DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to amendment filed 26 May 2026. Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, , 12, 15, 16 and 20 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, 13 and 14 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4-12, and 15-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1, and 4-11 are a method, claims 12, and 15- 19 are a system and claim 20 is a media. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1, 4-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A-Prong 1: Independent claims (1, 12 and 20) recite in response to an indication of use of a target workflow template among one or more workflow templates, presenting a workflow configuration interface corresponding to the target workflow template; receiving, a selection of an information push object and a selection of a work item within a target application; and creating, using the target workflow template and based on the selected information push object and the selected work item, a target workflow for sending a notification associated with the work item to the information push object and in response creating for the target workflow a chat and in response detecting the work item presenting work items in the chat , indication information about the action . These limitations fall within “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” for commercial or legal interactions (including managing personal behaviors). Simply put, these limitation merely describe selecting templet and work items, which is clearly a business arrangement in its purest form. Claims 1-, 4-12, and 15-20, merely provide additional abstract concepts and narrow the abstract idea. Further claims -, 4-12, and 15-20, are recited at such a high level that the claimed steps amount to no more than a mental processes, such as concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) because a human can select a template, receiving input, and creating a notification can be performed by a human using "pencil and paper," it may be rejected as a mental process.
Step 2A-Prong 2: The only additional elements in independent claim 1 is some form of
computerized system of a workflow configuration interface , which is also recited in independent claims 12, and 20. These computerized systems are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic electronic device, processing unit and memory performing a generic computer function of processing data and a generic memory storing data) such that it amounts no more adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Further the additional limitation merely implementing the generic functions of a workflow configuration interface, which is often viewed as using a generic computer environment to perform conventional activities, which does not provide an "inventive concept".
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the claimed
computer systems amount to no more than “apply” a selection of content on the systems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messner et al (US Pub., No., 2018/0213048 A1) in view of Rosanuru et al (US Pub., 2020/0128053 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Messner teaches a method for workflow automation (paragraph [0003], discloses the development of application and/or workflow), comprising:
in response to an indication of use of a target workflow template among one or more workflow templates(paragraphs [0057]-[0058], discloses developer has interacted with (e.g., by mouse clicket, etc.) to cause step configuration UI generate 310 to generate a UI for configuration of steps and paragraph [0066], dislcies GUI screen is displayed response to a suer activation connection identifier [in response to an indication] ) , presenting a workflow configuration interface corresponding to the target workflow template (paragraph [0058], discloses interaction with add interface 504 invokes step selector , which enables the developer to select a workflow step , Fig. 11, paragraph [0065], discloses user activating user interface element 908, a list of user-selectable connection identifiers 1002, 1004, 1006 and 1008 that each identify a particular type of connection are displayed…, connection identifier 1006+ identifies a third connection type associated with a first service (e.g., a push notification service label as “Push Notification”) and connection .., paragraph [0066], discloses GUI screen 1100 which is displayed [presenting a workflow configuration interface].., upon selecting the connection identifier 1006, the user is presenting with a window 1102); and
receiving, via the workflow configuration interface, a selection of an information push object and a selection of a work item within a target application, (Fig. 8, paragraph [0039], discloses the developer may futher insert and sequence one or more workflow steps [work item] that enable the application being develop to send a message to one or more user paragraph [0060], discloses the developer is defining action workflow step 704 by selecting a workflow step via step selector .., the list of workflow steps 802A, 802B, 802C is displayed, which the developer can select a workflow steps (e.g., by mouse click etc.) to be performed for action workflow step and paragraph [0068], discloses a developer enable to incorporate it in application that he or she is developing .., a developer may create a workflow application that includes a workflow step assocted with a push notification connection, paragraph [0108], discloses “Notification to Case Management” connection was selected [selection of work item]…, push notification is shown GUI screen 1900 may enable [push object is selected] the administrator to designated whether each of the users are authorized to transmit push notification via workflow application…, pull-down menu 1902 is used to select can use option for user “Bob Jones” …”Adam Smith” )
wherein the information push object comprises an individual user(paragraph [0039], discloses transmit the push notifications, paragraph [0041], discloses transmit a push notification and paragraph [0074], discloses user-interactive object represents the recipient of the push notification and paragraph [0076], discloses the push notification to be displayed via the recipient’s device (e.g., a mobile smart phone) [individual user] ); and
creating using the target workflow template and based on the selected information push object and selected work item, a target workflow for sending a notification associated with the work item to the information push object (Fig. 12, discloses Flow Name: send push Notification to case management , 1202 when a record is created, paragraph [0037], discloses create applications, (e.g., business application, workflow application(s), etc.), and paragraph [0039], discloses workflow steps that enable the application being developed to send a message to one or more users of one or more other application (e.g., target application …, transmit the push notification .., paragraphs [0063], [0072] and [0087] discloses a developer may be able to create one or more connection that can be implemented in application being developed by the developer or other developers.., connection is created to generate a push notification connection) ).
Messner teaches the above elements including in response to the creation of the target workflow(paragraph [0039], discloses workflow steps that enable the application being developed to send a message to one or more users of one or more other application, and paragraph [0040], discloses a workflow application is being developed, ,paragraphs [0063], [0072] and [0087] discloses a developer may be able to create one or more connection that can be implemented in application being developed by the developer or other developers.., connection is created to generate a push notification connection) and Notification to Case Management” connection was selected , a list of users (e.g., “Bob Jons” and “Adam Smith”) that are enabled to user the “Notification to Case Management” connection for transmitting of push notification is show, GUI Screen 1900 may enable the administrator to designate(paragraph [0108]). Messner failed to teach in response to creation of the target workflow creating for the target workflow a chat whose members comprising the individual user and a digital assistant for the target application, so that the digital assistant sends a notification associated with the work item to the individual user through the chat and in response to a detection of an action associated with the work item, presenting, in the chat comprising the individual user, indication information about the action.
However, Rosanuru teaches in response to creation of the target workflow creating for the target workflow a chat whose members comprising the individual user and a digital assistant for the target application, so that the digital assistant sends a notification associated with the work item to the individual user through the chat(paragraph [0017], discloses initiate the selected workflow, the initiate the selected workflow for the online chat session.., drive chat paragraph [0019], discloses in addition to initiating the workflow, the interactive chat engine may generate a chat object, paragraph [0058], discloses interactive chat module may obtain an account identifier account is assocted with the user.., identifier may be transmitted to the interactive chat model when the user initiate the online chat session ) and
in response to a detection of an action associated with the work item, presenting, in the chat comprising the individual user, indication information about the action(Fig. 6, paragraphs [0055]-[0056] , discloses may transmit a message “Hi, I want to dispute a recent transactions” [action assocted with the work item presenting] by typing the message and selecting the send button .., when the user select the send butting, the message transmitted by the chat client to the iterative chat model…, after renewing the message via the chat client the entity mya submit a message I am happy to assist you [indication information about the action] and paragraph [0070], discloses the chat client has render the interactive presentation that has been modified by the chat object , the modified interactive presentation includes an indication that the transactions has been selected for the dispute) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for developing a workflow application and generate and transmit a push notification of Messner with selecting workflow from multiple workflow for the online chat session based on the derived context of Rosanuru in order to enable customers to communicate directly with them via an online chat session. (see Rosanuru , paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 4 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method further comprising: wherein the indication information is pushed by a digital assistant for the target application (paragraph [0076], dislcies push notification to be displayed via recipient’s diver (e.g., a mobile smart phone)). Messner failed to teach push by a digital assistant to the chat, and the digital assistant is added to the chat in response to the creation of the target workflow.
However, Rosanuru teaches push by a digital assistant to the chat, and the digital assistant is added to the chat in response to the creation of the target workflow(Fig. 6, paragraph [0013], discloses online chat session is defined as a sequence of messages exchanged between two devices over a network, paragraphs [0055]-[0056] , discloses may transmit a message “Hi, I want to dispute a recent transactions” [action assocted with the work item presenting] by typing the message and selecting the send button .., when the user select the send butting, the message transmitted by the chat client to the iterative chat model…, and paragraph [0070], discloses the chat client has render the interactive presentation that has been modified by the chat object , the modified interactive presentation includes an indication that the transactions has been selected for the dispute) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for developing a workflow application and generate and transmit a push notification of Messner with selecting workflow from multiple workflow for the online chat session based on the derived context of Rosanuru in order to enable customers to communicate directly with them via an online chat session. (see Rosanuru , paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 5 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method further comprising:
in response to a reception of a trigger for at least a portion of the indication information, presenting a page within the target application associated with the action (paragraph [0076], discloses developer has selected the “Yes” option, which cause the target application to be launched upon receiving the push notification to be launched upon receiving the push notification).
With respect to claim 6 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method wherein receiving the selection of the work item within the target application (paragraph [0049], discloses selection of one more steps for inclusion in the workflow is enabled) comprises:
receiving, through a first selection entry, a selection of a tenant among one or more authorized tenants in the target application; and receiving, through a second selection entry, a selection of a work item among one or more work items under the selected tenant(paragraph [0060], discloses the developer is defining action workflow step 704 by selecting a workflow step via step selector .., the list of workflow steps 802A, 802B, 802C is displayed, which the developer can select a workflow steps (e.g., by mouse click etc.) to be performed for action workflow step).
With respect to claim 7 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method further comprising:
receiving, via an interface associated with the target application, a user indication to initiate workflow automation for the target application, before the indication of use is received; in response to the user indication, obtaining authorization information associated with an automation service; and in response to the obtaining the authorization information, enabling a use control for the one or more workflow templates(paragraph [0059], discloses the condition evaluates to a “yes” condition if the file name containing dummy file which invokes firs action workflow step 704 [obtain authorization information assocted with an automation service ]) .
With respect to claim 8 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 7, furthermore, Messner teaches the method wherein user authorization associated with the automation service comprises: first authorization information of an information push service to the automation service (paragraph [0091], discloses an authorization handler may configured to determine whether a push notification is authorized to be transmitted to there of the target application .., authorized to transmit and or receive push notification , and second authorization information of the target application to the automation service).
With respect to claim 9 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method wherein each of the one or more workflow templates comprises at least one of: one or more configurable parameters for the information push object, or one or more configurable parameters for the work item in an application (paragraph[0073], discloses receive one or more user-customizable parameters that may be manually customized by the user).
With respect to claim 10 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method wherein workflow nodes in the one or more workflow templates are pre-configured (paragraph [0056], disclose each work flow step is configured with the appropriate logic and/or interface(s) to perform its).
With respect to claim 11 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method wherein the one or more workflow templates are used for different types of work items(paragraph [0042], discloses UI generator 110 includes a workflow step gallery generator 302, a template gallery generator).
With respect to claim 12, Messner teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1, 102 and paragraph [0033],discloses computing device ) comprising:
at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, cause the electronic device(paragraph [0032], discloses local application 122 may be configured to perform data processing and/or data hosting operation when executed by a processor of computing device ..) to perform acts comprising:
in response to an indication of use of a target workflow template among one or more workflow templates (paragraphs [0057]-[0058], discloses developer has interacted with (e.g., by mouse clicket, etc.) to cause step configuration UI generate 310 to generate a UI for configuration of steps and paragraph [0066], dislcies GUI screen is displayed response to a suer activation connection identifier [in response to an indication] ) , presenting a workflow configuration interface corresponding to the target workflow template (paragraph [0058], discloses interaction with add interface 504 invokes step selector , which enables the developer to select a workflow step , Fig. 11, paragraph [0065], discloses user activating user interface element 908, a list of user-selectable connection identifiers 1002, 1004, 1006 and 1008 that each identify a particular type of connection are displayed…, connection identifier 1006+ identifies a third connection type associated with a first service (e.g., a push notification service label as “Push Notification”) and connection .., paragraph [0066], discloses GUI screen 1100 which is displayed [presenting a workflow configuration interface].., upon selecting the connection identifier 1006, the user is presenting with a window 1102); and
receiving, via the workflow configuration interface, a selection of an information push object and a selection of a work item within a target application, (Fig. 8, paragraph [0039], discloses the developer may futher insert and sequence one or more workflow steps [work item] that enable the application being develop to send a message to one or more user paragraph [0060], discloses the developer is defining action workflow step 704 by selecting a workflow step via step selector .., the list of workflow steps 802A, 802B, 802C is displayed, which the developer can select a workflow steps (e.g., by mouse click etc.) to be performed for action workflow step and paragraph [0068], discloses a developer enable to incorporate it in application that he or she is developing .., a developer may create a workflow application that includes a workflow step assocted with a push notification connection, paragraph [0108], discloses “Notification to Case Management” connection was selected [selection of work item]…, push notification is shown GUI screen 1900 may enable [push object is selected] the administrator to designated whether each of the users are authorized to transmit push notification via workflow application…, pull-down menu 1902 is used to select can use option for user “Bob Jones” …”Adam Smith” )
wherein the information push object comprises an individual user(paragraph [0039], discloses transmit the push notifications, paragraph [0041], discloses transmit a push notification and paragraph [0074], discloses user-interactive object represents the recipient of the push notification and paragraph [0076], discloses the push notification to be displayed via the recipient’s device (e.g., a mobile smart phone) [individual user] ); and
creating using the target workflow template and based on the selected information push object and selected work item, a target workflow for sending a notification associated with the work item to the information push object (Fig. 12, discloses Flow Name: send push Notification to case management , 1202 when a record is created, paragraph [0037], discloses create applications, (e.g., business application, workflow application(s), etc.), and paragraph [0039], discloses workflow steps that enable the application being developed to send a message to one or more users of one or more other application (e.g., target application …, transmit the push notification .., paragraphs [0063], [0072] and [0087] discloses a developer may be able to create one or more connection that can be implemented in application being developed by the developer or other developers.., connection is created to generate a push notification connection) ).
Messner teaches the above elements including in response to the creation of the target workflow(paragraph [0039], discloses workflow steps that enable the application being developed to send a message to one or more users of one or more other application, and paragraph [0040], discloses a workflow application is being developed, ,paragraphs [0063], [0072] and [0087] discloses a developer may be able to create one or more connection that can be implemented in application being developed by the developer or other developers.., connection is created to generate a push notification connection) and Notification to Case Management” connection was selected , a list of users (e.g., “Bob Jons” and “Adam Smith”) that are enabled to user the “Notification to Case Management” connection for transmitting of push notification is show, GUI Screen 1900 may enable the administrator to designate(paragraph [0108]). Messner failed to teach in response to creation of the target workflow creating for the target workflow a chat whose members comprising the individual user and a digital assistant for the target application, so that the digital assistant sends a notification associated with the work item to the individual user through the chat and in response to a detection of an action associated with the work item, presenting, in the chat comprising the individual user, indication information about the action.
However, Rosanuru teaches in response to creation of the target workflow creating for the target workflow a chat whose members comprising the individual user and a digital assistant for the target application, so that the digital assistant sends a notification associated with the work item to the individual user through the chat(paragraph [0017], discloses initiate the selected workflow, the initiate the selected workflow for the online chat session.., drive chat paragraph [0019], discloses in addition to initiating the workflow, the interactive chat engine may generate a chat object, paragraph [0058], discloses interactive chat module may obtain an account identifier account is assocted with the user.., identifier may be transmitted to the interactive chat model when the user initiate the online chat session ) and
in response to a detection of an action associated with the work item, presenting, in the chat comprising the individual user, indication information about the action(Fig. 6, paragraphs [0055]-[0056] , discloses may transmit a message “Hi, I want to dispute a recent transactions” [action assocted with the work item presenting] by typing the message and selecting the send button .., when the user select the send butting, the message transmitted by the chat client to the iterative chat model…, after renewing the message via the chat client the entity mya submit a message I am happy to assist you [indication information about the action]and paragraph [0070], discloses the chat client has render the interactive presentation that has been modified by the chat object , the modified interactive presentation includes an indication that the transactions has been selected for the dispute) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for developing a workflow application and generate and transmit a push notification of Messner with selecting workflow from multiple workflow for the online chat session based on the derived context of Rosanuru in order to enable customers to communicate directly with them via an online chat session. (see Rosanuru , paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 15 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 14, furthermore, Messner teaches the device further comprising: wherein the indication information is pushed by a digital assistant for the target application (paragraph [0076], dislcies push notification to be displayed via recipient’s diver (e.g., a mobile smart phone)). Messner failed to teach push by a digital assistant to the chat, and the digital assistant is added to the chat in response to the creation of the target workflow.
However, Rosanuru teaches push by a digital assistant to the chat, and the digital assistant is added to the chat in response to the creation of the target workflow(Fig. 6, paragraph [0013], discloses online chat session is defined as a sequence of messages exchanged between two devices over a network, paragraphs [0055]-[0056] , discloses may transmit a message “Hi, I want to dispute a recent transactions” [action assocted with the work item presenting] by typing the message and selecting the send button .., when the user select the send butting, the message transmitted by the chat client to the iterative chat model…, and paragraph [0070], discloses the chat client has render the interactive presentation that has been modified by the chat object , the modified interactive presentation includes an indication that the transactions has been selected for the dispute) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for developing a workflow application and generate and transmit a push notification of Messner with selecting workflow from multiple workflow for the online chat session based on the derived context of Rosanuru in order to enable customers to communicate directly with them via an online chat session. (see Rosanuru , paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 16 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 14, furthermore, Messner teaches the device further comprising:
in response to a reception of a trigger for at least a portion of the indication information, presenting a page within the target application associated with the action (paragraph [0076], discloses developer has selected the “Yes” option, which cause the target application to be launched upon receiving the push notification to be launched upon receiving the push notification).
With respect to claim 17 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 12, furthermore, Messner teaches the device wherein receiving the selection of the work item within the target application (paragraph [0049], discloses selection of one more steps for inclusion in the workflow is enabled) comprises:
receiving, through a first selection entry, a selection of a tenant among one or more authorized tenants in the target application; and receiving, through a second selection entry, a selection of a work item among one or more work items under the selected tenant(paragraph [0060], discloses the developer is defining action workflow step 704 by selecting a workflow step via step selector .., the list of workflow steps 802A, 802B, 802C is displayed, which the developer can select a workflow steps (e.g., by mouse click etc.) to be performed for action workflow step).
With respect to claim 18 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Messner teaches the method further comprising:
receiving, via an interface associated with the target application, a user indication to initiate workflow automation for the target application, before the indication of use is received; in response to the user indication, obtaining authorization information associated with an automation service; and in response to the obtaining the authorization information, enabling a use control for the one or more workflow templates(paragraph [0059], discloses the condition evaluates to a “yes” condition if the file name containing dummy file which invokes firs action workflow step 704 [obtain authorization information assocted with an automation service ]) .
With respect to claim 19 , Messner in view of Rosanuru teaches elements of claim 18, furthermore, Messner teaches the device wherein user authorization associated with the automation service comprises: first authorization information of an information push service to the automation service (paragraph [0091], discloses an authorization handler may configured to determine whether a push notification is authorized to be transmitted to there of the target application .., authorized to transmit and or receive push notification , and second authorization information of the target application to the automation service).
With respect to claim 20, Messner teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored there on a computer program executable by a processor to implement act (paragraph [0032], discloses local application 122 may be configured to perform data processing and/or data hosting operation when executed by a processor of computing device ..), comprising:
in response to an indication of use of a target workflow template among one or more workflow templates (paragraphs [0057]-[0058], discloses developer has interacted with (e.g., by mouse clicket, etc.) to cause step configuration UI generate 310 to generate a UI for configuration of steps and paragraph [0066], dislcies GUI screen is displayed response to a suer activation connection identifier [in response to an indication] ) , presenting a workflow configuration interface corresponding to the target workflow template (paragraph [0058], discloses interaction with add interface 504 invokes step selector , which enables the developer to select a workflow step , Fig. 11, paragraph [0065], discloses user activating user interface element 908, a list of user-selectable connection identifiers 1002, 1004, 1006 and 1008 that each identify a particular type of connection are displayed…, connection identifier 1006+ identifies a third connection type associated with a first service (e.g., a push notification service label as “Push Notification”) and connection .., paragraph [0066], discloses GUI screen 1100 which is displayed [presenting a workflow configuration interface].., upon selecting the connection identifier 1006, the user is presenting with a window 1102); and
receiving, via the workflow configuration interface, a selection of an information push object and a selection of a work item within a target application, (Fig. 8, paragraph [0039], discloses the developer may futher insert and sequence one or more workflow steps [work item] that enable the application being develop to send a message to one or more user paragraph [0060], discloses the developer is defining action workflow step 704 by selecting a workflow step via step selector .., the list of workflow steps 802A, 802B, 802C is displayed, which the developer can select a workflow steps (e.g., by mouse click etc.) to be performed for action workflow step and paragraph [0068], discloses a developer enable to incorporate it in application that he or she is developing .., a developer may create a workflow application that includes a workflow step assocted with a push notification connection, paragraph [0108], discloses “Notification to Case Management” connection was selected [selection of work item]…, push notification is shown GUI screen 1900 may enable [push object is selected] the administrator to designated whether each of the users are authorized to transmit push notification via workflow application…, pull-down menu 1902 is used to select can use option for user “Bob Jones” …”Adam Smith” )
wherein the information push object comprises an individual user(paragraph [0039], discloses transmit the push notifications, paragraph [0041], discloses transmit a push notification and paragraph [0074], discloses user-interactive object represents the recipient of the push notification and paragraph [0076], discloses the push notification to be displayed via the recipient’s device (e.g., a mobile smart phone) [individual user] ); and
creating using the target workflow template and based on the selected information push object and selected work item, a target workflow for sending a notification associated with the work item to the information push object (Fig. 12, discloses Flow Name: send push Notification to case management , 1202 when a record is created, paragraph [0037], discloses create applications, (e.g., business application, workflow application(s), etc.), and paragraph [0039], discloses workflow steps that enable the application being developed to send a message to one or more users of one or more other application (e.g., target application …, transmit the push notification .., paragraphs [0063], [0072] and [0087] discloses a developer may be able to create one or more connection that can be implemented in application being developed by the developer or other developers.., connection is created to generate a push notification connection) ).
Messner teaches the above elements including in response to the creation of the target workflow(paragraph [0039], discloses workflow steps that enable the application being developed to send a message to one or more users of one or more other application, and paragraph [0040], discloses a workflow application is being developed, ,paragraphs [0063], [0072] and [0087] discloses a developer may be able to create one or more connection that can be implemented in application being developed by the developer or other developers.., connection is created to generate a push notification connection) and Notification to Case Management” connection was selected , a list of users (e.g., “Bob Jons” and “Adam Smith”) that are enabled to user the “Notification to Case Management” connection for transmitting of push notification is show, GUI Screen 1900 may enable the administrator to designate(paragraph [0108]). Messner failed to teach in response to creation of the target workflow creating for the target workflow a chat whose members comprising the individual user and a digital assistant for the target application, so that the digital assistant sends a notification associated with the work item to the individual user through the chat and in response to a detection of an action associated with the work item, presenting, in the chat comprising the individual user, indication information about the action.
However, Rosanuru teaches in response to creation of the target workflow creating for the target workflow a chat whose members comprising the individual user and a digital assistant for the target application, so that the digital assistant sends a notification associated with the work item to the individual user through the chat(paragraph [0017], discloses initiate the selected workflow, the initiate the selected workflow for the online chat session.., drive chat paragraph [0019], discloses in addition to initiating the workflow, the interactive chat engine may generate a chat object, paragraph [0058], discloses interactive chat module may obtain an account identifier account is assocted with the user.., identifier may be transmitted to the interactive chat model when the user initiate the online chat session ) and
in response to a detection of an action associated with the work item, presenting, in the chat comprising the individual user, indication information about the action(Fig. 6, paragraphs [0055]-[0056] , discloses may transmit a message “Hi, I want to dispute a recent transactions” [action assocted with the work item presenting] by typing the message and selecting the send button .., when the user select the send butting, the message transmitted by the chat client to the iterative chat model…, after renewing the message via the chat client the entity mya submit a message I am happy to assist you [indication information about the action] and paragraph [0070], discloses the chat client has render the interactive presentation that has been modified by the chat object , the modified interactive presentation includes an indication that the transactions has been selected for the dispute) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for developing a workflow application and generate and transmit a push notification of Messner with selecting workflow from multiple workflow for the online chat session based on the derived context of Rosanuru in order to enable customers to communicate directly with them via an online chat session. (see Rosanuru , paragraph [0002]).
Prior arts:
Messner et al (US Pub., No., 2018/0213048 A1) discloses methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer program products are described herein for the development of applications and/or workflows that are enabled to transmit and/or push notifications to end-users. The developer (or "maker" or "creator") of the application(s) and/or workflow(s) are enabled to develop such application(s) and/or workflow(s) without having to be expert programmers (i.e., such a developer may be a business user with little to no programming experience).
Rathod et al (US Pub., 2025/0004822 A1) discloses a methods, systems and apparatus for configuring file and data replication models including snapshot, merge, transactional, one-way (client to server/server to client) publications and subscriptions for different types of strategies and rules for caching and fetching of resources related to particular web app. Other important invention is generating code and component for service worker based on use provided visual configuration settings for caching and fetching strategies and rules and associated values for selected parameters.
Rosanuru et al (US Pub., 2020/0128053 A1) discloses methods and systems are presented for providing dynamic and interactive content in an online chat session. When it is determined that an online chat session is established between two devices, an interactive chat engine may begin monitoring chat messages exchanged between the devices to derive a context for the online chat session.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 35 U.S.C 101 rejections filed on 26 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments of the claims are not directed to a judicial exception and, in any event, integrate any such alleged exception into a practical application that improves the operation of computer-implemented collaboration platforms is not persuasive. The claims are directed an abstract idea because it describes a form of workflow automation. Under the Alice/Mayo frame the USPTO views the steps as an abstract idea (e.g., organizing human activity or mental processes) implemented on a generic computer.
Furthermore, under Step 2A-Priong 1, the claims describe receiving selections, mapping them to a template, creating a workflow, and presenting notifications in a chat, which fails under "methods of organizing human activity" or fundamental economic/business practices.
Under 2A-Prong 2: the additional elements merely provide generic computer implementation (e.g., "use a computer as a tool" to send a chat) or if they integrate the concept.
Under 2B: To be patent-eligible, the claim must amount to "significantly more" than the abstract idea. The USPTO will look for additional claim elements that are not well-understood, routine, or conventional. Thus, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejections with respect to claims 1, 4-12 and 15-20 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejections filed on 26 May 2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-12 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621