DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 7, 9, and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/10/2026.
Of note – Applicant has not marked the non-elected claims as withdrawn on the amended claims, which is addressed in the claim objections below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [62] has an extra "62]" in the first line
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 14, 16-18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5, “gum” should be, “the gum”.
Claim 3, the last two lines should be corrected to state, “a residual bone contact support part formed on an outer surface of the device body and configured to be supported by contact with the residual bone.”
Claim 4 reads as a manufacturing claim, rather than an apparatus claim. Examiner recommends rephrasing the claim to state, “wherein the residual bone contact support part having a continuous spiral shape.”
Claims 5, 7, 9, and 11 are missing, “(Withdrawn)” from the first line.
Claim 6
Line 1, should read, “The fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3”, as the device body isn’t part of claim 2.
Further, the entire claim reads as a manufacturing claim. Examiner recommends rephrasing the claim to state, “the residual bone contact support part forms a partial section of an outer surface of the device body”.
Claim 14 reads as a method claim. Examiner recommends rephrasing the claim to state, “a healing body that is coupled to the residual bone coupling part, and configured to be arranged such that an exposed end portion of the healing body is exposed to outside the gum.
Claim 15 is difficult to follow as to what is being stated. Examiner recommends rephrasing the claim to state, “a bottom surface wider than a top surface
Claim 16 is redundant. Examiner recommends rephrasing the claim to state, “wherein the healing body comprises a tapered outer surface”.
Claim 17 reads as a manufacturing claim and uses extraneous language that renders the claim difficult to follow, especially as the fixture is not being claimed. Examiner recommends rephrasing the claim to state, “wherein the fixture detachable coupling part comprises a threaded coupling part configured to be coupled
Claim 18 reads as a manufacturing claim and uses extraneous language that renders the claim difficult to follow, especially as the fixture is not being claimed. Examiner recommends rephrasing the claim to state, “wherein the fixture detachable coupling part further comprises an unthreaded coupling part that is configured to be coupled to an unthreaded
Claim 20, the last line, “being unthreaded”, is redundant and should be omitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 8 and dependent claims 4, 6, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, lines 2-3, read as claiming the fixture as part of the invention; however, the preamble of the claim and the claim on which it depends (claim 1), do not claim the fixture as part of the fixture stabilizing device. Further, this portion of the claim reads as a method step for the fixture. For examination purposes, Examiner understands the claimed invention as including only the fixture stabilizing device and not the fixture; thus, this is merely intended use language related to how the fixture stabilizing device is configured to be placed relative to a fixture. Examiner recommends omitting this claim, as claims 17 and 18 already disclose how the fixture and fixture stabilizing device interface and this claim does not seem relevant to the apparatus being claimed in the preamble.
Claim 3, lines 3-4, also reads as claiming the fixture as part of the invention, although the preamble of the claim and the claim on which it depends (claim 1), do not claim the fixture as part of the fixture stabilizing device. For examination purposes, Examiner understands the claimed invention as including only the fixture stabilizing device and not the fixture; thus, this is merely intended use language related to the placement hole. Examiner recommends omitting these lines of the claim, as it is unclear how the inserting of the device body in a hole created for the fixture pertains to the apparatus claim.
Claim 8 is unclear in light of the specification, as the claim is comparing an end surface of the device body and an end surface of the residual bone coupling part; however, Applicant discloses the device body 530 is part of the residual bone coupling part 520, and no end surface of the device body 530 is greater in width than the rest of the bone coupling part 520, as that structure is tapered (see Paragraph [135] of specification and Fig. 18, annotated below). Examiner understands this claim as meaning the cross-sectional area that forms the smallest cross-sectional area in the device body is greater in width than the width of the cross-sectional area that forms the largest cross-sectional area of the fixture detachable coupling part based on Paragraph [97] of the specification, meaning the fixture detachable coupling part tapers in width from where it meets the device body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1, 3, 13 and dependent claims 2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 recites, “a fixtured placed in an alveolar bone…a residual bone coupling part coupled to a region of a residual bone forming one side of gum”. Both of these limitations encompass a human organism, the alveolar bone and residual bone. Examiner recommends amending the language of this claim to recite that these limitations are intended use - “a fixture configured to be placed in an alveolar bone…a residual bone coupling part configured to be coupled to a region of a residual bone”.
Claim 3 recites, “a device body…arranged in the residual bone…a residual bone contact support part…supported by contact with the residual bone”. These limitations encompass a human organism, the residual bone. Examiner recommends amending the language of this claim to recite that this limitation is intended use - “a device body…configured to be arranged in the residual bone…a residual bone contact support part…configured to be supported by contact with the residual bone.”
Claim 13 recites, “an exposed end portion of the residual bone coupling part is arranged in the residual bone”. This limitation encompasses a human organism, the residual bone. Examiner recommends amending the language of this claim to recite that this limitation is intended use, “an exposed end portion of the residual bone coupling part configured to be arranged in the residual bone”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 12-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woon et al. (KR 102206107 B1; refer to provided translation); herein Woon.
Regarding claim 1, Woon discloses a fixture stabilizing device for dental implants (10), the fixture stabilizing device (10) (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below) comprising:
a fixture detachable coupling part (233+241+243+250) detachably coupled to a fixture (100) placed in an alveolar bone (S3) during a dental implant procedure (refer to Paragraphs [0039], [0094]; Examiner understands this limitation as intended use; the implant device 10 is stably coupled to the fixture 100 to be placed in the bone tissue until the implanted bone is stabilized in the alveolar bone); and
a residual bone coupling part (210+231) connected to the fixture detachable coupling part (233+241+243+250) and coupled to a region of a residual bone (S2) forming one side of gum at an opposite side of the fixture (100) (refer to Paragraphs [0040], [0055], annotated Fig. 10; Examiner understands this limitation as intended use; a threaded upper portion of the cover screw 200 protrudes upward from the fixture 100 to contact the bone; as demonstrated in Fig. 10, a portion of the tapered portion 231 is also shown as extending above the fixture 100, coupled to the bone).
Regarding claim 2, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 1 (10), wherein the fixture (100) is placed such that a platform position of the fixture is equal to or at least deeper than a limit position of the residual bone (S2) (refer to Paragraph [0096], annotated Fig. 10 below; Examiner understands the claimed invention as including only the fixture stabilizing device and not the fixture; the implant device 10 is a fixture 100 that is installed in the bone graft unit S2), and the fixture detachable coupling part (233+241+243+250) is coupled to the fixture (100) placed at a corresponding position and the residual bone coupling part (210+231) is coupled to the region of the residual bone (S2) so as to fix and support the fixture (100) (refer to Paragraphs [0057], [0097], annotated Fig. 10 below; Examiner understands this limitation as intended use; the internal threads of the first screw portion 210 may be implanted in bone tissue to increase the support force of the fixture 100 for the bone tissue; as demonstrated in Fig. 10, a portion of the tapered portion 231 is also shown as extending above the fixture 100, coupled to the bone).
Regarding claim 3, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 1 (10), wherein the residual bone coupling part (210+231) comprises:
a device body (231) inserted through a placement hole (140), through which the fixture (100) is placed, and arranged in the residual bone (S2) (refer to annotated Fig. 10 below; Examiner understands this limitation as intended use) and
a residual bone contact support part (210) formed on an outer surface of the device body (214+231a) and supported by contact with the residual bone (S2) (refer to Paragraph [0097], annotated Figs. 6, 10 below).
Regarding claim 4, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3 (10), wherein the residual bone contact support part (210) is processed to protrude outwards from the outer surface of the device body (214) in a radius direction to have a continuous spiral shape (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below) (refer to Paragraph [0078]; the first screw portion 210 is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the first screw portion body 214).
Regarding claim 6, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 2 (10), wherein the residual bone contact support part (210+231) is formed in a partial section of an outer surface of the device body (refer to annotated Fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 9, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3 (10), wherein the outer surface of the device body (214+231a) has a non-linear shape (refer to Paragraph [0086], annotated Fig. 6 from claim 8 above; Examiner understands non-linear as tapered, consistent with Paragraph [95] of the specification; the first tapered portion 231 extends inclined by a first inclination angle θ1).
Regarding claim 10, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3 (10), wherein at least a partial section of the outer surface of the device body (231a) forms a tapered outer wall with a cross-sectional area gradually decreasing toward the fixture detachable coupling part (233+241+243+250) (refer to Paragraph [0086], annotated Fig. 6 from claim 8 above; the first tapered portion 231 extends inclined by a first inclination angle θ1).
Regarding claim 12, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3 (10), wherein an end portion of the device body (231) in contact with the fixture detachable coupling part (233+241+243+250) forms a platform contact support part (231) that is supported by contact with a platform of the fixture (refer to annotated Fig. 10 from claim 3 above) (refer to Paragraph [0084]; the outer circumferential surface of the first tapered portion 231 forms a support surface 231a contacting the screw support portion 142 of the fixture 100).
Regarding claim 13, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 1 (10), wherein an exposed end portion of the residual bone coupling part (210) is arranged in the residual bone (S2) (refer to Paragraph [0097], annotated Fig. 10 from claim 1 above; the internal threads of the first screw portion 210 are implanted in bone tissue).
Regarding claim 17, Woon discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 1 (10), wherein the fixture detachable coupling part (233+241+243+250) comprises a threaded coupling part (250) that is formed inside a body part of the fixture (140) and coupled in a screw-like manner to a threaded coupling section of a device coupling part (150) to which the fixture detachable coupling part (233+241+243+250) is detachably coupled (refer to Paragraph [0052], annotated Fig. 3 below; the cover screw 200 is inserted into the screw fastening part 150 through the fixture recessed part 140).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-10, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (KR 101316008 B1; refer to provided translation), herein Jung.
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a fixture stabilizing device for dental implants (10), the fixture stabilizing device (10) (refer to Paragraph [0019]) comprising:
a fixture detachable coupling part (20) detachably coupled to a fixture (50) placed in an alveolar bone during a dental implant procedure (refer to Paragraph [0019]; the connecting portion 20 is connected to the fixture 50 which is placed on the alveolar bone B); and
a residual bone coupling part (30+40) connected to the fixture detachable coupling part (20) and coupled to a region of a residual bone (BG) forming one side of gum at an opposite side of the fixture (50) (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 3, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 1 (10), wherein the residual bone coupling part (30+40) comprises:
a device body (30) inserted through a placement hole, through which the fixture (50) is placed, and arranged in the residual bone (BG) (refer to annotated Fig. 7 below; Examiner understands this limitation as intended use); and
a residual bone contact support part (33) formed on an outer surface of the device body (perimeter of 30) and supported by contact with the residual bone (BG) (refer to Paragraph [0021], annotated Fig. 7 below; the upper surface 33 of the body 30 is in contact with the lower surface of the dental membrane and supported by the residual bone on the side).
Regarding claim 8, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3 (10), wherein an end surface forming a smallest area in the device body is greater than an end surface of the residual bone coupling part forming a largest area (refer to Paragraph [0024], annotated Fig. 6 below; Examiner understands this limitation as meaning the cross-sectional area that forms the smallest cross-sectional area in the device body is greater in diameter than the diameter of the cross-sectional area that forms the largest cross-sectional area of the fixture detachable coupling part based on Paragraph [97] of the specification, meaning the fixture detachable coupling part tapers in diameter from where it meets the device body; further, Applicant discloses the device body 530 is part of the residual bone coupling part 520, and no end surface of the device body 530 is greater in width than the rest of the bone coupling part 420, as that structure is tapered (see Paragraph [135] of specification and Fig. 18); a 90° angle exists between the edge of the upper surface of the fixture detachable coupling part and the bottom surface of the device body; thus, the diameter of the bottom of the device body is larger than the diameter of the top of the fixture detachable coupling part).
Regarding claim 9, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3 (10), wherein the outer surface of the device body (perimeter of 30) has a non-linear shape (refer to Paragraph [0024], annotated Fig. 6 from claim 8 above; Examiner understands non-linear as tapered, consistent with Paragraph [95] of the specification).
Regarding claim 10, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 3 (10), wherein at least a partial section of the outer surface of the device body (lateral perimeter of 30) forms a tapered outer wall with a cross-sectional area gradually decreasing toward the fixture detachable coupling part (20) (refer to Paragraph [0024], annotated Fig. 6 from claim 8 above).
Regarding claim 17, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 1 (10), wherein the fixture detachable coupling part (20) comprises a threaded coupling part (21) that is formed inside a body part of the fixture and coupled in a screw-like manner to a threaded coupling section of a device coupling part to which the fixture detachable coupling part (20) is detachably coupled (refer to Paragraph [0019], annotated Fig. 7 below; the threaded portion 21 constitutes the lower end of the connecting portion 20 and is engaged with a female threaded portion in the fixture 50).
Regarding claim 18, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 17 (10), wherein the fixture detachable coupling part (20) further comprises an unthreaded coupling part (22) that is coupled to an unthreaded coupling section of the device coupling part formed inside the body part of the fixture to be pressed by contact with the unthreaded coupling section (22) (refer to Paragraph [0019], annotated Fig. 7 below; the guide portion 22 is shown as being in contact with the inner surface of the implant’s receiving channel/coupling section).
Regarding claim 19, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 18 (10), wherein the unthreaded coupling part (22) has a conic shape with a cross-sectional area gradually decreasing toward the threaded coupling part (21) (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 20, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 18 (10), wherein the fixture detachable coupling part (20) comprises:
a connection part connecting the threaded coupling part (21) to the unthreaded coupling part (22) (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below); and
an unthreaded protruding portion forming an end portion of the threaded coupling part and being unthreaded (refer to annotated Fig. 6 below; the first threads are shown as starting upward from the lower end of the screw portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 101316008 B1; refer to provided translation), herein Jung, in view of Falco et al. (US 20130203015 A1), herein Falco.
Regarding claim 14, Jung discloses the fixture stabilizing device for dental implants of claim 1 (10), wherein a healing body (60) is coupled to the residual bone coupling part (40) (refer to Paragraphs [0022], [0026], annotated Fig. 7 below; the upper structure 60 is fastened to the engaging portion 40); Jung does not explicitly teach the healing body (60) being arranged such that an exposed end portion of the healing body is exposed to outside the gum (of note, Examiner understands the last limitation as intended use), wherein an end surface forming a smallest area of the healing body is greater than an end surface forming a largest area of the residual bone coupling part, wherein the healing body comprises a tapered healing body with a tapered outer surface.
Falco discloses a two-part system (10) for engaging a dental implant in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0054], Fig. 8). The two-part system (10) includes a healing body (20) coupled to external screw threading (50) of a coupling part (40), arranged such that an exposed end portion of the healing body (20) is exposed to outside the gum (refer to Fig. 8, Paragraph [0084]; a gingival tissue contour cap 20 has been secured to the top 44 of the healing cap 40 by way of healing cap connectors 50a and 50b inserted into contour cap connectors 32a and 32b), wherein the healing body (20) comprises a tapered healing body with a tapered outer surface (refer to Paragraph [0056]; the one or more sidewalls 24 may taper outward from or inward toward the midline of the contour cap 20). The use of the tapered healing body (20) with the coupling part (40) enables the gingival tissue of the patient to grow and heal around the sidewalls (24) of the tapered healing body (20), assuming the shape of the sidewalls (24) (refer to Paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fixture stabilizing device (10) of Jung with a tapered healing body (20) as taught by Falco in order to enable the gingival tissue of the patient to grow and heal around the sidewalls to assume their shape (refer to Paragraph [0018]).
Falco does not explicitly teach wherein an end surface forming a smallest area of the healing body (30) is greater than an end surface forming a largest area of the coupling part (44); however, Falco does teach that the sidewalls (24) of the healing body (20) have a mesiodistal (MD) dimension/diameter corresponding to a tooth (80), being in the range of 4.7-7.9 mm (refer to Paragraph [0056], Table 1, Fig. 4D), while the connector (40) has a diameter in the range of 3mm-6mm. The range of diameters of the coupling part (40) and healing body (20) thus overlap with the claimed range, which requires the diameter/width, and thus cross-sectional area, of the largest end surface of the coupling part (44) to be less than the smallest end surface of the healing body (30).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.) MPEP § 2144.05-I.
Further, Falco teaches the dimensions of the healing body (30) are chosen to eliminate the need for re-contouring the gingival tissue (refer to Paragraph [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fixture stabilizing device (10) of Woon with the dimensions of the tapered healing body (20) and connector part (40) as taught by Jung in order to eliminate the need for re-contouring the gingival tissue (refer to Paragraph [0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iulian (WO 2026033250 A1; refer to provided translation) discloses a device for optimizing the primary stability for dental implants with a threaded top and stepped body (refer to Fig. 1A and Abstract).
/ADRIENA J WEBB LYTTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772