DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendments overcome the pending rejections under §112, and the relevant rejections are withdrawn; the amendments, however, constitute new matter and therefore an appropriate rejection is provided below. Applicant traverses the rejections under §§102 and 103 by way of amendment, asserting that the amendments overcome the prior art. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s substantive traversal of the prior art rejections begins on page 11 of the Remarks. Applicant appears to present three arguments: (1) the coil assemblies of Vondrell are not independently connectable to the load; (2) the coil assemblies of Vondrell must “be of the same voltage” due to their connected to a “common” bus; and (3) the subset of coil assemblies (i.e., “a first coil assembly”) is “electronically” configured to generate more current and/or voltage than other subsets of coil assemblies.
With respect to the first argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s conclusions. While Vondrell does disclose independent connection of the coil assemblies 318 to an electric bus, this inherently results in the coil assemblies also being independently connectable to the load. If coil assembly 318A is not connected to the electric bus, it is also not connected to the load. The same logic follows for assemblies 318B and 318C. The present claims do not recite, suggest, or otherwise require a direct connection between the coil assemblies and the load, and thus independent connection to an electric bus which is also connected to the load is more than adequate to anticipate the instant limitation as amended. As such, the first argument cannot be considered persuasive.
With respect to the second argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s conclusions. First, Vondrell is completely silent with respect to the voltage output by each of the coil assemblies. While Applicant argues that connection of the coil assemblies to a shared electrical bus inherently requires that the coil assemblies share an output voltage, this argument cannot be persuasive because the scope of the amended subject matter is broader than just voltage. Indeed, if the currents output to the shared bus of Vondrell are different, or capable of being different, then Applicant’s arguments are inadequate to support the scope of the claims as amended. Notably, Applicant does not argue that the coil assemblies of Vondrell must output the same current.
As Vondrell is silent with respect to the current output of each coil assembly, and as Applicant does not present any arguments that Vondrell cannot have differing current outputs, Examiner need only find a reference that teaches an adjustment of current output for one or more coil assemblies. Bailey explicitly contemplates differing windings within the stator cores of two or more stators (i.e., “a first” and “a second coil assembly”) can be “different and can produce different…amperage-to-voltage ratios when energized by the magnetic field of the rotor” (para. [0004]). Since, as noted by Applicant, the voltages of Vondrell must be the same, Bailey’s teaching of different amperage-to-voltage ratios is sufficient to teach a first coil assembly having a different current output than a second coil assembly. The difference is also sufficient to disclose the first coil assembly having a “larger” current output because designation of “first” and “second” assemblies is arbitrary based on the instant claim language. Thus, the applied prior art remains sufficient to teach the instant limitations.
With respect to the third argument, Examiner first notes that Applicant has not pointed to any support in the disclosure as filed for the newly added limitations. Applicant now recites “wherein a first coil assembly…is electronically configured to generate more current and/or voltage than a second coil assembly….” There does not appear to be support for this claim scope in the disclosure as filed.
The only substantive discussion of coils having differing currents and/or voltages is found in paragraphs [0087-89] which discuss FIGS 10A and 10B. In para. [0087], Applicant states that sets of coil assemblies 124 may be grouped together to generate “multiple voltages and/or currents.” In para. [0088], Applicant states that a first set of coil assemblies “are configured to generate a different current and/or voltage than a second set of coil assemblies.” Notably missing from this disclosure is any suggestion or disclosure that the configuration is electronic.
The discussion of para. [0087] contemplates the formation of electrically connected groups of coil assemblies wherein the group outputs a different voltage and/or current than other assemblies or groups thereof. This is not the same as the coil assemblies being “electronically configured” to have different currents and/or voltages. Indeed, the very nature of the coil assemblies as discussed in para. [0087] suggests that the coil assemblies, individually, have identical currents and/or voltages. Were this not the case, there would be no need to group coil assemblies to create distinct current and/or voltage outputs.
The discussion of para. [0088], on the other hand, clearly establishes that individual coil assemblies may have different current and/or voltage outputs. This, however, would appear to be accomplished by different physical configurations of the pertinent coil assemblies rather than some form of “electronic” control or configuration. Such a difference in a physical parameter does not constitute an “electronic” configuration; instead, the difference between the coil assemblies as contemplated in para. [0088] amounts to a physical configuration of the coils that results in differing electrical properties. As a result, Applicant’s amended limitations constitute new matter.
Even assuming, arguendo, that some form of “electronic control” or “electronic configuration” were supported by the disclosure as filed, Applicant’s conclusion that Bailey fails to teach such a configuration would still be unpersuasive. While Applicant has correctly stated that Bailey employs a physical modular system wherein different coil assembly outputs are achieved by physically moving the coils and/or magnets of the electric machine, the physical movements are implemented by an electric controller. As such, the controller “electronically configures” the coil assemblies to move to positions where the current and/or voltage is altered. While this is transparently different than Applicant’s intended “configuration” where different coils have different physical configurations, such is not currently recited or otherwise required by the claims. Instead, all that is required is for the first coil assembly to be “electronically configured” to generator more current and/or voltage than the second coil assembly. A controller which issues an electronic control signal that causes an actuator to change a configuration of the coil assembly is more than sufficient to read on the amended limitation.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a different physical configuration of coil assemblies such that the differing coil assemblies have different electrical properties, including different current and/or voltage outputs) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In view of the foregoing, Examiner finds that the applied prior art remains applicable for appropriately rejecting the amended claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of amended claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9-19, 21-25, 27-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As discussed above, each of the amended independent claims now recite “a first coil assembly…is electronically configured to generate more current and/or voltage….” The disclosure as filed does not provide support for this scope. The word “electronically” does not appear anywhere in the disclosure as originally filed. The word “electronic” does not appear anywhere in the disclosure as filed. While the word “electronics” appears twice, each instance refers to elements other than the coil assemblies. The only discussion of “configuration” of the coil assemblies generally states that the first coil assembly is “configured,” but not “electronically configured,” to generate a different current and/or voltage than a second coil assembly.
Thus, the disclosure as originally filed would need to disclose, at minimum, some means for “electronically” configuring the coil assemblies. Examiner can find no such means. Indeed, the only “configuration” which seems to be supported by the disclosure as filed is a physical configuration of windings in each coil assembly such that the coil assemblies have different electrical characteristics. While the disclosure provides support for grouping coil assemblies, this is not inherently the same as a first coil assembly being electronically configured to have a different output than a second coil assembly. Indeed, even this portion of the disclosure fails to evidence any form of “electronically” controlling the coils to have differing outputs.
As Applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported within the disclosure as originally filed, nor is there any apparent portion of the disclosure as filed which would provide support for “electronically” configuring the first coil assembly, the relevant limitations are appropriately rejected as new matter for failure to comply with the written description requirement. All pending claims, save for claim 30, recite or depend from claim which recites the new matter and are therefore rejected for the reasons above.
Claim 31 is also further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant recites “a series of isolated battery banks, each battery bank being independently connectable to each coil assembly of the set of coil assemblies.” Applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported within the disclosure as originally filed, nor is there any apparent portion of the disclosure as filed which would provide support for “a series of isolated battery banks” or “each battery bank being independently connectable to each coil assembly of the set of coil assemblies.”
The only references to battery banks of the instant application are found in paragraphs [0061] and [0067]. Neither of these paragraphs disclose or suggest that the battery banks are in any way “isolated” from any other element. It is not even apparent what Applicant means by “isolated” because the term can have numerous meanings in context of the amended claim. For example, the batteries may be “isolated” from the engine by virtue of physical separation. The batteries could be “isolated” from each other within the same battery bank by a physical separation. The battery banks could be electrically shielded and, thus, “isolated” from other battery banks or power transmission means. It is evident that there is not support for “isolated” battery banks within the disclosure as filed because Applicant does not point to any support for the limitation and there is no clear scope for what “isolated” means within the disclosure as filed.
Additionally, neither of paragraphs [0061] or [0067] disclose or suggest that the batteries themselves are independently connectable to any other portion of the system. Indeed, the only elements recited as having independent connection are the coil assemblies. Even assuming that there were support for independent connection of the batteries themselves, Vondrell would nonetheless disclose the new limitations because the coil assemblies are independently connectable to the electrical bus, and the battery banks are connected to the electrical bus. If the coil assemblies may be independently connected to the electrical bus, they are also independently connected to any element connected to the electrical bus.
As Applicant fails to point to any support for the newly added claim limitations, and as there is no apparent support for said limitations in the disclosure as originally filed, claim 31 is appropriately rejected under §112 for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 10, 12-14, 16-19, 24, 25, 27, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0334258 (“Vondrell”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,479,037 (“Bailey”).
Regarding claim 1, Vondrell discloses:
An inline electro-mechanical power converter (FIGS 1-7), comprising:
a first magnet support structure (FIG 4:324, rotor core) connectable to at least one of a power output shaft (FIG 2:124) driven by an engine (“turbofan engine”) or a thrust force generator (FIG 2:104; FIG 6:362),
the first magnet support structure extending radially from the least one of the power output shaft and the thrust force generator (FIGS 4 and 5; rotor core 324 extends radially outward relative to the driveshaft 312) and
being configured to rotate directly with the at least one of the power output shaft or the thrust force generator when the first magnet support structure is connected to the at least one of the power output shaft and the thrust force generator (para. [0066] discusses the rotor being rotationally driven);
a first set of magnets (FIG 4:314) positioned radially on the first magnet support structure (see FIG 5); and
a set of coil assemblies (FIG 4:318A-C) secured to a coil support frame (stator 306, housing 308) in an annular array (see FIG 5 depicting annular arrangement of coil assemblies) , the set of coil assemblies being positioned adjacent to the first set of magnets (as shown), the first set of magnets generating an electric current in the set of coil assemblies when the magnet support structure is rotated relative to the set of coil assemblies (para. [0066]);
wherein the set of coil assemblies includes two or more coil assemblies (318A-C), each of the coil assemblies being independently connectable (as discussed above, independent connection to the electric bus inheres independent connection to any load connected to the bus because the claims do not recite or require direct connection between the coil assemblies and the load) to a load (FIGS 1 and 2, electrical cable 60 connects the coil assemblies to a load, such as energy storage devices 55; para. [0051-52]) for providing power to the load when the first magnet support structure is rotated relative to the set of coil assemblies (para. [0066]).
Vondrell does not disclose each subset of coil assemblies being configured to output different currents and/or voltages relative to each other.
Bailey discloses a variable electric machine that comprises a plurality of stator assemblies (FIG 2, stator assemblies 110, 112) each being configured to provide different “power, torque, amperage, and/or voltage capacities and efficiencies” (col. 9, ll. 42-45) for the purposes of providing improved output and efficiency across a variety of usage circumstances (col. 21, ll. 36-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (prior to the effective filing date) to modify Vondrell such that each stator assembly has a differing output configuration, such as a different output current, for the purposes of enabling the generator to respond more efficiently to different possible usage scenarios and circumstances.
Regarding claim 2, Vondrell in view of Bailey (“the first combination”) discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the first magnet support structure (rotor core 316) is configured to be secured to the power output shaft (driveshaft 312, as shown in FIG 4).
Regarding claim 4, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and Vondrell further discloses the thrust force generator being a propeller (see FIGS 2, 3, 6, and 7).
Regarding claim 5, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and Vondrell further discloses the load being a battery bank (para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 6, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5 and Vondrell further discloses each of the subset of coil assemblies being configured to independently connect (para. [0071]; “each of the plurality of winding assemblies 318…is separately in electrical communication with the power bus 364”; as each subset is independently connected to the power bus, and the power bus delivers power to the energy storage device 55, each subset of coil assemblies may be plausibly and reasonably interpreted as being “configured to independently connect to the battery bank” in any mode of operation) to the battery bank (energy storage device 55) to recharge the battery bank in a recharging mode (inherent, para. [0052]; energy storage device is configured to receive power from generator 56, thus it is configured to be recharged by the generator; as such, there must inherently be a “mode” for recharging the battery, i.e., “a recharging mode”).
Regarding claim 10, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the load is at least one a battery bank (para. [0052]), wherein the at least one of the power output shaft or the thrust force generator (inherent; as the power shaft provides mechanical power to the rotor, which in turn generates power in the coil assemblies, which in turn deliver power to the battery, the power output shaft may be interpreted as providing power to the battery via the rotor and coil assemblies) is configured to provide power to the at least one battery bank in a recharging mode (see the rejection of claim 6, above), and, in a drive mode, is configured to energize the set of coil assembles to apply a torque force on the power output shaft (para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the load being an accessory (energy storage devices 55 are an accessory component of the aircraft, thus Vondrell discloses the load being “an accessory” as presently recited).
Regarding claims 13, 14, 16, 17, and 18, Applicant merely recites an aircraft having an inline electro-mechanical power converter according to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6, respectively. The first combination discloses an inline electro-mechanical power converter as recited by claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6, as discussed above. Vondrell further discloses the use of such in an aircraft (see FIG 1). As such, Examiner finds that the rejections of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6, apply, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matters of claims 13, 14, 16, 17, and 18, respectively.
Regarding claim 19, the first combination discloses the subject matter as set forth in claim 18 and Vondrell further discloses each subset in the set of coil assemblies consists of one coil assembly (the first subset corresponds to, e.g., 318A while the second subset corresponds to, e.g., 318B).
Regarding claim 24, Applicant merely recites the subject matter of claims 1 and 6 in an alternative embodiment (which omits the subject matter of claim 5). As Vondrell discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 6, as discussed above, Examiner finds that the rejections of claim 1 and 6 apply, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter of claim 24.
Regarding claims 25 and 27, Applicant merely recites the subject matter of claims 7 and 2, respectively. As Vondrell discloses the limitations of claims 7 and 2, as discussed above, Examiner finds that the rejections of claim 7 and 2 apply, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter of claims 25 and 27, respectively.
Regarding claim 31, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 10 and Vondrell further discloses the load being a series (para. [0052], “one or more energy storage devices”) of isolated (by physical space, as shown in FIG 1 where batteries 55 are physically separated from generators in engines 52) battery banks (para. [0052] “such as one or more batteries”), each battery bank being independently connectable to each coil assembly of the set of coil assemblies (as discussed above, the coil assemblies are independently connectable to the electrical bus and, thus, independently connectable to any load on the electrical bus).
Claim(s) 3 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first combination as applied to claims 1 and 24, respectively, above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0205998 (“Seibicke”).
Regarding claim 3, the first combination does not disclose one or more cooling fans positioned to cool the one or more coil assemblies. Seibicke discloses a generator having a plurality of fans (FIG 1:6A, 6B) each driven by a separate electric motor (22A, 22B) for cooling the coil assemblies (21) of the generator stator (paras. [0018-20]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (prior to the effective filing date) to modify Vondrell to include a plurality of fans configured to cool the coil windings of the stator in Vondrell for the purposes of dissipating heat that would otherwise accumulate during operation of the generator. Claim 28 recites substantially similar limitations and, thus, Examiner finds that the rejection of claim 3 applies, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter of claim 28.
Claim(s) 11, 15, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first combination as applied to claims 10 and 16, respectively, and further in view of common knowledge in the art.
Regarding claim 11, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 10 and further discloses the inline power converter is configured to energize the set of coil assemblies to apply a torque force on the power output shaft (para. [0066]) but does not explicitly disclose doing so “to start the engine.” As is evident, “to start the engine” is nothing more than an intended use of the configuration of the inline power converter. Those of ordinary skill would recognize and appreciate that, in order for an electric machine (i.e., the “generator” 56 of Vondrell) to function as a starting device for its connected engine, it must be configured to receive electrical power to the stator coils which, in turn, creates a rotation of the machine rotor. Thus, the only difference between Vondrell and the instant limitations is the express desire to utilize the system in a starting function. It is well-known in the art to utilize an inline electric machine as a starting element for a corresponding engine. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (prior to the effective filing date) to modify Vondrell to use the electric machine 56 not only as a driving means for the propulsion element, but also as a starting means for the engine because Vondrell already discloses all of the requisite elements to do so.
Regarding claim 15, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 13 but does not disclose at least one of the power output shaft or the thrust force generator including a set of cooling fans positioned to cool the set of coil assemblies.
It is well-known in the art than fan blades may be mounted on the rotary shaft of, e.g., an electric machine for the purposes of generating airflow over the stator coils of the electric machine in order to provide a cooling effect for the stator coils.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (prior to the effective filing date) to modify Vondrell to further include fan blades affixed to the rotary shaft thereof for the purposes of inducing a cooling airflow over the stator coils of the electric machine in Vondrell.
Regarding claim 22, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 16 and further discloses the load being a battery bank and the rotation of the first magnet support structure charging the batteries in a recharge mode (see the rejection of claims 5 and 6, above) but does not disclose the aircraft further comprising a vertical thrust fan that is driven, at least in part, by the battery bank in a drive mode. It is well-known in the art that aircraft may comprise vertical thrust fans for the purpose of assisting in take-off and landing (e.g., VTOL aircraft), and it is furthermore well-known that vertical thrust fans of a VTOL aircraft may be powered, at least in part, by a battery located on the aircraft. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (prior to the effective filing date) to modify Vondrell to further incorporate a vertical thrust fan powered, at least in part, by the battery of Vondrell for the purposes of assisting in take-off and/or landing of the aircraft contemplated by Vondrell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 21, 23, 29, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, taken alone or in reasonable combination with others, fails to disclose a plurality of stator cooling fans configured to be electrically driven by the stator assemblies which they provide a cooling function for.
Regarding claims 9, 21, and 29, the closest art of record is Seibicke (cited above). As discussed, Seibicke contemplates a generator having cooling fans configured to cool winding assemblies of the stator. Each of the cooling fans is provided with its own electric motor. Seibicke does not, however, specify where power for the fan motors originates. In paragraph [0018], Seibicke states that these fan motors are “not dependent on the rotation of rotor 2….” From this we can reasonably infer that power for said fans would not derive from the stator itself, as power output from the stator is dependent on rotation of rotor 2. Thus, it cannot be reasonably interpreted or otherwise inferred that the fan motors of Seibicke are powered “by a corresponding subset of coil assemblies” that the cooling fans “are positioned to cool.”
Regarding claim 23, the rejection above details the battery and storage of power therein. Examiner is unable to find any further references that provide a motivation to limit the charge capacity of the battery bank to an amount less than the total power required to power the vertical thrust fan during both take-off and landing, collectively.
Regarding claim 30, Applicant has drafted a new claim that effectively rewrites original claim 9 in independent form including the base claim (original claim 1) and any intervening claims (original claims 5 and 6). Claim 9 was previously indicated as allowable, therefore new claim 30 is allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS K QUIGLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834