CTNF 19/053,449 CTNF 90257 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitations “a ratio of the excitation voltage amplitudes of the M rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array is CM−1 0:CM−1 1:CM−1 2: . . . :CM−1 M−2:CM−1 M−1 in the target direction, and a ratio of the excitation voltage amplitudes of the N rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array is CN−1 0:CN−1 1:CN−1 2: . . . :CN−1 N−2:CN−1 N−1 in the target direction”, however, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear what the ratio is and what the variables are. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarighat Mehrabani US Patent Application Publication 2020/0358518 (cited by applicant) and Li US Patent Application Publication 2003/0073465 (cited by applicant) . Regarding Claim 1 , Tarighat Mehrabani teaches an antenna system (Fig. 1), comprising: a first antenna array (104A Fig. 1 Par. 0022); and a second antenna array (104A Fig. 1 Par. 0022), wherein the first antenna array is on a first side (Fig. 1), and the second antenna array is on a second side (Fig. 1); wherein a first spacing between two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in a target direction (Fig. 1), a second spacing between two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction (Fig. 1), the target direction points from the first side to the second side (Fig. 1), and the wavelength is corresponds to an operating frequency band of the first antenna array and the second antenna array (implicit from wavelength). Tarighat Mehrabani is silent on the first spacing is determined based on a wavelength and a first feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction, the second spacing is determined based on the wavelength and a second feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction. However, Li teaches configuring antenna element spacings based on wavelength and phase (Claims 1, 3-5, 11, Par. 0008, 0041, 0064, 0091). In this particular case, determining the first spacing based on a wavelength and a first feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction, and the second spacing based on the wavelength and a second feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Li in order to improve directivity and gain of the antenna (Par. 0007). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine the first spacing of Tarighat Mehrabani based on a wavelength and a first feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction, and the second spacing of Tarighat Mehrabani based on the wavelength and a second feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction based on the teachings of Li as a result effect in order to improve the performance of the antenna by improving the directivity and gain. Regarding Claim 2 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction is equal to one half the wavelength in response to a main beam generated by the first antenna array failing to be deflected relative to a direction perpendicular to an array plane (Li Claim 1, Par. 0041 as modified above). Regarding Claim 3 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction is less than one half the wavelength in response to a main beam generated by the first antenna array deflecting toward the first side relative to a direction perpendicular to an array plane (Li Claims 4, 5, Par. 0064 as modified above). Regarding Claim 4 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches the antenna system according to claim 3 as shown in the rejection above. Tarighat Mehrabani is silent on wherein the first spacing d a between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction satisfies d a =(1-δaπ)×λ2 in response to the main beam generated by the first antenna array deflecting toward the first side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane, wherein δ a is the first feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction, and λ is the wavelength; or the first spacing d a satisfies d a =(1+δaπ)×λ2 in response to the main beam generated by the first antenna array deflecting toward the second side. However, Li teaches “the element phase differences are measured based on the cables used and their various lengths for each element. These phase differences are then translated into effective distances d n for each element relative to the 0th element” Par. 0070. In this particular case, configuring the spacing between antenna elements is common and well known in the art as evident by Li to optimize for the desired antenna radiation pattern (Par. 0070-0080). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the first spacing d a of Tarighat Mehrabani in response to the main beam generated by the first antenna array deflecting toward the first side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane or in response to the main beam generated by the first antenna array deflecting toward the second side based on the teachings of Li as a result effect in order to optimize for the desired antenna radiation pattern. Regarding Claim 5 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the second spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction is equal to one half the wavelength in response to a main beam generated by the second antenna array failing to be deflected relative to a direction perpendicular to an array plane (Li Claim 1, Par. 0041 as modified above). Regarding Claim 6 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the second spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction is less than one half the wavelength in response to the main beam generated by the second antenna array deflecting toward the second side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane (Li Claims 4, 5, Par. 0064 as modified above). Regarding Claim 7 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches the antenna system according to claim 6 as shown in the rejection above. Tarighat Mehrabani is silent on wherein the second spacing d b between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction satisfies d b =(1+δbπ)×λ2, wherein δ b is the second feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction in response to the main beam generated by the second antenna array deflecting toward the first side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane; or the second spacing d b between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction satisfies d b =(1-δbπ)×λ2 in response to the main beam generated by the second antenna array deflecting toward the second side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane. However, Li teaches “the element phase differences are measured based on the cables used and their various lengths for each element. These phase differences are then translated into effective distances d n for each element relative to the 0th element” Par. 0070. In this particular case, configuring the spacing between antenna elements is common and well known in the art as evident by Li to optimize for the desired antenna radiation pattern (Par. 0070-0080). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the second spacing d b of Tarighat Mehrabani in response to the main beam generated by the second antenna array deflecting toward the first side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane, or in response to the main beam generated by the second antenna array deflecting toward the second side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane based on the teachings of Li as a result effect in order to optimize for the desired antenna radiation pattern. Regarding Claim 8 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first antenna array comprises M rows of antenna elements in the target direction (Fig. 1); the second antenna array comprises N rows of antenna elements in the target direction (Fig. 1); excitation voltage amplitudes of the M rows of antenna elements satisfy a distribution of first increasing and then decreasing in the target direction in response to the first antenna array comprising the M rows of antenna elements in the target direction; and excitation voltage amplitudes of the N rows of antenna elements satisfy a distribution of first increasing and then decreasing in the target direction in response to the second antenna array comprising N rows of antenna elements in the target direction (implied from Par. 0040, 0048, 0088). Regarding Claim 9 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches a ratio of the excitation voltage amplitudes of the M rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array is CM−1 0:CM−1 1:CM−1 2: . . . :CM−1 M−2:CM−1 M−1 in the target direction, and a ratio of the excitation voltage amplitudes of the N rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array is CN−1 0:CN−1 1:CN−1 2: . . . :CN−1 N−2:CN−1 N−1 in the target direction (implied from Par. 0040, 0048, 0088). Regarding Claim 10 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first antenna array comprises M rows of antenna elements in the target direction (Fig. 1); the second antenna array comprises N rows of antenna elements in the target direction (Fig. 1); a sum of excitation voltage amplitudes of odd-numbered rows of antenna elements of the M rows of antenna elements is equal to a sum of excitation voltage amplitudes of even-numbered rows of antenna elements of the M rows of antenna elements in response to the first antenna array comprising the M rows of antenna elements in the target direction; and a sum of excitation voltage amplitudes of odd-numbered rows of antenna elements of the N rows of antenna elements is equal to a sum of excitation voltage amplitudes of even-numbered rows of antenna elements of the N rows of antenna elements in response to the second antenna array comprising the N rows of antenna elements in the target direction (implied from Par. 0040, 0048, 0088). Regarding Claim 11 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first side is a left side (Fig. 1), and the second side is a right side opposite from the left side (Fig. 1). Regarding Claim 12 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein at least one target antenna array is in the first antenna array and the second antenna array (Fig. 1), and the target antenna array comprises at least three rows of antenna elements in the target direction (Fig. 1) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarighat Mehrabani US Patent Application Publication 2020/0358518 (cited by applicant) and Li US Patent Application Publication 2003/0073465 (cited by applicant) and further in view of Martek US Patent 6,268,828 . Regarding Claim 13 , Tarighat Mehrabani teaches an antenna system (Fig. 1); wherein the antenna system comprises: a first antenna array (104A Fig. 1 Par. 0022); and a second antenna array (104A Fig. 1 Par. 0022), wherein the first antenna array is on a first side (Fig. 1), and the second antenna array is on a second side (Fig. 1); wherein a first spacing between two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in a target direction (Fig. 1), a second spacing between two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction (Fig. 1), the target direction points from the first side to the second side (Fig. 1), and the wavelength is corresponds to an operating frequency band of the first antenna array and the second antenna array (implicit from wavelength). Tarighat Mehrabani is silent on an antenna pole station, comprising: a pole; a mounting member; a baffle plate; wherein the mounting member is fastened to the pole; and the baffle plate and the antenna system are fastened to the mounting member, and the baffle plate is between the pole and the antenna system; the first spacing is determined based on a wavelength and a first feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction, the second spacing is determined based on the wavelength and a second feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction. However, Li teaches configuring antenna element spacings based on wavelength and phase (Claims 1, 3-5, 11, Par. 0008, 0041, 0064, 0091). Additionally, Martek teaches an antenna pole station (Fig. 1), comprising: a pole (11 Fig. 1 Col. 8 L. 10); a mounting member (support structure Col. 8 L. 18); a baffle plate (13 Fig. 1 Col. 8 L. 10); wherein the mounting member is fastened to the pole (Fig. 1 Col. 8 L. 18); and the baffle plate and the antenna system are fastened to the mounting member (Fig. 1), and the baffle plate is between the pole and the antenna system (Fig. 1). In this particular case, determining the first spacing based on a wavelength and a first feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction, and the second spacing based on the wavelength and a second feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Li in order to improve directivity and gain of the antenna (Par. 0007). Furthermore, providing a mounting member fastened to the pole; the baffle plate and the antenna system fastened to the mounting member, and the baffle plate between the pole and the antenna system is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Martek Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine the first spacing of Tarighat Mehrabani based on a wavelength and a first feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction, and the second spacing of Tarighat Mehrabani based on the wavelength and a second feeding phase difference between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction based on the teachings of Li as a result effect in order to improve the performance of the antenna by improving the directivity and gain; and to provide a mounting member fastened to the pole; the baffle plate and the antenna system fastened to the mounting member, and the baffle plate between the pole and the antenna system based on the teachings of Martek as a result effect in order to mount and secure an antenna pole station. Regarding Claim 14 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction is equal to one half the wavelength in response to a main beam generated by the first antenna array failing to be deflected relative to a direction perpendicular to an array plane (Li Claim 1, Par. 0041 as modified above). Regarding Claim 15 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the first antenna array in the target direction is less than one half the wavelength in response to a main beam generated by the first antenna array deflecting toward the first side relative to a direction perpendicular to an array plane (Li Claims 4, 5, Par. 0064 as modified above). Regarding Claim 16 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the second spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction is equal to one half the wavelength in response to a main beam generated by the second antenna array failing to be deflected relative to the direction perpendicular to an array plane (Li Claim 1, Par. 0041 as modified above). Regarding Claim 17 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the second spacing between the two adjacent rows of antenna elements of the second antenna array in the target direction is less than one half the wavelength in response to the main beam generated by the second antenna array deflecting toward the second side relative to the direction perpendicular to the array plane (Li Claims 4, 5, Par. 0064 as modified above). Regarding Claim 18 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first antenna array comprises M rows of antenna elements in the target direction (Fig. 1); the second antenna array comprises N rows of antenna elements in the target direction (Fig. 1); excitation voltage amplitudes of the M rows of antenna elements satisfy a distribution of first increasing and then decreasing in the target direction in response to the first antenna array comprising the M rows of antenna elements in the target direction; and excitation voltage amplitudes of the N rows of antenna elements satisfy a distribution of first increasing and then decreasing in the target direction in response to the second antenna array comprising N rows of antenna elements in the target direction (implied from Par. 0040, 0048, 0088). Regarding Claim 19 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the first side is a left side (Fig. 1), and the second side is a right side opposite from the left side (Fig. 1). Regarding Claim 20 , Tarighat Mehrabani as modified teaches wherein the baffle plate is a curved shape (conical shaped Col. 8 L. 9). Conclusion The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL M BOUIZZA whose telephone number is (571)272-6124. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dimary Lopez can be reached at (571) 270-7893. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 4 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 6 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 7 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 8 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 9 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 10 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 11 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 12 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 13 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 14 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 15 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/053,449 Page 16 Art Unit: 2845