passage of blood through the deflector (Carpenter: [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Basu discloses wherein the electrical circuit includes a flex circuit ([0053]: In some embodiments, a plurality of surface electrodes 30 are printed or otherwise provided on the inner/distal surface 25 of the membrane member 18, as shown in FIG. 2A; wherein electrodes printed on a flexible membrane is seen as the membrane member 18 being a flex circuit).
Regarding claim 3, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit includes a plurality of leaflets, and wherein each of the plurality of leaflets includes one or more ablation electrodes (see Fig. 2A where each section of membrane member 18 between each spine 17 is seen as a leaflet such that Fig. 2A shows each leaflet including at least one of the electrodes 30; see also Fig. 4A where each leaflet is seen as 46A-46E).
Regarding claim 4, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit includes a plurality of fold lines, and wherein each of the fold lines extends from a perimeter of the flex circuit to a center portion of the flex circuit ([0099]: the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration).
Regarding claim 5, Basu discloses wherein each of the leaflets is separated by one of the plurality of fold lines ([0099]: the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration; see Fig. 14 where a fold line runs along each spine 17 such that the leaflet therebetween each spine is separated by a fold line; see also Fig. 4A where each leaflet is seen as 46A-46E).
Regarding claim 6, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit unfolds along one or more of the fold lines when the expandable frame shifts from the delivery configuration to the expanded configuration ([0051]: In FIG. 3A, the assembly 15 is in its deployed configuration with its spines 17 splayed outwardly and the membrane member 18 unfolded to define a distal concavity CC; [0099]: the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration).
Regarding claim 7, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit is designed to shift from the expanded configuration to the delivery configuration, and wherein the flex circuit folds inward along the fold lines when shifting from the expanded configuration to the delivery configuration ([0051]: In FIG. 3A, the assembly 15 is in its deployed configuration with its spines 17 splayed outwardly and the membrane member 18 unfolded to define a distal concavity CC; [0099]: the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration).
Regarding claim 9, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit includes a pocket formed therein, and wherein at least a portion of the expandable frame is designed to insert into the pocket ([0058]: Each spine is positioned or sandwiched between the layers 40 and 42 of the membrane. Each pocket 46 is formed by sealing the outer and inner periphery edges 24 and 22 and the layers 40 and 42 to each spine along the length of each spine).
Regarding claim 10, Basu discloses wherein the ablation electrodes are designed to ablate tissue utilizing ablation processes selected from the group comprising hypothermic ablation, hyperthermic ablation and athermal ablation ([0053]: the surface electrodes 30 come into contact with regions of the ostium 28 in between those regions contacted by the spines 17 and ring electrodes 20. Thus, depending on placement and arrangement of the surface electrodes 30 on the membrane member 18, a generally full 360 degree circumferential rings or band of ablation can be achieved around the ostium 28 to provide pulmonary vein isolation).
Regarding claim 11, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit forms a continuous surface (inner surface 25) when in the expanded configuration (see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 12, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit is configured to span across two or more apertures of the frame when in the expanded configuration (see Fig. 2A where the membrane member 18 spans across all of the spines 17 such that each aperture/free space between each spine is occupied by the membrane member 18).
Regarding claim 13, Basu discloses a medical device (Abstract: A catheter adapted for pulmonary vein isolation; [0103]: As understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, the drawings are not necessarily to scale and any feature or combinations of features described in any one embodiment may be incorporated into any other embodiments or combined with any other feature(s) of other embodiments), comprising:
a catheter shaft (catheter shaft 112) including a distal end portion (deflection section 114; see Fig. 1);
an expandable assembly (plurality of spines 17) coupled to the distal end portion of the catheter shaft (see Fig. 1), the expandable scaffold comprising a unitary structure (wherein the plurality of spines are seen as a unitary structure) that includes a non-expandable base (see Fig. 8A where the proximal ends of spines 17 are grouped together and are straight/unexpanded for a length) and an expandable end region (see Fig. 2A where the spines are shown in the expanded configuration), wherein the unitary structure of the expandable scaffold is defined by a plurality of struts (spines 17) extending along a length of the non-expandable base and along the expandable end region (see Figs. 3A-3C; [0051]: the assembly 15 is in its deployed configuration with its spines 17 splayed outwardly), the plurality of struts defining a plurality of apertures (spacing between spines 17) along the expandable scaffold ([0047]: The plurality of spines 17 may range between about three and ten, preferably between about five and eight, each at a generally equi-angular position about the longitudinal axis 19);
an ablation pad (membrane member 18) coupled to the second end region of the scaffold ([0047]: a plurality of spines 17 at least partially canopied or covered along their length by a membrane member 18), the ablation pad including a plurality of ablation electrodes (plurality of surface electrodes 30) coupled thereto ([0053]: a plurality of surface electrodes 30 are printed or otherwise provided on the inner/distal surface 25 of the membrane member 18); and
a push/pull shaft (catheter shaft 112), a distal end region of which is coupled to the ablation pad (see Fig. 1), and actuation of the push/pull shaft is able to change the shape and/or configuration of the ablation pad ([0099]: After the distal assembly 15 has reached the desired tissue location, the guiding sheath is pulled proximally to expose the distal assembly 15. Outside of the guiding sheath, the distal assembly 15 assumes the deployed configuration, as shown, for example, in FIG. 2A; wherein the pushing of the catheter shaft is the reciprocal movement of pulling the guiding sheath such that the catheter shaft is seen as also being the push/pull shaft);
wherein the expandable scaffold is designed to shift from a delivery configuration in which at least a portion of the ablation pad is disposed along an inner surface of the expandable scaffold to an expanded configuration in which the ablation pad faces a target tissue site ([0099]: In particular, the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration. After the distal assembly 15 has reached the desired tissue location, the guiding sheath is pulled proximally to expose the distal assembly 15. Outside of the guiding sheath, the distal assembly 15 assumes the deployed configuration, as shown, for example, in FIG. 2A; see Fig. 14 where the electrodes are facing inward from the inner surface of the expandable frame and Fig. 2A shows the electrodes facing away from the base of the expandable frame).
But Basu fails to explicitly disclose that the expandable assembly is an expandable scaffold.
However, Carpenter discloses an expandable scaffold (deflector 100, see Figs. 3D-4B; [0075]: Over the wire, the deflector 100 deployment system is guided into position in the aortic arch 12, where the deflector is deployed, for example, by retraction of the sheath 102 (FIG. 4A). The device 100 is then pushed, over the wire 104 in the innominate artery 16, into position securely covering the ostia 17 of the innominate artery 16 and ostia 25 of the left common carotid artery 24 (FIG. 4B)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable assembly of Basu to be an expandable scaffold, as taught by Carpenter, for the purpose of enabling a deployment catheter to completely encapsulate the deflector prior to removal from the access site and allowing for passage of blood through the deflector (Carpenter: [0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Basu discloses wherein the ablation pad includes a flex circuit ([0053]: In some embodiments, a plurality of surface electrodes 30 are printed or otherwise provided on the inner/distal surface 25 of the membrane member 18, as shown in FIG. 2A; wherein electrodes printed on a flexible membrane is seen as the membrane member 18 being a flex circuit).
Regarding claim 15, Basu discloses wherein the ablation pad includes a plurality of fold lines, and wherein each of the fold lines extends from a perimeter of the ablation pad to a center portion of the ablation pad ([0099]: the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration).
Regarding claim 16, Basu discloses a medical device (Abstract: A catheter adapted for pulmonary vein isolation; [0103]: As understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, the drawings are not necessarily to scale and any feature or combinations of features described in any one embodiment may be incorporated into any other embodiments or combined with any other feature(s) of other embodiments), comprising:
a catheter shaft (catheter shaft 112) including a distal end portion (deflection section 114; see Fig. 1), wherein the distal end portion includes an ablation assembly (distal electrode assembly 15), the ablation assembly including:
an expandable assembly (plurality of spines 17) including a base (proximal ends of spines 17, see Fig. 8A where the base is unexpanded), an end region (see Fig. 2A where the spines are shown in the expanded configuration) and a plurality of struts (spines 17) extending between the base and the end region (see Figs. 3A-3C; [0051]: the assembly 15 is in its deployed configuration with its spines 17 splayed outwardly), the struts defining a plurality of apertures (spacing between spines 17) along the frame ([0047]: The plurality of spines 17 may range between about three and ten, preferably between about five and eight, each at a generally equi-angular position about the longitudinal axis 19); and
an electrical circuit (membrane member 18) coupled to an inner surface of the second end region of the frame ([0047]: a plurality of spines 17 at least partially canopied or covered along their length by a membrane member 18), the electrical circuit including flex circuit ([0053]: In some embodiments, a plurality of surface electrodes 30 are printed or otherwise provided on the inner/distal surface 25 of the membrane member 18, as shown in FIG. 2A; wherein electrodes printed on a flexible membrane is seen as the membrane member 18 being a flex circuit) having a plurality of ablation electrodes (plurality of surface electrodes 30) coupled thereto ([0053]: a plurality of surface electrodes 30 are printed or otherwise provided on the inner/distal surface 25 of the membrane member 18);
wherein the expandable frame is designed to shift from a delivery configuration in which the ablation electrodes face inward from the inner surface of the expandable frame to an expanded configuration in which the ablation electrodes face away from the base of the expandable frame ([0099]: In particular, the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration. After the distal assembly 15 has reached the desired tissue location, the guiding sheath is pulled proximally to expose the distal assembly 15. Outside of the guiding sheath, the distal assembly 15 assumes the deployed configuration, as shown, for example, in FIG. 2A; see Fig. 14 where the electrodes are facing inward from the inner surface of the expandable frame and Fig. 2A shows the electrodes facing away from the base of the expandable frame).
But Basu fails to explicitly disclose that the expandable assembly is an expandable frame.
However, Carpenter discloses an expandable frame (deflector 100, see Figs. 3D-4B; [0075]: Over the wire, the deflector 100 deployment system is guided into position in the aortic arch 12, where the deflector is deployed, for example, by retraction of the sheath 102 (FIG. 4A). The device 100 is then pushed, over the wire 104 in the innominate artery 16, into position securely covering the ostia 17 of the innominate artery 16 and ostia 25 of the left common carotid artery 24 (FIG. 4B)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable assembly of Basu to be an expandable frame, as taught by Carpenter, for the purpose of enabling a deployment catheter to completely encapsulate the deflector prior to removal from the access site and allowing for passage of blood through the deflector (Carpenter: [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit includes a plurality of leaflets, and wherein each of the plurality of leaflets includes one or more of the plurality of ablation electrodes (see Fig. 2A where each section of membrane member 18 between each spine 17 is seen as a leaflet such that Fig. 2A shows each leaflet including at least one of the electrodes 30; see also Fig. 4A where each leaflet is seen as 46A-46E).
Regarding claim 18, Basu discloses wherein the flex circuit includes a plurality of fold lines, and wherein each of the fold lines extends from a perimeter of the flex circuit to a center portion of the flex circuit ([0099]: the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration).
Regarding claim 19, Basu discloses wherein each of the leaflets is separated by one of the plurality of fold lines ([0099]: the spines 17 of the distal assembly 15 are collapsed, as shown in FIG. 14, and generally straightened as much as possible, as shown in FIG. 13, and fed into the proximal end of the guiding sheath. In that regard, the membrane member 18 may be preformed with folds and pleats to facilitate the assembly 15 to assume a collapsed configuration; see Fig. 14 where a fold line runs along each spine 17 such that the leaflet therebetween each spine is separated by a fold line; see also Fig. 4A where each leaflet is seen as 46A-46E).
Regarding claim 20, Basu discloses a push/pull shaft (catheter shaft 112), a distal end region of which is coupled to the electrical circuit (see Fig. 1), and actuation of the push/pull shaft is able to change the shape and/or configuration of the electrical circuit ([0099]: After the distal assembly 15 has reached the desired tissue location, the guiding sheath is pulled proximally to expose the distal assembly 15. Outside of the guiding sheath, the distal assembly 15 assumes the deployed configuration, as shown, for example, in FIG. 2A; wherein the pushing of the catheter shaft is the reciprocal movement of pulling the guiding sheath such that the catheter shaft is seen as also being the push/pull shaft).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu in view of Carpenter, as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Werneth et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20130331831), herein referred to as “Werneth”.
Regarding claim 8, Basu fails to disclose wherein the flex circuit includes a diameter when in the expanded configuration, and wherein the diameter is between 10 mm and 45 mm.
However, Werneth discloses a diameter when in the expanded configuration and wherein the diameter is between 10 mm and 45 mm. ([0061]: Carrier assembly 120, when deployed and flattened against a surface such as an endocardial surface, is preferably about 15 to 30 mm in diameter). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the diameter of Basu in view of Carpenter to the diameter of Werneth for the purpose of generating lesions of appropriate size and shape to treat conditions involving disorganized electrical conduction (e.g., atrial fibrillation) (Werneth: [0031]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL M ZIEGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794