DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on [X] have been entered. Claims [A-B] remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims and Specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed [Y].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 11, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 11 recites “wherein: the dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer includes a malleolus portion of the foot of the wearer.” As such, Applicant has positively recited and claimed a human body part, because the dorsal surface portion of the foot and the malleolus portion of the foot is actively being recited within a product claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to remove the positive recitation of the human body parts.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer at least partially overlaps the first dorsal surface portion.” As such, Applicant has positively recited and claimed a human body part, because the first and second dorsal surface portions of the foot are actively being recited within a product claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to remove the positive recitation of the human body parts.
Claim 24 recites “wherein the second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer is different from the first dorsal surface portion.” As such, Applicant has positively recited and claimed a human body part, because the first and second dorsal surface portions of the foot are actively being recited within a product claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to remove the positive recitation of the human body parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7, 10-18, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albert (US 2010/0018079).
Regarding Claim 5, Albert teaches a footwear assembly (see fig. 1), comprising: a plantar shell assembly (1) including: a plantar shell (17) including a medial side wall (see annotated Fig.) and a lateral side wall (see annotated Fig.) opposite the medial side wall (annotated fig. 1 shows the plantar shell (17) including the medial and lateral side walls), the plantar shell configured to seat a plantar surface portion of a foot of a wearer at least partially between the medial side wall and the lateral side wall (fig. 1 shows the plantar shell being capable of seating a wearer’s plantar surface of their foot between the medial and lateral side walls); and an engagement panel (5) exchangeably coupled to the medial side wall or the lateral side wall and configured to engage a dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the engagement panel (5) being exchangeably coupled to the medial and lateral side walls and being configured to engage a dorsal surface portion of the wearer’s foot); a dorsal shell (3) configured to be coupled to the plantar shell (17) and overlap the engagement panel (5) to at least partially enclose the foot of the wearer within an interior area of the footwear assembly (fig. 2 shows the dorsal shell (3) coupled to the plantar shell (17) and overlapping the engagement panel (5); and a closure device (13, 33) operably coupled to the plantar shell and to the dorsal shell and configured to press the dorsal shell against the engagement panel to thereby hold the engagement panel in contact with the dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the closure device (13, 33) being operably coupled to the plantar and dorsal shell, and therein being capable of pressing the dorsal shell against the engagement panel to hold the engagement panel in contact with the dorsal surface portion of a wearer’s foot).
Regarding Claim 6, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 5, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein: the engagement panel (5) is a lateral engagement panel (5b) configured to be coupled to the lateral side wall and engage a lateral region of the dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the lateral engagement panel (5b) being configured to couple to the lateral side wall and engage a lateral region of the dorsal surface portion of the wearer’s foot), the plantar shell assembly further includes a medial engagement panel (5a) configured to be coupled to the medial side wall and engage a medial region of the dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the medial engagement panel (5a) being configured to couple to the medial side wall and engage a medial region of the dorsal surface portion of the wearer’s foot), the dorsal shell (3) is configured to overlap the lateral engagement panel and the medial engagement panel when coupled to the plantar shell (fig. 2 shows the dorsal shell (3) overlapping the lateral (5b) and medial (5a) engagement panels when coupled to the plantar shell), and the closure device (33) is configured to press the dorsal shell against the lateral engagement panel and the medial engagement panel to, respectively, hold the lateral and medal engagement panels in contact with the lateral and medial regions of the dorsal surface of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the closure device (13, 33) being capable of pressing the dorsal shell against the lateral (5b) and medial (5a) engagement panels to hold the engagement panels in contact with the dorsal surface portion of a wearer’s foot).
Regarding Claim 7, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 6, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein: the lateral engagement panel (5b) includes a first panel end portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to be coupled to the lateral side wall of the plantar shell and a second panel end portion (see annotated Fig.) opposite the first panel end portion and configured to extend outwardly from the plantar shell and contour (fig. 1 shows the lateral engagement panel (5b) having a first end portion coupled to the lateral side wall and an opposite second end portion extending outwardly from the plantar shell and contour), the medial engagement panel (5a) includes a third panel end portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to be coupled to the medial side wall of the plantar shell and a fourth panel end portion (see annotated Fig.) opposite the third panel end portion and configured to extend outwardly from the plantar shell (fig. 1 shows the medial engagement panel (5b) having a third end portion coupled to the medial side wall and an opposite fourth end portion extending outwardly from the plantar shell), and when the lateral and medial engagement panels are coupled to the plantar shell, the lateral and medial engagement panels define a gap between the second panel end portion and the fourth panel end portion and configured to be aligned with an instep portion of the foot of the wearer (fig. 2 shows a gap extending between the second and fourth end portions that is clearly capable of being aligned with an instep portion of a wearer’s foot).
Regarding Claim 10, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 5, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein the plantar shell further includes a heel portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to receive at least a portion of a heel of the foot of the wearer, and wherein the engagement panel (5) is positioned anterior to the heel portion and configured to hold the heel of the foot against the heel portion when the engagement panel is coupled to the plantar shell (annotated fig. 1 shows the heel portion being configure to receive at least a portion of a wearer’s heel; fig. 2 shows the engagement panel (5) being positioned anterior to the heel portion and clearly being capable of holding the wearer’s heel against the heel portion when coupled to the plantar shell).
Regarding Claim 11, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 5, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein: the dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer includes a malleolus portion of the foot of the wearer, and the engagement panel (5) is configured to engage a medial or lateral region of the malleolus portion of the foot of the wearer when coupled to the plantar shell (fig. 2 shows the engagement panel (5) capable of covering the upper dorsal surface portion of the wearer’s foot therein the malleolus portion is also clearly capable of being covered by the engagement panel).
Regarding Claim 12, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 5, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein the footwear assembly (see fig. 1) is a cycling shoe or a ski boot (the footwear assembly shown in fig. 2 can clearly be worn cycling, and therein considered as cycling shoe as it is secured to the foot and further has a planar lower surface capable of pedaling a bicycle).
Regarding Claim 13, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 5, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein the plantar shell (17), the engagement panel (5), and the dorsal shell (3) are each contoured to match a corresponding portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show each of the plantar shell (17), engagement panel (5), and the dorsal shell (3) being contoured to match a portion of a wearer’s foot).
Regarding Claim 14, Albert teaches a caging system of a footwear assembly for highly-dynamic performance activities (see figs. 1 and 2), the caging system comprising: a plantar shell assembly (1) including: a plantar shell (17) including a sole portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to seal a plantar surface portion of a foot of a wearer and a sidewall portion (see annotated Fig.) coupled to and extending at least partially around a perimeter of the sole portion (annotated fig. 1 shows the plantar shell (!7) including a sole portion that is capable of sealing a plantar surface portion of a wearer’s foot and a sidewall portion coupled to and extending at least partially around a perimeter of the sole portion), a first engagement panel (5a) configured to be coupled to the sidewall portion at a first location so as to engage a first dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer, and a second engagement panel (5b) configured to be coupled to the sidewall portion at a second location, different from the first location, so as to engage a second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer, different from the first dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the first (5a) and second (5B) engagement panels configured to be coupled to the sidewall portion at a first and a second different location, respectively, to engage a first and a different second dorsal surface portion of the foot, respectively)); a dorsal shell (3) configured to be coupled to the plantar shell and overlap the first and second engagement panels to at least partially enclose the foot of the wearer within an interior area of the footwear assembly (figs. 1 and 2 show the dorsal shell (3) configured to be coupled to the plantar shell (17) and overlap the first (5a) and second (5b) engagement panels to at least partially enclose a wearer’s foot within an interior area); and a closure device (33) operably coupled to the plantar shell and to the dorsal shell and configured to press the dorsal shell against the first and second engagement panels to thereby hold the first and second engagement panels in contact with, respectively, the first and second dorsal surface portions of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the closure device (33) being operatively coupled to the plantar (17) and dorsal (3) shells and being capable of pressing the dorsal shell against the first and second engagement panels so as to hold the first and second engagement panels in contact with the respective first and second dorsal surface portions of the wearer’s foot).
Regarding Claim 15, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 14, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein at least a portion of the first engagement panel (5a) or the second engagement panel (5b) is contoured to have a positive offset relative to a neutral position of the foot of the wearer such that, when worn with the foot in the neutral position, at least the portion of the first engagement panel or the second engagement panel is spaced from the foot of the wearer (fig. 1 shows the portion of the first and second engagement panels (5a,b) being contoured, therein they are clearly capable of having a positive offset relative to a wearer’s foot so as to allow the portion of the first and second engagement panels to be spaced from the wearer’s foot. Examiner notes that the shoe will fit differently sized feet in different manners and an intended relative position of the engagement panels to the wearer's foot anatomy is functional and not patentably significant.).
Regarding Claim 16, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 14, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein at least a portion of the first engagement panel or the second engagement panel is contoured to have a negative offset relative to a neutral position of the foot of the wearer such that, when worn with the foot in the neutral position, at least the portion of the first engagement panel or the second engagement panel is configured to apply a compressive force to the foot of the wearer (fig. 1 shows the portion of the first and second engagement panels (5a,b) being contoured, therein they are clearly capable of having a negative offset relative to a wearer’s foot so as to allow the portion of the first and second engagement panels to apply a compressive force the wearer’s foot. Examiner notes that the shoe will fit differently sized feet in different manners and an intended relative position of the engagement panels to the wearer's foot anatomy is functional and not patentably significant.).
Regarding Claim 17, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 14, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein: the first engagement panel has a first physical property (fig. 1 shows the first engagement panel (5a) having a first physical property of thickness, for example), the second engagement panel has a second physical property different from the first physical property (fig. 2 shows the second engagement panel having a second physical property being stiffness, for example, which is clearly different physical property than thickness), and the first physical property and the second physical property are both selected based at least partially on a shape of the foot of the wearer and to align the foot of the wearer with the plantar shell over a range of motion (Examiner notes that this limitation is being treated as a product-by-process limitation. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art (see MPEP § 2113). The first and second physical properties can clearly be selected based on a variety of properties, including the shape of the wearer’s foot and alignment of the wearer’s foot).
Regarding Claim 18, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 17, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein the first physical property includes a first thickness and wherein the second physical property includes a second stiffness (as noted in the claim above, the first physical property is a first thickness and the second physical property is a second stiffness).
Regarding Claim 20, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 17, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein the first physical property includes a first surface contour and wherein the second physical property includes a second surface contour (fig. 1 shows the first panel having a first physical property including a first surface contour that is convex toward a lateral side, and the second panel having a second physical property including a second different surface contour that is convex toward a medial side).
Regarding Claim 21, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 14, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein: the sidewall portion includes a medial sidewall region (see annotated Fig.) and a lateral sidewall region (see annotated Fig.) opposite the medial sidewall region, the first engagement panel (5a) is configured to be coupled to the medial sidewall region, and the second engagement panel (5b) is configured to be coupled to the lateral sidewall region (figs. 1 and 2 show the first (5a) and second (5b) engagement panels coupled to the medial and lateral sidewall regions, respectively).
Regarding Claim 22, Albert teaches a method of adjusting a fit of a footwear assembly, the method comprising: decoupling a first engagement panel (5a) of the footwear assembly from a plantar shell (17) of the footwear assembly (fig. 1 shows the first engagement panel (5a) being decouplable from the plantar shell (17)), wherein the plantar shell includes a medial side wall (see annotated Fig.) and a lateral side wall (see annotated Fig.) opposite the medial side wall and configured to seat a plantar surface portion of a foot of a wearer at least partially between the medial side wall and the lateral side wall (annotated fig. 1 shows the plantar shell (17) including a lateral and an opposite medial side wall, both configured to seat a plantar surface of a portion of the wearer’s foot therebetween), and wherein the first engagement panel is coupled to the medial side wall or the lateral side wall and configured to engage a first dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the first engagement panel (5a) being coupled to the medial or the lateral side wall and configured to engage a first dorsal surface portion of the wearer’s foot); coupling a second engagement panel (5b) to the medial side wall or the lateral side wall of the plantar shell, wherein the second engagement panel is configured to engage a second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the second engagement panel (5b) being coupled to the medial or lateral side wall, the second engagement panel being configured to engage a second dorsal surface portion of the wearer’s foot); coupling a dorsal shell (3) of the footwear assembly to the plantar shell to overlap the second engagement panel, wherein the dorsal shell is configured to at least partially enclose the foot of the wearer within an interior area of the footwear assembly (figs. 1 and 2 show the dorsal shell (3) being coupled to the plantar shell (17) and overlapping the second engagement panel (5b) to at least partially enclose the wearer’s foot in an interior area of the footwear assembly); and actuating a closure device (33) of the footwear assembly to press the dorsal shell against the second engagement panel, wherein the closure device is configured to hold the second engagement panel in contact with the second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (figs. 1 and 2 show the closure device (33) being actuated to press the dorsal shell against the second engagement panel and being configured to hold the second engagement panel in contact with the wearer’s second dorsal surface portion).
Regarding Claim 23, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 22, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein the second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer at least partially overlaps the first dorsal surface portion and wherein coupling the second engagement panel to the medial side wall or the lateral side wall includes coupling the second engagement panel to the medial side wall or the lateral side wall in place of the first engagement panel (fig. 1 shows the second engagement panel (5b) can be coupled to the medial or lateral side wall without the first engagement panel (5a) being coupled to the medial or lateral side wall, therein the second engagement panel can clearly be coupled in place of the second engagement panel).
Regarding Claim 24, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 22, as discussed in the rejections above. Albert further teaches wherein the second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer is different from the first dorsal surface portion, wherein decoupling the first engagement panel includes decoupling the first engagement panel from one of the medial side wall or the lateral side wall, and wherein coupling the second engagement panel includes coupling the second engagement panel to the other of the medial side wall or the lateral side wall (fig. 1 shows the first engagement panel (5a) being decoupled from one of the side walls and fig. 2 shows the second engagement panel (5b) being coupled to the other of the side walls).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 2010/0018079).
Regarding Claim 9, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 5, as discussed in the rejections above.
Albert does not explicitly teach wherein: the plantar shell has first stiffness, the dorsal shell has a second stiffness less than the first stiffness, and the engagement panel has a third stiffness less than the first stiffness but greater than the second stiffness. However, Albert teaches the plantar shell (17) having the greatest thickness, and therein the greatest stiffness that would clearly be stiffer than the second and third stiffnesses, and the dorsal shell having a portion with the least thickness (see portion of dorsal shell adjacent closures (33)) therein the second thickness of the dorsal shell is clearly less than the first stiffness and the third thickness, and finally Albert teaches the engagement panel (5) having a thickness that is between the thickness of the dorsal shell and the plantar shell, therein the third stiffness of the engagement panel would obviously be between the first stiffness and the second thickness, especially as the entire shoe is made of the same material (paragraph [0020] teaches “It will be appreciated that almost any semi-elastic, flexible and resilient material may be used to manufacture the footwear and components of the present invention so long as it accommodates the interlocking and interchangeable features and other aspects of the invention as described in detail below.”) Additionally or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Albert such that the plantar shell has first stiffness, the dorsal shell has a second stiffness less than the first stiffness, and the engagement panel has a third stiffness less than the first stiffness but greater than the second stiffness so as to provide sufficient comfort and support to the various portion of the wearer’s foot as needed.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 2010/0018079) in view of Ramsay et al. (US 2019/0142112).
Regarding Claim 19, Albert teaches all of the limitations of the footwear assembly of Claim 17, as discussed in the rejections above.
Albert does not teach wherein the first physical property includes a first stiffness selected to provide a first compressive force to the first dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer and wherein the second physical property includes a second stiffness selected to provide a second compressive force to the second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer.
Attention is drawn to Ramsey which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Ramey teaches a footwear assembly (10) comprising a shell (18, 14) and a first (12) and a second (212) interchangeable engagement panel, wherein: the first engagement panel has a first physical property, the second engagement panel has a second physical property different from the first physical property (paragraph [0073] teaches “The first tongue and the second tongue included in a footwear system within the scope of the disclosure have at least one different characteristic.”). Ramsey further teaches wherein the first physical property includes a first stiffness selected to provide a first compressive force to the dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer and wherein the second physical property includes a second stiffness selected to provide a second compressive force to the dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer (paragraph [0073] teaches “Other non-limiting examples of a characteristic of the first and second tongues that may be different include a different size (as long as both still fit to the upper 14 sufficiently to be removably attachable thereto), a different stiffness,” wherein the first and second stiffnesses could clearly be selected to provide first and second compressive forces, respectively, to the dorsal surface portion of the wearer’s foot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Albert to include the teachings of Ramsay such that the first physical property includes a first stiffness selected to provide a first compressive force to the first dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer and wherein the second physical property includes a second stiffness selected to provide a second compressive force to the second dorsal surface portion of the foot of the wearer so as to allow the wearer to customize the shoe as desired for their specific needs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the claims are now canceled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEY A SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732