DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 5/21/26 is acknowledged. Claims 9-11 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed toward non-elected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by JP-04962066.
JP-04962066 teaches apparatus and method of resin coated product including a bearing part. JP-04962066 teaches a heating apparatus (14) (claimed holding apparatus) whereby a bearing (2) is made of having a resin coating (11) on the interior of a cylindrical substrate (10) (claimed applying defined amount of coating) and rotational means (3) for rotating the bearing (2) having the coating (11) on the inner surface of the cylindrical substrate (10) and heating the coating (11) while being rotated in the furnace (14) (abstract).
Regarding claim 1, the rotation of the furnace would be at the claimed first speed and cure the coating 11 on the inner surface of the cylindrical substrate (10) (9th aspect of the invention).
Regarding claim 3, JP-04962066 teaches drying in the heated furnace while being rotated prior to curing which would be the claimed third speed (12th aspect of the invention).
Regarding claims 4-7, JP-04962066 teaches using a controller (30) and control unit (31) that controls the rotating speeds and the heating and hence would inherently teach both constant and/or variable speeds during the drying and heating steps (embodiment 1) and would also teach same/similar speeds. JP-04962066 teaches the speed of rotation is faster in the drying step than in the curing step (6th aspect of invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-04962066 in combination with Nakashima et al. (2004/0062860).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of JP-04962066 are incorporated here.
JP-04962066 fails to teach applying the coating to the bearing component while being rotated at a second speed as well as the first, second and third speeds being “selected” based upon viscosity, temperature and/or size of bearing component.
Nakashima et al. (2004/0062860) teaches a method of forming coat on inner surface of bearing and apparatus for the same. Nakashima et al. (2004/0062860) teaches applying the coating material while rotating the bearing [0026],[0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP-04962066 bearing coating process to include coating the inner surface of the bearing while rotating the bearing at a speed as evidenced by Nakashima et al. (2004/0062860) with the expectation of producing a smooth coating due to the rotation aspect of the bearing during coating.
Regarding claim 8, both JP-04962066 and Nakashima et al. (2004/0062860) teach heating the bearing during coating and this would affect the speeds utilized in the applying, drying and curing steps as the higher the temperatures the lower the speeds required with a balance to avoid defects in the coating layer applied.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712