DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heater holding member in claims 1-3; sensor holding member in claims 1, 3; biasing member in claim 1; locking portion in claim 1; engaging portion in claim 1; reinforcing member in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watatani et al. (US 2020/0201218; “Watatani”).
Regarding claim 1, Watatani discloses a fixing device 1 (Fig. 1 [0016]) comprising:
a tubular and rotatable fixing belt 10 (Fig. 3A [0017]);
a heating device 30 that includes a heater 31 configured to heat the fixing belt 10 and faces an inner peripheral surface of the fixing belt 10 (Fig. 3B [0018-0019]); and
a pressurizing member 20 that sandwiches the fixing belt 10 with the heater 31, forms a fixing nip portion N, in which a recording medium S is sandwiched and transported, between the pressurizing member 20 and the fixing belt 10, and causes the fixing belt 10 to be driven and rotated (Fig. 3B [0017, 0042]),
wherein the heating device 30 includes
a heater holding member 32 that holds the heater 31 (Fig. 3B [0022]),
a temperature sensor 33 that faces the heater 31 and is disposed in the heater holding member 32 (Figs. 3B & 4A [0020, 0033]), and
a sensor holding member 34 that is assembled with the heater holding member 32 in which the temperature sensor 33 is disposed in a direction (X direction) in which the sensor holding member 34 faces the temperature sensor 33 (Figs. 4A-4B [0022-0023]),
the sensor holding member 34 includes a biasing member 35 that faces the heater holding member 32 via the temperature sensor 33 and biases the temperature sensor 33 in a direction D1 directed from the temperature sensor 33 to the heater 31 (Figs. 4B & 5B [0021]), and
the heater holding member 32 includes
a locking portion 32A that locks one end 34A of the sensor holding member 34 (Fig. 5B [0023]), and
an engaged portion 32B that is engaged with an engaging portion 34B provided in the sensor holding member 34 at a position different from a position of the one end 34A of the sensor holding member 34 in a length direction (Y direction) of the sensor holding member 34 when the sensor holding member 34 moves in the length direction in a state where the one end 34A is locked by the locking portion 32A (Figs. 4A & 5B [0023]; note that when only elements 34A and 32A are locked, sensor holding member 34 will still be able to move partially in the length direction), and receives, by the engaging portion 34B, the sensor holding member 34 pressed by a counterreaction of biasing performed by the biasing member 35 on the temperature sensor 33 (Fig. 5B [0024, 0058-0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Watatani discloses the fixing device according to claim 1, wherein the heating device 30 further includes a reinforcing member 36 that abuts on the sensor holding member 34 (Fig. 3B [0036]) and is fixed to the sensor holding member 34 (via heater holding member 32) with the reinforcing member 36 facing the heater holding member 32 via the sensor holding member 34 (Fig. 3B [0044]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Projecting member)][AltContent: textbox (Projecting member)]Regarding claim 4, Watatani discloses the fixing device according to claim 1, wherein the locking portion 32A is configured of a pair of projecting members with upper ends folded inward to form an opening (see annotated partial Fig. 4A below), and the one end 34A is inserted into the opening (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 5, Watatani discloses an image forming apparatus 100 comprising: the fixing device 1 according to claim 1 (Fig. 2 [0025]); and an image forming device 2 that forms an image on a recording medium S (Fig. 2 [0028]), wherein the fixing device 1 causes the image formed on the recording medium S by the image forming device 2 to be fixed (Fig. 2 [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watatani (US 2020/0201218) in view of Mochizuki (US 2017/0308009).
Regarding claim 2, Watatani discloses the fixing device according to claim 1, wherein the biasing member 35 is a compression spring (Fig. 4B [0021]).
Watatani does not explicitly disclose a groove that receives one end of the compression spring is formed in a surface of the temperature sensor facing the sensor holding member in a state where the temperature sensor 33 is disposed in the heater holding member.
Mochizuki teaches a similar fixing device 6 (Fig. 2), and further teaches providing a groove within an element 17 to receive an end of a compression spring 18 that is used to bias a temperature sensor 15 (see Figs. 6a-6b [0084]).
Utilizing the teachings of Mochizuki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a groove that receives one end of the compression spring formed in a surface of the temperature sensor facing the sensor holding member in a state where the temperature sensor is disposed in the heater holding member. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure that the compression spring is properly seated against the temperature sensor and provide adequate pressure.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852