DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
4. Claim limitation “at least one processing unit….” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 16 and 17 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (WO 2022/205158 A1 will be further referred to as Wei).
Regarding claim 1: Wei discloses a method for enabling active learning for object classification in visual perception tasks in a vehicle that is configured to provide at least partial driving automation based on the object classification (paragraphs 0033, 0050, and 0057), the method comprising:
determining, using an object classifier, for one or more data points within automotive sensor data, an object class out of a plurality of object classes, the object class corresponding to an object type encounterable in a driving environment of the vehicle (i.e. objects are segmented into categories);
determining, for each of the one or more data points within the automotive sensor data, an uncertainty value based on a plurality of class probabilities and a confusion matrix, wherein: the uncertainty value is indicative of an uncertainty of an object class determination (paragraphs 0067, 0069, 0070, 0077, 0079, and 0093),
each of the class probabilities is indicative, for each of the one or more data points, of a probability of each data point being indicative of a corresponding object class (paragraphs 0053-0056), and the confusion matrix is indicative, for each object class of the plurality of object classes, of a probability of the object classifier determining, for a given object class, each of the plurality of object classes (paragraph 0077 and 0090);
determining an overall uncertainty of the automotive sensor data based on the uncertainty values of the one or more data points (paragraph 0067);
determining whether the overall uncertainty exceeds an overall uncertainty threshold, and providing the automotive sensor data to an oracle if the overall uncertainty exceeds the overall uncertainty threshold (paragraph 0096); and
receiving, from the oracle, an object annotation of the automotive sensor data (paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 2: The method according to claim 1, wherein the overall uncertainty threshold corresponds to a sum of an average overall uncertainty and at least one standard deviation of the average overall uncertainty (paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 3: The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of class probabilities corresponds to a plurality of activation values of an output layer of the object classifier (paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 4: The method according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of class probabilities corresponds to a plurality of activation values of an output layer of the object classifier (paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 14: The method according to claim 1, wherein the oracle is a cloud-based object classification service (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 15: The method according to claim 1, wherein: the oracle is a user of the vehicle, and providing the automotive sensor data to the oracle includes displaying, on a display of the vehicle, the automotive sensor data (paragraphs 0004 and 0038-0044).
Regarding claim 16: Wei et al. discloses an automotive control apparatus (paragraph 0004 comprising: at least one processing unit; and a memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and configured to store machine- readable instructions, wherein the machine-readable instructions cause the at least one processing unit (paragraphs 0038-0045) to:
determine, using an object classifier, for one or more data points within automotive sensor data, an object class out of a plurality of object classes, each object class corresponding to an object type encounterable in a driving environment of the vehicle (see claim 1);
determine, for each of the one or more data points within the automotive sensor data, an uncertainty value based on a plurality of class probabilities and a confusion matrix (see claim 1), wherein:
each uncertainty value is indicative of an uncertainty of an object class determination, each class probability is indicative, for each of the one or more data points, of a probability of each data point being indicative of a corresponding object class (see claim 1), and
the confusion matrix is indicative, for each object class of the plurality of object classes, of a probability of the object classifier determining, for a given object class, each of the object classes of the plurality of object classes (see claim 1);
determine an overall uncertainty of the automotive sensor data based on the uncertainty values of the one or more data points (see claim 1);
determine whether the overall uncertainty exceeds an overall uncertainty threshold, and provide the automotive sensor data to an oracle if the overall uncertainty exceeds the overall uncertainty threshold (see claim 1); and
receive, from the oracle, an object annotation of the automotive sensor data (see claim1).
Regarding claim 17: The automotive control apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the overall uncertainty threshold corresponds to a sum of an average overall uncertainty and at least one standard deviation of the average overall uncertainty (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 18: A vehicle comprising the automotive control apparatus according to claim 16 (paragraph 0004, i.e. autonomous driving= inside a vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (WO 2022/205158 A1 will be further referred to as Wei) and further in view of Xie, M. et al. ("Dirichlet-Based Uncertainty Calibration for Active Domain Adaptation", Published as a conference paper at ICLR 2023, February 27, 2023, pp. 1-22, XP091447442 (22 pages)).
Regarding claim 5: Wei et al. does not teach “wherein the plurality of class probabilities corresponds to concentration parameters of a Dirichlet distribution.” Xie teaches the feature of “wherein the plurality of class probabilities corresponds to concentration parameters of a Dirichlet distribution” (Xie et al.; page 2 paragraph 1). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Xie et al. to the disclosure of Wei et al. since they are analogous in the field of system training for object identification/prediction. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teaching of Xie et al. into the system of Wei et al. in order to have a more accurate object identification system.
Regarding claim 6: Wei et al. does not teach “wherein the plurality of class probabilities corresponds to concentration parameters of a Dirichlet distribution.” Xie teaches the feature of “wherein the plurality of class probabilities corresponds to concentration parameters of a Dirichlet distribution” (Xie et al.; page 2 paragraph 1). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Xie et al. to the disclosure of Wei et al. since they are analogous in the field of system training for object identification/prediction. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teaching of Xie et al. into the system of Wei et al. in order to have a more accurate object identification system.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANAND P BHATNAGAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668
September 4, 2026