DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 11, 14-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/26 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/30/26. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kida (US 2016/0011713). Regarding claim 1, Kida discloses a touch panel, comprising a touch function area and an electrode layer located in the touch function area, wherein the electrode layer comprises (Figs. 18-21, [0172-0177], touch panel substrate 202 includes touch function area with electrode layer as first electrode layer 210 and second electrode layer 220 in the touch function area): a plurality of first electrodes arranged in parallel (Figs. 19-20, [0172-0177], first touch electrodes 221 are arranged in sensor array columns in parallel in a vertical direction); and a plurality of second electrodes arranged in parallel, wherein the plurality of second electrodes are arranged to be spaced apart from the plurality of first electrodes and intersect with the plurality of first electrodes to form a plurality of touch units at intersections (Figs. 18 and 20, [0172-0177], second electrodes as electrodes 211 are arranged in parallel horizontally and are spaced apart from the first electrodes 221 to form touch units at intersections); wherein in at least one touch unit of the plurality of touch units, a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes comprises at least one first main electrode extending in a first direction and at least one first sub-electrode connected to and extending from the at least one first main electrode in a second direction different from the first direction (Figs. 19-20, [0172-0177], first electrode 221 extends in vertical first direction and has at least one trunk first main electrode and at least one first right side branch sub-electrode electrode connected to a first trunk main electrode and extending from the at least one trunk first main electrode in a horizontal second direction different from the vertical first direction), and an extension direction of the at least one first sub-electrode is the second direction and is parallel to an extension direction of a touch channel determined by a second electrode in the plurality of second electrodes (Figs. 18-20, horizontal extension direction of the first branch sub-electrode (extension of 221) is the horizontal second direction and is parallel to a horizontal extension direction of a horizontal touch channel (Fig. 18, element 211 horizontal touch channel) determined by the second electrode 211 in the plurality of electrodes 211).
Regarding claim 2, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein in each of the plurality of touch units, extension directions of first sub-electrodes are same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode, or the extension directions of the first sub-electrodes are same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode (Kida, extension directions of first sub-electrodes (Kida, Fig. 19, [0172-0177], element 221 extensions in horizontal direction) are same as a horizontal extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode 211); or each first sub-electrode in the at least one first sub-electrode comprises at least two first extension parts spliced together, an extension direction of a part of the at least two first extension parts is same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode, and an extension direction of another part of the at least two first extension parts is same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode.
Regarding claim 3, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein in each of the plurality of touch units, ends, facing away from the first main electrode, of all first sub-electrodes are arranged in a plurality of rows, or columns, or rows and columns, directions of the plurality of rows are same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode, and directions of the plurality of columns are same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode (Kida, Figs. 18-20, [0172-0177], ends, facing away from the trunk first main electrode 221, of all first sub-electrodes are arranged in rows and columns, directions of the plurality of rows are same as an horizontal extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode 211, and directions of the plurality of columns (at end face of branch part of 221) are same as an vertical extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode 221).
Regarding claim 4, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein an edge, facing the at least one first sub-electrode, of the second electrode is conformal with an edge, facing the second electrode, of the at least one first sub-electrode (Kida, Fig. 20, [0172-0177], a top edge of second electrode 211 facing the lower edge of a first sub-electrode (branch of electrode 221) is conformal with a lower edge, facing the second electrode 211 of the first branch sub-electrode).
Regarding claim 5, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein in each of the plurality of touch units, each of the plurality of second electrodes comprises at least one second main electrode and at least one second sub-electrode connected to a second main electrode of the at least one second main electrode, and the first main electrode intersects with the second main electrode (Kida, Fig. 21, [0178-0183], each of the plurality of second electrodes 211 comprises at least one second main electrode (trunk section) and at least one second sub-electrode (t-shaped sections near elements 215 and 225) connected to a second main electrode (trunk of 211) of the at least one second main electrode, and the first main electrode 221 intersects with the second main electrode (trunk of 211)).
Regarding claim 6, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 5, wherein in each of the plurality of touch units, ends, facing away from the second main electrode, of all second sub-electrodes are arranged in a plurality of rows, or columns, or rows and columns, directions of the plurality of rows are same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode, and directions of the plurality of columns are same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode (Kida, Fig. 21, [0172-0177], in each of the plurality of touch units, ends at 215 and 225, facing away from the second main electrode (trunk of 211), of all second sub-electrodes (at 215 and 225 cross-shaped parts) are arranged in a plurality of rows, or columns, or rows and columns (cross-shaped at 215 and 225 is rows and columns shaped), horizontal directions of the plurality of rows are same as an horizontal extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode 211 (see Fig. 18), and directions of the plurality of vertical columns are same as a vertical extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode 221 (see Fig. 19)).
Regarding claim 7, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 5, wherein an extension direction of a second sub-electrode of the at least one second sub-electrode is same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode (Kida, Figs. 19 and 21, [0172-0177], a vertical extension direction of a second sub-electrode (top of cross-shaped part at 215) of the at least one second sub-electrode is same as a vertical extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode 221 (see Fig. 19); or an extension direction of a second sub-electrode of the at least one second sub-electrode is same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode; or an extension direction of a second sub-electrode of the at least one second sub-electrode is same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode, and the extension direction of the second sub-electrode is same as an extension direction of a touch channel determined by the second electrode.
Regarding claim 8, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 7, wherein extension directions of second sub-electrodes are same as the extension direction of the touch channel determined by the first electrode (Kida, Figs. 19 and 21, [0172-0177], a vertical extension direction of a second sub-electrode (top of cross-shaped part at 215) of the at least one second sub-electrode is same as a vertical extension direction of a touch channel determined by the first electrode 221 (see Fig. 19)); or extension directions of second sub-electrodes are same as the extension direction of the touch channel determined by the second electrode; or the second sub-electrode comprises at least two second extension parts spliced together, an extension direction of a part of the at least two second extension parts is same as the extension direction of the touch channel determined by the first electrode, and an extension direction of another part of the at least two second extension parts is same as the extension direction of the touch channel determined by the second electrode.
Regarding claim 17, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are mesh electrodes (Kida, Fig. 21, [0178-0185], the first electrode 221 and the second electrode 211 are mesh electrodes). Regarding claim 20, Kida discloses a touch apparatus, comprising a touch panel, wherein the touch panel comprises a touch function area and an electrode layer located in the touch function area, wherein the electrode layer comprises (Figs. 18-21, [0172-0177], touch panel substrate 202 includes touch function area with electrode layer as first electrode layer 210 and second electrode layer 220 in the touch function area): a plurality of first electrodes arranged in parallel (Figs. 18-21, [0172-0185], first electrodes as electrodes 211 are arranged in parallel horizontally); and a plurality of second electrodes arranged in parallel, wherein the plurality of second electrodes are arranged to be spaced apart from the plurality of first electrodes and intersect with the plurality of first electrodes to form a plurality of touch units at intersections (Figs. 18-21, [0172-0185], second touch electrodes 221 are arranged in sensor array columns in parallel in a vertical direction, wherein the plurality of second electrodes 221 are arranged to be spaced apart from the plurality of first electrodes 211 and intersect with the plurality of first electrodes 211 to form a plurality of touch units at intersections); wherein in at least one touch unit of the plurality of touch units, a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes comprises at least one first main electrode and at least one first sub-electrode connected to the at least one first main electrode, wherein the at least one first sub-electrode comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes, which are distributed on both sides of the first main electrode and are symmetric with respect to the first main electrode (Figs. 18-21, [0178-0185], a first electrode 211 of the plurality of first electrodes 211 comprises at least one first main electrode (branch of 211 in Fig. 21) and at least one first sub-electrode (cross-shaped parts of 211 at 215 and 225) connected to the at least one first main electrode, wherein the at least one first sub-electrode comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes, which are distributed on both sides of the first main electrode and are symmetric with respect to the first main electrode (branch parts of 211 are symmetric with respect to central trunk part of 211 in Fig. 21), and an extension direction of the at least one first sub-electrode is disposed to be parallel to an extension direction of a touch channel determined by a second electrode in the plurality of second electrodes (Fig. 21, [0178-0185], a vertical extension direction of the at least one first sub-electrode (tip of branch part at 215 and 225) is disposed to be parallel to a vertical extension direction of a touch channel determined by a second electrode 221 in the plurality of second electrodes 221).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida in view of Song et al. (US 2014/0111707, hereinafter “Song”). Regarding claim 11, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein an extension direction of the second sub-electrode intersects with but is not perpendicular to extension directions of touch channels determined by the first electrode and the second electrode. Song teaches having an end of an extension section formed at an angle (Fig. 8, [0087], section 502 is about 45 degrees angles from horizontal branch section). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch panel of Kida to have an end of an extension section formed at an angle and wherein an extension direction of the second sub-electrode intersects with but is not perpendicular to extension directions of touch channels determined by the first electrode and the second electrode, such as taught by Song, for the purpose of improving sensitivity of the sense electrodes by varying directions of electric fields between the electrodes.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida in view of An et al. (US 2019/0324585, hereinafter “An”). Regarding claim 14, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 5, wherein the first main electrode comprises at least one first connection part and at least two first electrode blocks, the at least two first electrode blocks are connected through the at least one first connection part, respectively (Kida, Fig. 21, [0178-0185], auxiliary wire 216 as a connection part separates electrode 221 into two first electrode blocks), but does not explicitly disclose the second main electrode comprises at least one second connection part and at least two second electrode blocks, the at least two second electrode blocks are connected through the at least one second connection part, respectively, and the at least one first connection part and the at least one second connection part are located in different layers, respectively, and intersect with each other. An teaches having driving bridges and sensing bridges crossing each other and located on different layers (Fig. 9, bridges between electrodes t2 and t3, and electrodes r6 and r7, claim 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch panel of Kida to have
the second main electrode comprises at least one second connection part and at least two second electrode blocks, the at least two second electrode blocks are connected through the at least one second connection part, respectively, and the at least one first connection part and the at least one second connection part are located in different layers, respectively, and intersect with each other, such as taught by An, for the purpose of generating sensing signals at intersections of the driving and sensing electrodes at bridge portions to increase precision of detections locations. Regarding claim 15, Kida as modified by An discloses the touch panel according to claim 14, wherein the at least two first electrode blocks and the at least two second electrode blocks are in a same layer, one of the at least one first connection part and the at least one second connection part is in the same layer as the at least two first electrode blocks, and another one of the at least one first connection part and the at least one second connection part is a conductive bridge; or the at least two first electrode blocks and the at least two second electrode blocks are located in different layers, the at least one first connection part and the at least two first electrode blocks are in a same layer, and the at least one second connection part and the at least two second electrode blocks are in a same layer (Kida, Fig. 21, [0178-0185], the at least two first electrode blocks (on each side of auxiliary wire 216) and the at least two second electrode blocks (as modified by An) are located in different layers (Kida, [0173], first electrode layer 210 and second electrode layer 220 are placed over each other), the at least one first connection part 216 and the at least two first electrode blocks (parts of 221 on each side of 216) are in a same layer, and the at least one second connection part (216 equivalent in layer 211 as modified by An) and the at least two second electrode blocks (parts of 211 on each side of 216 in layer 211 as modified) are in a same layer). The motivation is the same as in claim 14.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida in view of Chang et al. (US 2015/0212629, hereinafter “Chang”) and Choe et al. (US 2018/0122867, hereinafter “Choe”). Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the touch panel according to claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch panel further comprises a display substrate, the display substrate is configured to carry the electrode layer and comprises a display area, at least a part of the display area is located in the touch function area, and an orthographic projection, on the display substrate, of a mesh line of the mesh electrodes is located between sub-pixels. Chang discloses wherein the touch panel further comprises a display substrate, the display substrate is configured to carry the electrode layer and comprises a display area, at least a part of the display area is located in the touch function area, and an orthographic projection, on the display substrate, of a mesh line of the mesh electrodes is located between sub-pixels (Chang, Figs. 3-5, [0037], touch screen interface on display screen which has a display substrate to carry the electrode layer and have touch function in the display area, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch panel of Kida to have wherein the touch panel further comprises a display substrate, the display substrate is configured to carry the electrode layer and comprises a display area, at least a part of the display area is located in the touch function area, such as taught by Chang, for the purpose of providing a base substrate for supporting a display and touch screen panel. Kida as modified by Chang does not explicitly disclose in an orthographic projection, the modified touch panel has non-overlapping mesh portions are positioned between the sub-pixel openings.
Choe teaches in an orthographic projection, the modified touch panel has non-overlapping mesh portions are positioned between the sub-pixel openings (Choe, Figs. 2-3, abstract, [0035], mesh openings of the mesh electrodes are in one-to-one correspondence with sub-pixels to have non-overlapping portions between the pixel openings, and each of the sub-pixels is located within an orthographic projection, on a plane where the display substrate 140 is located, of a mesh opening corresponding to the sub-pixel 111R,G,B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch panel of Kida as modified by Chang to have wherein the touch panel further comprises a display substrate, the display substrate is configured to carry the electrode layer and comprises a display area, at least a part of the display area is located in the touch function area, and an orthographic projection, on the display substrate, of a mesh line of the mesh electrodes is located between sub-pixels, such as taught by Choe, for the purpose of increasing pixel light transmittance through the mesh touch screen area.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida in view of Choe. Regarding claim 19, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein mesh openings of the mesh electrodes are in one-to-one correspondence with sub-pixels, and each of the sub-pixels is located within an orthographic projection, on a plane where the display substrate is located, of a mesh opening corresponding to the sub-pixel. Choe discloses wherein mesh openings of the mesh electrodes are in one-to-one correspondence with sub-pixels, and each of the sub-pixels is located within an orthographic projection, on a plane where the display substrate is located, of a mesh opening corresponding to the sub-pixel (Choe, Figs. 2-3, abstract, [0035], mesh openings of the mesh electrodes are in one-to-one correspondence with sub-pixels to have non-overlapping portions between the pixel openings, and each of the sub-pixels is located within an orthographic projection, on a plane where the display substrate 140 is located, of a mesh opening corresponding to the sub-pixel 111R,G,B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch panel of Kida to have wherein mesh openings of the mesh electrodes are in one-to-one correspondence with sub-pixels, and each of the sub-pixels is located within an orthographic projection, on a plane where the display substrate is located, of a mesh opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, such as taught by Choe, for the purpose of improving light transmission through the mesh openings based on pixels being positioned in the openings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 12-13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses the touch panel according to claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein opposite edges of a first sub-electrode of the at least one first sub-electrode and the second sub-electrode adjacent to each other are parallel to each other, wherein an extension direction of a gap between the first sub-electrode and the second sub-electrode adjacent to each other is same as the extension direction of the touch channel determined by at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding claim 10, this claim is allowable based on its dependency from claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses the touch panel according to claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in each of the plurality of touch units, the at least one first main electrode comprises at least two first main electrodes and the at least two first main electrodes are connected to each other in parallel.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is allowable based on its dependency from claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, Kida discloses the touch panel according to claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in each of the plurality of touch units, a sum of areas of all of the at least two first electrode blocks is greater than a sum of areas of all of the at least two second electrode blocks, but does not explicitly disclose a design width of one of the at least one first connection part is less than a design width of one of the at least one second connection part; or a sum of areas of all of the at least two first electrode blocks is less than a sum of areas of all of the at least two second electrode blocks, and a design width of one of the at least one first connection part is greater than a design width of one of the at least one second connection part.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622