DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR20180068175A – see translation for citations below) in view of Kang (CN102931993A – see translation for citations below).
As to claim 1, An teaches a display driver integrated circuit (see at least [0026] “an electroluminescent display device.. may include a display panel (10), a driver IC (D-IC) (20), a compensation IC (30), a host system (40), and a storage memory (50).”; [0035] “The driver IC (D-IC) (20) is connected to the data line (140) of the display panel…”), comprising:
an input port configured to receive a display sensing signal for a display panel (see at least [0029] “The electrical characteristics of the pixels (PXL) can be sensed through the data line (140).”; [0059] “During the sensing period (Ts), the driving current flowing through the driving TFT (DT) is input to the sensing unit (22) via the second switch TFT (ST2), the data line (140), and the switching unit (SWC).”; [0061] “the sensor (21)… can receive and sense the electrical characteristics of the pixels (PXL)… through the data lines (140)….”);
a first circuit configured to generate a sensing data indicative of the display sensing signal, wherein the sensing data comprises an analog sensing data (see at least [0115] “the sensing unit (SUT) can operate as a current integrator capable of sensing the driving current flowing through the pixel.”; [0116] “The sensing unit (SUT) converts the driving current flowing through the pixels (PXL) into voltage and supplies this voltage to the sample and hold (SHA). Sample and Hold (SHA) samples the voltage input from the Sensing Unit (SUT) and supplies the sampled voltage to the ADC as analog sensing data.”);
a second circuit coupled to the memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the memory and to generate a display compensation signal based on the received analog sensing data (see at least [0068] “The compensation IC (30) calculates an offset and a gain for each pixel based on the first characteristic data (C-DATA) and the second characteristic data (S-DATA) read from the storage memory (50)…”; [0077] “The compensation unit (31) can calculate an offset and gain…”; [0079] “The compensation unit (31) corrects the digital image data…” – note after substitution of Kang’s RRAM (see below), the compensation circuit would receive analog sensing data retrieved from the RRAM); and
an output port coupled to the second circuit to transmit the display compensation signal to the display panel (see at least [0048] “the voltage generation unit (23) converts the corrected image data (V-DATA) into an analog gamma voltage… and supplies the conversion result to the data lines (140) as a display data voltage (Vdata-DIS). .. the data voltage for the display (Vdata-DIS)… is applied to the pixels (PXL).”).
An stores sensing information but does not expressly disclose storing analog sensing data in a resistive random access memory RRAM.
Kang teaches a resistive random access memory coupled to the first circuit and configured to store the analog sensing data (see at least [0011] “The data sample and hold unit is used to sample data, obtain analog voltage signals, and store analog voltage signals.”; [0014] “The data holding unit includes a resistive random access memory.”; [0024] “S2. Using the resistive switching memory… to store analog voltage signals.”; [0040] “Since the resistance of RRAM can be changed approximately continuously… it can be considered to have the potential to store analog signals.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the storage memory of An with the analog RRAM storage of Kang because Kang teaches known advantages of RRAM including long retention time ([0030] “data retention time can be as long as 10 years”), high speed, low operating voltage, and high storage density ([0039]). Because Kang teaches storing sensing information directly as analog values in RRAM without requiring immediate conversion into digital form, one skilled in the art would have recognized that the storage memory of An could be implemented using Kang’s RRAM while preserving An’s compensation functionality. The compensation circuitry of An already receives sensing information retrieved from memory to generate display compensation values ([0068], [0077], [0079]). Accordingly, substituting Kang’s RRAM for An’s storage memory would permit the compensation circuitry to operate using analog sensing information retrieved from memory while achieving the known advantages of RRAM storage. Such substitution of one known memory technology for another known memory technology performing the same storage function would have yielded predictable results.
As to claim 17, An teaches a display device, comprising: a display panel; and a display driver integrated circuit coupled to the display panel to control the display panel (see at least [0026] “an electroluminescent display device.. may include a display panel (10), a driver IC (D-IC) (20), a compensation IC (30), a host system (40), and a storage memory (50).”; [0035] “The driver IC (D-IC) (20) is connected to the data line (140) of the display panel…”),
wherein the display driver integrated circuit comprises:
an input port configured to receive a display sensing signal for a display panel (see at least [0029] “The electrical characteristics of the pixels (PXL) can be sensed through the data line (140).”; [0059] “During the sensing period (Ts), the driving current flowing through the driving TFT (DT) is input to the sensing unit (22) via the second switch TFT (ST2), the data line (140), and the switching unit (SWC).”; [0061] “the sensor (21)… can receive and sense the electrical characteristics of the pixels (PXL)… through the data lines (140)….”);
a first circuit configured to generate a sensing data indicative of the display sensing signal, wherein the sensing data comprises an analog sensing data (see at least [0115] “the sensing unit (SUT) can operate as a current integrator capable of sensing the driving current flowing through the pixel.”; [0116] “The sensing unit (SUT) converts the driving current flowing through the pixels (PXL) into voltage and supplies this voltage to the sample and hold (SHA). Sample and Hold (SHA) samples the voltage input from the Sensing Unit (SUT) and supplies the sampled voltage to the ADC as analog sensing data.”);
a second circuit coupled to the memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the memory and to generate a display compensation signal based on the received analog sensing data (see at least [0068] “The compensation IC (30) calculates an offset and a gain for each pixel based on the first characteristic data (C-DATA) and the second characteristic data (S-DATA) read from the storage memory (50)…”; [0077] “The compensation unit (31) can calculate an offset and gain…”; [0079] “The compensation unit (31) corrects the digital image data…” – note after substitution of Kang’s RRAM (see below), the compensation circuit would receive analog sensing data retrieved from the RRAM); and
an output port coupled to the second circuit to transmit the display compensation signal to the display panel (see at least [0048] “the voltage generation unit (23) converts the corrected image data (V-DATA) into an analog gamma voltage… and supplies the conversion result to the data lines (140) as a display data voltage (Vdata-DIS). .. the data voltage for the display (Vdata-DIS)… is applied to the pixels (PXL).”).
An stores sensing information but does not expressly disclose storing analog sensing data in a resistive random access memory RRAM.
Kang teaches a resistive random access memory coupled to the first circuit and configured to store the analog sensing data (see at least [0011] “The data sample and hold unit is used to sample data, obtain analog voltage signals, and store analog voltage signals.”; [0014] “The data holding unit includes a resistive random access memory.”; [0024] “S2. Using the resistive switching memory… to store analog voltage signals.”; [0040] “Since the resistance of RRAM can be changed approximately continuously… it can be considered to have the potential to store analog signals.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the storage memory of An with the analog RRAM storage of Kang because Kang teaches known advantages of RRAM including long retention time ([0030] “data retention time can be as long as 10 years”), high speed, low operating voltage, and high storage density ([0039]). Because Kang teaches storing sensing information directly as analog values in RRAM without requiring immediate conversion into digital form, one skilled in the art would have recognized that the storage memory of An could be implemented using Kang’s RRAM while preserving An’s compensation functionality. The compensation circuitry of An already receives sensing information retrieved from memory to generate display compensation values ([0068], [0077], [0079]). Accordingly, substituting Kang’s RRAM for An’s storage memory would permit the compensation circuitry to operate using analog sensing information retrieved from memory while achieving the known advantages of RRAM storage. Such substitution of one known memory technology for another known memory technology performing the same storage function would have yielded predictable results.
As to claim 2, the combination of An and Kang teach the display driver integrated circuit of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the first circuit comprises: an integrator amplifier coupled to the input port, and configured to convert the display sensing signal to a sensed voltage signal; and a first voltage amplifier coupled to the integrator amplifier and configured to amplify the sensed voltage signal to generate the analog sensing data based on resistive states of the resistive random access memory (see An at least [0115] “the sensing unit (SUT) can operate as a current integrator capable of sensing the driving current flowing through the pixel (PXL).”; [0116] “The sensing unit (SUT) converts the driving current flowing through the pixels (PXL) into voltage and supplies this voltage to the sample and hold (SHA). Sample and Hold (SHA) samples the voltage… and supplies the sampled voltage to the ADC as analog sensing data.”; [0121] “Such a sensing unit (SUT) may include an amplifier (AMP)… and a feedback capacitor (Cf).”; [0123] “The sensing switch (SS) and the feedback capacitor (Cf) are connected in parallel…”; and Kang at least [0040] “Since the resistance of RRAM can be changed approximately continuously… it can… store analog signals.”; [0051] “S2. The analog voltage signal is stored using the resistive random access memory…” – note amplifier generates sensed voltage (An), RRAM resistive state represents stored analog magnitude (Kang), and stored analog value is read out as analog sensing data).
As to claim 3, the combination of An and Kang teach the display driver integrated circuit of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the first circuit is configured to convert the display sensing signal to a sensed current signal and convert the sensed current signal to generate the analog sensing data based on resistive states of the resistive random access memory (see An at least [0059] “the driving current flowing through the driving TFT (DT) is input to the sensing unit.”; [0116] “The sensing unit (SUT) converts the driving current… into voltage… Sample and Hold (SHA)… supplies the sampled voltage to the ADC as analog sensing data.”; and Kang at least [0032] “Figure 1 shows the change in resistance of the RRAM device as a function of the height of the applied positive pulse when the device is in a high impedance state.”; [0033] “Figure 2 shows the resistance of the RRAM device as a function of the applied negative pulse height when the device is in a low-resistance state.”; [0039] “the transition of a resistive switching material from a high-resistivity state to a low-resistivity state is called Program or SET, and the transition from a low-resistivity state to a high-resistivity state is called ERAZE or RESET.”; [0041] “transition from a high-resistivity state to a low-resistivity state or from a low-resistivity state to a high-resistivity state.”; [0042]; [0055]).
As to claim 5, the combination of An and Kang teach the display driver integrated circuit of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the display compensation signal is a display compensation voltage signal (see An at least [0048] “converts the corrected image data… into an analog gamma voltage. .. supplies… data voltage for the display (Vdata-DIS).”).
As to claim 6, the combination of An and Kang teach the display driver integrated circuit of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the resistive random access memory is configured to operate in a mixed digital-analog mode, and the sensing data further comprises digital sensing data (see An at least [0064] “The ADC converts the analog sampling signal… into a digital signal… and outputs second characteristic data (S-DATA).”; [0116] “supplies the sampled voltage to the ADC as analog sensing data”; and Kang at least [0011] “obtain .. and store analog voltage signals”; [0025] “the resistive switching memory is compared with a reference current, and the analog voltage signal is quantized based on the comparison result”; [0026] “Encode .. to obtain digital signal.”).
As to claim 18, the combination of An and Kang teach the display device of claim 17 (see above rejection), wherein the first circuit comprises: an integrator amplifier coupled to the input port, and configured to convert the display sensing signal to a sensed voltage signal; and a first voltage amplifier coupled to the integrator amplifier and configured to amplify the sensed voltage signal to generate the analog sensing data based on resistive states of the resistive random access memory (see An at least [0115] “the sensing unit (SUT) can operate as a current integrator capable of sensing the driving current flowing through the pixel (PXL).”; [0116] “The sensing unit (SUT) converts the driving current flowing through the pixels (PXL) into voltage and supplies this voltage to the sample and hold (SHA). Sample and Hold (SHA) samples the voltage… and supplies the sampled voltage to the ADC as analog sensing data.”; [0121] “Such a sensing unit (SUT) may include an amplifier (AMP)… and a feedback capacitor (Cf).”; [0123] “The sensing switch (SS) and the feedback capacitor (Cf) are connected in parallel…”; and Kang at least [0040] “Since the resistance of RRAM can be changed approximately continuously… it can… store analog signals.”; [0051] “S2. The analog voltage signal is stored using the resistive random access memory…”).
As to claim 19, the combination of An and Kang teach the display device of claim 17 (see above rejection), wherein the first circuit is configured to convert the display sensing signal to a sensed current signal and convert the sensed current signal to generate the analog sensing data based on resistive states of the resistive random access memory (see An at least [0059] “the driving current flowing through the driving TFT (DT) is input to the sensing unit.”; [0116] “The sensing unit (SUT) converts the driving current… into voltage… Sample and Hold (SHA)… supplies the sampled voltage to the ADC as analog sensing data.”; and Kang at least [0032] “Figure 1 shows the change in resistance of the RRAM device as a function of the height of the applied positive pulse when the device is in a high impedance state.”; [0033] “Figure 2 shows the resistance of the RRAM device as a function of the applied negative pulse height when the device is in a low-resistance state.”; [0039] “the transition of a resistive switching material from a high-resistivity state to a low-resistivity state is called Program or SET, and the transition from a low-resistivity state to a high-resistivity state is called ERAZE or RESET.”; [0041] “transition from a high-resistivity state to a low-resistivity state or from a low-resistivity state to a high-resistivity state.”; [0042]; [0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
For claims 4 and 20, the closest prior art is Nie (USPN 2019/0156747 - [0022], [0023], [0061]) which teaches amplifying live sensed analog signals prior, but not analog sensing data retrieved from memory.
For claims 7-16, the closest prior art is An (KR20180068175A - [0064], [0068], [0079]) which teaches obtaining characteristic data per pixel and calculates offset/gain but does not clearly disclose: separate analog sensing data for one display-pixel driving element, separate digital sensing data for another display-pixel driving element, and using digital sensing data stored in mixed-mode RRAM to derive a compensation value that controls display operation.
Therefore, none of the prior art of record teach:
“A display driver integrated circuit, comprising:
an input port configured to receive a display sensing signal for a display panel;
a first circuit configured to generate a sensing data indicative of the display sensing signal, wherein the sensing data comprises an analog sensing data;
a resistive random access memory coupled to the first circuit and configured to store the analog sensing data;
a second circuit coupled to the resistive random access memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the resistive random access memory and to generate a display compensation signal based on the received analog sensing data; and
an output port coupled to the second circuit to transmit the display compensation signal to the display panel;
wherein the second circuit comprises:
a second voltage amplifier coupled to the resistive random access memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the resistive random access memory and amplify the received analog sensing data to generate the display compensation signal.”;
“A display driver integrated circuit, comprising:
an input port configured to receive a display sensing signal for a display panel;
a first circuit configured to generate a sensing data indicative of the display sensing signal, wherein the sensing data comprises an analog sensing data;
a resistive random access memory coupled to the first circuit and configured to store the analog sensing data;
a second circuit coupled to the resistive random access memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the resistive random access memory and to generate a display compensation signal based on the received analog sensing data; and
an output port coupled to the second circuit to transmit the display compensation signal to the display panel;
wherein the resistive random access memory is configured to operate in a mixed digital-analog mode, and the sensing data further comprises a digital sensing data;
wherein the analog sensing data is associated with a first display-pixel driving element of a first display pixel of the display panel, and the digital sensing data is associated with a second display-pixel driving element of a second display pixel of the display panel.”; and
“A display driver integrated circuit, comprising:
an input port configured to receive a display sensing signal for a display panel;
a first circuit configured to generate a sensing data indicative of the display sensing signal, wherein the sensing data comprises an analog sensing data;
a resistive random access memory coupled to the first circuit and configured to store the analog sensing data;
a second circuit coupled to the resistive random access memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the resistive random access memory and to generate a display compensation signal based on the received analog sensing data; and
an output port coupled to the second circuit to transmit the display compensation signal to the display panel;
wherein the resistive random access memory is configured to operate in a mixed digital-analog mode, and the sensing data further comprises a digital sensing data;
wherein the second circuit comprises a display compensation logic coupled to the resistive random access memory to receive the digital sensing data from the resistive random access memory and configured to determine, based on the received digital sensing data, a compensation value to enable the display panel to modify a display control signal.”; and
“A display device, comprising:
a display panel; and
a display driver integrated circuit coupled to the display panel to control the display panel, wherein the display driver integrated circuit comprises:
an input port configured to receive a display sensing signal for the display panel;
a first circuit configured to generate a sensing data indicative of the display sensing signal, wherein the sensing data comprises an analog sensing data;
a resistive random access memory coupled to the first circuit and configured to store the analog sensing data;
a second circuit coupled to the resistive random access memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the resistive random access memory and to generate a display compensation signal based on the received analog sensing data; and
an output port coupled to the second circuit to transmit the display compensation signal to the display panel.
wherein the second circuit comprises:
a second voltage amplifier coupled to the resistive random access memory and configured to receive the analog sensing data from the resistive random access memory and amplify the received analog sensing data to generate the display compensation signal.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L ZUBAJLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2627 5/21/2026
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627