Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 02/19/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the DE 102024104627.9 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “closure means is designed for dissipating electrostatic charges of the liquid” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the dip tube". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitations "the axial direction” and “the top of the dip tube". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitations "The dispensing system according to claim 9” and “the dispensing head". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub Non. 2005/0082076 (Przytulla et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2a-2c, Przytulla et al. discloses: A container (10) for storing a liquid (“liquid” paragraph 0038), with a container opening (see fig. 2b) and with a closure means (18 and 34) designed for closing the container opening, characterized in that the closure means is designed for dissipating electrostatic charges of the liquid in that it is made of electrically dissipative material (paragraphs 0038 and 0052).
[AltContent: textbox (Dip Tube Head/ Opening)][AltContent: arrow]
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure means is a closure stopper (18).
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure means (18) is designed such that it can be opened with a grounded tool (i.e. any tool used to remove closure 18 and/or 34 for venting/emptying/filling can be a grounded tool and not affect the structure of the closure/container of Przytulla et al.).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended (i.e. for opening with a grounded tool) to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II.
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein in that the closure means consists of plastic containing electrically conductive particles (“parts are made of electroconductive plastic material, e.g. additives like TiO2, nano-clay, soot, nano-composite, metal fibers” paragraph 0052).
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein in that the conductive particles are soot or carbon particles (“soot” paragraph 0052).
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein in that it has an outer layer (12) consisting of electrically dissipative material and an inner layer (14) consisting of electrically insulating material (paragraph 0038).
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure means (18) is electrically conductively connected to the outer layer (12) (paragraph 0040).
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein an element made of electrically conductive or electrically dissipative material (tube 16, paragraph 0048) is present, which is connected electrically conductively to the outer layer (12) consisting of electrically dissipative material (paragraph 0038) which protrudes into the container (16 protrudes into container) and can be brought into contact with the liquid (paragraph 0038).
In re claim 9, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein it has a dip tube (16) consisting of electrically dissipative material (paragraph 0038).
In re claim 10, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the dip tube (16) is the element.
In re claim 11, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the dip tube (16) has a dip tube head mounted in the container opening and in that an opening of the dip tube head can be closed off using the closure means (18 and 34 considered as closure means), whereby the container opening is closed off (see Fig. 2a above).
In re claim 12, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the dip tube (16) has a liquid channel (shown hollow in Figs. 2a and 2c) running in the axial direction (e.g. vertically in Figs. 2a and 2c), wherein the opening out of the liquid channel on the top of the dip tube forms the opening that can be closed off using the closure means (see Figs. 2a and 2c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Przytulla et al. as applied to claim 1 and 9 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 5,957,328 (Osgar hereinafter).
In re claim 13, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses A dispensing system with at least one container according to claim 1, but not characterized in that a dispense head is present that is designed for filling the container with liquid and/or for dispensing liquid from the container.
However, Osgar teaches a liquid chemical dispensing system wherein a dispense head (14) is present that is designed for filling the container with liquid and/or for dispensing liquid from the container (column 4, lines 36-41).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided a dispense head as taught by Osgar to the system of Przytulla et al. for the purposes of facilitating filling/emptying of the liquid contents to/from the container in a controllable fashion.
In re claim 14, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the dispense head (Osgar 14) can be connected to the container opening while the closure means (i.e. at 34 of Przytulla et al. and/or closure 30 of Osgar) is released.
In re claim 15, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Przytulla et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the dispense head can be connected to the dip tube while the closure means is released (see Osgar Fig. 1 above and column 4, teaches removal of closure to mount dispense head to dip tube, lines 36-41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PG Pub No. 2016/0257460 to Tomlinson discloses a static dissipating downtube and valve formed of electrically conductive plastic (see Abstract).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733