Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: element ‘110’ in fig. 9, and element ‘254’ in fig. 23.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “104” has been used to designate both carriage and planar support 104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaneko (US 2019/0241097 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Kaneko discloses a Reconfigurable seating for a vessel (Para. [0001], “[t]he present invention relates to a seat support mechanism for turning a seat to change over the directed state thereof, being applied to seats that are equipped in various vehicles, such as…marine vessels”) comprising:
at least one seat mounting base (leg pedestal 11, figs. 6 & 8) secured to deck of the vessel (Para. [0074], “the leg pedestal 11 is fixedly provided on the floor in the vicinity of the side wall A in the vehicle cabin (see FIG. 1)”);
seating (Para. [0079], “[t]he underframe 30, to which the seat (not shown) is mounted to be supported thereby”; see underframe 30 in fig. 2) mounted to the at least one seat mounting base (as shown in fig. 2, the underframe 30 is mounted to the leg pedestal 11) and the seating having a seating surface (see Para. [0079 above) and a backrest (Para. [0073], “[t]he seat (not shown) is that for two occupants, having two seat parts and backrests, which are provided in juxtaposition in a direction of from one side of the seat to the other”); and
a swivel assembly (turning mechanism 40, fig. 8) positioned between the seat mounting base and the seating (as shown in fig. 8, the turning mechanism 40 is positioned between the lower end of the leg pedestal 11 and the underframe 30) and configured for the seating to swivel between a forward facing position and a rearward facing position (as shown in fig. 1 and disclosed in at least para. [0072], [0118], and [0120-0121]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (US 2019/0241097 A1) in view of Fafard et al. (US 2018/0229817 A1), hereinafter Fafard.
Regarding claim 1, Kaneko discloses reconfigurable bench seating (Para. [0071], “the application for the seat is not particularly limited, however, hereinbelow, the case where the present invention is applied to a bench for two occupants”) for a vessel (Para. [0001], “[t]he present invention relates to a seat support mechanism for turning a seat to change over the directed state thereof, being applied to seats that are equipped in various vehicles, such as…marine vessels”) comprising:
a seatbase (underframe 30, fig. 2) plate for a seat having a top surface and a lower surface (fig. 2);
a swivel assembly (turning mechanism 40, fig. 8) secured to the lower surface of the seatbase plate (as shown in fig. 8);
a backrest (Para. [0073], “[t]he seat (not shown) is that for two occupants, having two seat parts and backrests, which are provided in juxtaposition in a direction of from one side of the seat to the other”).
While Kaneko discloses having a backrest, it does not illustrate the features of the backrest
such as a first side and an opposing second side. Furthermore, Kaneko does not appear to specifically disclose at least one backrest folding assembly secured to a first side of the backrest, wherein the at least one backrest folding assembly is configured to fold the backrest between a mostly vertical orientation to a mostly horizontal orientation.
However, Fafard is in the field of reconfigurable seating for watercraft (Abstract) and
teaches at least one backrest folding assembly (the backrest folding assembly includes arms 132 and 152 respectively, and linear actuators 135 and 155; fig. 2) secured to a first side of the backrest (as shown in figs. 1 & 2, arm 132 is secured to a first side of the first seat back member 130), wherein the at least one backrest folding assembly is configured to fold the backrest between a mostly vertical orientation to a mostly horizontal orientation (Para. [0060], “[t]he arms 132 and 152 mechanically support the other portions of the first seat back member 130 and the second seat back member 150, and facilitate the movements of the first seat back member 130 and the second seat back member 150 in relation to the seat bottom 120”’ as shown in fig. 2, the first seat back member 130 can be pivoted between the fully upright position (as shown in solid lines) and the fully downward position (as shown in broken lines”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaneko such that the seat support has a backrest folding assembly driven by corresponding linear actuators to fold the backrest between a mostly vertical orientation to a horizontal orientation as taught by Fafard, in order to provide a comfortable lounging arrangement (Fafard: Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Kaneko in view of Fafard discloses the invention in claim 1, and Kaneko further discloses wherein the seat is configured for at least two passengers to sit side by side (Para. [0071], “the application for the seat is not particularly limited, however, hereinbelow, the case where the present invention is applied to a bench for two occupants”).
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko in view of Fafard as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of McLaughlin et al. (US 2023/0286419 A1), hereinafter Mclaughlin.
Regarding claim 3, Kaneko in view of Fafard discloses the invention in claim 2, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the swivel assembly comprises a swivel motor having a shaft, an adapter coupled to the shaft, wherein the adapter is configured to be rotate in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the swivel motor.
McLaughlin is in the field of a seat swivel assembly (Abstract) and teaches a swivel motor (swivel motor 64, fig. 6) having a shaft (fig. 6), and an adapter (rotating plate 72, fig. 6) coupled to the shaft (as shown in fig. 6, the rotating plate 72 is coupled to the shaft of the motor 64 via interconnected elements/parts), wherein the adapter is configured to be rotate in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the swivel motor (Para. [0062], “the seat 54 may rotate 180 degrees in a clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction from the first angular position to the second angular position and vice versa. Furthermore, the swivel assembly 56 may be capable of rotating the seat 54 360 degrees in the clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the swivel assembly of Kaneko with the entire seat pan and swivel assembly (upper plate 70, bearing ring 188, gear ring 62, arm 126, lower plate 74, pin assembly 66, and motor assembly 64; fig. 6) as taught by McLaughlin, in order to be able to rotate the seat 360 degrees via the use of a motor assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Kaneko in view of Fafard and McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 3, and Mclaughlin further discloses wherein the swivel assembly further comprises a slewing ring (first ball bearing ring 188, fig. 6) coupled to the adapter (rotating plate 72, fig. 6) and the seat (as shown in fig. 6, the ball bearing ring 188 is coupled to the rotating plate 72 and the seat pan 76), wherein the seat is configured to rotate in a first direction when the adapter moves in the first direction to swivel the seat to a forward facing orientation, and to rotate in an opposing second direction when the adapter moves in the opposing second direction to swivel the seat to a rearward facing orientation (Para. [0062], “the seat 54 may rotate 180 degrees in a clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction from the first angular position to the second angular position and vice versa”. Examiner notes, the starting position is the forward facing orientation, and when the seat rotates 180 degrees in a clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction the seat is positioned in its rearward facing orientation).
Regarding claim 5, Kaneko in view of Fafard and McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 4, and Fafard further discloses wherein the at least one backrest folding assembly comprises a linear actuator (Para. [0055], “the actuators 135 and 155 are electric motor driven linear actuators”) and a lever arm1 (arms 132 and 152, respectively; fig. 2), the lever arm is configured to be rotated in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the linear actuator (Para. [0060], “[t]he first seat back member 130 and the second seat back member 150 include arms 132 and 152 respectively. The arms 132 and 152 are pivotably linked to the one or more actuators 135 and 155 respectively”; as shown in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Kaneko in view of Fafard and McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 5, and Fafard further discloses wherein the lever arm is configured to rotate in the first direction when the linear actuator moves in the first linear direction to fold the backrest down to the mostly horizontal position, and to rotate in an opposing second direction when the linear actuator moves in the opposing second linear direction to unfold the backrest to the mostly vertical position (as shown in figs. 1-2), but does not appear to specifically disclose a backrest bracket coupled to the lever arm and backrest.
Examiner notes, the backrest of Fafard is currently integral with the arms 132 and 152 respectively. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Kaneko such that the lever arm was coupled to a bracket which was coupled to the backrest, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Doing so would provide ease of manufacturing, and ease for maintenance since it would be easy to replace the parts if one breaks/fails during use.
Regarding claim 7, Kaneko in view of Fafard and McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 6, and the combined references further discloses wherein the at least one backrest folding assembly comprises a first backrest folding assembly secured to the first side of the backrest, and a second backrest folding assembly secured to the second side of the backrest (as modified above in claim 6, modifying the arms 132 and 152 of Fafard to be coupled to a bracket coupled to the backrest would result in a first backrest folding assembly secured to the first side of the backrest and a second backrest folding assembly secured to the second side of the backrest), wherein the first and second backrest folding assemblies are configured to cooperate to move the backrest (as shown in figs. 1-2 of Fafard, the arms 132 and 152 cooperate to move the backrest. As set forth in claim 6, modifying the backrest folding assembly to further include a backrest secured to the first and second side would still enable the arms and brackets to cooperate to move the backrest).
Claim(s) 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (US 2019/0241097 A1), in view of McLaughlin et al. (US 2023/0286419 A1), hereinafter Mclaughlin.
Regarding claim 8, Kaneko discloses a Reconfigurable bench seating (Para. [0071], “the application for the seat is not particularly limited, however, hereinbelow, the case where the present invention is applied to a bench for two occupants”) for a vessel (Para. [0001], “[t]he present invention relates to a seat support mechanism for turning a seat to change over the directed state thereof, being applied to seats that are equipped in various vehicles, such as…marine vessels”) comprising:
a seatbase plate (underframe 30, fig. 2) for a seat having a top surface and a lower surface (fig. 2);
a swivel assembly (turning mechanism 40, fig. 8) secured to the lower surface of the seatbase plate (as shown in fig. 8).
However, Kaneko does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the swivel assembly comprises a swivel motor, a seat adapter coupled to the seat, wherein the seat adapter is configured to be rotated in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the swivel motor, wherein the seat adapter is configured to rotate in the first direction to swivel the bench seat to a forward facing orientation, and to rotate in the opposing second direction to swivel the bench seat to a rearward facing orientation.
McLaughlin is in the field of a seat swivel assembly (Abstract) and teaches a swivel motor (swivel motor 64, fig. 6) having a shaft (fig. 6), a seat adapter (rotating plate 72, fig. 6) coupled to the seat (as shown in fig. 6), wherein the seat adapter is configured to be rotated in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the swivel motor (Para. [0062], “the seat 54 may rotate 180 degrees in a clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction from the first angular position to the second angular position and vice versa. Furthermore, the swivel assembly 56 may be capable of rotating the seat 54 360 degrees in the clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction”), wherein the seat adapter is configured to rotate in the first direction to swivel the bench seat to a forward facing orientation, and to rotate in the opposing second direction to swivel the bench seat to a rearward facing orientation (Para. [0064], “the rotating plate 72 is fixedly attached to the seat bottom 60, and the lower plate 74 is fixedly attached to the floor 57. Accordingly, the upper and lower plates 70,74 are fixed relative to the floor 57 of the vehicle 50, and the rotating plate 72 may be movable with the seat 54 relative to the floor 57 between the first angular position (FIGS. 1 and 4) and the second angular position (FIGS. 2 and 5)”; see fig. 4 for the forward facing orientation, and fig. 5 for the rearward facing orientation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the swivel assembly of Kaneko with the entire seat pan and swivel assembly (bearing ring 188, gear ring 62, arm 126, lower plate 74, pin assembly 66, and motor assembly 64; fig. 6) as taught by McLaughlin, in order to be able to rotate the seat 360 degrees via the use of a motor assembly.
Regarding claim 9, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 8, and McLaughlin further discloses wherein the swivel assembly comprises a slewing ring (first ball bearing ring 188, fig. 6) coupled to the seat adapter (rotating plate 72, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 9, and McLaughlin further discloses wherein the slewing ring (first ball bearing ring 188, fig. 6) is mounted to an aperture of the seatbase plate (Para. [0067], “[t]he upper plate 70 may be disposed within the central aperture 78 of the seat pan 76”; as shown in fig. 6, the first ball bearing ring 188 [i.e., the slewing ring] is coupled to the upper plate 70 which is mounted to aperture 78 of the seat pan).
Regarding claim 11, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 10, and McLauglin further discloses wherein the swivel motor is mounted to a lower surface of the seatbase plate (as shown in fig. 6, the swivel motor assembly 64 is mounted to the lower plate 74 of the seat pan 76).
Regarding claim 12, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 11, and McLaughlin further discloses wherein the swivel motor comprises a shaft (fig. 6) coupled to the seat adapter (as shown in fig. 6, the rotating plate 72 is coupled to the shaft of the motor 64 via interconnected elements/parts).
Regarding claim 13, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 12, and McLaughlin further discloses wherein the seat adapter comprises a circular shape having a central aperture (Para. [0070, “[t]he rotating plate 72 may include a plurality of apertures (e.g., a plurality of first apertures 144, and a plurality of second apertures 146) extending through the body 124 of the rotating plate 72”; as shown in fig. 6) for receiving the shaft2 (Examiner notes the equivalent structure provides the equivalent function).
Regarding claim 14, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 13, and McLaughlin further discloses further comprising a seat support (upper plate 70, fig. 6) coupled to the seat adapter (as shown in fig. 6, the upper plate 70 is coupled to the rotating plate 72 via interconnecting elements).
Regarding claim 15, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 14, and McLaughlin further discloses further comprising a seat coupled to the seat support (as shown in fig. 6, the seat pan 76 is coupled to the upper plate 70).
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Fafard et al. (US 2018/0229817 A1), hereinafter Fafard.
Regarding claim 17, Kaneko discloses the invention in claim 16, but does not appear to specifically disclose at least one backrest folding assembly secured to the backrest, wherein the at least one backrest folding assembly is configured to fold the backrest between a mostly vertical orientation to a mostly horizontal orientation.
However, Fafard is in the field of reconfigurable seating for watercraft (Abstract) and
teaches at least one backrest folding assembly secured to the backrest (the backrest folding assembly includes arms 132 and 152 respectively, and linear actuators 135 and 155; fig. 2), wherein the at least one backrest folding assembly is configured to fold the backrest between a mostly vertical orientation to a mostly horizontal orientation (Para. [0060], “[t]he arms 132 and 152 mechanically support the other portions of the first seat back member 130 and the second seat back member 150, and facilitate the movements of the first seat back member 130 and the second seat back member 150 in relation to the seat bottom 120”’ as shown in fig. 2, the first seat back member 130 can be pivoted between the fully upright position (as shown in solid lines) and the fully downward position (as shown in broken lines”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaneko such that the seat support has a backrest folding assembly driven by corresponding linear actuators to fold the backrest between a mostly vertical orientation to a horizontal orientation as taught by Fafard, in order to provide a comfortable lounging arrangement (Fafard: Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Kaneko in view of Fafard discloses the invention in claim 17, and Fafard further discloses wherein the at least one backrest folding assembly comprises a linear actuator (Para. [0055], “the actuators 135 and 155 are electric motor driven linear actuators”) and a lever arm3 (arms 132 and 152, respectively; fig. 2), the lever arm is configured to be rotated in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the linear actuator (Para. [0060], “[t]he first seat back member 130 and the second seat back member 150 include arms 132 and 152 respectively. The arms 132 and 152 are pivotably linked to the one or more actuators 135 and 155 respectively”; as shown in figs. 1-2).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of McLaughlin et al. (US 2023/0286419 A1), hereinafter Mclaughlin.
Regarding claim 18, Kaneko discloses the invention in claim 16, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the swivel assembly comprises a swivel motor having a shaft, the shaft is configured to be rotated in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the swivel motor.
McLaughlin is in the field of a seat swivel assembly (Abstract) and teaches a swivel motor (swivel motor 64, fig. 6) having a shaft (fig. 6), the shaft is configured to be rotated in a first direction and an opposing second direction by the swivel motor (Para. [0062], “the seat 54 may rotate 180 degrees in a clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction from the first angular position to the second angular position and vice versa. Furthermore, the swivel assembly 56 may be capable of rotating the seat 54 360 degrees in the clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the swivel assembly of Kaneko with the entire seat pan and swivel assembly (upper plate 70, bearing ring 188, gear ring 62, arm 126, lower plate 74, pin assembly 66, and motor assembly 64; fig. 6) as taught by McLaughlin, in order to be able to rotate the seat 360 degrees via the use of a motor assembly.
Regarding claim 19, Kaneko in view of McLaughlin discloses the invention in claim 18, and McLaughlin further discloses wherein the swivel assembly further wherein the swivel assembly further comprises an adapter (rotating plate 72, fig. 6) and slewing ring (first ball bearing ring 188, fig. 6) coupled to the adapter (rotating plate 72, fig. 6) and the seating (as shown in fig. 6, the ball bearing ring 188 is coupled to the rotating plate 72 and the seat pan 76), wherein the seating is configured to rotate in a first direction when the adapter moves in the first direction to swivel the seating to a forward facing orientation, and to rotate in an opposing second direction when the adapter moves in the opposing second direction to swivel the seating to a rearward facing orientation (Para. [0062], “the seat 54 may rotate 180 degrees in a clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction from the first angular position to the second angular position and vice versa”. Examiner notes, the starting position is the forward facing orientation, and when the seat rotates 180 degrees in a clockwise and/or counter-clockwise direction the seat is positioned in its rearward facing orientation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s invention: See PTO 892.
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642
1 Examiner notes: In the same manner as the instant invention, the backrest folding assembly includes at least the arm and the linear actuator. See Para. [0046] of the instant specification.
2 Examiner note: this is merely intended use, and the plurality of apertures in the rotating plate of McLaughlin are capable of receiving the shaft of the motor.
3 Examiner notes: In the same manner as the instant invention, the backrest folding assembly includes the arm and the linear actuator. See Para. [0046] of the instant specification.