DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a plurality of sensors, the plurality of sensors comprising a first sensor in communication with the battery, a second sensor in communication with the solar panel, a third sensor in communication with the interior space of the body, a GPS unit, wherein the one or more transceivers is in communication with a computerized user interface system, the computerized user interface system comprising a processor, memory, and user interface allowing display of data from the one or more transceivers, and allowing user input of instruction to send to the one or more transceivers, wherein the solar panel is connected to the body by a pivot bearing and pivotable relative to the body, a second set of forklift slots perpendicular to the first set of forklift slots extending widthwise across the body, further comprising a heater in communication with the interior space” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: claim recites “further comprising a liner removable attached to a wall of the interior space of the body” in lines 1-2 and is interpreted to be a typographical error. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted to be – further comprising a liner removably attached to a wall of the interior space of the body --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “selectively” in claims 6-7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “selectively” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley (US 11543168 B2, hereinafter Tansley) in view of Blasko et al (US 20130000342 A1, hereinafter Blasko).
Regarding claim 1, Tansley teaches a refrigeration unit (portable refrigeration apparatus, figure 1) comprising: a body (figure 1) defining an interior space (payload, figure 1); a chiller in (cooling element 116 may be a powered cooling element such as a dual-surface, thermoelectric device, col 2 lines 57-60) communication with the interior space operable to lower a temperature within the interior space (as described in the abstract); a battery in electronic communication with the chiller (batteries are embedded into the exterior casing layer of the chilling panels in order to power the cooling element, col 10 lines 16-23); a solar panel attached to the body (sealed container 900 includes solar panel cells 902 on the exterior of the chilling panels, col 10 lines 16-23), the solar panel in electronic communication with the battery (the solar panel cells 902 may include additional components of solar power systems, such as inverters and batteries that are embedded into the exterior casing layer of the chilling panels, col 10 lines 20-23); a plurality of sensors, the plurality of sensors comprising a first sensor in communication with the battery (internal wiring 1202 is connected to powered elements (such as the cooling element, sensors, a controller, or a network interface) and a power source 1204. Power sources 1204 include solar panels, batteries, col 13 lines 5-10), a second sensor in communication with the solar panel (internal wiring 1202 is connected to powered elements (such as cooling elements, sensors, a controller, or a network interface) and a power source 1204. Power sources 1204 include solar panels, batteries, col 13 lines 5-10).
Tansley teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach an corded power input to the battery; a third sensor in communication with the interior space of the body; a GPS unit; one or more transceivers in communication with the plurality of sensors and the GPS unit, the one or more transceivers operable to provide wireless communication to the plurality of sensors.
However, Blasko teaches an corded power input to the battery (interpreted as the input from battery charger 344 to battery 330, as shown on figure 3); a third sensor (sensors, paragraphs 0036 and 0060) in communication with the interior space of the body (paragraph 0060); a GPS unit (GPS, paragraph 0060); one or more transceivers (Bluetooth radio transceiver, paragraph 0060) in communication with the plurality of sensors (as described in paragraph 0060) and the GPS unit, the one or more transceivers operable to provide wireless communication (via Bluetooth radio transceiver, paragraph 0060) to the plurality of sensors (paragraph 0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the teachings of Tansley to include an corded power input to the battery; a third sensor in communication with the interior space of the body; a GPS unit; one or more transceivers in communication with the plurality of sensors and the GPS unit, the one or more transceivers operable to provide wireless communication to the plurality of sensors in view of the teachings of Blasko in order to yield the predictable result of monitoring additional criteria such as humidity, species concentration or the like in the container.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the solar panel (solar fabrics, paragraph 0011 of Blasko) is removable from the body (solar fabrics are used and attached to surfaces of the container body to allow removal and re-installation, paragraph 0011 of Blasko).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the processor of the computerized user interface system (processor/controller 1006 of Tansley) is operable to send an instruction to the chiller to activate the chiller (the processor/controller 1006 initially instructs the cooling elements 1012a-d to begin operation, col 10 lines 40-42 of Tansley).
Further, it is understood, claim 5 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 20, it is noted that although the preamble of claim 20 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings discloses all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also rendered obvious by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Estes (CN 105409011 B, hereinafter Estes).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the one or more transceivers is in communication with a computerized user interface system, the computerized user interface system comprising a processor, memory, and user interface allowing display of data from the one or more transceivers, and allowing user input of instruction to send to the one or more transceivers.
However, Estes teaches wherein the one or more transceivers (network 720) is in communication with a computerized user interface system (client 710, figure 7), the computerized user interface system (client 710) comprising a processor, memory, and user interface (the client end 710 can include at least one processor, at least one memory, and a device of at least one network interface, paragraph 0024) allowing display of data from the one or more transceivers (client 710 can be via a network 720 communication with the solar panel 730, to receive status update of the solar panel 730, paragraph 0024), and allowing user input of instruction to send to the one or more transceivers (client 710 can be via a network 720 to communicate with the solar panel 730, taking an appropriate action based on a time of day to command the solar panel 730, paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the teachings of Tansley to include wherein the one or more transceivers is in communication with a computerized user interface system, the computerized user interface system comprising a processor, memory, and user interface allowing display of data from the one or more transceivers, and allowing user input of instruction to send to the one or more transceivers in view of the teachings of Estes in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the client terminal to communicate with the solar panel via the network.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the processor of the computerized user interface system (the client end 710 can include at least one processor, at least one memory, and a device of at least one network interface, paragraph 0024 of Estes) is operable to receive data from the one or more transceivers (network 720 of Estes) from the plurality of sensors (client 710 can charge the battery thereof through input AC power provided by the network time period for communication with solar panel 730, paragraph 0025 and as described in the abstract of Estes), and operable to display sensed data based on the received data on the user interface (a person of ordinary skill in the art would determine that a client terminal 710 such as a personal computer or smart phone is capable of displaying data).
Further, it is understood, claim 4 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Oakley (US 20210058027 A1, hereinafter Oakley).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising a charge controller, the charge controller operable to selectively control a charge of the battery using electrical input from one or both of the solar panel and the corded power input.
However, Oakley teaches further comprising a charge controller (charge controller 130), the charge controller operable to selectively control a charge of the battery (charging the battery unit 140, paragraph 0048) using electrical input from one or both of the solar panel (the electrical energy converted/produced by the solar panels 110 from solar radiation may be transferred from the charge controller 130 through the receptacle 120, paragraph 0048) and the corded power input (upon mating with the battery plug, the electrical energy from the solar radiation may charge the battery unit 140, paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include further comprising a charge controller, the charge controller operable to selectively control a charge of the battery using electrical input from one or both of the solar panel and the corded power input in view of the teachings of Oakley in order to yield the predictable result of charging the battery unit.
Further, it is understood, claim 6 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko and Estes, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Ruth et al (US 10627157 B1, hereinafter Ruth).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach further comprising a charge controller (charge controller 130 of Oakley), the charge controller operable to control a charge of the battery (charging the battery unit 140, paragraph 0048 of Oakley) using electrical input from one or both of the solar panel (the electrical energy converted/produced by the solar panels 110 from solar radiation may be transferred from the charge controller 130 through the receptacle 120, paragraph 0048 of Oakley) and the corded power input (upon mating with the battery plug, the electrical energy from the solar radiation may charge the battery unit 140, paragraph 0048 of Oakley).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the processor of the computerized user interface system is operable to receive an input from the user interface and send a signal, via the one or more transceivers, to control an operation of the charge controller.
However, Ruth teaches wherein the processor of the computerized user interface system (the processor) is operable to receive an input (receiving, from the climate sensor, a value) from the user interface (climate control interface) and send a signal (and transmit, via the network interface, the determined operating parameter), via the one or more transceivers (via the network interface), to control an operation of the charge controller (when executed by a processor, causes a climate controlled smart box to receive, at a first processor, from a charge sensor in the smart box, an indication (e.g., a time stamped indication) of a charge of an electrochemical cell, the smart box comprising send and receive circuitry including a network interface, a memory, a charge sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include wherein the processor of the computerized user interface system is operable to receive an input from the user interface and send a signal, via the one or more transceivers, to control an operation of the charge controller in view of the teachings of Ruth in order to yield the predictable result of determining a control input for the climate control interface.
Further, it is understood, claim 7 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Mauro (US 20240377119 A1, hereinafter Mauro).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising a liner removable attached to a wall of the interior space of the body.
However, Mauro teaches further comprising a liner (removable liner 136, paragraph 0022) removably attached to a wall of the interior space of the body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include further comprising a liner removable attached to a wall of the interior space of the body in view of the teachings of Mauro in order to yield the predictable result of including a removable liner in order to create more available interior space.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Gillis (US 20160344330 A1, hereinafter Gillis).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the solar panel is attached to the body by an extendable leg, the extendable leg extending and retracting to adjust an angle of the solar panel relative to a top surface of the body.
However, Gillis teaches wherein the solar panel (solar powered system 1000) is attached to the body (frame 101, corresponding to the body of Tansley) by an extendable leg (rams 1002a/1002b), the extendable leg extending and retracting (as shown on figures 10a/10b) to adjust an angle of the solar panel relative to a top surface of the body (adjusting a tilt angle of the solar panels 116, paragraph 0100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include wherein the solar panel is attached to the body by an extendable leg, the extendable leg extending and retracting to adjust an angle of the solar panel relative to a top surface of the body in view of the teachings of Gillis in order to yield the predictable result of thereby adjusting a tilt angle of the solar panels.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein the solar panel (solar powered system 1000 of Gillis) is connected to the body by a pivot bearing and pivotable relative to the body (these holes in the top end of the two support legs 902a and 902b may include bearings which would allow the main support chord 904 to pivot or rotate as driven by the drives 901, paragraph 0092 of Gillis).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko and Gillis, as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Duffin et al (US 20220123690 A1, hereinafter Duffin).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the plurality of sensors further comprises a sensor in communication with the extendable leg to determine an angle of the solar panel with respect to the top surface of the body, and a sensor in communication with the pivot bearing to determine the position of the solar panel relative to the body.
However, Duffin teaches wherein the plurality of sensors (angle sensors, paragraph 0110) further comprises a sensor in communication with the extendable leg to determine an angle of the solar panel with respect to the top surface of the body (as described in paragraph 0110), and a sensor (angle sensors, paragraph 0110) in communication with the pivot bearing (ball joints 204/205/206/222) to determine the position of the solar panel relative to the body (wherein each leg comprises at least one pivoting joint, paragraph 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include wherein the plurality of sensors further comprises a sensor in communication with the extendable leg to determine an angle of the solar panel with respect to the top surface of the body, and a sensor in communication with the pivot bearing to determine the position of the solar panel relative to the body in view of the teachings of Duffin in order to yield the predictable result of allowing relative rotation of the mount relative to the legs and/or the legs relative to the foundation.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein the processor of the computerized user interface system (control system, paragraph 0110 of Duffin) is operable to receive an input from the sensor in communication with the extendable leg (the position of the frame 8/208 may be determined by using angle sensors so that the control system can extend the legs 2/202, 3/203 until the array 100/200 is at the desired angle, paragraph 0110 of Duffin), and the sensor in communication with the pivot bearing (paragraphs 0027 and 0110 of Duffin), and the processor (control system, paragraph 0110 of Duffin) is operable to provide an instruction display on the user interface instructing a user to adjust a position of the solar panel to direct the solar panel to the sun (paragraphs 0033, 0068 and 0077 of Duffin).
Claims 13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Wenzel et al (US 20220390137 A1, hereinafter Wenzel).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the chiller, battery, solar panel, corded power input, GPS unit, and one or more transceivers are on or in a cover of the body.
However, Wenzel teaches wherein the chiller (chiller 700), battery (battery unit 702), solar panel (PV panels 708), corded power input (plug and play, paragraph 0278), GPS unit (GPS tracker, paragraph 0131), and one or more transceivers (receivers/transceivers, paragraph 0087) are on or in a cover of the body (as shown on figures 5, 7 and 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include wherein the chiller, battery, solar panel, corded power input, GPS unit, and one or more transceivers are on or in a cover of the body in view of the teachings of Wenzel in order to yield the predictable result of controlling building equipment to reduce or eliminate carbon emissions.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the charge controller (predictive CEF controller 304 of Wenzel) is operable to charge the battery (causing power inverter 410 to charge the battery unit 302, as described in paragraph 0082 of Wenzel) and operate the chiller (electricity stored in battery unit 302 can be discharged to power one or more powered components of CEF 300 (e.g., cooling tower 312, fan 314, chiller 320, paragraph 0075 of Wenzel) simultaneously (paragraph 0075 of Wenzel).
Further, it is understood, claim 18 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the charge controller (predictive CEF controller 304 of Wenzel) is operable to charge the battery (causing power inverter 410 to charge the battery unit 302, as described in paragraph 0082 of Wenzel) and operate the chiller (electricity stored in battery unit 302 can be discharged to power one or more powered components of CEF 300 (e.g., cooling tower 312, fan 314, chiller 320, paragraph 0075 of Wenzel) simultaneously (paragraph 0075 of Wenzel), the chiller drawing electrical power directly from the battery only (paragraph 0075 of Wenzel).
Further, it is understood, claim 19 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Crook et al (US 20210399680 A1, hereinafter Crook).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the solar panel is connected to the body by a plurality of flexible clips.
However, Crook teaches wherein the solar panel (solar panel 990, figure 9) is connected to the body (to the body of solar panel 990, as shown on figure 9) by a plurality of flexible clips (clip 120 may be flexible, paragraph 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include wherein the solar panel is connected to the body by a plurality of flexible clips in view of the teachings of Crook in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the clip to be resilient to deformation caused by outside forces.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Cutting et al (US 20220170694 A1, hereinafter Cutting).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein a bottom of the body defines a first set of forklift slots extending lengthwise across the body, and a second set of forklift slots perpendicular to the first set of forklift slots extending widthwise across the body.
However, Cutting teaches wherein a bottom of the body (bottom of pallet 2, figure 1) defines a first set of forklift slots (slots directly under pallet 2, figure 1) extending lengthwise across the body (as shown on figure 1), and a second set of forklift slots (left side slots, figure 1) perpendicular to the first set of forklift slots (as shown on figure 1) extending widthwise across the body (as shown on figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include wherein a bottom of the body defines a first set of forklift slots extending lengthwise across the body, and a second set of forklift slots perpendicular to the first set of forklift slots extending widthwise across the body in view of the teachings of Cutting in order to yield the predictable result of easily handling with such forklift.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansley as modified by Blasko, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Poolman et al (US 20200309440 A1, hereinafter Poolman).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising a heater in communication with the interior space.
However, Poolman teaches further comprising a heater (heater 48) in communication with the interior space (as shown on figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the combined teachings to include further comprising a heater in communication with the interior space in view of the teachings of Poolman in order to yield the predictable result of controlling temperature within the temperature-controlled cargo box in case the temperature drops below a preset lower temperature limit, which may occur in a cold ambient environment.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the heater is programmed to activate when the temperature within the interior space drops below a predetermined temperature to prevent items within the refrigeration unit from freezing (the electric resistance heater 48 may be selectively operated by the controller 30 whenever a control temperature within the temperature controlled cargo box drops below a preset lower temperature limit, which may occur in a cold ambient environment, paragraph 0044 of Poolman).
Conclusion
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763