DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zacharias et al (US PGPUB US20200359330).
(Claim 1 discloses) a method at a wireless transmit/receive unit, WTRU, in a network, the method comprising: receiving from the network a grant for uplink transmission (Zacharias et al shows receiving a UL grant, paragraph 113).); receiving a data packet; determining at least one characteristic of the data packet (Zacharias et al shows the data is inherently received and determined parameters of the transmission are available (paragraphs 113 and 114).); determining, based on the at least one characteristic of the data packet, a value indicative of possible energy consumption associated with transfer of the data packet (Zacharias et al shows a determination is made if sufficient power is available (paragraphs 113-114).); and based on the value indicative of possible energy consumption associated with transfer of the data packet and a given energy budget value, transmitting the data packet to the network using the uplink grant or dropping the data packet (Zacharias et al shows bases on if the power is sufficient the data is transferred or dropped (paragraphs 115 and 116)).
(Claim 2 discloses) the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the network, information indicative of energy-related capabilities of the WTRU (Zacharias et al shows the UE transmits a power report (paragraph 112).); and implementing a configuration based on the transmitted information (Zacharias et al shows the transmission is configured based on the information (paragraphs 112-114)).
(Claim 3 discloses) the method of claim 2, wherein the energy-related capabilities comprise at least one of energy capacity, energy consumption efficiency capability, and maximum transmission power (Zacharias et al shows the information includes maximum power (paragraph 114)).
(Claim 4 discloses) the method of claim 2, wherein the configuration comprises at least one of energy consumption budget per specific time period, a mapping between modality or type of data in a packet and value indicative of possible energy consumption associated with transfer of the data packet, a mapping between value indicative of possible energy consumption associated with transfer of the data packet and configurations of protocol layers, and attributes and/or weights for attributes for a utility function (Zacharias et al shows the configuration is based on modulation and coding scheme and the power available (paragraphs 113 and 114)).
(Claim 5 discloses) the method of claim 4, wherein the value indicative of possible energy consumption associated with transfer of the data packet is determined as a function of the mapping between the modality or type of data in the data packet and the value indicative of possible energy consumption associated with transfer of the data packet (Zacharias et al shows determining if able to transmit based on the MCS and available power (paragraphs 114 and 115).
(Claim 6 discloses) the method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring energy consumption (Zacharias et al shows a power control manager monitors use (paragraph 186)).
Claims 10-15 are rejected per the rejections of claims 1-6 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chauvin et al (US Patent #12471027) teaches of managing exposure using uplink duty cycling. Dinan (US PGPUB US20200359336) teaches signal transmission power adjustment in a wireless device. Wang et al (US PGPUB US20190159140) teaches power control using carrier aggregation in wireless communications.
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472