DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment received on 03/17/2026. Claims 16-18 newly added, claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 states, “and if the specifying information in the unlocking information read by the reader matches any of the locker boxes of the locker device that has performed the reading, unlocks the matched locker box.” The term “if” is a conditional statement, thus the instance of when the event isn’t occurring would still read on the claim. The Examiner suggests changing the language to “when”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitu et al. 2015/0356801 in view of Chen et al. 2020/0234016.
Regarding claim 1, Nitu discloses a commodity (locker system 100) sales system comprising: a locker device (smart lockers 106) in which commodities are stored in a plurality of locker boxes (compartment 122), respectively [023] [026]; a ticket issuing device (mobile kiosk) having a function of settling purchase prices of the commodities [23] [26] [32]; and a controller (management server 210), wherein the ticket issuing device includes a ticket issuer (server 500), and an interface configured to accept an input from a user [32], the locker device includes a locking unit (electromechanical locks 206) [28-31] provided for each of the locker boxes, and a reader configured to read information, and the controller (locker computer devices 208) accepts designation of a commodity (locker rental) to be purchased, via the interface, causes the ticket issuer (kiosk providing a verification code) to issue a purchase ticket holding unlocking information for unlocking the locker box in which the designated commodity is stored, in a form that can be read by the reader [28-29] [35-36], and unlocks the locker box based on the unlocking information read from the purchase ticket by the reader [42-43] [54-57].
However, Nitu fails to disclose a device in which commodities are to be sold, wherein the plurality of locker boxes respectively store commodities of predetermined commodity types; wherein the purchase price is determined based on a price associated with the commodity type of the commodity designed by a user.
Chen discloses the plurality of locker boxes respectively store commodities of predetermined commodity types; wherein the purchase price is determined based on a price associated with the commodity type of the commodity designed by a user (the user being the manufacturer and the historical price set by such) [114] [128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Chen discloses, “Accordingly, an automatic and convenient storing function can be provided. “ [abstract]
Regarding claim 2, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nitu further discloses the controller accepts designation of the locker box in which a commodity to be purchased is stored, as designation of the commodity, causes the purchase ticket to be issued so as to include specifying information specifying the designated locker box in the unlocking information, and unlocks the locker box corresponding to the specifying information in the unlocking information read by the reader [54-57] [37].
Regarding claim 3, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nitu further discloses a plurality of the locker devices are included, each of the locker devices includes a notifier, and if the locker box corresponding to the unlocking information read by the reader of one said locker device does not exist in the one said locker device, the controller causes the notifier to output a notification indicating that this locker box does not exist in the one said locker device [37].
Regarding claim 4, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. Nitu further discloses the controller causes the notifier to notify the locker device including the locker box corresponding to the unlocking information read by the reader, in the notification [042-43].
Regarding claim 5, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. Nitu further discloses the controller accepts designation of the locker device and the locker box in which a commodity to be purchased is stored, as designation of the commodity, causes the purchase ticket to be issued so as to include specifying information specifying the designated locker box in the designated locker device, in the unlocking information [023] [026] [032] [042-43] and
Regarding claim 6, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nitu further discloses the controller accepts re-unlocking of the locker box using the purchase ticket within a certain period from a predetermined timing in a process of taking out the commodity in response to the unlocking [29] [47] [55] [63] [74].
Regarding claim 13, Nitu discloses a control method for a commodity sales system including a locker device (smart lockers 106) in which commodities are stored in a plurality of locker boxes (compartment 122), respectively [023] [026], and a ticket issuing device (mobile kiosk) having a function of settling purchase prices (rental prices) of the commodities [032], the control method comprising: accepting designation of a commodity to be purchased (space rental), via an interface (user interface); causing the ticket issuing device to issue a purchase ticket holding unlocking information for unlocking the locker box in which the designated commodity is stored, in a readable form (scanning the code) [026-27]; and unlocking the locker box based on the unlocking information read from the purchase ticket [042-43] [054-57].
However. Nitu fails to disclose a device in which commodities are to be sold, wherein the plurality of locker boxes respectively store commodities of predetermined commodity types; wherein the purchase price is determined based on a price associated with the commodity type of the commodity designed by a user.
Chen discloses the plurality of locker boxes respectively store commodities of predetermined commodity types; wherein the purchase price is determined based on a price associated with the commodity type of the commodity designed by a user (the user being the manufacturer and the historical price set by such) [114] [128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Chen discloses, “Accordingly, an automatic and convenient storing function can be provided. “ [abstract]
Regarding claim 14, Nitu discloses a ticket issuing device having a function of settling purchase prices of commodities stored in a plurality of locker boxes (compartment 122) of a locker device (smart lockers 106) [023] [026], respectively, the ticket issuing device comprising: a ticket issuer (mobile kiosk) [32]; an interface configured to accept an input from a user; and a controller (management server 210) [32], wherein the controller accepts designation of a commodity to be purchased, via the interface, and causes the ticket issuer to issue a purchase ticket holding unlocking information for unlocking the locker box in which the designated commodity is stored, in a form that can be read by a reader of the locker device [042-43] [054-57].
However, Nitu fails to disclose a device in which commodities are to be sold, wherein the plurality of locker boxes respectively store commodities of predetermined commodity types; wherein the purchase price is determined based on a price associated with the commodity type of the commodity designed by a user.
Chen discloses the plurality of locker boxes respectively store commodities of predetermined commodity types; wherein the purchase price is determined based on a price associated with the commodity type of the commodity designed by a user (the user being the manufacturer and the historical price set by such) [114] [128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Chen discloses, “Accordingly, an automatic and convenient storing function can be provided. “ [abstract]
Regarding claim 15, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. Nitu further discloses a plurality of locker boxes for storing commodities, respectively; a locking unit (smart locks 108) provided for each of the locker boxes; a reader configured to read information; and a controller configured to unlock the locker box based on the unlocking information read from the purchase ticket by the reader [029-032].
Regarding claim 16, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses the controller of the locker device is configured to register a storage date and time in a memory of the locker device when a commodity is stored in a locker box among the plurality of locker boxes, and register a takeout date and time in the memory of the locker device when the commodity is taken out from the locker box [0114-128].
Regarding claim 17, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Chen further discloses wherein the locker device is configured to transmit a notification including a box number and a locker ID to the ticket issuing device [114-128].
Regarding claim 18, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 71. Chen further discloses the controller of the ticket issuing device is configured to identify an installation area of the locker device from the locker ID, convert the box number into a sequential box number corresponding to the identified installation area, and register the storage date and time and the takeout date and time in the memory of the ticket issuing device associated with the sequential box number [114-128].
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitu et al. 2015/0356801 in view of Chen et al. 2020/0234016 and in further view of Takashi et al. JP2018163393 (Applicant provided prior art).
Regarding claim 7, Nitu in view of Chen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Nitu fails to disclose a replenishment mode for commodity replenishment, based on the reader reading other unlocking information for commodity replenishment with respect to the locker box.
Takashi discloses a replenishment mode for commodity replenishment, based on the reader reading other unlocking information (sold item, now empty detection) for commodity replenishment with respect to the locker box [017] [028-31] [036-38]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Takashi discloses advanced methods for detecting products in locker systems [004-005] that would allow for better tracking by the system of Nitu.
Regarding claim 8, Nitu in view of Chen and Takashi discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Takashi further discloses the replenishment mode includes a mode in which the locker box from which the commodity has been sold is unlocked [017] [028-31] [036-38].
Regarding claim 9, Nitu in view of Chen Takashi discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Takashi further discloses replenishment mode includes a mode in which the locker box from which the commodity has not been sold and that satisfies a predetermined commodity replacement condition is unlocked [017] [028-31] [036-38].
Regarding claim 10, Nitu in view of Chen and Takashi discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Nitu further discloses a condition that a period during which the commodity is continuously stored in the locker box exceeds a predetermined threshold value [029] [035].
Regarding claim 11, Nitu in view of Chen and Takashi discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Takashi further discloses a system configured to issue the other unlocking information [017] [028-31].
Regarding claim 12, Nitu in view of Chen and Takashi discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Takashi further discloses the controller causes the ticket issuer to issue a replenishment ticket (step S201, notification from the locker) holding the other unlocking information in a readable form, in response to a predetermined input to the interface [029].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended claim 1 to over come the U.S.C. 102 rejection of Nitu. However, upon further search and consideration, the Examiner has provided a new U.S.C. 103 rejection of Nitu in view of Chen, please see above for citations. Thus, all pending claims are rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASIFA HABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876