DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are directed to a system and method respectively for generating a new website under step 1. However, the limitations “in response to …determine...; generate…; create…; arrange; and generate…new website” are functions that can be reasonably done in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation evaluation judgement and opinion under Prong I step 2A.
Under Prong II step 2A, the other limitations in the claims including “a client device…; and a server computer…” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The remainder limitations including “receive…” merely recites insignificant extra solution activity such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting, and storing data which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Under step 2B, these additional elements above either individually or in combination are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The remainder limitations including “receive…” merely recites insignificant extra solution activity such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting, and storing data which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Therefore, these additional elements do not recite an inventive concept, thus, the claimed invention is patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Re claims 2, 6, and 8-9, the limitations in these claims are considered as additional elements and analyzed under Prong II step 2A where they further define descriptive information which either as instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application or insignificant extra solution activity such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting, and storing data which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, these additional elements do not recite an inventive concept, thus, the claimed invention is patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Re claims 3-5, 7, and 10, the limitations in these claims are analyzed under Prong I step 2A which are functions that can be reasonably done in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation evaluation judgement and opinion under Prong I step 2A. There is no additional elements that would integrate into the practical application. Therefore, these additional elements do not recite an inventive concept, thus, the claimed invention is patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Re claim 12, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2.
Re claim 13, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3.
Re claim 14, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4.
Re claim 15, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 5. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5.
Re claim 16, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6.
Re claim 17, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 7. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7.
Re claim 18, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 8. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 8.
Re claim 19, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 9. Thus, claim 19 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 9.
Re claim 20, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 10. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berk et al. (U.S. 2017/0109455 A1).
Re claim 1, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 a system for generating a new website (e.g. abstract and Figures 2-3), the system comprising: a client device operated by a user (e.g. Figure 1 with the client computer 120); and a server computer configured to (e.g. Figure 1 with the server 110): receive a single user-initiated request from the client device to generate the new website from a plurality of content items (e.g. abstract and paragraphs [0003 and 0004] with the single request from the client); and in response to the single user-initiated request: determine one or more attributes of each of the plurality of content items (e.g. paragraphs [0047 and 0067-0070] for determining attributes of those contents); generate a layout for the new website based on the determined attributes of the content items (e.g. paragraphs [0024 and 0044-0047]); create item representatives for each of the content items, wherein each item representative includes at least one of an image or a text block corresponding to the respective content item (e.g. paragraphs [0002, 0019, 0024, and 0064-0067]); arrange the item representatives within the generated layout to form the new website (e.g. paragraphs [0069 and 0093]); and generate a new website URL for accessing the new website (e.g. Figure 2 by the website generation software module 220 and Figure 3 with last component 340 and paragraph [0051]).
Re claim 2, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 the plurality of content items includes at least one of an upload item, a note item, or a link item (e.g. paragraphs [0019 and 0034]).
Re claim 3, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 determining the one or more attributes of each content item comprises analyzing at least one of a file type, file size, content length, or metadata associated with the content item (e.g. paragraphs [0046, 0068, and 0070]).
Re claim 4, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 generating the layout for the new website comprises selecting from a plurality of predefined layout templates based on the determined attributes of the content items (e.g. paragraphs [0021-0023]).
Re claim 5, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 creating item representatives for each of the content items comprises automatically extracting or generating at least one of a title, description, or thumbnail image for each content item (e.g. paragraphs [0043-0047]).
Re claim 6, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 the server computer is further configured to: receive a user-defined theme selection; and apply the user-defined theme to the new website during the arranging step (e.g. paragraphs [0022-0024]).
Re claim 7, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 arranging the item representatives within the generated layout comprises dynamically adjusting the size or position of at least one item representative based on the content and attributes of other item representatives (e.g. paragraphs [0019 and 0091]).
Re claim 8, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 the server computer is further configured to: receive a request to modify the new website; and regenerate at least a portion of the new website based on the modification request (e.g. paragraphs [0069-0070 and 0093]).
Re claim 10, Berk et al. disclose in Figures 1-6 the server computer is further configured to optimize the new website for different devices or screen sizes by generating responsive design elements that adapt the layout and item representatives based on viewing conditions (e.g. paragraph [0019]).
Re claim 11, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Re claim 12, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2.
Re claim 13, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3.
Re claim 14, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4.
Re claim 15, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 5. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5.
Re claim 16, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6.
Re claim 17, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 7. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7.
Re claim 18, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 8. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 8.
Re claim 20, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 10. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berk et al. (U.S. 2017/0109455 A1) in view of Thomas et al. (U.S. 2010/0251143 A1).
Re claim 9, Berk et al. fail to disclose in Figures 1-6 the new website comprises multiple sections, and wherein content items associated with different subfolders are arranged in different sections of the new website. However, Thomas et al. disclose the new website comprises multiple sections, and wherein content items associated with different subfolders are arranged in different sections of the new website (e.g. abstract, claim 2 in page 33 and paragraphs [0146-0147]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to add the new website comprises multiple sections, and wherein content items associated with different subfolders are arranged in different sections of the new website as seen in Thomas et al.’s invention into Berk et al.’s invention because it would enable to efficiently manage the data in storage.
Re claim 19, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 9. Thus, claim 19 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 9.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,214. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 1 and 8 of the patent 12,229,214 would anticipate every limitations of claims 1-2 and 11-12 even the wordings are different but they have same context.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20040267867-A1
US-20190236137-A1
US-20180246983-A1
US-20140282371-A1
US-20140075283-A1
US-20100299586-A1
US-20100251143-A1
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451