DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub No 2018/0053413 A1 to Patil et al. (“Patil”).
As to claim 1, Patil discloses a sound control system that is applied to a battery electric vehicle that uses an electric motor as a dynamic power device for traveling (see figures 1-2; Abstract; pg. 3, ¶ 0032), the sound control system comprising: a speaker that is equipped in the battery electric vehicle (see figures 2 and 9A-9B; pg. 7, ¶ 0064); a sensor that is configured to detect information about a peripheral environment of the battery electric vehicle (see figures 1-4; pg. 7, ¶ 0062); and a processing circuit (see figure 2; pgs. 5-6, ¶ 0050 - ¶ 0052), wherein the processing circuit is configured to execute: recognizing a target vehicle based on the information detected by the sensor, the target vehicle being at least one of other vehicles that travel in a periphery of the battery electric vehicle (see figures 1-4; pg. 5, ¶ 0045; pg. 7, ¶ 0062; pg. 8, ¶ 0072); generating an artificial sound related to the target vehicle; outputting the artificial sound from the speaker (virtual sound, see pg. 4, ¶ 0041; pg. 8, ¶ 0067; pg. 10, ¶ 0086); and changing a characteristic of the artificial sound depending on a relative speed of the target vehicle with respect to the battery electric vehicle (amplitude proportional to relative velocity of second vehicle, see pg. 11, ¶ 0087; pg. 13, ¶ 0106).
As to claim 13, Patil discloses a battery electric vehicle configured to use an electric motor as a dynamic power device for traveling (see figures 1-2; pg. 3, ¶ 0032), the battery electric vehicle comprising: a speaker (see figures 2 and 9A-9B; pg. 7, ¶ 0064); a sensor configured to detect information about a peripheral environment of the battery electric vehicle (see figures 1-4; pg. 7, ¶ 0062); and a processing circuit (see figure 2; pgs. 5-6, ¶ 0050 - ¶ 0052), wherein the processing circuit is configured to execute: recognizing a target vehicle based on the information detected by the sensor, the target vehicle being at least one of other vehicles that travel in a periphery of the battery electric vehicle (see figures 1-4; pg. 5, ¶ 0045; pg. 7, ¶ 0062; pg. 8, ¶ 0072); generating an artificial sound related to the target vehicle, to output the artificial sound from the speaker (virtual sound, see pg. 4, ¶ 0041; pg. 8, ¶ 0067; pg. 10, ¶ 0086); and changing a characteristic of the artificial sound depending on a relative speed of the target vehicle with respect to the battery electric vehicle (amplitude proportional to relative velocity of second vehicle, see pg. 11, ¶ 0087; pg. 13, ¶ 0106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of US Patent Pub No 2020/0339145 A1 to Zhang et al. (“Zhang”).
As to claim 5, Patil discloses the sound control system according to claim 1.
Patil discloses the virtual sound being dependent or proportional to the distance and/or relative velocity of the second vehicle (see pg. 11, ¶ 0087), but does not expressly disclose wherein: the processing circuit is configured to increase a frequency of the artificial sound as a value of the relative speed becomes larger in a direction of approaching the battery electric vehicle; and the processing circuit is configured to decrease the frequency of the artificial sound as the value of the relative speed becomes larger in a direction of receding from the battery electric vehicle. However such a configuration is known in the art, as taught by Zhang, which discloses a similar sound control system, and further discloses using frequency shifting to indicate the speed at which an object such as a second vehicle approaches, intensifying as the second vehicle approaches and decreasing as the second vehicle moves past and recedes from the first vehicle (see figure 4; pg. 8, ¶ 0065, ¶ 0069; pg. 9, ¶ 0080 - ¶ 0082). It would have been an obvious choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the frequency adjustments as taught by Zhang in the system as taught by Patil. The motivation being to provide a more realistic sound that imitates a speeding target as it moves relative to the vehicle (Zhang figure 4; pg. 8, ¶ 0069).
6. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of 2022/0185178 A1 to Sudo et al. (“Sudo”).
As to claim 7, Patil discloses the sound control system according to claim 1.
Patil discloses the virtual sound being based on vehicle type of the second vehicle as determined by the processor (see pgs. 10-11, ¶ 0085 - ¶ 0086), but does not expressly disclose wherein the artificial sound includes a pseudo engine sound that simulates an engine sound of an engine vehicle corresponding to classification of the target vehicle. However such a configuration is considered obvious, as taught by Sudo, which discloses a similar sound control system, and further discloses the system can output pseudo driving sounds including engine sounds associated with driving states and based on vehicle models (see figure 1; pg. 1, ¶ 0006 - ¶ 0008; pg. 3, ¶ 0067). It would have been an obvious choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the engine sounds based on vehicle model as taught by Sudo in the system as taught by Patil. The motivation being to provide a virtual sound associated with the second vehicle that corresponds to the specific vehicle type or model, thereby providing a more realistic sound experience as the driver can experience driving sounds of a plurality of models, improving the immersive feeling for the driver (Sudo pg. 3, ¶ 0067; pg. 4, ¶ 0074).
As to claim 8, Patil in view of Sudo further discloses wherein the artificial sound includes a pseudo wind noise that simulates a wind noise that is generated by traveling of a vehicle corresponding to classification of the target vehicle (Sudo pg. 3, ¶ 0072).
7. Claim(s) 9-12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of US Patent Pub No 2022/0041070 A1 to Isami et al. (“Isami”).
As to claims 9 and 15, Patil discloses the sound control system and battery electric vehicle according to respective claims 1 and 13.
Patil does not disclose wherein the processing circuit is configured to output, from the speaker, a pseudo engine sound that is generated based on operation information about a constituent element of the battery electric vehicle.
Isami discloses a similar sound control system and electric vehicle, and further discloses the system can provide an engine sound for the electric vehicle, the engine sound based on the operation of the vehicle and the virtual engine speed (see pg. 3, ¶ 0053; pg. 4, ¶ 0055; pg. 6, ¶ 0082).
Patil and Isami are analogous art because they are both drawn to electric vehicle sound systems.
It would have been an obvious choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the engine sounds based on operation of the electric vehicle as taught by Isami in the system and vehicle as taught by Patil. The motivation being to provide an electric vehicle that can simulate the driving experience of an engine vehicle, including effects like gear changes, allowing the driver to better grasp the condition of the vehicle and improve driver comfort (Isami pg. 1, ¶ 0006 - ¶ 0007).
As to claim 10, Patil in view of Isami further discloses wherein the constituent element includes an accelerator pedal and a sequential shifter (Isami figure 1; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0044 - ¶ 0045).
As to claim 11, Patil in view of Isami further discloses wherein the constituent element includes an accelerator pedal, a pseudo clutch pedal, and a pseudo shift device (Isami figure 1; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0044 - ¶ 0045).
As to claim 12, Patil in view of Isami further discloses wherein the pseudo engine sound is generated so as to simulate an engine sound of a virtual engine vehicle that is selected from a plurality of virtual engine vehicles by a user (Isami pg. 6, ¶ 0082).
As to claim 16, Patil in view of Isami further discloses wherein: the battery electric vehicle has a manual mode in which a driving characteristic of a manual transmission vehicle is simulated (Patil pg. 3, ¶ 0032; Isami pg. 1, ¶ 0006); the constituent element includes an accelerator pedal and a sequential shifter (Isami figure 1; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0044 - ¶ 0045); and the battery electric vehicle is configured to change, depending on shift operation of the sequential shifter, an output characteristic of the electric motor due to operation of the accelerator pedal, in the manual mode (Isami figures 1-2 and 7-8; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0043 - ¶ 0046; pg. 4, ¶ 0054).
As to claim 17, Patil in view of Isami further discloses wherein: the battery electric vehicle has a manual mode in which a driving characteristic of a manual transmission vehicle is simulated (Patil pg. 3, ¶ 0032; Isami pg. 1, ¶ 0006); the constituent element includes an accelerator pedal, a pseudo clutch pedal, and a pseudo shift device (Isami figure 1; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0044 - ¶ 0045); the pseudo clutch pedal is configured to operated when the pseudo shift device is operated (Isami pg. 3, ¶ 0045, ¶ 0048); and the battery electric vehicle is configured to change, depending on operation of the pseudo clutch pedal and operation of the pseudo shift device, an output of the electric motor due to operation of the accelerator pedal, in the manual mode (Isami figures 1-2 and 7-8; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0043 - ¶ 0048; pg. 4, ¶ 0054).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2-4, 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2 and 14 further limit the sound control system and battery electric vehicle of respective parent claims 1 and 13 to recite the target vehicle as a vehicle that is configured to travel in front of the battery electric vehicle, and the processing circuit is further configured to change the characteristic of the artificial sound depending on a virtual relative speed after the battery electric vehicle has passed the target vehicle, wherein a magnitude of a value of the virtual relative speed is larger than a magnitude of a value of the relative speed.
The closest prior art, cited by Applicant and Examiner, discloses similar sound control systems and battery electric vehicles, but do not disclose either alone or in combination, the system and vehicle as recited in claims 2 and 14. Claims 3-4 and 6 are dependent on claim 2, and therefore are also considered to include allowable subject matter at least for the same reason as parent claim 2.
Conclusion
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693