DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the 2nd line of claim 23, “light portions” should be corrected to --light emitting portions--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: light emitting portions in claims 1, 8-14, 16-23; control portions in claims 8-12, 17-21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plurality of pixels" in the last line of the 2nd-to-last paragraph of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8-15 are rendered indefinite at least due to their dependence upon claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “a control portion which controls the plurality of light emitting portions”, while claim 1 has already set forth “a controller configured to control turning on and turning off the plurality of light emitting portions provided at different positions in the rotation direction so as to expose one of the plurality of pixels”. It is unclear whether or not these two limitations are intended to describe the same or different structures.
Claims 9-12 recite “the control portion”.
For examination purposes, the “control portion” in claims 8-12 will be interpreted as the “controller” set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 13-17 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sowa et al. (US 2011/0129245; “Sowa”).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Sowa discloses an image forming apparatus 1 configured to expose a surface ES of a photosensitive member 21 with light to form an electrostatic latent image, and attach toner to the electrostatic latent image to form an image (Figs. 2 & 20 [0080, 0122, 0125-0126]), the image forming apparatus comprising:
an exposure head 29 ([0079]) configured to expose the surface ES of the photosensitive member with light to form the electrostatic latent image and including a light emitting unit that includes:
a substrate 293, a plurality of light emitting portions E that are two-dimensionally arranged in a rotation direction LTD of the photosensitive member and a rotational axis direction LGD of the photosensitive member and are arranged on the substrate at intervals (Figs. 1-2 [0081-0082]); and
a controller HC configured to control turning on and turning off the plurality of light emitting portions provided at different positions in the rotation direction so as to expose one of the plurality of pixels (turning one light emitting portion on while the others are off will expose one pixel; Fig. 16 [0112, 0128]), wherein
the plurality of light emitting portions E are arranged in such a way that a pitch (Dr23 = 42 µm) of the plurality of light emitting portions in the rotation direction is an integer multiple (in this instance, an integer 4) of a resolution pitch (Pdt = 10.533 µm) of the image formed by the image forming apparatus in the rotation direction, and the integer is greater than 1 (Figs. 15-16 [0097, 0108, 0111]).
Regarding claim 8 as best understood, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a control portion HC which controls the plurality of light emitting portions ([0112, 0128]).
Regarding claim 13 as best understood, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of light emitting portions E are arranged in two dimensions in the direction of the rotational axis and in the direction orthogonal thereto (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14 as best understood, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein among the plurality of light emitting portions E, the light emitting portions that are adjacent to each other in the orthogonal direction are arranged so as to be offset from one another in the direction of the rotational axis (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15 as best understood, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of light emitting portions are organic ELs ([0082]).
Regarding claim 16, Sowa discloses an image forming apparatus 1 for forming an image on a recording medium (Fig. 20 [0122]), comprising:
a rotating photosensitive drum 21 (with exposed surface ES) (Fig. 2 [0080, 0125]); and
a plurality of light emitting portions E (Fig. 5 [0081]), each of which emits light that exposes the photosensitive drum ES (Fig. 1), the plurality of light emitting portions E arranged in a direction LGD of a rotational axis of the photosensitive member and in a direction LTD orthogonal to the rotational axis (Fig. 1 [0079]), wherein
the resolution pitch (Pdt = 10.533 µm) of the image in the orthogonal direction is 1/N (in this instance, N ≈ 4) times the pitch (Dr23 = 42 µm) of the plurality of light-emitting portions E arranged in the orthogonal direction and N is an integer of 2 or greater (Figs. 15-16 [0097, 0108, 0111]).
Regarding claim 17, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 16, further comprising a control portion HC which controls the plurality of light emitting portions ([0123]).
Regarding claim 22, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of light emitting portions E are arranged in two dimensions in the direction of the rotational axis and in the direction orthogonal thereto (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein among the plurality of light emitting portions E, the light portions that are adjacent to each other in the orthogonal direction are arranged so as to be offset from one another in the direction of the rotational axis (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 24, Sowa discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of light emitting portions are organic ELs ([0082]).
Double Patenting
Claims rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-9, 12-12, 15-18, 21, 22, and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,259,666 (“the patent”) in view of Sowa (US 2011/0129245). Note that differences in wording occur between the patent and the outstanding claims, but the scope remains the same.
Regarding outstanding claim 1: claim 1 of the patent claims an image forming apparatus configured to expose a surface of a photosensitive member with light to form an electrostatic latent image, and attach toner to the electrostatic latent image to form an image, the image forming apparatus comprising: an exposure head configured to expose the surface of the photosensitive member with light to form the electrostatic latent image and including a light emitting unit that includes: a substrate, a plurality of light emitting portions (electrodes) that are two-dimensionally arranged in a rotation direction of the photosensitive member and a rotational axis direction of the photosensitive member and are arranged on the substrate at intervals; and a controller configured to control
Claim 1 of the patent does not explicitly claim the controller configured to control turning on and turning off the plurality of light emitting portions.
Sowa teaches controlling turning on and off a plurality of light emitting portions E ([0103]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim the controller configured to control turning on and turning off the plurality of light emitting portions. One would have been motivated to do so in order to accurately control the lighting of individual pixels for the lighting unit to function as intended.
Regarding outstanding claim 16, claim 1 of the patent claims image forming apparatus i.e., a pitch of the plurality of electrodes included in the first electrode layer in the rotation direction is an integer multiple of a resolution of the image formed by the image forming apparatus in the rotation direction, and the integer is greater than one).
The patent does not explicitly claim the apparatus for forming an image on a recording medium and the photosensitive drum rotating.
These are extremely well known in the art.
Sowa teaches a similar apparatus for forming an image on a recording medium and including a rotating photosensitive drum ([0123, 0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim these limitations. One would have been motivated to do so in order for the image forming apparatus to function as intended.
The correlation between the outstanding dependent claims and the patent claims are as follows:
Outstanding claim
8
9
12
13
15
17
18
21
22
24
Patent claim
1
8
8
1
5
1
8
8
1
5
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852