DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument is persuasive. New rejections over the same prior art are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya et al., US 2017/0201068 in view of Atkinson, US 2023/0177874.
Claim 1. Furuya teaches a method for adjusting a color ratio of a laser light, the method comprising:
emitting, by a laser module, laser light having an adjustable color ratio [RBG laser(s), Fig. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 83; also see paras. 92-96 discussing color ratios in the context of ambient temperature]; and
detecting a light intensity of an ambient or scene light [external light intensity monitor, paras. 81-91], wherein the color ratio of the laser light is determined depending on the light composition [color (which can be represented by an R:G:B ratio) is adjusted based on external light measurement, Figs. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 81-91].
Furuya is silent on sensing ambient light composition. Atkinson teaches detecting a composition of ambient light [paras. 13, 15, 29, 48, 51-53, 60].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, using colorimeter to measure the ambient white point so the display white point can be adjusted so that displayed objects blend visually more seamlessly with real objects (e.g. in augmented reality), improving the overall realism [see Atkinson, para. 53].
2. Furuya teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the color ratio is generated by a composition of light generated by at least two differently colored color laser diodes arranged in the laser module, the composition being determined depending on the light intensity [Fig. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 83-91].
Atkinson teaches detecting a composition of ambient light [paras. 13, 15, 29, 48, 51-53, 60].
3. Furuya teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein correction data for the composition are provided depending on the light detection, the composition being adjusted depending on the correction data [the group (composition) of laser diodes is adjusted, i.e. corrected based on external light measurement, Figs. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 81-91].
Atkinson teaches detecting a composition of ambient light [paras. 13, 15, 29, 48, 51-53, 60].
4. Furuya is silent on matching a white point. Atkinson teaches a method wherein: the correction data achieving a match of a white point of a display with a white point of the environment are provided, [white points of display and ambient environment are matched, paras. 51-53] or the correction data achieving a deviation of the white point of the display from the white point of the environment are provided.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, matching the white point so that displayed objects blend visually more seamlessly with real objects (e.g. in augmented reality), improving the overall realism [see Atkinson, para. 53].
5. Furuya teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein an image or an image content is generated using the laser light [e.g. Figs. 1A, 1B, paras. 44-48].
6. Furuya teaches an optical device, comprising:
a laser module [RBG laser(s), Fig. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 83];
a sensor configured to detect a light intensity of an ambient light or scene light [external light intensity monitor, paras. 81-91], and
a computing device; wherein the laser module is configured to emit laser light having an adjustable color ratio [RBG laser(s), Fig. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 83; also see paras. 92-96 discussing color ratios in the context of ambient temperature], the computing device configured to determine the color ratio of the laser light depending on the light intensity [color (which can be represented by an R:G:B ratio) is adjusted based on external light measurement, Figs. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 81-91].
Furuya is silent on the sensor including a colorimeter specifically. Atkinson teaches a colorimeter (i.e. a color sensor) to sense ambient light composition [paras. 13, 15, 29, 48, 51-53, 60].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, using colorimeter to measure the ambient white point so the display white point can be adjusted so that displayed objects blend visually more seamlessly with real objects (e.g. in augmented reality), improving the overall realism [see Atkinson, para. 53].
7. Furuya teaches the optical device according to claim 6, wherein the laser module including at least two differently colored color laser diodes, the optical device being configured to generate the color ratio by a composition of light generated by the at least two color laser diodes, and the computing device being configured to determine the composition of the light generated by the at least two color laser diodes depending on the ambient light [Fig. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 83-91].
Atkinson teaches detecting a composition of ambient light and adjusting lasers on that basis [paras. 13, 15, 29, 48, 51-53, 60].
8. Furuya teaches the optical device according to claim 7, wherein the computing device is configured to provide the correction data for the composition depending on the light intensity, the optical device including a driver for the laser module [driver 802, paras. 80, 84], which driver is configured to adjust the composition of the light generated by the at least two color laser diodes depending on the correction data [the group (composition) of laser diodes is adjusted, i.e. corrected based on external light measurement, Figs. 1A-1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 81-91].
Atkinson teaches detecting a composition of ambient light and adjusting lasers on that basis [paras. 13, 15, 29, 48, 51-53, 60].
9. Furuya teaches the optical device according to claim 6, wherein the optical device is configured to generate an image or an image content using the laser light [Figs. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 44-49, 61, 81-91].
12. Furuya teaches the optical device according to claim 1, wherein the optical device is part of a head-up display for a vehicle [Figs. 1A, 1B, paras. 45-48] or an aircraft.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya and Atkinson as cited above in view of Armstrong-Muntner et al., US 2019/0101977 (“Armstrong”).
10. Furuya teaches an optical device including:
a laser module [RBG laser(s), Fig. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 83],
a sensor configured to detect a light composition of an ambient light or scene light [external light intensity monitor, paras. 81-91],
a computing device wherein the laser module is configured to emit laser light having an adjustable color ratio [RBG laser(s), Fig. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 83; also see paras. 92-96 discussing color ratios in the context of ambient temperature], the computing device configured to determine the color ratio of the laser light depending on the light composition [color (which can be represented by an R:G:B ratio) is adjusted based on external light measurement, Figs. 1C, 8, 9, paras. 47-49, 61, 81-91].
Furuya is silent on a sensor including a colorimeter specifically. Atkinson teaches a colorimeter (i.e. a color sensor) [paras. 13, 15, 29, 48, 51-53, 60].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, using colorimeter to measure the ambient white point so the display white point can be adjusted so that displayed objects blend visually more seamlessly with real objects (e.g. in augmented reality), improving the overall realism [see Atkinson, para. 53].
The above references are silent on glasses. Armstrong teaches a wearable glasses (e.g. VR glasses) system that measures ambient light color to adjust white point [Figs. 2, 3, paras. 27-29, 39, 63].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement Furuya’s optical system in a pair of VR glasses, which can then be worn and used in multiple vehicles or outside a vehicle. A user of glasses would still benefit from the white-point matching when the color of displayed objects match with the ambient colors, thereby improving the realism of the display.
11. Armstrong teaches the optical device according to claim 1, wherein the optical device is part of an optical instrument including binoculars [binocular HMD, Figs. 2, 3, para. 28], or a telescope, or a microscope, or a periscope, or a device for ophthalmic examinations.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2424