DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
There were 3 sets of claims filed on 02/13/2025, 03/11/2025 and 08/26/2025. For the examination purpose, the most recent amended claim set filed on 08/26/2025 have been used, where claims 1-25 were cancelled, 26-50 were newly added. Claims 26-50 are pending of which claims 26, 36, 41, 47 and 50 are independent.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 26, 34, 35, 36, 41, 47 and 50 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 12 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,774. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 26, 34, 35, 36, 41, 47 and 50 of the instant application similar in scope and content of the patented claims 1, 5, 12 and 15 of the patent issued to the same Applicant.
It is clear that all the elements of the application claims 26, 34, 35, 36, 41, 47 and 50 are to be found in patented claims 1, 5, 12 and 15 (as the application claims 26, 34, 35, 36, 41, 47 and 50 fully encompasses patented claims 1, 5, 12 and 15). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patented claims includes many more elements and are thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1, 5, 12 and 15 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 26, 34, 35, 36, 41, 47 and 50. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 26, 34, 35, 36, 41, 47 and 50 are anticipated by claims 1, 5, 12 and 15 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from of the patented claims.
Application No: 19/053,259
Patent No: 12,260,774
26. (New) A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device;
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface,
wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence, and
wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
1.A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device;
assessing the input prompt to identify a topic category associated with the input prompt using a computer processor;
generating a plurality of content responses using the topic category such that the plurality of content responses are conversationally associated with the topic category, wherein each content response from the plurality of content responses is further associated with an emotion identifier selected from a plurality of emotion identifiers, and
electronically displaying the plurality of content responses in a display of a user interface, where a first emotion identifier associated with a first content response is visually distinguishable on the display from a second emotion identifier associated with a second content response;
wherein generating the plurality of content responses comprises using a large language model operatively networked to the electronic assistance device;
wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
27. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein the plurality of identifiers are associated with emotions, levels of familiarity, degrees of wordiness, amounts of technical jargon, or levels of formality.
28. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein the plurality of identifiers comprise emoticons.
29. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein the input prompt comprises an audio recording.
30. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein the input prompt comprises a message received by the individual.
31. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein the input prompt is generated by the electronic assistance device.
32. (New) The method of claim 31, wherein the input prompt is generated based on a time, a day, or a location of the individual.
33. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein each of the plurality of content responses is conversationally associated with the input prompt.
34. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using a large language model operatively networked to the electronic assistance device.
Claim 1
35. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein at least one of the plurality of content responses is generated using personal information about the individual.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising accessing a database containing a plurality of informational data specific to the individual, where generating the plurality of content responses comprises generating at least one content response containing at least one informational data specific to the individual.
36. (New) A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication using an electronic assistance device, the method comprising:
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
12. A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device;
generating a plurality of emotion identifiers using the input prompt;
electronically displaying the plurality of emotion identifiers in a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of emotion identifiers as a selected emotion identifier;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected emotion identifier on the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using a large language model operatively networked to the electronic assistance device, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
37. (New) The method of claim 36, wherein the plurality of identifiers are associated with emotions, levels of familiarity, degrees of wordiness, amounts of technical jargon, or levels of formality.
38. (New) The method of claim 36, wherein the plurality of identifiers comprise emoticons.
39. (New) The method of claim 36, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using a large language model operatively networked to the electronic assistance device.
40. (New) The method of claim 36, wherein at least one of the plurality of content responses is generated using personal information about the individual.
41. (New) A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device;
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface,
and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
1.A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device;
assessing the input prompt to identify a topic category associated with the input prompt using a computer processor;
generating a plurality of content responses using the topic category such that the plurality of content responses are conversationally associated with the topic category, wherein each content response from the plurality of content responses is further associated with an emotion identifier selected from a plurality of emotion identifiers, and
electronically displaying the plurality of content responses in a display of a user interface, where a first emotion identifier associated with a first content response is visually distinguishable on the display from a second emotion identifier associated with a second content response;
wherein generating the plurality of content responses comprises using a large language model operatively networked to the electronic assistance device;
wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
42. (New) The method of claim 41, wherein the plurality of identifiers are associated with emotions, levels of familiarity, degrees of wordiness, amounts of technical jargon, or levels of formality.
43. (New) The method of claim 41, wherein the input prompt comprises an audio recording.
44. (New) The method of claim 41, wherein the input prompt comprises a message received by the individual.
45. (New) The method of claim 41, wherein the input prompt is generated by the electronic assistance device.
46. (New) The method of claim 41, wherein each of the plurality of content responses is conversationally associated with the input prompt.
47. (New) A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication using an electronic assistance device, the method comprising:
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface,
and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
12. A method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device;
generating a plurality of emotion identifiers using the input prompt;
electronically displaying the plurality of emotion identifiers in a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of emotion identifiers as a selected emotion identifier;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected emotion identifier on the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using a large language model operatively networked to the electronic assistance device, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device.
48. (New) The method of claim 47, wherein the plurality of identifiers are associated with emotions, levels of familiarity, degrees of wordiness, amounts of technical jargon, or levels of formality.
49. (New) The method of claim 47, wherein the plurality of identifiers comprise emoticons.
50. (New) An electronic system for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic- assisted communication, the electronic system comprising:
a memory unit;
an input device configured to convey an input prompt to the memory unit;
a user interface having a display configured to display a plurality of identifiers, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier;
a processor configured to access the memory unit to assess the input prompt and generate a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier;
wherein the display of the user interface is further configured to display the plurality of content responses
and permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and wherein the processor is further configured to electronically communicate the selected content response.
15. An electronic system for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the electronic system comprising:
a memory unit;
a recording device configured to convey an input prompt to the memory unit;
a processor configured access the memory unit to assess the input prompt and identify a topic category associated with the input prompt and generate a plurality of content responses using the topic category such that the plurality of content responses are conversationally associated with the topic category, wherein each content response from the plurality of content responses is further associated with an emotion identifier selected from a plurality of emotion identifiers, and wherein the processor is operatively networked to a large language model for generating the plurality of content responses;
a user interface having an electronic display configured to display the plurality of content responses, where the processor is further configured to provide to the electronic display a first emotion identifier associated with a first content response that is visually distinguishable on the electronic display from a second emotion identifier associated with a second content response;
the user interface further configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response;
and where the processor is further configured to electronically communicate the selected content response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 27, 31-37, 39-42, 45-48 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. ( US 20220223064 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chauhan, in view of Fabian et al. (US 20240303440 A1), hereinafter referenced as Fabian.
Regarding Claim 26, Chauhan teaches a method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device (Chauhan: Para.[0044],[0053], Fig. 1 illustrates a system 100 for emotional insight management, which includes a computing device 102, an insights application 130 which outputs a prompt 134 to a user. The prompt 134 includes a question associated with the emotional well-being of the user) ;
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier (Chauhan: Para.[0053]-[0055],[0165], Figs. 1, 18, the prompt includes set of emotional state depictions 122. In response to the prompt 134, the user selects the indicator which most closely represents the user's current emotional state. Fig. 18 illustrates a user device 1800 displaying a prompt with a question and a set of emotional state depictions within a user interface) ;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response (Chauhan: Para.[0165], Fig. 18, The user selects a given emoji by touching a portion of the user interface touch screen corresponding with the selected emoji. Para.[0084], if the user responded to the initial prompt question by selecting a depiction indicating the user is feeling unhappy, the secondary prompt follow-up question encourages the user to add a possible cause for the negative mood, such as not enough sleep, feeling hungry or stressed ( plurality of content response). This assists the user in pinning down the reason behind their emotional state and then enables the user to work on improving their well-being. Para.[0093], Fig. 2, the machine learning 244 utilizes artificial intelligence and/or machine learning modeling to improve the accuracy and relevance of the insights);
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device ( Chauhan: Para.[0166], Fig. 19, a user device 1900 displaying an acknowledgement of a response provided by the user within the user interface. The acknowledgement indicates the user's selected emotional state depiction has been accepted and recorded).
Chauhan, while teaching the method of claim 26, fails to explicitly teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response.
However, Fabian does teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence ( Fabian: Para.[0034], [0048], Fig.1, the application service configures a prompt based on a user inquiry ( selected identifier) to task the LLM with producing multiple alternative suggestions in response to the prompt, according to correctness, accuracy, appropriateness, toxicity and displays on the task pane 144),
and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response ( Fabian: Para.[0071], Fig. 3, in user interface 307, application 301 receives an input from the user indicating a selection of a suggestion in the response);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fabian’s teaching of integrating large language models into the field of productivity applications, into the system and method of an emotional insight management system that provides user-configured prompts and insights to the user , taught by Chauhan, because, by focusing on the generative activity, reduced latency, faster performance by the LLM, productivity costs and the user experience would be improved.(Fabian, Para.[0041],[0042]).
Regarding Claim 36, Chauhan teaches a method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication using an electronic assistance device, the method comprising:
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier (Chauhan: Para.[0053]-[0055],[0165], Figs. 1, 18, the prompt includes set of emotional state depictions 122. In response to the prompt 134, the user selects the indicator which most closely represents the user's current emotional state. Fig. 18 illustrates a user device 1800 displaying a prompt with a question and a set of emotional state depictions within a user interface) ;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response (Chauhan: Para.[0165], Fig. 18, The user selects a given emoji by touching a portion of the user interface touch screen corresponding with the selected emoji. Para.[0084], if the user responded to the initial prompt question by selecting a depiction indicating the user is feeling unhappy, the secondary prompt follow-up question encourages the user to add a possible cause for the negative mood, such as not enough sleep, feeling hungry or stressed ( plurality of content response). This assists the user in pinning down the reason behind their emotional state and then enables the user to work on improving their well-being. Para.[0093], Fig. 2, the machine learning 244 utilizes artificial intelligence and/or machine learning modeling to improve the accuracy and relevance of the insights);
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device ( Chauhan: Para.[0166], Fig. 19, a user device 1900 displaying an acknowledgement of a response provided by the user within the user interface. The acknowledgement indicates the user's selected emotional state depiction has been accepted and recorded).
Chauhan, while teaching the method of claim 36, fails to explicitly teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response.
However, Fabian does teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using artificial intelligence ( Fabian: Para.[0034], [0048], Fig.1, the application service configures a prompt based on a user inquiry ( selected identifier) to task the LLM with producing multiple alternative suggestions in response to the prompt, according to correctness, accuracy, appropriateness, toxicity and displays on the task pane 144),
and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response ( Fabian: Para.[0071], Fig. 3, in user interface 307, application 301 receives an input from the user indicating a selection of a suggestion in the response);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fabian’s teaching of integrating large language models into the field of productivity applications, into the system and method of an emotional insight management system that provides user-configured prompts and insights to the user , taught by Chauhan, because, by focusing on the generative activity, reduced latency, faster performance by the LLM, productivity costs and the user experience would be improved.(Fabian, Para.[0041],[0042]).
Regarding Claim 41, Chauhan teaches a method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication, the method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt using an electronic assistance device (Chauhan: Para.[0044],[0053], Fig. 1 illustrates a system 100 for emotional insight management, which includes a computing device 102, an insights application 130 which outputs a prompt 134 to a user. The prompt 134 includes a question associated with the emotional well-being of the user) ;
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier (Chauhan: Para.[0053]-[0055],[0165], Figs. 1, 18, the prompt includes set of emotional state depictions 122. In response to the prompt 134, the user selects the indicator which most closely represents the user's current emotional state. Fig. 18 illustrates a user device 1800 displaying a prompt with a question and a set of emotional state depictions within a user interface) ;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response (Chauhan: Para.[0165], Fig. 18, The user selects a given emoji by touching a portion of the user interface touch screen corresponding with the selected emoji. Para.[0084], if the user responded to the initial prompt question by selecting a depiction indicating the user is feeling unhappy, the secondary prompt follow-up question encourages the user to add a possible cause for the negative mood, such as not enough sleep, feeling hungry or stressed ( plurality of content response). This assists the user in pinning down the reason behind their emotional state and then enables the user to work on improving their well-being);
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device ( Chauhan: Para.[0166], Fig. 19, a user device 1900 displaying an acknowledgement of a response provided by the user within the user interface. The acknowledgement indicates the user's selected emotional state depiction has been accepted and recorded).
Chauhan, while teaching the method of claim 41, fails to explicitly teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response.
However, Fabian does teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface( Fabian: Para.[0034], [0048], Fig.1, the application service configures a prompt based on a user inquiry ( selected identifier) to task the LLM with producing multiple alternative suggestions in response to the prompt, according to correctness, accuracy, appropriateness, toxicity and displays on the task pane 144),
and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response ( Fabian: Para.[0071], Fig. 3, in user interface 307, application 301 receives an input from the user indicating a selection of a suggestion in the response);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fabian’s teaching of integrating large language models into the field of productivity applications, into the system and method of an emotional insight management system that provides user-configured prompts and insights to the user , taught by Chauhan, because, by focusing on the generative activity, reduced latency, faster performance by the LLM, productivity costs and the user experience would be improved.(Fabian, Para.[0041],[0042]).
Regarding Claim 47, Chauhan teaches a method for assisting an individual in engaging in electronic-assisted communication using an electronic assistance device, the method comprising:
electronically displaying a plurality of identifiers on a display of a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of identifiers as a selected identifier (Chauhan: Para.[0053]-[0055],[0165], Figs. 1, 18, the prompt includes set of emotional state depictions 122. In response to the prompt 134, the user selects the indicator which most closely represents the user's current emotional state. Fig. 18 illustrates a user device 1800 displaying a prompt with a question and a set of emotional state depictions within a user interface) ;
electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response (Chauhan: Para.[0165], Fig. 18, The user selects a given emoji by touching a portion of the user interface touch screen corresponding with the selected emoji. Para.[0084], if the user responded to the initial prompt question by selecting a depiction indicating the user is feeling unhappy, the secondary prompt follow-up question encourages the user to add a possible cause for the negative mood, such as not enough sleep, feeling hungry or stressed ( plurality of content response). This assists the user in pinning down the reason behind their emotional state and then enables the user to work on improving their well-being);
and electronically communicating the selected content response using the electronic assistance device ( Chauhan: Para.[0166], Fig. 19, a user device 1900 displaying an acknowledgement of a response provided by the user within the user interface. The acknowledgement indicates the user's selected emotional state depiction has been accepted and recorded).
Chauhan, while teaching the method of claim 26, fails to explicitly teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface, and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response.
However, Fabian does teach the claimed, electronically displaying a plurality of content responses associated with the selected identifier on the display of the user interface ( Fabian: Para.[0034], [0048], Fig.1, the application service configures a prompt based on a user inquiry ( selected identifier) to task the LLM with producing multiple alternative suggestions in response to the prompt, according to correctness, accuracy, appropriateness, toxicity and displays on the task pane 144),
and wherein the user interface is configured to permit the individual to select at least one of the plurality of content responses as a selected content response ( Fabian: Para.[0071], Fig. 3, in user interface 307, application 301 receives an input from the user indicating a selection of a suggestion in the response);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fabian’s teaching of integrating large language models into the field of productivity applications, into the system and method of an emotional insight management system that provides user-configured prompts and insights to the user , taught by Chauhan, because, by focusing on the generative activity, reduced latency, faster performance by the LLM, productivity costs and the user experience would be improved.(Fabian, Para.[0041],[0042]).
Claim 50 is an electronic system claim comprising: a memory unit; an input device configured to convey an input prompt to the memory unit; a processor configured to access the memory unit ( Chauhan: Para.[0045], [0046],[0053], [0076], Figs.1,2 electronic device 102 includes memory 108, processor 106, insight application 130, prompt 134 which is a output by a prompt generator 202 inside the insight application 130) performing the steps in method claim 47 above and as such, claim 50 is similar in scope and content to claim 47 and therefore, claim 50 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 47 above.
Regarding Claim 27, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Chauhan further teaches, wherein the plurality of identifiers are associated with emotions, levels of familiarity, degrees of wordiness, amounts of technical jargon, or levels of formality (Chauhan: Para.[0053]-[0055], Fig. 1, the prompt includes set of emotional state depictions 122. In response to the prompt 134, the user selects the indicator which most closely represents the user's current emotional state).
Claims 37, 42, 48 are method claims performing the steps in method claim 27 above and as such, claims 37, 42, 48 are similar in scope and content to claim 27 and therefore, claims 37, 42, 48 are rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 27 above.
Regarding Claim 31, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Chauhan further teaches, wherein the input prompt is generated by the electronic assistance device ( Chauhan: Para.[0044], [0076], Figs. 1, 2, insights application 130 in the device 102, includes a prompt generator 202. The prompt generator 202 is a software component which generates an initial prompt 204).
Claim 45 is method claim performing the steps in method claim 31 above and as such, claim 45 is similar in scope and content to claim 31 and therefore, claim 45 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 31 above.
Regarding Claim 32, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 31. Chauhan further teaches, wherein the input prompt is generated based on a time, a day, or a location of the individual ( Chauhan: Para.[0078],[0079], Fig. 2, The initial prompt 204, is presented/generated to the user at a user-configured time, or an initially pre-configured (default) interval until personalized by the user. The prompt time-interval is a customized, user configured time-interval at which a recurring reminder is presented to the user. The time-interval includes a user selected date 208 and/or time 210 for the next prompt. The prompt time-interval can include multiple dates and/or times).
Regarding Claim 33, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Chauhan further teaches, wherein each of the plurality of content responses is conversationally associated with the input prompt ( Chauhan: Para.[0177], the insights application, provides personalized insights around potential causes which might be impacting emotional well-being; use info from email, calendar, chat, teams, everything available used with user responses and prompts to generate reasons for user responses/personalized insights).
Claim 46 is method claim performing the steps in method claim 33 above and as such, claim 46 is similar in scope and content to claim 33 and therefore, claim 46 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 33 above.
Regarding Claim 34, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Fabian further teaches, wherein the plurality of content responses are generated using a large language model operatively networked to the electronic assistance device( Fabian: Para.[0034], [0048], Fig.1, the application service configures a prompt based on a user inquiry to task the LLM with producing multiple alternative suggestions in response to the prompt, according to correctness, accuracy, appropriateness, toxicity and displays on the task pane 144);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fabian’s teaching of integrating large language models into the field of productivity applications, into the system and method of an emotional insight management system that provides user-configured prompts and insights to the user , taught by Chauhan, because, by focusing on the generative activity, reduced latency, faster performance by the LLM, productivity costs and the user experience would be improved.(Fabian, Para.[0041],[0042]).
Claim 39 is method claim performing the steps in method claim 34 above and as such, claim 39 is similar in scope and content to claim 34 and therefore, claim 39 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 34 above.
Regarding Claim 35, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Chauhan further teaches, wherein at least one of the plurality of content responses is generated using personal information about the individual ( Chauhan: Para.[0037], [0040],[0159], the system takes into account the collaboration and productivity signals (meetings, sending email, etc.) to provide personalized solutions for the user in the work context. This enables generation of more accurate and customized insights and recommendations. The historical trends reports generated by the system provide personalized insights on things the user can do to improve their well-being while assisting the user in recalling why the user was feeling a certain way on a given day).
Claim 40 is method claim performing the steps in method claim 35 above and as such, claim 40 is similar in scope and content to claim 35 and therefore, claim 40 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 35 above.
Claims 28-30, 38, 43, 44 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. ( US 20220223064 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chauhan, in view of Fabian et al. (US 20240303440 A1), hereinafter referenced as Fabian, further in view of Hwang et al. (US 20200349938 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hwang.
Regarding Claim 28, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Chauhan in view of Fabian fail to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the plurality of identifiers comprise emoticons.
However, Hwang does teach the claimed, wherein the plurality of identifiers comprise emoticons ( Hwang: Para. [0178], Fig. 16, electronic device 1000 may display the changes in the emotion of the user in the form of simple emoticons).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hwang’s teaching of providing an event emotion- based interactive interface by using an artificial intelligence (AI) system, into the system and method, taught by Chauhan in view of Fabian, because, by interacting with the AI systems which are capable of implementing human level intelligence and by using Linguistic and visual understanding of AI technology,
the user’s emotional interaction regarding an event, would be improved.(Hwang, Para.[0002]-[0005]).
Claims 38, 49 are method claims performing the steps in method claim 28 above and as such, claims 38, 49 are similar in scope and content to claim 28 and therefore, claims 38, 49 are rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 28 above.
Regarding Claim 29, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Chauhan in view of Fabian fail to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the input prompt comprises an audio recording.
However, Hwang does teach the claimed, wherein the input prompt comprises an audio recording ( Hwang: Para.[0050], [0158], Fig. 1, the electronic device 1000 may obtain an emotional state of a user related to a user event 100 by using an AI model, by receiving an utterance of the user. The electronic device 1000 may receive voice data of the user, which is recorded by the smart watch)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hwang’s teaching of providing an event emotion- based interactive interface by using an artificial intelligence (AI) system, into the system and method, taught by Chauhan in view of Fabian, because, by interacting with the AI systems which are capable of implementing human level intelligence and by using Linguistic and visual understanding of AI technology,
the user’s emotional interaction regarding an event, would be improved.(Hwang, Para.[0002]-[0005]).
Claim 43 is method claim performing the steps in method claim 29 above and as such, claim 43 is similar in scope and content to claim 29 and therefore, claim 43 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 29 above.
Regarding Claim 30, Chauhan in view of Fabian teach the method of claim 26. Chauhan in view of Fabian fail to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the input prompt comprises a message received by the individual.
However, Hwang does teach the claimed, wherein the input prompt comprises a message received by the individual ( Hwang: Para.[0066], the electronic device 1000 may obtain the additional information related to the user event by directly querying the user about the additional information or by parsing an email, a message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hwang’s teaching of providing an event emotion- based interactive interface by using an artificial intelligence (AI) system, into the system and method, taught by Chauhan in view of Fabian, because, by interacting with the AI systems which are capable of implementing human level intelligence and by using Linguistic and visual understanding of AI technology,
the user’s emotional interaction regarding an event, would be improved.(Hwang, Para.[0002]-[0005]).
Claim 44 is method claim performing the steps in method claim 30 above and as such, claim 44 is similar in scope and content to claim 30 and therefore, claim 44 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 30 above.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bostick et al. (US 20160241500 A1) teaches an electronic chat session monitoring device intercepts a text message from an electronic chat session. The text message is generated by a sender and addressed to an addressee. The electronic chat session monitoring device receives a current photo of the sender of the text message electronic chat session, which is taken contemporaneously with a generation of the text message by the sender and depicts an emotion of the sender while generating the text message. The electronic chat session monitoring device then transmits both the text message and the current photo of the sender to the addressee.
Fink et al. (US 20220157308 A1) teaches processing of generated expanded responses that guide continuance of a human-to computer dialog that is facilitated by a client device and that is between at least one user and an automated assistant. The expanded responses are generated by the automated assistant in response to user interface input provided by the user via the client device, and are caused to be rendered to the user via the client device, as a response, by the automated assistant, to the user interface input of the user. An expanded response is generated based on at least one entity of interest determined based on the user interface input, and is generated to incorporate content related to one or more additional entities that are related to the entity of interest, but that are not explicitly referenced by the user interface input.
Bonar et al. (US 12437746 B2) teaches a system for spoken natural stylistic conversations with large language models. In contrast to many existing modalities for interacting with large language models that are limited to text, the techniques presented herein enable users to carry a fully spoken conversation with a large language model. This is accomplished by converting a user speech audio input to text and utilizing a prompt engine to analyze a sentiment expressed by the user. A large language model, having been trained on example conversations, by generating a text response as well as a style cue to express emotion in response to the sentiment expressed by speech audio input. A text-to-speech engine can subsequently interpret the text response and style cue to generate an audio output which emulates the sensation of human conversation.
Robert Jose et al. (US 20230145903 A1 ) teaches Systems and methods for determining the answers to user queries regarding content, and presenting options for the user to view the answers. Searches are conducted to determine the answer to a query and, once the answer is found, various options are presented to the user, allowing the user the choice to view the answer in multiple different ways.
/NADIRA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2653