DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 13) in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 discloses operating the plurality of contactors to configure the windings of the generator to produce power or configured the windings for conditioning the alternating current.
The disclosure is not clear as to HOW the windings are “configured” so as to perform to conditioned of the current (function as an inductor ?).
The only paragraph [0073] in the specification mentions that the generator is used as an inductor, however, it is not clear how such procedure is done. It seems that all that is required is to remove a connector 460 (Fig. 4C), however, it is not clear how that affects the generator to stop producing electricity and how the windings would be change to stop producing electricity and behave as a current conditioner.
It is not clear if the alternating conditioning is related to the actual inductance of the coil winding or if there is another component in the generator that makes the winding to function as a current conditioner. The Present Application with respect to such important inventive aspect of the invention (configured the windings to perform as an alternating current conditioning device) is completely silent.
The disclosure is also silent with respect to HOW configuring the windings to act as a conditioning alternating current method would be obtained.
It is not clear HOW the partial line interface switching unit (a switching board) is able to change the operation of the windings of a generator from producing power to function as a conditioning of alternating current. The present disclosure is silent with such respect.
Just reciting that a person skilled in the art would be able to practice the present invention without recourse to undue experimentation as described in the specifications is not enough proof that a system would function as intended. Furthermore, in Atmel Corp, v. Information Storage Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1374, 1380[, 53 USPQ2d 1225, 1230] (Fed. Cir. 1999), the court embraced the proposition that ‘consideration of the understanding of one skilled in the art in no wav relieves the patentee of adequately disclosing sufficient structure in the specification.’
It is not enough for the patentee simply to state or later argue that persons of ordinary skill in the art would know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function. The court in Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technologies Carp, 490 F.3d 946, 953[, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123] (Fed. Cir. 2007), put the point this way: "The inquiry is whether one of skill in the art would understand the specification itself to disclose a structure, not simply whether that person would be capable of implementing that structure."
It is reminded that it is a MPEP requirement to provide a full and concise explanation/disclosure of a patent application.
A patentee cannot avoid providing specificity as to structure simply because someone of ordinary skill in the art would be able to devise a means to perform the claimed invention. See Blackboard Inc. v. Desire2Learn Inc. 574 F.3d 1371 [91 USPQ2d 1481]
Claims 2 – 13 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the statement “conditioning the alternating current as the alternating current flows through the plurality of generator winding” is confusing. It is not clear how the windings of the generator would be configured in order to conditioned the current. It is not clear what is meant by “conditioning the alternating current” and how such conditioning affects the current.
The statement “the plurality of generator windings produce an impedance” is indefinite. It is not clear how the windings would perform such function or if the impedance is related to the conditioning of the current or if the impedance is just the natural resistance and reactance of the coil.
For Office Action purposes, it will be assumed that the conditioning is related to controlling/resistance of the electric current as it flows through the windings.
Claims 2 – 13 are rejected due their dependency on clam 1.
In order to advance prosecution in the merits, the Prior Art will be applied
as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atalla et al (US 2017/0141633) in view of Glennon et al (US 4,868,406) or Gao et al (US 2019/0326839).
Atalla et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 1, A method comprising: opening a plurality of contactors in a partial line interface switching unit 320 or 260 to unlink a plurality of generator windings 310 (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) of a transmission integral generator 102 (see Fig. 1), wherein the plurality of generator windings are connected to the port 330 through the partial line interface switching unit 320; conditioning the alternating current as the alternating current flows through the plurality of generator windings (since electrical current passes through the windings and the windings have an inherent resistance/reactance), wherein the plurality of generator windings produce an impedance (via total opposition of alternating current made up of resistance and high inductive reactance; V=IZ); actively rectifying (via rectifiers 350, 340) the conditioned alternating current using a generator controller bus regulator [0024] coupled to the transmission integral generator to produce a direct current; and connecting the direct current to a power distribution unit (dc output 390).
The problem to be solve appears to use an AC external power source in the system.
Such procedure is well known, for example, Glennon et al teaches,
A method for a power generation, receiving an alternating current from an external power source 114 via a port (connecting nodes; see Fig. 4) and opening a plurality of contactors 102A-C or 106A-C or 104A-C or 100A-C in a partial line interface switching unit to unlink a plurality of generator winding (windings of generator 44 or 34 or 40 or 42; see Fig. 4) and the plurality of generator windings are connected to the port (node) through the partial line interface switching unit having contactors 102A-C or 106A-C or 104A-C or 100A-C or 108 (see Fig. 4). It is further disclosed to actively rectified the alternating current (via rectifiers in the system; see Fig. 1) and regulators are used (column 8, lines 49 – 51).
It is also noted that Gao et al also teaches,
receiving an alternating current from an external power source 136 via a port (outer connector of source 136; see Fig. 1) and opening a plurality of contactor in a partial line interface switching unit 138 and/or 144 to unlink a plurality of generator windings 114 or 122 of a transmission integral generator 106 or 110 (see Fig. 1) and the windings 114 or 122 are connected to the port via the partial line switching unit 138 and/or 144 (see Fig. 1) and the current is rectified (see Fig. 2).
The Prior Art further discloses, regarding,
Claim 8, closing the plurality of contactors in the partial line interface switching unit to link the plurality of generator windings of the transmission integral generator for generation of electrical power (Atalla et al, paragraphs 0023; Glennon et al, column 8, lines 11 – 28; Gao et al, paragraph 0007, 0009, 0035).
Claim 11, turning the rotor of a transmission integral generator using an engine (prime mover; see Atalla et al, Fig. 1; Glennon et al, Fig. 1; Gao et al, paragraphs 0037, 0039).
Claim 12, distributing the electrical power using the power distribution unit (Atalla et al, Fig. 3; Glennon et al, Fig. 4; Gao et al, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the method as disclose by Atalla et al and to modify the invention per the limitations disclose by Glennon et al for the purpose of producing lighter and smaller speed drives for generators and to teach the limitations pertaining to Gao et al for the purpose of increasing the life span of components of a power system.
Claim(s) 2 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atalla et al and Glennon et al or Gao et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heller (US 5,525,894).
The combined system discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined system does not disclose the elements below.
On the other hand, Heller discloses, regarding,
Claim 2, passing the alternating current through a damping network comprising a resistor 23A-C and capacitor 26A-C connected in series to each winding of the plurality of generator windings (see Fig. 3) of the transmission integral generator.
Claim 3, passing the alternating current through one or more reactors connected between the damping network and the port (column 4, line 63 – column 5, line 9; column 5, lines 29 – 37; column 6, lines 10 – 15).
Claim 4, the one or more reactors comprise differential reactors (since the value changes; column 5, lines 29 – 37; column 6, lines 10 – 15).
Claim 5, the one or more reactors comprise common-mode reactors (column 5, lines 29 – 37; Figs. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined system as disclose above and to modify the invention per the limitations disclose by Heller for the purpose of controlling efficiently a generator over a wide range of speeds.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atalla et al and Glennon et al or Gao et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Worden et al (US 2002/0190525).
The combined system discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined system does not disclose the elements below.
On the other hand, Worden et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 6, passing the alternating current through an isolation transformer 110 or 108 between the port 104 or 106 and the partial line interface switching unit 112 (see Fig. 1).
Claim 9, connecting the plurality of generator windings of the transmission integral generator in a wye configuration (paragraph 0020).
Claim 10, connecting the plurality of generator windings of the transmission integral generator in a delta configuration (paragraph 0020).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined system as disclose above and to modify the invention per the limitations disclose by Worden et al for the purpose of efficiently synchronizing the frequency of a generator to the frequency of a grid.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atalla et al and Glennon et al or Gao et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cole et al (US 2007/0227470).
The combined system discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined system does not disclose the elements below.
On the other hand, Cole et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 7, cooling the transmission integral generator using a liquid coolant. (paragraphs 0042, 0045).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined system as disclose above and to modify the invention per the limitations disclose by Cole et al for the purpose of improving load leveling and fuel efficiency of a power system.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atalla et al and Glennon et al or Gao et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al (US 6,476,509).
The combined system discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined system does not disclose the elements below.
On the other hand, Chen et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 13, the transmission integral generator is enclosed by a housing (see Fig. 1); the alternating current comprises multiple phases (see abstract); the transmission integral generator includes a winding for each phase of the multiple phases (column 5, lines 32 – 43), wherein each winding includes a first end and a second end; and the first end and the second end of each winding are accessible outside the housing (see two output leads for each winding in Fig. 2, which are accessible outside housing 18).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined system as disclose above and to modify the invention per the limitations disclose by Chen et al for the purpose providing a cost-effective generator that can provide DC and AC power.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R – 07.2015] VI. PRIOR MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP ₴ 2123.
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Julio C. Gonzalez/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2831
January 15, 2026