DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on 21 April 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Response to Office Action mailed 27 March 2026, filed 24 April 2026, with respect to Statutory Double Patenting Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Statutory Double Patenting Rejections of Claim 1-7 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s cancellation of claims 8-20 renders all rejections of those claims moot.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 21-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12231681. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a system capable of two or more options with three or more for improvement of specific processes with those options.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 21, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (US 2021/0160514 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 21, and 28, Ma discloses an apparatus using a CRM to perform a method for performing video encoding/decoding with chroma from luma (CfL) intra prediction [Ma: ¶ [0018]: The method may be used in intra prediction for a current chroma block, and a used intra prediction mode is an LM mode. The method includes: parsing a bitstream to obtain first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate a filter type; performing a downsampling operation on a first luma block by using a filter corresponding to the filter type, to obtain a second luma block, where the first luma block is a luma block corresponding to the current chroma block, and a position of a luma sample of the second luma block is consistent with a position of a chroma sample of the current chroma block; obtaining a template chroma sample and a template luma sample, where the template chroma sample includes a plurality of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block, and the template luma sample is obtained by performing a downsampling operation on a plurality of neighboring luma samples of the first luma block; obtaining linear model coefficients based on the template chroma sample and the template luma sample; and obtaining a prediction value of the current chroma block based on the second luma block and the linear model coefficients; and ¶ [0132]: In a next-generation video coding standard (for example, H.266), the intra prediction modes for the chroma component of the image further includes… a cross component linear mode (CCLM) prediction mode. The CCLM prediction mode may also be briefly referred to as a linear model mode (LM mode for short). The LM mode is a chroma intra prediction method using a texture correlation between luma and chroma], the method being performed by at least one processor [Ma: ¶ [0045]] and comprising: receiving a current block from a coded video bitstream [Ma: FIG. 2]; based on the coded video bitstream, a variable indicating which of [Ma: ¶ [0198] In a specific embodiment of the present disclosure, six sample position types may be designed (such a design may be referred to as a design 1). As shown in FIG. 7, the six sample position types include: a type0, a type1, a type2, a type3, a type4, and a type5. Accordingly, there are six types of luma downsampling filters corresponding to the six sample position types: a filter 0, filter 1, filter 2, filter 3, filter 4, and a filter 5]; in response to the variable indicating that a first downsampling filter is used for the current block: determining a plurality of filter coefficients according to the first downsampling filter [Ma: ¶ [0020]: a neighboring top side and a neighboring left side that are used for calculation of the linear model coefficients may be referred to as templates. The template is a set of luma samples or a set of chroma samples used for calculation of the linear model coefficient]; and downsampling the current block based on the determined plurality of coefficients using a first number of sampling positions [Ma: ¶ [0011]: The method may include: determining a filter type based on a sample position type of the current chroma block, where the filter type is determined based on the sample position type of the current chroma block, and each sample position type of the current chroma block corresponds to a filter type]; in response to the variable indicating that a second downsampling filter is used for the current block: determining the plurality of filter coefficients according to the second downsampling filter [Ma: ¶ [0013]: Based on the first aspect, in a possible embodiment, six sample position types may be designed: a type0, a type1, a type2, a type3, a type4, and a type5. Accordingly, there are six types of luma downsampling filters corresponding to the six sample position types: a filter 0, a filter 1, a filter 2, a filter 3, a filter 4, and a filter 5. In other words, the sample position type of the current chroma block may be one of the six sample position types. By setting these filters, it is ensured that both the encoder side and the decoder side obtain the filter corresponding to the chroma sample position]; and downsampling the current block based on the determined plurality of coefficients using a second number of sampling positions, the second number of sampling positions are different from the first number of sampling positions [Ma: ¶ [0141]: In an embodiment of the present disclosure, during construction of a prediction block, the encoder 20 may be further configured to: in the LM mode, determine, based on the first indication information, the filter that is in the filter set and that corresponds to the filter type; downsample a first luma block by using the filter, to obtain a second luma block, where the first luma block is a luma block corresponding to the current chroma block; obtain a template chroma sample and a template luma sample, where the template chroma sample includes a plurality of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block, and the template luma sample is obtained by downsampling a plurality of neighboring luma samples of the first luma block; obtain linear model coefficients based on the template chroma sample and the template luma sample; and obtain a prediction value of the current chroma block based on the second luma block and the linear model coefficients]; and reconstructing the current block after downsampling the current block [Ma: ¶ [0086]: The communications interface 22 may be configured to receive the encoded picture data 21, and transmit the encoded picture data 21 to the destination device 14 or any other device (for example, a memory) through the link 13 for storage or direct reconstruction].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 22-27, and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as applied to claims 1, 21, and 28 above, and further in view of Ogata (US 6332043 B1).
Regarding Claims 2, 22, and 29, Ma disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1, 21, and 28, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Ma may not explicitly disclose wherein the variable comprises a first flag indicating whether a number of taps corresponding to the plurality of filter coefficients is even or odd.
However, Ogata discloses wherein the variable comprises a first flag indicating whether a number of taps corresponding to the plurality of filter coefficients is even or odd [Ogata: Col. 9, ll. 18-19: flags indicating the number of taps].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the process of Ma with the syntax of Ogata in order to provide reduced computational load to determine already known information.
Regarding Claims 3, 23, and 30, Ma in view of Ogata disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 2, 22, and 29, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Ma in view of Ogata discloses wherein the variable indicates a predetermined number used to derive the number of the taps corresponding to the plurality of filter coefficients [Ogata: Col. 15, ll. 37-43].
Regarding Claims 4, 24, and 31, Ma in view of Ogata disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 3, 23, and 30, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore Ma in view of Ogata may not explicitly disclose wherein based on the number of the taps being odd, the number of the taps is determined to be equal to one of 2*N+1 or 2*N-1, where N indicates the predetermined number [Ogata: Col. 15, ll. 37-43].
Regarding Claims 5, 25, and 32, Ma in view of Ogata disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 3, 23, and 30, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Ma in view of Ogata may not explicitly disclose wherein based on the number of the taps being even, the number of the taps is determined to be equal to one of 2*N, 2*(N+1), or 2*(N-1), where N indicates the predetermined number [Ogata: Col. 15, ll. 37-43].
Regarding Claims 6, 26, and 33, Ma disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1, 21, and 28, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Ma may not explicitly disclose wherein remaining filter coefficients of the plurality of filter coefficients are determined based on a value of at least one filter coefficient of the plurality of filter coefficients.
However, Ogata discloses wherein remaining filter coefficients of the plurality of filter coefficients are determined based on a value of at least one filter coefficient of the plurality of filter coefficients [Ogata: Col. 1, l. 61 - Col. 2, l. 6].
Regarding Claims 7 and 27, Ma in view of Ogata disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 6 and 26, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Ma in view of Ogata may not explicitly disclose wherein the value of the at least one filter coefficient is represented by a flag [Ogata: Col. 9, ll. 35-42].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482