Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andreyev et al. 2020/0139257).
As to claim 1, Andreyev et al. disclose a ride system in the form of an amusement ride/elevator simulator. See Abstract; [0005]-[0006].
Andreyev discloses a ride vehicle, namely an elevator car 1 configured to carry visitors and move during the ride via pneumatic cylinders 3 and compressor 4. See ¶¶ [0018], [0026].
Andreyev discloses a show element coupled to the ride vehicle, namely animatronic objects 13 located in cells 12 in the walls 5 and/or ceiling 6 of the elevator car. See ¶ [0019].
Andreyev discloses that the show element comprises an actuator coupled to a prop, because animatronic objects 13 are connected to pneumatic cylinders or servomotors 14. See ¶ [0019].
Andreyev discloses a control system including controller 27, control console 28, and software controlling the ride devices. See ¶¶ [0025]-[0026].
Andreyev discloses the control system generates show effects, including screen video 8, audio 10, lighting 11, water spray 19, airflows 18, smoke/steam 20, bubbles 23, sparks 24, and animatronic effects 13. See ¶¶ [0018]-[0020], [0023], [0026].
Andreyev discloses instructing the actuator to actuate the prop from a hidden configuration to a visible configuration, because animatronic objects 13 are hidden behind moving panels 15 and appear in front of visitors at the right moment. See ¶ [0019].
Andreyev discloses coordinating display of show effects with the prop transition because movements of the animatronic objects 13 and actions displayed on screens 8 are synchronized with audio and lighting effects. See ¶ [0026].
In consideration of claim 2, Andreyev et al. discloses every limitation of claim 1, and claim 1 is anticipated. Andreyev further discloses one or more sensors, including a photo camera and/or video camera 21, a video monitoring system 29, and a security system 30. See Abstract; ¶¶ [0022], [0025]-[0027]. Andreyev discloses that the video monitoring system 29, combined with the security system 30, constantly regulates and monitors the situation inside the elevator car 1 during the amusement ride. See ¶ [0027]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the photo/video camera 21 and video monitoring system 29 are sensors configured to detect a position of one or more show effects, a position of the show element, or both, within the elevator car and provide corresponding sensor/video data to the controller/control system 27/28. Accordingly, Andreyev discloses every limitation of claim 2, and claim 2 is anticipated.
Regarding claim 3, Andreyev discloses the ride system of claim 2 for the reasons stated above.
Andreyev further discloses a controller 27, a control console 28, and software controlling the amusement ride devices, including the animatronic objects 13 and movement mechanisms 14. See ¶¶ [0019], [0025]-[0026]. Andreyev discloses that the appearance time of the animatronic objects 13 is regulated by a timeline built into the software or by the controller. See ¶ [0019]. Andreyev also discloses a video surveillance system 29 and security system 30 that constantly regulate and monitor the situation inside the car 1 during the ride. See ¶ [0027]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, regulating the appearance time of the animatronic objects via controller/software and monitoring the inside of the car with the video surveillance/security system discloses determining that the show element is in an expected location.
As to claim 4, Andreyev discloses the ride system of claim 2 for the reasons stated above.
Andreyev further discloses that the elevator car 1 includes a photo camera and/or video camera 21, as well as a video monitoring system 29. See Abstract; ¶¶ [0022], [0025]-[0027]. The photo camera/video camera 21 and video monitoring system 29 correspond to an image sensor under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Accordingly, Andreyev discloses the claimed “one or more sensors” comprising an image sensor, and claim 4 is anticipated.
In consideration of claim 5, Andreyev further discloses that the appearance time of animatronic objects 13 is regulated by a timeline built into the software or by the controller. See ¶ [0019]. Andreyev also discloses that all devices and systems are controlled by software loaded into the automated control system with console 28, and that movements of the car 1, animatronic objects 13, and actions displayed on screens 8 are synchronized with audio and light effects. See ¶ [0026]. The software timeline corresponds to the claimed predetermined program for coordinating display of show effects with the prop transitioning to the visible configuration.
As to claim 6, Andreyev further discloses that the elevator car 1 includes a system of screens 8 installed on the walls 5, ceiling 6, and/or floor 7. See Andreyev ¶ [0018]. Andreyev discloses that screens 8 broadcast video during the ride and that the amusement ride devices are controlled by software loaded into an automated control system with console 28. See Andreyev ¶ [0026].
Thus, the screens 8 correspond to the claimed display, and the automated control system/software corresponds to the claimed control system configured to generate and transmit image data to the display.
Regarding claim 7, Andreyev further discloses that screens 8 broadcast video during the ride and that movements of the animatronic objects 13 and actions displayed on the screens 8 are synchronized with each other and with audio and light effects. See Andreyev ¶ [0026]. Andreyev also discloses that the appearance time of the animatronic objects 13 is regulated by a timeline built into the software or by the controller. See Andreyev ¶ [0019]. Thus, Andreyev discloses actuating the prop based at least in part on the image data displayed on the display.
As to claim 8, Andreyev discloses the ride system of claim 1 as set forth above. Andreyev further discloses a controller 27, control console 28, and software loaded into an automated control system for controlling the ride devices. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0025]–[0026]. Thus, Andreyev discloses the claimed control system arrangement.
Regarding claim 9, Andreyev further discloses that elevator car 1 is moved by pneumatic cylinders 3 and compressor 4, and that movements of the car are synchronized with show effects. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0018], [0026]. Thus, Andreyev discloses movement of the ride vehicle in coordination with the show effects.
As to claim 10, Andreyev discloses animatronic objects 13 hidden behind moving panels 15 in a static state and appearing in the elevator car 1 in front of visitors at the proper time. See Andreyev ¶ [0019]. Thus, Andreyev discloses transitioning the prop between hidden and visible configurations.
Regarding claim 11, Andreyev discloses animatronic objects 13 positioned behind moving panels 15 in the walls 5 and/or ceiling 6 and actuated to appear inside the elevator car 1. See Andreyev ¶ [0019]. Thus, Andreyev discloses movement of the prop relative to the ride vehicle.
In consideration of claim 12, Andreyev discloses animatronic objects 13 that appear in the elevator car 1 in front of visitors to create a horror/story effect. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0019], [0029]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the animatronic objects 13 correspond to the claimed prop/appendage actuated as part of the show element.
As to claim 13, Andreyev further discloses that animatronic objects 13 are located in cells 12 of the walls 5 and/or ceiling 6 of the elevator car 1. See Andreyev ¶ [0019]. Thus, Andreyev discloses the show element coupled to a side portion and/or top portion of the ride vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Andreyev discloses that the amusement ride devices and systems are controlled by software loaded into an automated control system with console 28. See Andreyev ¶ [0026]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed software loaded into the control system corresponds to instructions stored on a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium and executed by a processor. Andreyev further discloses generating show effects using screens 8, audio, and light effects, and discloses actuating animatronic objects 13 using movement mechanisms 14 so that the animatronic objects appear from behind moving panels 15 into the elevator car 1. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0018]–[0019], [0026]. Andreyev also discloses that the movements of the animatronic objects 13 and actions displayed on the screens 8 are synchronized with audio and light effects, and that the appearance time of the animatronic objects is regulated by a software timeline or controller. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0019], [0026].Thus, Andreyev discloses instructions that cause a processor to generate a show effect, instruct an actuator to actuate a prop from a hidden configuration to a visible configuration based on the show effect, and coordinate display of the show effect with the prop transitioning to the visible configuration.
As to claim 15, Andreyev further discloses that the elevator car 1 includes a photo and/or video camera 21 and a video monitoring system 29. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0022], [0025]–[0027]. Thus, Andreyev discloses instructions configured to cause the processor/control system to receive sensor data from one or more sensors.
Regarding claim 17, Andreyev further discloses screens 8 installed on the walls 5, ceiling 6, and/or floor 7 of the elevator car 1, where the screens broadcast video during the ride. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0018], [0026]. Thus, Andreyev discloses instructions configured to cause the processor/control system to transmit image data to a display to cause display of one or more images.
As to claim 18, Andreyev discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 17 as set forth above. Andreyev further discloses that movements of animatronic objects 13 and actions displayed on screens 8 are synchronized with each other and with audio and light effects. See Andreyev ¶ [0026]. Thus, Andreyev discloses instructions configured to cause the processor/control system to actuate the prop in coordination with display of the one or more images.
In regards to claim 19, Andreyev discloses a ride system including an elevator car 1, screens 8, animatronic objects 13, movement mechanisms 14, and an automated control system with console 28 controlled by software. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0018]–[0019], [0025]–[0026]. Andreyev further discloses that the screens 8 broadcast video and that movements of the animatronic objects 13 are synchronized with actions displayed on the screens 8 and with audio and light effects. See Andreyev ¶ [0026]. Thus, Andreyev discloses a ride vehicle having show elements with actuators and props, one or more displays, and a control system with software instructions for generating image-based show effects, transmitting image data to displays, and actuating props in coordination with displayed images.
As to claim 20, Andreyev further discloses that actions displayed on screens 8 are synchronized with movements of animatronic objects 13 and with audio and light effects. See Andreyev ¶ [0026]. Thus, Andreyev discloses coordinating the one or more images with actuation of the one or more props.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Kalama et al. (US 10,722,805 B1).
As to claim 19, Kalama discloses a ride system comprising a ride vehicle 102. See Kalama ¶¶ [0008], [0014], [0017] and FIGS. 1–4. Kalama discloses one or more show elements coupled to the ride vehicle, including headlights 104/204, side-view mirrors 106/206, fenders 108/208, door handles 110/210, taillights, and hood 212, which transition between configurations as practical special effects, and further discloses actuators, motors, controllers, electrical, mechanical, electro-mechanical, or magnetic devices for transitioning the elements. See Kalama ¶¶ [0008]–[0011], [0014], [0018]–[0020], [0026], [0036].
Kalama discloses one or more displays 636, including displays inside the ride vehicle or projection displays viewable by ride occupants, that present images based on the ride theme. See Kalama ¶ [0034]. Kalama further discloses a computer/control system 600 including processing unit 604, system memory 610, storage subsystem 618, tangible computer-readable storage media 622, communications subsystem 624, displays 636, audio output devices 638, and ride control subsystem 640, where software instructions executed by the processor provide the disclosed ride-control functionality. See Kalama ¶¶ [0028]–[0045].
Kalama discloses generating show effects for the ride system, including visual, auditory, or haptic effects, and discloses transmitting video images/image data to displays through wired or wireless connections. See Kalama ¶¶ [0009], [0014], [0018], [0023], [0034], [0045]. Kalama further discloses that the ride control subsystem 640 commands electrical, mechanical, electro-mechanical, or magnetic actuators, motors, or controllers to transition ride vehicle elements, and that transitions of vehicle elements are synchronized with visual, auditory, or haptic effects, including displayed video. See Kalama ¶¶ [0009], [0014], [0018], [0036].
Thus, Kalama discloses a ride vehicle having one or more show elements with actuators coupled to props, one or more displays, and a control system with processor-executable memory instructions configured to generate image-based show effects, transmit image data to the displays to cause display of images, and actuate the props via the actuators in coordination with the display of the images, as recited in claim 19.
As to claim 20, Kalama further discloses that transitions of ride vehicle elements are synchronized with visual effects, auditory effects, or haptic effects of the ride. See Kalama ¶¶ [0009], [0014], [0018].
Kalama specifically discloses an example where video displayed during the ride shows an object virtually striking the side-view mirror of the ride vehicle, and special effects incorporated into the vehicle cause the side-view mirror to detach from the mount and hang from the vehicle. See Kalama ¶¶ [0009], [0018]. Thus, Kalama discloses coordinating one or more images with actuation of one or more props, as recited in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Andreyev et al. 2020/0139257) and Kalama et al. (10,722,805).
As to claim 14, Kalama discloses implementing ride-control functions using one or more computer systems and instructions stored on a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, executed by a processor. See Kalama ¶¶ [0028], [0040]–[0043], [0054]–[0057]. Kalama further discloses generating ride show effects and transitioning ride vehicle elements between configurations in synchronization with visual, auditory, or haptic effects. See Kalama ¶¶ [0009]–[0011], [0014], [0018]–[0020], [0036]. Andreyev discloses animatronic objects 13 hidden behind moving panels 15 that move into view at a proper time, and that the movements of the animatronic objects are synchronized with actions displayed on screens 8, audio, and light effects under software/controller control. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0019], [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement Andreyev’s hidden-to-visible animatronic prop effect in Kalama’s computer-controlled ride system to improve rider surprise and synchronize practical show effects with displayed/audio effects. Thus, the combination teaches claim 14.
As to claim 15, Kalama discloses sensors and sensor-related data in the ride system, including track sensors for detecting ride vehicle position and ride vehicle systems including accelerometers, position sensors, gyroscopes, pressure sensors, light sensors, and audio sensors. See Kalama ¶¶ [0013], [0021]–[0022], [0046]. Andreyev further discloses a camera 21 and video monitoring system 29. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0022], [0025]–[0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the processor-executable instructions to receive sensor data from such sensors for monitoring and controlling ride operation and show-effect timing. Thus, the combination teaches claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Kalama discloses that triggers may cause ride vehicle elements to transition between configurations, including ride vehicle position, a distinct point in time for a visual or auditory effect, passenger action, or a random event, and further discloses sensors for detecting ride vehicle position. See Kalama ¶¶ [0010], [0013]. Kalama also discloses that ride control subsystem 640 commands actuators, motors, or controllers to transition ride vehicle elements. See Kalama ¶ [0036]. Andreyev discloses controller/software actuation of hidden animatronic objects 13 moved by movement mechanisms 14 in synchronization with screen actions and other effects. See Andreyev ¶¶ [0019], [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to actuate the prop based on received sensor data in the combined system because sensor-based triggering predictably improves timing, synchronization, and control of actuator-driven ride effects.
Conclusion
/NATHAN J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2421