DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/11/2026.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Acknowledgment is made of a claim for foreign priority. All of the certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 6/24/2026 and 7/13/2026 has/have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 USC §102 & 103
Applicant's amendment filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
1. Pages 8-9.
“Applicant respectfully submits that Lemberger fails to disclose the combined features of the amended claim.
For example, Lemberger describes a monitoring system configured to analyze video footage captured by a monitoring camera, and detect/prioritize/notify an event associated with the video footage. Lemberger thus describes detection/notification of an event, but fails to explicitly disclose generation of a text describing the content of the event as claimed.“, any emphasis not shown.
Examiner’s response:
The reference clearly discloses generating text as a report signal which clearly is understood as describing the event.
See “[0449] In some of the present embodiments, the server application 1412 may further configure the processor 1406 to generate and transmit a report signal (not shown) to a third-party client device (not shown), which may be associated with a law enforcement agency or the security monitoring service, for example. The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitations “collection unit”, “analysis unit”, “generation unit” are not considered to invoke 112(f) since these elements are described in the specification as a software unit having a specific algorithm executed by a processor with a memory.
Claim limitation “image capturing device” is not considered to invoke 112(f) since one of ordinary skilled in the art understands that the “device” is a structural term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim 12 is not clearly limited to the non-transitory medium. The specification also does not clearly define the claimed "computer-readable recording medium" as being limited to a non-transitory medium.
Claim Mapping Notation
In this office action, following notations are being used to refer to the paragraph numbers or column number and lines of portions of the cited reference.
In this office action, following notations are being used to refer to the paragraph numbers or column number and lines of portions of the cited reference.
[0005] (Paragraph number [0005])
C5 (Column 5)
Pa5 (Page 5)
S5 (Section 5)
Furthermore, unless necessary to distinguish from other references in this action, “et al.” will be omitted when referring to the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by Lemberger et al. (US 20180338120 A1).
1. An information providing apparatus comprising:
a collection unit that collects monitoring data acquired by a monitoring device that is installed in each of a plurality of monitoring target sites included in a monitoring target area;
“[0316] The A/V recording and communication device 102 may also communicate, via the user's network 110 and the network 112 (Internet/PSTN), with a network(s) 116 of servers and/or backend devices, such as (but not limited to) one or more remote storage devices 118 (which may be referred to interchangeably as “cloud storage device(s)”), one or more backend servers 120, and/or one or more backend APIs 122”
an analysis unit that detects, based on the collected monitoring data, an event that has occurred in each of the plurality of monitoring target sites; and
“[0372] Some of the present embodiments may comprise computer vision for one or more aspects, such as object and/or facial recognition. Computer vision includes methods for acquiring, processing, analyzing, and understanding images and, in general, high-dimensional data from the real world in order to produce numerical or symbolic information, e.g., in the form of decisions. Computer vision seeks to duplicate the abilities of human vision by electronically perceiving and understanding an image.”
a generation unit that generates a monitoring report including text data that indicates content of the event that has occurred in the monitoring target area when the detection result is input wherein a machine learning model is applied to at least one of the detection of the event by the analysis unit and the generation of the monitoring report by the generation unit.
“[0449] In some of the present embodiments, the server application 1412 may further configure the processor 1406 to generate and transmit a report signal (not shown) to a third-party client device (not shown), which may be associated with a law enforcement agency or the security monitoring service, for example. The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
“[482]…Section IV describes artificial intelligence and machine learning concepts that may be employed in any of the present embodiments.”
2. The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the collection unit collects, as the monitoring data, image data acquired by an image capturing device that is installed in each of the plurality of monitoring target sites,
“[0316] The A/V recording and communication device 102 may also communicate, via the user's network 110 and the network 112 (Internet/PSTN), with a network(s) 116 of servers and/or backend devices, such as (but not limited to) one or more remote storage devices 118 (which may be referred to interchangeably as “cloud storage device(s)”), one or more backend servers 120, and/or one or more backend APIs 122”
the analysis unit detects the event based on the collected image data, and
“[459]…In some of the present embodiments, each time an A/V recording and communication device detects a presence of a person or an object (e.g., through one or more motion detectors of the device, when a doorbell button of the device is pressed, etc.), the A/V recording and communication device generates an event for the detected presence”
the generation unit generates the monitoring report by using the machine learning model that outputs the text data when the detection result is input.
“[0449] In some of the present embodiments, the server application 1412 may further configure the processor 1406 to generate and transmit a report signal (not shown) to a third-party client device (not shown), which may be associated with a law enforcement agency or the security monitoring service, for example. The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
“[482]…Section IV describes artificial intelligence and machine learning concepts that may be employed in any of the present embodiments.”
3. The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the collection unit collects, as the monitoring data, measurement data acquired by a measurement device that is installed in each of the plurality of monitoring target sites,
“[0413] In various embodiments, the device application 1222 may also configure the processor 1216 to generate and transmit an output signal 1236 that may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, the text data 1232, the input data 1228, and/or the motion data 1230.”
the analysis unit detects the event based on the collected measurement data, and
“[459]…In some of the present embodiments, each time an A/V recording and communication device detects a presence of a person or an object (e.g., through one or more motion detectors of the device, when a doorbell button of the device is pressed, etc.), the A/V recording and communication device generates an event for the detected presence”
the generation unit generates the monitoring report by using the machine learning model that outputs the text data when the detection result is input.
“[0449] In some of the present embodiments, the server application 1412 may further configure the processor 1406 to generate and transmit a report signal (not shown) to a third-party client device (not shown), which may be associated with a law enforcement agency or the security monitoring service, for example. The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
“[482]…Section IV describes artificial intelligence and machine learning concepts that may be employed in any of the present embodiments.”
4. The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit specifies a degree of importance associated with the event, and generates the monitoring report including the text data in accordance with a condition assigned to the degree of importance.
“[0160] In another embodiment of the ninth aspect, prioritizing the events based on the set of rules comprises assigning a higher priority to a first set of events, from among the plurality of events, that are associated with video footage that shows one or more persons, and assigning a lower priority to a second set of events, from among the plurality of events, that are associated with video footage that doesn't show any persons.”
8. The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit generates the monitoring report that includes audio data that indicates the content of the event, together with the text data that indicates the content of the event.
“[0449]…The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
“[0412]…In some of the present embodiments, the device application 1222 may also configure the processor 1216 to generate text data 1232 describing the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the input data 1228, such as in the form of metadata, for example.”
9. The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit generates, together with the text data that indicates the content of the event, the monitoring report that includes audio data that indicates the content of the event and video image data that is synchronized with the audio data.
“[0449]…The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
“[0412]…In some of the present embodiments, the device application 1222 may also configure the processor 1216 to generate text data 1232 describing the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the input data 1228, such as in the form of metadata, for example.”
Regarding the claims 11 and 12, they recite elements that are at least included in the claims 1 and 1 above but in a different claim form and/or encoding/decoding counterpart that are reciprocal. Therefore, the same rationale for the rejection of the claims 1 and 1 applies.
13. (new) The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the analysis unit uses a first machine learning model to detect the event that has occurred in each of the plurality of monitoring target sites, the first machine learning model outputting, in response to input of the collected monitoring data, the event that has occurred in the monitoring target area, and
“[0316] The A/V recording and communication device 102 may also communicate, via the user's network 110 and the network 112 (Internet/PSTN), with a network(s) 116 of servers and/or backend devices, such as (but not limited to) one or more remote storage devices 118 (which may be referred to interchangeably as “cloud storage device(s)”), one or more backend servers 120, and/or one or more backend APIs 122”
“[0372] Some of the present embodiments may comprise computer vision for one or more aspects, such as object and/or facial recognition. Computer vision includes methods for acquiring, processing, analyzing, and understanding images and, in general, high-dimensional data from the real world in order to produce numerical or symbolic information, e.g., in the form of decisions. Computer vision seeks to duplicate the abilities of human vision by electronically perceiving and understanding an image.”
“[482]…Section IV describes artificial intelligence and machine learning concepts that may be employed in any of the present embodiments.”
the generation unit uses a second machine learning model to generate the monitoring report, the second machine learning model outputting, in response to the input of the detection result, the text data indicating the content of the event that has occurred in the monitoring target area.
“[0449] In some of the present embodiments, the server application 1412 may further configure the processor 1406 to generate and transmit a report signal (not shown) to a third-party client device (not shown), which may be associated with a law enforcement agency or the security monitoring service, for example. The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
14. (new): The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the text data comprises explanatory text that describes the event that has occurred in the monitoring target area.
“[0449] In some of the present embodiments, the server application 1412 may further configure the processor 1406 to generate and transmit a report signal (not shown) to a third-party client device (not shown), which may be associated with a law enforcement agency or the security monitoring service, for example. The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemberger in view of Reiter (US 9946711 B2)
Regarding the claim 5, Lemberger discloses the invention substantially as claimed as mentioned above for the claims 1 and 4.
Lemberger does not disclose,
5. The information providing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein, when the degree of importance associated with the event is equal to or greater than a first threshold, the generation unit generates the monitoring report including an explanatory text that is related to the event and that does not have an upper limit of the number of characters as the text data.
Reiter discloses,
5. The information providing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein, when the degree of importance associated with the event is equal to or greater than a first threshold, the generation unit generates the monitoring report including an explanatory text that is related to the event and that does not have an upper limit of the number of characters as the text data.
C18 “Using the importance level, the natural language generation system 106 may assign certain ones of the messages that describe or are otherwise are instantiated with patterns or other data in the primary data feed as including key events. A key event may be selected or otherwise identified based on a pre-determined importance level threshold, such as a threshold defined by a user, a constraint defined by the domain model 114, or the like.”
C27 “…The NLG system, in some examples, is then configured to replicate the thought processes of senior engineers to generate the highest priority information to be reported based on the historical context. The NLG system, in some examples, automatically writes rich and technically relevant, plain language summary reports that a reader would believe were written by an experienced engineer, operator, expert, analyst or the like based on what is important within the time period.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Reiter and apply them on the teachings of Lemberger to incorporate the setting of degrees of detail (i.e. limits of detail) based on the degree of importance as well as applying multiple machine learning models when performing monitoring sites in Lemberger as taught by Reiter.
One would have been motivated for the benefit of increasing the effectiveness of the communication as well as accuracy in Lemberger as taught by Reiter.
Unless stated otherwise, the same explanation for the rationale for the following dependent claims applies as given for the independent claim.
6. The information providing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein, when the degree of importance associated with the event is less than a first threshold and is equal to or greater than a second threshold, the generation unit generates the monitoring report that includes at least one of an explanatory text related to the event and a statistical value of the event within a range of an upper limit of the number of characters as the text data.
Reiter C18 “Using the importance level, the natural language generation system 106 may assign certain ones of the messages that describe or are otherwise are instantiated with patterns or other data in the primary data feed as including key events. A key event may be selected or otherwise identified based on a pre-determined importance level threshold, such as a threshold defined by a user, a constraint defined by the domain model 114, or the like.”
Reiter C27 “…The NLG system, in some examples, is then configured to replicate the thought processes of senior engineers to generate the highest priority information to be reported based on the historical context. The NLG system, in some examples, automatically writes rich and technically relevant, plain language summary reports that a reader would believe were written by an experienced engineer, operator, expert, analyst or the like based on what is important within the time period.”
7. The information providing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein, when the degree of importance associated with the event is less than a second threshold, the generation unit generates the monitoring report that includes a statistical value of the event as the text data.
Reiter C18 “Using the importance level, the natural language generation system 106 may assign certain ones of the messages that describe or are otherwise are instantiated with patterns or other data in the primary data feed as including key events. A key event may be selected or otherwise identified based on a pre-determined importance level threshold, such as a threshold defined by a user, a constraint defined by the domain model 114, or the like.”
Reiter C27 “…The NLG system, in some examples, is then configured to replicate the thought processes of senior engineers to generate the highest priority information to be reported based on the historical context. The NLG system, in some examples, automatically writes rich and technically relevant, plain language summary reports that a reader would believe were written by an experienced engineer, operator, expert, analyst or the like based on what is important within the time period.”
Lemberger “[0449] In some of the present embodiments, the server application 1412 may further configure the processor 1406 to generate and transmit a report signal (not shown) to a third-party client device (not shown), which may be associated with a law enforcement agency or the security monitoring service, for example. The report signal, which may be the user alert 1234, in some examples, may include the image data 1224, the audio data 1226, and/or the text data 1232.”
10. The information providing apparatus according to claim 1, further includes:
a storage unit that stores therein a plurality of machine learning models each of which outputs an analysis target located in the associated monitoring target site when the monitoring data is input; and
Reiter C17 “As such, the natural language generation system 106 is configured to instantiate a plurality of messages based on the one or more data feeds. In order to determine the one or more messages, the importance level of each of the messages and relationships between the messages, the natural language generation system 106 may be configured to access the domain model 114 directly or indirectly via the data analysis system 104 or the like.”
Reiter 29 “The alert reception system 102, the data analysis system 104 and/or the natural language generation system 106 are shown residing in memory 301. The memory 301 may comprise, for example, transitory and/or non-transitory memory, such as volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or some combination thereof.”
an acceptance unit that accepts the selection of the machine learning model from among the plurality of machine learning models,
Reiter C17 “As such, the natural language generation system 106 is configured to instantiate a plurality of messages based on the one or more data feeds. In order to determine the one or more messages, the importance level of each of the messages and relationships between the messages, the natural language generation system 106 may be configured to access the domain model 114 directly or indirectly via the data analysis system 104 or the like.”
Reiter 29 “The alert reception system 102, the data analysis system 104 and/or the natural language generation system 106 are shown residing in memory 301. The memory 301 may comprise, for example, transitory and/or non-transitory memory, such as volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or some combination thereof.”
wherein the analysis unit inputs the collected monitoring data to the machine learning model for which the selection has been accepted, and
Reiter C17 “As such, the natural language generation system 106 is configured to instantiate a plurality of messages based on the one or more data feeds. In order to determine the one or more messages, the importance level of each of the messages and relationships between the messages, the natural language generation system 106 may be configured to access the domain model 114 directly or indirectly via the data analysis system 104 or the like.”
Reiter 29 “The alert reception system 102, the data analysis system 104 and/or the natural language generation system 106 are shown residing in memory 301. The memory 301 may comprise, for example, transitory and/or non-transitory memory, such as volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or some combination thereof.”
detects, in accordance with the output analysis target, the event that has occurred in each of the output plurality of monitoring target sites.
Lemberger “[0545] The second stage 2510 shows that, upon receiving the user's request, the application displays the highest ranked video 2520 in a display area of the display screen of the device. As shown, the highest ranked video 2520 is currently being recorded by the “Back Door” device 2565.”
Conclusion
/JAE N NOH/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481