DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12249018. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 19/053265 is strictly broader than 12249018. It is well settled that "anticipation is the epitome of obviousness," in re McDaniel, 293 F3d. 1379,1385 (Fed. Cir. 2002}{quoting Connell v. Sears Roebuck & Co,, 722 F.2d 1542, 1.548 (Fed. Cir. 1.983}}; In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792, 794 (CCPA 1982).
19/053265
12249018
1. An electronic chip comprising:
1. An electronic chip comprising:
a hardware engine;
a hardware engine;
a hardware ray trace engine configured to augment functionality of the hardware engine;
a hardware ray trace engine configured to augment functionality of the hardware engine;
and an interface coupling the hardware engine and the hardware ray race engine;
an interface coupling the hardware engine and the hardware ray race engine;
wherein the hardware engine is configured to communicate with an external graphics processing unit (GPU) via the interface.
and a graphics processing unit, wherein the graphics processing unit is connected to a memory, and wherein the hardware engine is configured to provide data to the graphics processing unit via the memory.
2. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware engine is configured to perform tasks comprising one or more of determining how a 3D object casts a shadow on another object, determining how a 3D object reflects off another object, and determining how light falling on a 3D object illuminates another object.
2. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware engine is configured to perform tasks comprising one or more of determining how 3D objects cast shadows over other objects, determining how the 3D objects are reflected in other objects, and determining how light falling on one 3D object illuminates other surrounding objects.
3. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware engine is implemented as field- programmable gate arrays (FPGAs).
3. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware engine is implemented as field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs).
4. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware ray trace engine supports voxel space based cone tracing or G-buffer based tracing algorithms.
4. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware ray trace engine supports voxel space based cone tracing or G-buffer based tracing algorithms.
5. The electronic chip of The electronic chip of wherein the hardware engine comprises a hardware 3D engine core, andwherein the hardware 3D engine core is configured to govern behavior of a 3D object in a 3D scene and interaction between the 3D object and another 3D object in the 3D scene.
5. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware engine comprises a hardware 3D engine core, and wherein the hardware 3D engine core is configured to govern behavior of 3D objects of a 3D scene and interaction with and between the 3D objects of the 3D scene.
6. The electronic chip of claim 5, wherein the interaction comprises interaction of light with and between the 3D object and the another 3D object in the 3D scene.
6. The electronic chip of claim 5, wherein the interaction comprises interaction of light with and between the 3D objects of the 3D scene.
7. The electronic chip of claim 5 further comprising a memory coupled via a hardware interface to the hardware 3D engine core, thereby enabling the hardware 3D engine core to directly load and store data to the memory.
7. The electronic chip of claim 5, wherein the memory is coupled via a hardware interface to the hardware 3D engine core, thereby enabling the hardware 3D engine core to directly load and store data to the memory.
8. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware engine is a hardware game engine.
8. The electronic chip of claim 1, wherein the hardware engine is a hardware game engine.
9. (see 1)
9. (see 1)
10. The computing device of claim 9, wherein the computing device comprises a virtual reality device.
10. The computing device of claim 9, wherein the computing device comprises a virtual reality device.
11. The computing device of claim 9, wherein the computing device comprises a smart phone.
11. The computing device of claim 9, wherein the computing device comprises a smart phone.
12-17 see 2-7 above.
See 2-7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Nah “RayCore: A Ray-Tracing Hardware Architecture for Mobile Devices”.
Regarding claim 1 (independent):
An electronic chip comprising: (Nah 3.1 In contrast to the prior architectures, we chose a fully hardwired approach for the overall RayCore architecture for the following reasons. First, a fully hardwired approach is beneficial in terms of power and area efficiency. According to Borkar and Chien [2011], hardwired units can provide up to 50–500 times greater energy efficiency than general-purpose register organization in some cases. Additionally, instruction fetch-and-decode logic with instruction caches for programmability increases the required area. Thus, we feel that a fixed pipeline is much better suited for mobile devices with limited die areas and power resources. Second, modern mobile APs already include programmable GPUs. If the ultimate goal is to design an architecture that supports programmable shading and real-time ray tracing, we feel that they can both be achieved by combining programmable GPUs in the same AP with our fixed function pipelines.).
a hardware engine (Nah3.2 Figure 3 depicts an overall block diagram of an RTU. The datapath includes several units to handle setup processing, ray generation, traversal and intersection (T&I), hit-point calculation, and shading. The architecture shown in this figure contains four T&I pipelines).
a hardware ray trace engine configured to augment functionality of the hardware engine (Nah 3.2 After a ray is generated, the T&I unit (Sections 3.4–3.5) performs node traversals and ray-triangle intersection tests to compute the hit point. After the hit point is generated, the position (x, y, and z) of the hit point is calculated in the hit-point calculation unit (Section 3.6). The shading unit then performs Phong illumination and texture mapping.).
and an interface coupling the hardware engine and the hardware ray race engine (Nah Fig. 3).
wherein the hardware engine is configured to communicate with an external graphics processing unit (GPU) via the interface (Nah 3.1 If the ultimate goal is to design an architecture that supports programmable shading and real-time ray tracing, we feel that they can both be achieved by combining programmable GPUs in the same AP with our fixed function pipelines.)(Nah 3.8 If programmable shading is required, programmers will be able to use the existing GPU. In this case, an interface between T&I units and programmable shaders, similar to SGRT [Lee et al. 2013], Fig. 8. An iNEXT-V6 board. can be applied to RayCore. With regard to S/W programming, the OpenGLESAPIcan be the medium that connects RayCore and the mobile GPU cores in the same AP.).
Regarding claim 2:
The electronic chip of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah further teaches wherein the hardware engine is configured to perform tasks comprising one or more of determining how a 3D object casts a shadow on another object, determining how a 3D object reflects off another object, and determining how light falling on a 3D object illuminates another object (Nah 3.1 Therefore, our architecture supports full Whitted effects, including specular reflection, refraction, and hard shadows)(Nah 3.6 The shading unit performs computations related to Phong illumination and texture mapping using the information stored in the material memory and the triangle information cache. The calculated color is added to the previous color in the shading buffer; the final color is determined by accumulating color values from all rays generated from a given pixel.)
Regarding claim 3:
The electronic chip of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah further teaches wherein the hardware engine is implemented as field- programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) (Nah 4.1 The implementation of the proposed ray-tracing architecture is built on four FPGA chips with two iNEXT-V6 boards. It operates at a speed of 84 MHz and the 64-bit bus at the same frequency is used to access the external memory. The host computer (CPU) sends data to DRAM on each FPGA chip through the PCI Express interface and through the bus functional model (BFM) integrated in the FPGA.).
Regarding claim 5:
The electronic chip of The electronic chip of wherein the hardware engine comprises a hardware 3D engine core, and wherein the hardware 3D engine core is configured to govern behavior of a 3D object in a 3D scene and interaction between the 3D object and another 3D object in the 3D scene (Nah 3.1 In contrast to the prior architectures, we chose a fully hardwired approach for the overall RayCore architecture for the following reasons. First, a fully hardwired approach is beneficial in terms of power and area efficiency.) (Nah 3.1 Therefore, our architecture supports full Whitted effects, including specular reflection, refraction, and hard shadows)(Nah 3.6 The shading unit performs computations related to Phong illumination and texture mapping using the information stored in the material memory and the triangle information cache. The calculated color is added to the previous color in the shading buffer; the final color is determined by accumulating color values from all rays generated from a given pixel.) where behavior and interaction between is lighting behavior and interaction.
Regarding claim 6:
The electronic chip of claim 5, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah further teaches wherein the interaction comprises interaction of light with and between the 3D object and the another 3D object in the 3D scene (Nah 3.1 In contrast to the prior architectures, we chose a fully hardwired approach for the overall RayCore architecture for the following reasons. First, a fully hardwired approach is beneficial in terms of power and area efficiency.) (Nah 3.1 Therefore, our architecture supports full Whitted effects, including specular reflection, refraction, and hard shadows)(Nah 3.6 The shading unit performs computations related to Phong illumination and texture mapping using the information stored in the material memory and the triangle information cache. The calculated color is added to the previous color in the shading buffer; the final color is determined by accumulating color values from all rays generated from a given pixel.)
Regarding claim 7:
The electronic chip of claim 5, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah further teaches further comprising a memory coupled via a hardware interface to the hardware 3D engine core, thereby enabling the hardware 3D engine core to directly load and store data to the memory (Nah Fig. 3 and 3.2 The memory system is composed of caches and buffers. The T&I caches are configured as two-level hierarchies; each level-one (L1) cache (Node/TriAccel and list caches) shares a T&I level-two (L2) cache. The external memory is configured for ASdata, geometry data (including triangle information), texture images, and the frame buffer.).
Regarding claim 8:
The electronic chip of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah further teaches wherein the hardware engine is a hardware game engine (Nah Conclusion In the future, we would like to explore applications of our RayCore architecture to mobile applications such as games, user interfaces, and augmented reality).
Regarding claim 9 (independent):
The claim is a parallel version of claim 1. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 11:
The computing device of claim 9, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah further teaches wherein the computing device comprises a smart phone (Nah We present RayCore, a mobile ray-tracing hardware architecture. RayCore facilitates high-quality rendering effects, such as reflection, refraction, and shadows, on mobile devices by performing real-time)(Nah 1. With the widespread use of mobile devices, including smart phones and tablets, there is considerable interest in generating photo-realistic images at low power cost.).
Regarding claim 12:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 2. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 13:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 3. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 15:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 5. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 16:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 6. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 17:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 7. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nah “RayCore: A Ray-Tracing Hardware Architecture for Mobile Devices” in view of Crassin “Interactive Indirect Illumination Using Voxel Cone Tracing”.
Regarding claim 4:
The electronic chip of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah does not expressly disclose a voxel space based cone tracing. In a related field of endeavor, Crassin teaches: wherein the hardware ray trace engine supports voxel space based cone tracing or G-buffer based tracing algorithms (Crassin Abstract: “voxel cone tracing”).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a specialized ray trace engine as taught by Crassin. The rationale for doing so would have been that it is a simple substitution of tracing types, where graphics processing in the form of tracing is still being performed. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Crassin with Nah to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 14:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 4. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nah “RayCore: A Ray-Tracing Hardware Architecture for Mobile Devices” in view of Lee U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20160071318.
Regarding claim 10:
The computing device of claim 9, has all of its limitations taught by Nah. Nah further teaches wherein the computing device comprises a (Nah 6. In the future, we would like to explore applications of our RayCore architecture to mobile appli cations such as games, user interfaces, and augmented reality.) (Nah We present RayCore, a mobile ray-tracing hardware architecture. RayCore facilitates high-quality rendering effects, such as reflection, refraction, and shadows, on mobile devices by performing real-time)(Nah 1. With the widespread use of mobile devices, including smart phones and tablets, there is considerable interest in generating photo-realistic images at low power cost.).
Nah does not teach VR, although they teach AR. In a related field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
wherein the computing device comprises a virtual reality device (Lee [0068] The computing device 104 can take on many forms, including both mobile and non-mobile forms. Exemplary computing devices include, but are not limited to, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a tablet computer, a smart phone, augmented reality (AR)/virtual reality (VR) devices (e.g., glasses, headset apparatuses, and so forth), an internet appliance, or the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a different computing device as taught by Lee. The rationale for doing so would have been a simple substitution of computing device where the processing is performed in the same way, merely in a different device. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Nah to obtain the invention.
Conclusion
For the prior art referenced and the prior art considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure but not relied upon, see PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON PRINGLE-PARKER whose telephone number is (571) 272-5690 and e-mail is jason.pringle-parker@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30am-5:00pm est Monday-Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, King Poon can be reached on (571) 270-0728. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JASON A PRINGLE-PARKER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617